Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 14, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2007, 01:03 AM   #1
Bruce Wayne
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122361
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Gotham 98115
Vehicle:
05 Tumbler STi
CGM

Default How long does it take for your ECU to learn after a AP Flash?

I flashed the AP Stage 1 map onto my ECU today. I was just driving around easy today for a couple miles, but it seems to hesitate a little when I tried to get on full throttle so I let off. Does it usually take a certain amount of time for your ECU to learn the new map/flash?
Bruce Wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 01:31 AM   #2
a6n6d6y
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123347
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: SEATTLE
Vehicle:
1993 POS
burgandy legacy

Default

short answer is yes, any time the ecu is reset

there is a couple of parameters it needs to relearn
a6n6d6y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 11:07 AM   #3
Bruce Wayne
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122361
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Gotham 98115
Vehicle:
05 Tumbler STi
CGM

Default

A little update:

So I fired up the car this morning, the car idles fine, but I tried getting on the throttle again in 3rd gear and it still does definitely hesitate a little bit around 3200-3500rpms so I let off again. Starting to think something else might be wrong?
Bruce Wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 01:19 PM   #4
Sinister redlines
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 120641
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Vehicle:
05 HTA3586,BB 2.5L
CGM

Default

What kind of boost psi is the map giving you? There are a few other maps available from cobb that may take care of the problem if that is the issue. Which map did you download from cobb as well?
Sinister redlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 01:44 PM   #5
R & H Garage
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 139767
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA (Green Lake)
Default

what is your setup? Please be specific.

-Dominic
R & H Garage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 03:27 PM   #6
Bruce Wayne
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122361
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Gotham 98115
Vehicle:
05 Tumbler STi
CGM

Default I feel like such an idiot

So I never really questioned buying my car from a dealer that if it had aftermarket components on it it would be obvious or the dealer would let me know before I buy it. So today, I went and dug around a little in my engine bay looking for loose hoses or tighteners and what not, and I see a "TRUST" rubber housing, which made me think maybe this isn't even a factory VF39 turbo, and sure enough it has a Forced Performance turbocharger ( I have no idea what model), so that is probably why my car isn't running right? I am running the Cobb AP Stage 1 91oct map. Could this be why my car is hesitating when I try to get on the throttle a bit? I am an idiot!!!
Bruce Wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 03:31 PM   #7
lokies
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51554
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Milwaukee, Whiskonsin
Vehicle:
2004 psm wrx
Now with 2 car seats...!

Default

try stage 2, you might be better off running stage 2...whats your mod list? with an after market turbo, Stage I might not be the accurate flash for your car...You'll probably, most likely need a tune...
lokies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 04:00 PM   #8
Bruce Wayne
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122361
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Gotham 98115
Vehicle:
05 Tumbler STi
CGM

Default

I really dont have any mods. Stock 05 STi with a K&N drop in filter.
Bruce Wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 04:03 PM   #9
scrappydoo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23630
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
97 v4 STi RA
Feather White, 02 WRX MBP

Default

Now that's a score.

Now take a look at your injectors and fuelpump. If the previous owner was too lazy to swap out the turbo, I doubt he did the injectors and fp too. If it's all there then just get it tuned.

Btw, if it's a fpgreen and you don't want it pm me. I've been looking for a used one.
scrappydoo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 04:26 PM   #10
lokies
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51554
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Milwaukee, Whiskonsin
Vehicle:
2004 psm wrx
Now with 2 car seats...!

Default

FP turbo charger is not "stock"....you should try to find out what else you dont know that was left in the car...
lokies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 04:49 PM   #11
Bruce Wayne
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122361
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Gotham 98115
Vehicle:
05 Tumbler STi
CGM

Default

My bad. So far, as far as I'm concerned my car "looks" stock except the newly discovered FP turbo and the K&N drop in filter. Gotta go investigate some more to see if the injectors and fuel pump have been modified also.

I guess this is a lesson learned for not probing around more under my hood. I've never driven any other STi's, but have driven other cars of this caliber or faster, and I thought my car was ridiculously fast for some reason, but I found a good deal on a AP so I thought why not. So this ultimately means I flashed over a perfectly well tuned ECU. Bummer
Bruce Wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 05:22 PM   #12
lokies
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51554
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Milwaukee, Whiskonsin
Vehicle:
2004 psm wrx
Now with 2 car seats...!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funtaSTic scoobaru View Post
My bad. So far, as far as I'm concerned my car "looks" stock except the newly discovered FP turbo and the K&N drop in filter. Gotta go investigate some more to see if the injectors and fuel pump have been modified also.

I guess this is a lesson learned for not probing around more under my hood. I've never driven any other STi's, but have driven other cars of this caliber or faster, and I thought my car was ridiculously fast for some reason, but I found a good deal on a AP so I thought why not. So this ultimately means I flashed over a perfectly well tuned ECU. Bummer

^^^ possibly, or like the other person had mention, unmarry the AP from your car. Just curious as to what kind of mods you have? from the sounds of it, you got yourself a pretty modified STi...
lokies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 04:50 PM   #13
scrappydoo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23630
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
97 v4 STi RA
Feather White, 02 WRX MBP

Default

I wonder if you can unmarry the ap and not lose the previous tune?
scrappydoo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 05:29 PM   #14
icanbrkurhrt
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 144725
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2004 wrx wagon
what are the odds?!

Default

i think you should just go with the flow.
its already modded obviously so i think you should just buy a dp and exhaust.
then get a protune.
you'll be happy.
icanbrkurhrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 05:39 PM   #15
Bruce Wayne
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122361
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Gotham 98115
Vehicle:
05 Tumbler STi
CGM

Default

So when you unmarry the AP it's supposed to set it back to how it was previously? Does the AP store the old information when you first marry it? I was under the impression that it just flashes the stock map from cobb onto your ecu before it umarries. I guess I could try unmarrying it.
Bruce Wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 06:13 PM   #16
lokies
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51554
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Milwaukee, Whiskonsin
Vehicle:
2004 psm wrx
Now with 2 car seats...!

Default

for sure Cobb OTS map is not designed for your FP turbo...best thing for you to do now until you know exactly what you have is to unmarry the AP from your car... my .02....
lokies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 08:12 PM   #17
a6n6d6y
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123347
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: SEATTLE
Vehicle:
1993 POS
burgandy legacy

Default

if it's ap v2 unmarry it and you'll be back to where you were

v1 ap goes back to a ots stock map
a6n6d6y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 08:51 PM   #18
gi2005
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 150531
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
2002 VF39 WRX
MPB

Default

**** man let me know what the turbo is!! i got a vf39 on my 02 wrx im down to switch depends on the turbo u got =D
gi2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 09:18 PM   #19
Bruce Wayne
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122361
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Gotham 98115
Vehicle:
05 Tumbler STi
CGM

Default

So after looking over a bunch of FP turbos I am pretty sure it is a FP Green turbocharger. I also threw a CEL code P0172 on the way home from work, so it is running too rich, or something else is causing it to throw that code. Now its idling rough after I start it, and died once when I tried to start it the first time This is a pain in the arse. Does anyone know any good tuning shops near seattle with a great tuner? Thanks
Bruce Wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 10:14 PM   #20
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funtaSTic scoobaru View Post
So after looking over a bunch of FP turbos I am pretty sure it is a FP Green turbocharger. I also threw a CEL code P0172 on the way home from work, so it is running too rich, or something else is causing it to throw that code. Now its idling rough after I start it, and died once when I tried to start it the first time This is a pain in the arse. Does anyone know any good tuning shops near seattle with a great tuner? Thanks
If you have a version 2 accesport, then unmarry it from the car. This should give you the map that was on there when you bought it. See if it runs any better that way.
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 11:05 AM   #21
Bruce Wayne
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122361
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Gotham 98115
Vehicle:
05 Tumbler STi
CGM

Default

Unfortunately I have the original version of AP, so it will just set it back to a stock STi map if i unmarry it.
Bruce Wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 11:05 AM   #22
Bruce Wayne
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122361
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Gotham 98115
Vehicle:
05 Tumbler STi
CGM

Default

Unfortunately I have the original version of AP, so it will just set it back to a stock STi map if i unmarry it.
Bruce Wayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 12:07 PM   #23
scrappydoo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23630
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
97 v4 STi RA
Feather White, 02 WRX MBP

Default

Do you have all the supporting mods to go with that turbo? You should have a turboback exhaust, injectors, and a fuelpump. I'm not sure but that turbo may be big enough to need a bigmaf too.

To get it tuned I'd go to Dom, or PIA and have Tim tune it when he's in town.
scrappydoo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New construction homeowners- how long does it take for your address to show up? WRXVT Off-Topic 20 10-13-2008 05:32 PM
How long does it take for a bearing to spin after the damge starts? BlackoutWRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 7 06-30-2007 05:08 PM
how long does it take for money order to get to the seller? MadDogSTi General Community 15 05-02-2006 01:47 PM
OT Exotic Bird Gurus: How long does it take for a tail to grow back? Thursday Off-Topic 11 03-03-2005 11:12 PM
After shaving how long does it take for your beard to grow back? wrxfx Off-Topic 33 08-12-2004 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.