Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 12, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Vancouver Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2010, 04:27 AM   #1
Zefy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105104
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Vehicle:
1979 BRAT / 01 RSTI
99 2.5TS (DEAD) / 87 GL

Default Motor swap issues! Thoughts???

ej22 swap from the brat USED to run like a top. Now that i'm trying to get the old brat up and running again it is giving me issues. Need some input to see if I'm missing anything.

Motor is a 1990 auto legacy ej22. Wiring has been stripped and reduced to a 'stand alone' system. Stock everything except the air box, exhaust, and fuel pump.

Car will start and run PROPERLY but will die ~5 seconds after starting.

I have checked/changed the maf, IAC, ecu, main relay, fuel pump relay, cam sensor... list continues...

I have also cleaned ALL of my engine/ecu powers and grounds. Confirmed my voltages at 4 of the ecu powers, injector, coil, TPS all giving the same results. (13.5v priming, 12v cranking, and 14v running)

Checked continuity between the ecu and the tps, IAC, maf, and cam sensor.

also checked my fuel pressure (remember this is an n/a motor) and i have 40psi at prime and 30-35 while running.

pressing the throttle makes it bog.

please give me some thoughts and ideas to what it could be.

Full troubleshooting overview can be found here:

http://www.ultimatesubaru.org/forum/...505#post947505
Zefy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 03:45 PM   #2
minifreak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 116914
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
Obsidian Black

Default

Have you checked to see if your ECU is getting the proper readings from the TPS, idle sensor and MAP?
minifreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 04:21 PM   #3
Zefy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105104
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Vehicle:
1979 BRAT / 01 RSTI
99 2.5TS (DEAD) / 87 GL

Default

I'm not sure what they are supposed to be, so no i have not. I've confirmed that they are getting power, but if it is a 'correct' signal, i'm not sure.

I have a perfect power 6 but it's only got the rpm and tps connected to it so far. (just tapping in to the signals)

what should the tps, maf, and IAC be producing?
Zefy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 06:48 PM   #4
minifreak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 116914
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Beautiful British Columbia
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
Obsidian Black

Default

It should produce change in voltage as the sensors goes through it's ranges. On an OBDII car the best way to check would be to hook the car up to a laptop and see those values in realtime.

On Loomin's engine we weren't getting proper TPS values from the ECU, after some trouble shooting we tracked it down to the difference in wiring harness causing the ECU not receiving the proper signals.
minifreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 08:53 PM   #5
Loomin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118113
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
98' Stagea 260RS
Autech Ver.

Default

now we fixed it by simply re-pinning the harness corectly, break in is finished and it rips like a ****ing animal! too bad my gay stock clutch cant hold worth ****. **** me i have to change that too!.
Loomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 10:40 PM   #6
Zefy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105104
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Vehicle:
1979 BRAT / 01 RSTI
99 2.5TS (DEAD) / 87 GL

Default

this is not an obd2 engine. obd1 is all i got. and my blinky light shows everything is working 'correctly'.

tried a few other things like bypass the fuel pump relay and main relay giving them both their own battery. so i know everything is getting power.

tried unplugging the maf and tps while in these states and nothing happened.

i also found a pin that is a 'california identifier' pin on the ecu. this is not supposed to be grounded but it was. This, now that i'm thinking about it, doesn't make sense because it is routed right to a ground from the get go meaning it was grounded in the old legacy it was in for the first ~18 years of its life... Anyways... didn't make a difference...

Also sounded like the fuel pump was struggling a bit while it was pumping (because i bypassed the relay i didn't prime anymore, just on all the time) so i put another 5 liters in it and it smoothed right out. wouldn't it be nice if it turned out i just didn't have enough gas? well it wasn't that easy i guess because it stayed the same. My fuel pressures are a little more smooth now but i still see the same results.

what the hell is going on...? i've got it running SUPER smooth then it's like somebody is jacking my keys 5 seconds later.
Zefy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 03:27 AM   #7
Loomin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118113
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
98' Stagea 260RS
Autech Ver.

Default

put more than 5L in it.
Loomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 07:32 AM   #8
Zefy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 105104
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Coquitlam, BC, Canada
Vehicle:
1979 BRAT / 01 RSTI
99 2.5TS (DEAD) / 87 GL

Default

I put an extra 5L in it. Giving it about 12 total... Its only a 30L tank.
Zefy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 02:35 AM   #9
Loomin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118113
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
98' Stagea 260RS
Autech Ver.

Default

hmmmmm.... hows the coil?
Loomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JDM FXT Motor Swap into 02' WRX Cam Position Sensor Issue dailo13 Subaru Conversions 14 08-18-2009 03:40 PM
Need more info for sti motor swap - hvac, motor and so on. hybrid gti 2 Subaru Conversions 4 09-29-2008 10:41 PM
dash swap and motor swap questions aka_tur Subaru Conversions 6 02-27-2007 05:21 PM
Hypothetical...swapping cams when doing motor swap kaisersouse Normally Aspirated Powertrain 0 04-14-2006 07:54 AM
Tiny det issue. Thoughts? Davenow Engine Management & Tuning 16 09-29-2005 10:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.