Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > UTEC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2006, 12:26 PM   #1
ejsportcom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88905
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: in the drivers seat....
Default how can i tune a/f with the utec quickly?

now i have been doing pull after pull changing the map slowly to acheive the a/f ratios im looking for, and i don't really want to have to beat my car anymore. is there a mathimatical solution for this so that i can atleast come close before i do the fine tuning?

p.s.- i would like to use the uti logger and just have it autotune, but i have an LC-1 wb not the "tuna"
ejsportcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 03:16 PM   #2
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

No - thats part of what sucks about the UTEC.

StreetTuner lets you make changes on the fly.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 07:31 PM   #3
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
No - thats part of what sucks about the UTEC.

StreetTuner lets you make changes on the fly.
and how do you propose that he tunes his own car using street tuner, while driving, "on the fly?"
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 09:53 PM   #4
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ride5000
and how do you propose that he tunes his own car using street tuner, while driving, "on the fly?"
Who said anything about driving? I propose he do it on the dyno. He mentioned 'pulls', which to me means dyno pulls. Decent dynos will allow him to maintain a given load while he maintains a given throttle value, and then he can use the realtime changes ability of ST to dial in an AFR value using his AFR meter. Once he's gone through most of the cells in the table, he's got everythign dialed in perfectly, and can go for a street logging run to make sure its all good.

(not that I'm not suggesting that ride5000 doesn't know all of this, but other might not).

For the love of god, DONT try to do this on the road!
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 10:16 PM   #5
ejsportcom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88905
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: in the drivers seat....
Default

yea i do street tuning..... basically i get on to 3 different highways each way back and forth to school, so i have been logging with the mps and tuning slowly, but it just takes so dam long. from what i understand there is an autotuner on the UTI logger thats accurate to 0.01 a/f ratio but of course it only works with the turbo xs "tuna" and i have an lc-1 . so i tryed asking the programmer the equations behide it and he walked around the subject. right now im stuck at getting the proper equation for the mafv to air flow graph...so if anyone knows it or where i can find it, this would be a problem solved because then i could just throw everything into excel, and have it spit out percent changes for me to plug into the fuel map......of course i would test it and post it up here for everyone else to use if they like
ejsportcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 10:25 PM   #6
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsportcom
right now im stuck at getting the proper equation for the mafv to air flow graph...so if anyone knows it or where i can find it, this would be a problem solved
i can help you with that:

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=817606

look for a post made by yours truly.

there's a bit of spreadsheet table as well as a mafv to mass rate equation derived by the fine gentleman and scholar jeff sponaugle.

good luck.
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 11:25 PM   #7
TypeC
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9794
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
02 2.5LWRX-Retired
335i w/twins

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcowger
Who said anything about driving? I propose he do it on the dyno. He mentioned 'pulls', which to me means dyno pulls.
For the love of god, DONT try to do this on the road!
I'm sorry but 99.9% of people do road tunes. It's rediculous and wasteful to hop on the dyno everytime you want to tweak something.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsportcom
it just takes so dam long.
That's just how it is.

With the new version of UTI, it makes it MUCH more simple.

Either way I always spend hours tweaking.
TypeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 12:43 AM   #8
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

I dont believe that 99.9% do road tunes. Maybe 50%. It IS wasteful to hop on the dyno for tweaks, and I dont recommend it. But for dialing in AFR the first time, its quicker to spend an hour on the dyno getting it good, and then doing road tunes for the tweaks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TypeC
I'm sorry but 99.9% of people do road tunes. It's rediculous and wasteful to hop on the dyno everytime you want to tweak something.


That's just how it is.

With the new version of UTI, it makes it MUCH more simple.

Either way I always spend hours tweaking.
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 04:53 PM   #9
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

I recommend logging a lot, then go back and make adjustments based on a large amout of logging. There are a few logger or log analyzer programs that make this easier. I use MPS to log and glance at my resultant AFR table, also some excel work so I can build my own intelligence into it, then go tweak the map.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 10:06 PM   #10
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

i suspect he's doing the good old fashioned road tune... start log, make pull, stop car, stop log, review log, make map changes, start log, make pull, stop car, etc etc...

tuning fuel on a dyno is MUCH easier, and is one of the places i can envision the ability to make real time changes to the fuel map saving tremendous amounts of time.

i just don't have a dyno... instead i have gotten very adept at left foot braking.
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 10:50 PM   #11
WRX-Blue-Mica
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37938
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indonesia
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Blue Mica

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ride5000

i just don't have a dyno... instead i have gotten very adept at left foot braking.
That's almost the same like dyno load anyway ...
WRX-Blue-Mica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 05:20 PM   #12
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

ejsport - I did not give you the equation because there isnt really an equation to the autotune. It is more of a process that takes about 4 steps, which i explained as best I could. You already have the maf table now.

The new version of UTI has the option to include a timestamp before each logger-line. This way you can possibly sync it up to your wb via excel.

Good News: I have gotten the SDK from Innovative to work and Im currently working on the LC-1/LM-1 Integration as I type this!

Jeff

Last edited by NavyBlueSubaru; 03-05-2006 at 05:37 PM.
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 07:42 PM   #13
ejsportcom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88905
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: in the drivers seat....
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NavyBlueSubaru
ejsport - I did not give you the equation because there isnt really an equation to the autotune. It is more of a process that takes about 4 steps, which i explained as best I could. You already have the maf table now.

The new version of UTI has the option to include a timestamp before each logger-line. This way you can possibly sync it up to your wb via excel.

Good News: I have gotten the SDK from Innovative to work and Im currently working on the LC-1/LM-1 Integration as I type this!

Jeff
didn't mean to sound like i was calling you out there, so i apologize for that.... as for the SDK working, thats great news and i hope it works out, for my sake as well as all the other lc-1 users.

ps- i did get the excel speadsheet working and its good to about 0.03 a/f, but i'd still rather use the UTI, its much easier then pluging in sets and sets of values.....
ejsportcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 09:56 PM   #14
NavyBlueSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22127
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oviedo, FL
Vehicle:
2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Estoril Blue

Default

I have tried to calculate the afr by looking at the mafv and idc's but it didnt really work out. The utec does not output the MAFv at a high enough accuracy to really use it.

Jeff
NavyBlueSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 10:20 AM   #15
AaronWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7194
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NoVa
Vehicle:
2011 997.2 Turbo
Black

Default

yeah.. i wish the utec would have more then one decimal for MAF. there is a big difference between 4.60 and 4.69.
AaronWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 02:14 PM   #16
TypeC
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9794
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Texas
Vehicle:
02 2.5LWRX-Retired
335i w/twins

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AaronWRX
yeah.. i wish the utec would have more then one decimal for MAF. there is a big difference between 4.60 and 4.69.
+1. This would be a good request for TurboXS.
TypeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 12:22 PM   #17
santofontana
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26876
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 1990 GMC Sierra 4x4 350ci
Vehicle:
1994 Camaro Z28 383
Black M6

Default

that would be cool, it doesnt seem like it would be too hard for them to do either.

+2
santofontana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone help me out with my UTEC ? billy boi Tri-State Area Forum 0 03-23-2006 01:22 PM
Can I tune my car with Delta Dash? mrtrex Engine Management & Tuning 5 10-04-2005 03:49 PM
what is the difference with revisions and versions with the UTEC ? billy boi Engine Management & Tuning 3 01-27-2005 01:06 PM
Can you do an ecu reset with the utec still plugged in? waitandbleed92 Engine Management & Tuning 4 03-31-2003 03:49 PM
J/W What is a datalog and how do you do it with the UTEC? waitandbleed92 Engine Management & Tuning 2 03-21-2003 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.