Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2006, 10:13 PM   #1
Mr Nice Guy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107224
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Melbourne, FL
Vehicle:
2005 M3
Imola Red

Unhappy Access Port Crapped out on me during very first tune

I got my AP last night so I had to wait until today to go STG1. I was so excited to get home from work and tune my car. I follow the instructions to the letter and let the AP go to work. It started loading and after about 5 to 10% complete I let it do it's thing and watched some TV. Everything seemed fine so I let it sit for about 50 or so minutes just to make sure it finished (manual says 25-45 min). When I went back the screen was just blank . No messages or anything. WTF. Well I read the instructions and it dosen't say anything about going blank so I just do what the instructions say to do once it's done. I unhook the AP, say a little prayer and try to start the car. It starts! Well at least my ECU isn't toast. But what's up with my new toy? I plug it back in and it lights up but no text just two horrizontal black lines running the width of the screen. I bring it in the house and plug it into the AC adapter. Same crap. So I call Cobb and explain what happened. They say the screen is most likely dead and I need to send it back for warranty repair. Great now I have to send it back and my TBE is gonna be here any day now. This sucks. I hope they can get it back to me by next week. I want STg2 sooo bad. Anywhoo I decided to see if the AP Tuning actually loaded so I went for a little drive and I have to say it definately worked. I was surprised how much better the car felt in the low end. Much better feel all around. Very happy with that and my mouth is watering for stg2. Has anyone had a similar experience with there AP. Maybe there is osme trick to reset it or something? Anyone know? If not it's off to Cobb tomorrow morning. Also since that AP is married to my ECU what happens if they can't fix it? Can they send me another one that will work with it? This is worrying me.
Mr Nice Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 11:57 AM   #2
06rexwagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 114730
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited Wag
9.9@142

Default

I have never had that problem before. You may have gotten a bad unit or something. Bummer because I know how anxious I was before I went stage 2. The case is pretty well sealed so I don't think there's any way to reset it. The problem you'll have now if it doesn't work is that particular ap is married to your car and another ap won't work. Let us know how it works out. Best of luck.
06rexwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 12:09 PM   #3
Driving_Miss_Daisy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82311
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Nooooooorth L.A., Cali
Vehicle:
2006 Evolution IX
Electric Blue

Default

There is a way you can clear the ECU memory to delete the mapping. So if they give you a new one, they will probably tell you how to do this. Then you just reload a new map and you are ready to have a lot of fun.
Driving_Miss_Daisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 12:49 PM   #4
Mr Nice Guy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107224
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Melbourne, FL
Vehicle:
2005 M3
Imola Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Driving_Miss_Daisy
There is a way you can clear the ECU memory to delete the mapping. So if they give you a new one, they will probably tell you how to do this. Then you just reload a new map and you are ready to have a lot of fun.
Thnaks, this makes me feel much better. I was worried about what I'd do if it was unrepairable. Just sucks Ihave to play the waiting game again.
Mr Nice Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 03:11 PM   #5
Mr Nice Guy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107224
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Melbourne, FL
Vehicle:
2005 M3
Imola Red

Default

Well Cobb called me yesterday evening and said they fixed the screen and that the rest of the AP was fine. They are sending it UPS 2 day and it should come Friday. They were really cool and very helpful. I was sorta ticked off because it broke but their excellent customer service has made me a happy customer. Now I really can't wait to get it back since my exhaust was delivered today. I'm contemplating doing the exhaust tonight and reflashing when I get home from work tomorrow since work and back is only an 8 mile round trip all under 50mph. Hmm would this be safe or should I wait? If I don't do it today I'll have to wait until monday which kinda sucks. Anyone know?
Mr Nice Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 03:24 PM   #6
05_STi_WRB
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78126
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lake Forest
Vehicle:
05 WRX STi
WR Blue

Default

do it, i ran mine with downpipe and exhaust with out a tune for a month with no issues....
05_STi_WRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 06:14 PM   #7
k mier
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98000
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MO
Vehicle:
05 sti e85@420hp

Default

Go ahead with the exhaust, no worries.

Is this the new AccessPort that can tell your 60ft times and such, or the old one?
k mier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 07:12 AM   #8
Mr Nice Guy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107224
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Melbourne, FL
Vehicle:
2005 M3
Imola Red

Default

Old one as far as I know. The new AP can tell 60' times? How's it do that I wonder? I know G-techs and the like are accelerometers. I can't imagine Cobb could put one in the AP and keep the price down. If so it's kind of a bummer. I could have waited a little longer until it came out. Oh well.
Mr Nice Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 07:19 AM   #9
Mr Nice Guy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107224
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Melbourne, FL
Vehicle:
2005 M3
Imola Red

Default

Got my exhaust on last night. Sounds pretty good. It'll take a while to get used to my car being louder. It was nearly silent w/ the stock exhaust. Can't wait till my AP gets here though. I had to lose the O2 sensor since Subaru aparently cross threaded it into the pipe and destroyed the threads It shouldn't matter though because the AP clears the CEL when I load stage 2 right?
Mr Nice Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access Port 2.0 Giving me Error Code 1014 WRBLueGD2 AccessPort 9 04-28-2008 02:34 PM
...just got me my very first MPC... rallyblues Off-Topic 13 03-14-2008 11:47 PM
HELP! My car is crapping out on me synickle General Community 4 12-03-2005 12:27 PM
Attn: Brullen Crapped Out On Me booger Normally Aspirated Powertrain 4 07-15-2002 12:54 PM
Is my fuel pump crapping out on me? Jewbaru Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 9 04-18-2002 10:43 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.