Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Built Motor Discussion

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2007, 10:27 PM   #1
sense of nature
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 112759
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: In the V hole!
Vehicle:
?? pending....
sale....

Default replace factory front a/f sensor w/ a wideband

I have an extra 5 wire wide band & a damaged factory 4 wire front a/f sensor
Anyone know if I can splice the harness w/ the wide band , If possible which wires would connect where?
any help would be great
sense of nature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 12:57 AM   #2
wrxfactor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49978
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX w/ JDM STi
6spd, EJ255, VF39 & EWG

Default

Do you mean O2 sensor? The front O2 (bank 1) is a narrowband. I would suggest putting the wideband in the downpipe, otherwise I believe the EGTs get high enough to destroy the wideband if you put it pre-turbo.
wrxfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 11:10 AM   #3
gto7419
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44256
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon

Default

You cannot use the wideband to replace the stock o2 and send the signal back to the ecu.... It wont work...

You CAN use a wideband that has an o2 output and get both a gauge reading from the wideband and send a simulated signal back to the ecu...

Best option here, would be to have a second bung welded into place, and use the wideband at least 16" after the turbo....
gto7419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 11:42 AM   #4
sense of nature
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 112759
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: In the V hole!
Vehicle:
?? pending....
sale....

Default

OK so if I have another wide band w/ a output for say 2 gauges ( bosch 5 wire I believe ) I could eliminate the factory a/f & just tap the signal from the wideband & feed it to the ecu? or something like that ?
thanks again
sense of nature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 11:48 AM   #5
Drink
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 102682
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Woodberry, IN
Vehicle:
... ripper's
sister.

Default

You won't be able to eliminate the factory wideband at all. You may be able to do it if you are running an elaborate standalone.

For tuning, you don't want to measure preturbo a/f, best location would be inches behind the exhaust housing of the snail. Hell, even if you could get and accuracte auxilary a/f reading before the turbo, you'd get tired of replacing $100 burnt out bosch senders.

You can however eliminate the rear 02 and run a wideband there, I did that for a while in the winter when it was too cold to mess with removing my downpipe and welding a bung.
Drink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 01:48 PM   #6
sense of nature
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 112759
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: In the V hole!
Vehicle:
?? pending....
sale....

Default

O.k here is what is going on inside of part of my head, my factory front a/f sensor was damaged from my last engine pull for the clutch , (good help is so hard to find ) anyway, I have a cel for low input voltage from the damaged wires. I have a spare wideband for my Lc-1 I was going to wire that in stead of replacing the factory a/f sensor .. Maybe I should have said that to begin w/ . It was hard to single out that 1 voice in my head to get it all correct info together .
thanks



again
sense of nature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 08:09 PM   #7
NJWagon03
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 85232
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Central New Jersey
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX Wgn
Midnight Black

Default

If you are using the front o2 sensor you need to replace it with another factory o2, the linear wideband sensor gives out a whole different voltage reading that the ecu wouldnt understand, you would just get more dtc's. the sensors work very differently, they are not interchangeable. hope that helps
NJWagon03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 09:22 PM   #8
sense of nature
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 112759
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: In the V hole!
Vehicle:
?? pending....
sale....

Default

AAAAhhhh the light has been seen
thanks all
sense of nature is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 06:35 PM   #9
bboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56468
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
04 Improved STI
Dirty White

Default

Thanks for playing the built motor forum.
bboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2007, 06:39 PM   #10
jays05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78165
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Vehicle:
05 STI 35r + e85

Default

Thanks for bumping a 2-month old thread

If there were front o2 calibration maps in the ECU (I've never seen one) it might be possible to wire a wideband's analog output to the ecu wires for the front o2. I did the same with my rear o2.
jays05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LC-1 Wideband replacing factory o2 snbco07 Electrical & Lighting 7 04-02-2009 06:25 PM
FS: Front o2 sensor 2000 rs wideband GregBolby 1993 - 2001 Impreza Specific Parts 0 06-04-2008 02:23 PM
Looking for Cheap Replacement for Front Oxygen Sensor crystalhelix Service & Maintenance 3 09-10-2007 03:06 PM
replacing front a/f sensor adamoliver Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 04-28-2007 05:50 PM
Anyone had to replace their front O2 sensor? eightballrj Engine Management & Tuning 8 11-06-2003 04:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.