Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Reviews > Car Part Reviews

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2012, 04:03 PM   #1
mtarr07
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (7)
 
Member#: 246990
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2010 Wrx

Default Gimmick Motorsports Throttle Body Hose

I have a 2010 wrx and saw that Import Image was having a sale on these during black friday/ cyber monday, so I picked one up (as well as some other things). Upon arrival, the Gimmick Motorsports throttle body hose looked pretty solid and defnitely a lot longer, so I was excited to install it and be worry free. My stock hose had popped off once before and I just cranked the clamps real well and it hasn't been a problem, but I was installing gauges and had to take the TMIC off anyways so I figured "why not replace that stupid stock hose with one that fixes the problem?". Well, boy was I wrong. The Gimmick Motorsports throttle body hose does not fit in any way, shape, or form. I twisted and turned it a million different was and no luck. I ended up just using the stock throttle body hose at the end of the day. DO NOT BUY THE GIMMICK MOTORSPORTS THROTTLE BODY HOSE, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. It MIGHT be able to fit if you cut it in a few spots, but whats the point of that?

It is literally such a poor design and fit, I have no idea how Gimmick Motorsports even released this. I don't have the balls to even post this POS up for sale on the forums, its just getting thrown out.

This is in no way, shape, or form a hit at Import Image. I've bought a ton of stuff from them on mulitple occasions and they always have great service. I have not contacted them to be reimbursed because I don't see this to be their fault as they don't produce the part. I will be contacting them with my negative experience and suggest they stop selling this part all together as it is a waste of money.

Cliffnotes: Don't buy a Gimmick Motorsports throttle body hose. It does not fit.
mtarr07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 08:17 PM   #2
Monkey king
Scooby Newbie
Member Sales Rating: (0)
 
Member#: 209401
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Kennewick WA
Vehicle:
2005 Sti
Silver

Default

Sorry to hear you wasted your time and cash on this gimmick.
Monkey king is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 06:13 AM   #3
GrumpyPitbull
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (1)
 
Member#: 313311
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Default

Well, on the upside I am sure IIR will try to make things right for you. They like to keep their customers happy.

I could never bring myself to buy parts from a company called "gimmick" lol. When I first saw that brand name I was like wtf .. why would anyone want that as a brand name.

Unfortunately it sounds like they live up to their name.
GrumpyPitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:28 AM   #4
IMPORTIMAGE
NASIOC Storefront Vendor
Vendor Sales Rating: (611)
 
Member#: 79304
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: FL
Vehicle:
WE MAKE'EM FASTER!
www.ImportImageRacing.com

Default

again pretty weird that only you are having an issue with a few hundred sold. I'm sure the manufacturer will help out. did you try upgrading the clamps?
i had one on my own 2011 wrx, worked just fine
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Open Daily
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

#1-941-257-9618 AIM= importimagerace

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Best Deals on
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!!! WE BEAT ALL PRICE QUOTES!!!!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<>
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
IMPORTIMAGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 10:43 AM   #5
1wrxtra
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (4)
 
Member#: 316364
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Vehicle:
2012 WRX

Default

I have one on mine as well. It was definitely a bitch to get on correctly and was somewhat counter intuitive. I think I got mine on with the "Gimmick" label facing the ground, and on the end that's closest to the front of the car.

Hope that makes sense.
1wrxtra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:15 PM   #6
mtarr07
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (7)
 
Member#: 246990
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2010 Wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1wrxtra View Post
I have one on mine as well. It was definitely a bitch to get on correctly and was somewhat counter intuitive. I think I got mine on with the "Gimmick" label facing the ground, and on the end that's closest to the front of the car.

Hope that makes sense.
Thats the best way I found it to "fit" as well. But then the intercooler wouldn't be anywhere near lining up with the turbo. Are you using a Perrin TMIC?
mtarr07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 11:34 AM   #7
1wrxtra
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (4)
 
Member#: 316364
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Vehicle:
2012 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtarr07 View Post
Thats the best way I found it to "fit" as well. But then the intercooler wouldn't be anywhere near lining up with the turbo. Are you using a Perrin TMIC?
Sorry for the late response but I have the stock '12 wrx tmic.

I would think that if the PERRIN can mount up with the stock TB hose it should work with the Gimmick - I don't know for sure if it can, but it seems strange to me that it wouldn't.
1wrxtra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 11:17 AM   #8
meebs
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (5)
 
Member#: 3251
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Lake Tapps, WA
Vehicle:
2009 WRX Hatch
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1wrxtra View Post
I have one on mine as well. It was definitely a bitch to get on correctly and was somewhat counter intuitive. I think I got mine on with the "Gimmick" label facing the ground, and on the end that's closest to the front of the car.

Hope that makes sense.
This is the answer. Once I figured this was the correct orientation, I put a little chalk mark on the "top" to mark up where the IC will go in. I'm on just a stock TMIC.

It did leave to some guessing and trial and error to make sure this was the right way to mount it but this is it. You can set it side by side to the stock one with this orientation (gimmick label down and label on TB) and the length is pretty close stock. The angle and bend might be off by just a few degrees, but it's not much... That does mean it requires a little elbow grease to get the IC bracket bolt in. I had to pull the IC a little to get the mounting bolt in place, it was off by maybe 1/2 an inch. Once that was in then just slight pulling to get the turbo screws in place and it was good.

I've never found any silicone hose from either manufacturer I've tried to be 100% exact stock specification. As tight as it fits though, it isn't going anywhere.
meebs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 04:16 PM   #9
mtarr07
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (7)
 
Member#: 246990
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2010 Wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IMPORTIMAGE View Post
again pretty weird that only you are having an issue with a few hundred sold. I'm sure the manufacturer will help out. did you try upgrading the clamps?
i had one on my own 2011 wrx, worked just fine
Clamps have nothing to do with poor/ terrible fitment. They just prevent it from slipping off.

Also, I dont know who specificically from IIR posted this but when I was PMing IIR, I asked if you had ever installed this or had it installed and you said no.
mtarr07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 06:02 PM   #10
IMPORTIMAGE
NASIOC Storefront Vendor
Vendor Sales Rating: (611)
 
Member#: 79304
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: FL
Vehicle:
WE MAKE'EM FASTER!
www.ImportImageRacing.com

Default

there are 9 members here. so its very possible most of the employees haven't installed this product.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Open Daily
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

#1-941-257-9618 AIM= importimagerace

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Best Deals on
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!!! WE BEAT ALL PRICE QUOTES!!!!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<>
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
IMPORTIMAGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:02 PM   #11
SilveradoWVU
Scooby Newbie
Member Sales Rating: (0)
 
Member#: 136876
Join Date: Jan 2007
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
OBP

Default

Today, I tried for over 4 hours to make this thing fit my Perrin TMIC. No matter how you orient the hose, Either the turbo side isn't going to bolt up, or the hose isn't going to be on the throttle body side. This thing is definitely designed to fit ONLY a stock Intercooler, and hopefully someone reads this, and saves themselves the headache and hassle if they have something aftermarket. T-Bolts, stock hose , and some prayers it is.
SilveradoWVU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 12:13 PM   #12
ResidentR
NASIOC Supporter
Member Sales Rating: (3)
 
Member#: 281656
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Centreville, VA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited
DGM

Default

Happy with mine, fits my front mount well.
ResidentR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 04:29 PM   #13
Kitt
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (6)
 
Member#: 24621
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2006 Legacy GT
2015 WRX STi

Default

For the record, I did not have a single problem installing this hose on my Legacy gt with AVO tmic. The most difficult part was getting the hose on the throttle body..it was a pretty tight fit.

Bought the hose from IIR as well.

Last edited by Kitt; 01-31-2013 at 04:36 PM.
Kitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:00 AM   #14
Tripintaz
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (8)
 
Member#: 245218
Join Date: Apr 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: FL
Vehicle:
2013 STI Limited

Default

I think the installer is the issue here.
Tripintaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 10:22 AM   #15
mtarr07
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (7)
 
Member#: 246990
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2010 Wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1wrxtra View Post
Sorry for the late response but I have the stock '12 wrx tmic.

I would think that if the PERRIN can mount up with the stock TB hose it should work with the Gimmick - I don't know for sure if it can, but it seems strange to me that it wouldn't.
Yeah, the stock tmic is a LOT smaller and there is a LOT more room to work with. I can see it working with a stock TMIC, I'm not debating that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by meebs View Post
This is the answer. Once I figured this was the correct orientation, I put a little chalk mark on the "top" to mark up where the IC will go in. I'm on just a stock TMIC.

It did leave to some guessing and trial and error to make sure this was the right way to mount it but this is it. You can set it side by side to the stock one with this orientation (gimmick label down and label on TB) and the length is pretty close stock. The angle and bend might be off by just a few degrees, but it's not much... That does mean it requires a little elbow grease to get the IC bracket bolt in. I had to pull the IC a little to get the mounting bolt in place, it was off by maybe 1/2 an inch. Once that was in then just slight pulling to get the turbo screws in place and it was good.

I've never found any silicone hose from either manufacturer I've tried to be 100% exact stock specification. As tight as it fits though, it isn't going anywhere.
Again, you're on the stock TMIC. Size it up next to a Perrin and you will understand.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilveradoWVU View Post
Today, I tried for over 4 hours to make this thing fit my Perrin TMIC. No matter how you orient the hose, Either the turbo side isn't going to bolt up, or the hose isn't going to be on the throttle body side. This thing is definitely designed to fit ONLY a stock Intercooler, and hopefully someone reads this, and saves themselves the headache and hassle if they have something aftermarket. T-Bolts, stock hose , and some prayers it is.
This. If you get the hose to fit, the other end wont line up with the turbo, or vice versa. It's just not going to happen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ResidentR View Post
Happy with mine, fits my front mount well.
Yes, you have a front mount. Completely different application. Glad it worked for you though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kitt View Post
For the record, I did not have a single problem installing this hose on my Legacy gt with AVO tmic. The most difficult part was getting the hose on the throttle body..it was a pretty tight fit.

Bought the hose from IIR as well.
AVO tmic is still smaller than the Perrin. See first reponse above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripintaz View Post
I think the installer is the issue here.
I think you're wrong.

You're more than welcome to come to my house and try to get it on. I've got all the necessary tools. I'll even buy us pizza to laugh over (I like pizza) and if you can get it to fit, i'll toss you $50 for making me look retarded. (I'd feel pretty retarded given I've done everything from a cam swap in a LSX motor to swapping stupid honda engines; this should be pretty easy which is why I'm so frustrated)
mtarr07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 10:21 AM   #16
Tripintaz
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (8)
 
Member#: 245218
Join Date: Apr 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: FL
Vehicle:
2013 STI Limited

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtarr07 View Post

I think you're wrong.

You're more than welcome to come to my house and try to get it on. I've got all the necessary tools. I'll even buy us pizza to laugh over (I like pizza) and if you can get it to fit, i'll toss you $50 for making me look retarded. (I'd feel pretty retarded given I've done everything from a cam swap in a LSX motor to swapping stupid honda engines; this should be pretty easy which is why I'm so frustrated)
They must have sent the wrong one then? I installed mine super easy. I've done plenty of LSX drive train swaps myself so if you are saying its that hard then something is wrong.
Tripintaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:48 AM   #17
thrasher
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (46)
 
Member#: 40579
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Stage 2+
Tuned by IA Performance

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtarr07 View Post
You're more than welcome to come to my house and try to get it on. I've got all the necessary tools. I'll even buy us pizza if you can get it to fit, i'll toss you $50 for making me look retarded.
Anyone else see the humor in this post, or is it just me?
thrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 10:57 AM   #18
Tripintaz
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (8)
 
Member#: 245218
Join Date: Apr 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: FL
Vehicle:
2013 STI Limited

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrasher View Post
Anyone else see the humor in this post, or is it just me?
I do now that you pointed it out
Tripintaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 06:49 PM   #19
Newsubie09
Scooby Newbie
Member Sales Rating: (0)
 
Member#: 230971
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New York
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza 2.5GT

Default

what did you end up doing? back to stock? im looking to get the AVO but i have a Perrin TMIC to install..
Newsubie09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 06:02 PM   #20
insanesuby
Scooby Newbie
Member Sales Rating: (0)
 
Member#: 23494
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
Black

Default

Mine too did not fit at all. Gave up after 2 hours of turning and twisting. I'm using a Perrin type TMIC. If I got it on the IC it wouldn't match to the TB if I got it on the TB I couldn't bolt the IC. Seems like it needs to bend towards the passenger side about an inch.
insanesuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 09:58 AM   #21
mtarr07
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (7)
 
Member#: 246990
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2010 Wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newsubie09 View Post
what did you end up doing? back to stock? im looking to get the AVO but i have a Perrin TMIC to install..
Just used the stock one. Haven't had any problems holding 21+ psi.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripintaz View Post
They must have sent the wrong one then? I installed mine super easy. I've done plenty of LSX drive train swaps myself so if you are saying its that hard then something is wrong.
Nope. If you look around a bit, there are a handful of people that have a Perrin TMIC that have reported this doesn't fit. There's one in the FS section right now actually (same TMIC and result as me).

Something is wrong; this part does not fit with Perrin's TMIC or one of similar size and it doesnt say that anywhere when you go to purchase it. It actually says the opposite and claims to fix the issue, when it makes the issue worse (in that you can't even get it on; at least the stock one fits somewhat). lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrasher View Post
Anyone else see the humor in this post, or is it just me?
LOLZ. It was meant to be funny. I was waiting for someone to catch on.



Quote:
Originally Posted by insanesuby View Post
Mine too did not fit at all. Gave up after 2 hours of turning and twisting. I'm using a Perrin type TMIC. If I got it on the IC it wouldn't match to the TB if I got it on the TB I couldn't bolt the IC. Seems like it needs to bend towards the passenger side about an inch.
Exactly. Thanks for further proving my point. Hopefully other people will see this and not make the same mistake as we did. Luckily this is a cheap part so I don't care (that much) about eating the cost of it.

I think it's funny that people who dont have my setup (or same car for that matter) are telling me I'm wrong. Even when other people with the same setup as me are having the same problems, I'm still being told that "It must be installer error". Why dont you go find a 2008-2013 wrx and try to install a Perrin TMIC with this throttle body hose then, instead of just saying I'm wrong. You have no evidence that it fits. If you think I'm that inept and incapable of installing such a basic part, fine. I made this thread to warn/ help others with a Perrin (or similar size) TMIC. That is all. Buy at your own risk, I dont care. I'm still going to be able to sleep at night.

Last edited by mtarr07; 04-23-2013 at 10:04 AM.
mtarr07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 12:56 PM   #22
Tripintaz
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (8)
 
Member#: 245218
Join Date: Apr 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: FL
Vehicle:
2013 STI Limited

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtarr07 View Post
Nope. If you look around a bit, there are a handful of people that have a Perrin TMIC that have reported this doesn't fit. There's one in the FS section right now actually (same TMIC and result as me).

Something is wrong; this part does not fit with Perrin's TMIC or one of similar size and it doesnt say that anywhere when you go to purchase it. It actually says the opposite and claims to fix the issue, when it makes the issue worse (in that you can't even get it on; at least the stock one fits somewhat). lol
Funny that this post bumped. I went to install one on my brothers 2010 WRX last weekend with the stock top mount and that ****er wouldn't fit! I am proof that you are correct sir. That thing is too long for the stock TMIC and had to be cut down.

I wonder what changed in the production process? The one I bought 3 years ago for my WRX fit just fine with the stock TMIC.
Tripintaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 01:00 PM   #23
meat_WRX
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (21)
 
Member#: 96919
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: chesapeake va
Vehicle:
2004 sti
black

Default

ive installed 2 on friends cars with zero issues. Thats just me though.
meat_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 01:48 PM   #24
mtarr07
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (7)
 
Member#: 246990
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2010 Wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripintaz View Post
Funny that this post bumped. I went to install one on my brothers 2010 WRX last weekend with the stock top mount and that ****er wouldn't fit! I am proof that you are correct sir. That thing is too long for the stock TMIC and had to be cut down.

I wonder what changed in the production process? The one I bought 3 years ago for my WRX fit just fine with the stock TMIC.
Wow, not even on the stock top mount? I kinda figured it would have fit. Glad to hear you were able to make it fit with some cutting though. Due to size contraints with the bigger Perrin TMIC, I'm not sure if any amount of cutting would get it to fit correctly. Either way, I didn't buy a part just to cut it up. LOL

Seriously though, thanks for coming in and getting back with your results. I only want others to be warned/ not make the same mistake I did. I knew I wasn't that inept at installing such a basic part.

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat_WRX View Post
ive installed 2 on friends cars with zero issues. Thats just me though.
Were they 08+ WRXs with a Perrin TMIC? I'd be willing to be the answer is no and you just didn't read the whole thread.

mtarr07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 02:39 PM   #25
mtarr07
Scooby Specialist
Member Sales Rating: (7)
 
Member#: 246990
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2010 Wrx

Default

Update:

Well, it looks like ImportImage got something up stating this doesn't fit, but they didn't approve my review so that can't be shown. I didn't even say anything bad/ out of line. I just gave it a low rating and stated it does not work with the Perrin TMIC; which obviously the description hadn't been updated yet.

Also, when I contacted them (ImportImage), I got a PM back saying it was sent somewhere and have never been contacted back. Couple this with a previous issue about them giving me the run around (bought guages and guage pod, A/F guage wasn't included even though I paid for it. It took over a month to receive my item and I must have called them 20+ times to get their butt into gear) when one of my items was never included when I bought a handful of things, I wont be going to them any more. Just stating my issues.
mtarr07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.