Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday September 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > UTEC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 06:24 PM   #1
landon2992
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 334211
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Parkton MD
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default Turboxs utec

Okay..so I'm still learning about subarus and I have a 2004 wrx and it has a turbo xs utec. I bought it from a dealer about 2 weeks ago. I just found out it has a turboxs utec. And I may not be able to contact the previous owner. So, question is...is there a way to find out what maps he has tuned in it? He put a map selector near the mirror switch but it isn't hooked up. I've been searching and searching so don't get on me about using the search bar. Keywords could have been wrong, I don't know. But any pointers would help. I may take it to a shop near me and have them look it over for the hell of it. Thanks!
landon2992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:51 PM   #2
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

you will need a serial cable or serial to usb cable and hyper-terminal to check out the maps installed. Turboxs is only an hour and 1/2 from you if you need support.
fastnoypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 07:41 PM   #3
landon2992
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 334211
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Parkton MD
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi
you will need a serial cable or serial to usb cable and hyper-terminal to check out the maps installed. Turboxs is only an hour and 1/2 from you if you need support.
Thanks! I finally found more info on it. I was actually just thinking about going to them to have them check it out since they're close. But I do have a serial cable but won't hook to my laptop since its not a serial to USB. But that's how I first noticed it lol I was on my passenger side for some reason and I saw the serial cable tucked under the dash. So i moved the carpet and the kickplate and BAM! Saw a turboxs utec.
landon2992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:52 PM   #4
landon2992
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 334211
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Parkton MD
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

But I am also having problems with the map selector switch that is installed. It doesn't seem to work and I can't find anything about how it couldn't be working. I switch to a different map with it and it doesn't do anything. The red dial on the utec is set to 0 like it should be. I checked and it is in the accessory plug. There are two wires (I believe white and light blue; not 100% sure but they have connectors on the end) I'm not sure where they go if they are even suppose to be hooked up, I found them rolled up under the kick panel. And like I said I can't find anything that explains on why the map selector switch wouldn't be working besides making sure the dial is at 0.
landon2992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 11:34 PM   #5
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

It's possible the selector switch is bad. How far are you from Allentown Pa?
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:08 PM   #6
landon2992
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 334211
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Parkton MD
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewayz View Post
It's possible the selector switch is bad. How far are you from Allentown Pa?
I was thinking that too. Idk if it needs an all time "hot" to change maps or not. If it does, one of the wires needs to be moved in the connector so it connects to the hot on the utec. I'm about 2 1/2 hours away from Allentown Pa!
landon2992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 10:25 AM   #7
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

If you need help with it pm me.
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 06:03 PM   #8
tmclaughlin83
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336108
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Vineland
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX Lim
Red/ Black

Default

Soo I'm kind of in the same boat and after searching I'm starting to feel like the utec is an out-dated piece of **** but until I can upgrade I want to setup the 2 step launch control. Problem is I can't even connect to the thing. I've tried using a PC with windows 7 and a Mac with 10.6.8 running a VT100 emulator. Any suggests?
tmclaughlin83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 02:27 PM   #9
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmclaughlin83 View Post
Soo I'm kind of in the same boat and after searching I'm starting to feel like the utec is an out-dated piece of **** but until I can upgrade I want to setup the 2 step launch control. Problem is I can't even connect to the thing. I've tried using a PC with windows 7 and a Mac with 10.6.8 running a VT100 emulator. Any suggests?
download hyperterminal on your pc. You might be able to get it off an older windows cd. I haven't tried accessing it in years with a Mac, last time was very frustrating just to get the cable recognized.
fastnoypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 04:17 AM   #10
blkgm8
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 184543
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
JDM RHD GM8 Type R
02 6 Speed Bugeye

Default

Use any PC running windows xp. Search files and folders. Type hyper terminal and two files will show up... hyperteminal.exe and hyperterminal.dll. It might show up abbreviated like hypertrm.dll or something iirc.Anyway just copy those two files to a flash drive and put those two files in the c drive of the newer laptop running windows vista or 7 etc. Might want to place hyperterminal shortcut on desktop for future use.

You now have hyper terminal... click on the exe and run. It will ask for new connection etc name connection Utec and save as for future sessions. Do the com port setup and other small things per user manual and all set. The hyper terminal screen will do nothing until you turn on acc power to utec. Then you will see utec main screen come on in black on hyper terminal.

*To play with maps in utec at home without 9v adapter, go to a music store and buy a Roland 12v power supply for a keyboard or drum machine. Bring utec and make sure plug fits. Presto. Have fun playing with maps and options without sitting in the car without that silly 9v battery thing. How did I know this would work... it seemed logical that any 12v power supply would work because that's what runs powered devices in the car, a 12v battery. I had some spare power supplies in a box... found a 12v that fit and it was the one made by Roland. Works perfectly.

Any issues send me a pm

Last edited by blkgm8; 12-21-2012 at 04:27 AM.
blkgm8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.