Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Proven Power Bragging

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2008, 10:38 AM   #1
bertune
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 107290
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mia. FL.
Default GT37R results, 537whp pump gas. C16 won't pass 28psi

I've used a 35R with .82 and 1.06 rear housing and just could not past 28psi. Now i have a fresh motor and a 37R and stuck at the same boost. Thought it was my boost controller at first so i tried another and got the same results. I put a co2 bottle on top of the wastegate, more stable but the same 28psi. I guess exhaust pressure is killing me so i think i will have to go T4 bigger rear housing. Any suggestions?
Here is my 93 oct. pump @ 23psi.



Here's the C16 run @ 28psi



My goal on C16 was 680+........
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by bertune; 07-27-2008 at 04:24 PM. Reason: add picture
bertune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 10:42 AM   #2
Audiosavvy
Trust me, I'm a scientist
Moderator
 
Member#: 150794
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Vehicle:
Qcab dakota 4x4
LT1 Formula Firebird

Default

That graph makes it look like a smooth, civilized powerband, but something tells me it's a little nastier than that
Audiosavvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 10:44 AM   #3
SW00P_G
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5591
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
EJ257 Gt35r

Default

What's your setup???

Is there an intake on your car? I had to remove my intake to get high boost levels with my 35r
SW00P_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 11:22 AM   #4
Super Nintendo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73721
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wheaton, IL
Vehicle:
2007 STI
PTE 6266

Default

That's a terrible graph. Why did they put a giant box on the bottom and then not put any information in it?
Super Nintendo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 11:36 AM   #5
modaddict
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 95840
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Pasco, WA
Vehicle:
sold to a good bud
awaiting next car

Default

do you have headwork/cams and are just flat MAXING the turbo out?
modaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 12:13 PM   #6
bertune
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 107290
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mia. FL.
Default

MODS ARE:
Sleeved block
arp head studs
100mm bore cp pistons
pauter rods
cosworth heads
kelford cams (no avcs)
tumblers deleted
1260cc injectors
hydra ems (for sale)
Built and tuned by MACHINES GONE WILD!!!

This car ran 10.6 @ 133mph FULL WEIGHT!!! Set up was similar just a few changes. We are concentrating on drive train and weight loss with this new motor to get the times down. I will post a picture of the engine bay soon........
bertune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 03:02 PM   #7
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ/Vegas
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

Your wasting your time with the T3 format now. The limiting factor is the flange. Rework the system to accept the T4 flange and fit it to the 37R and test it. Your going to have trouble getting the T3 format to go over 600whp as you have found. The T4 will allow you to probably reach your goal. However. Why not just install the 4092 and be done at high 7s?


CLark
Clark Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 05:34 PM   #8
tux121
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 162942
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2006 STi Black&Gold
Stage 2

Default

WoW, I didn't know that.
tux121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 06:23 PM   #9
bertune
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 107290
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mia. FL.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Turner View Post
Your wasting your time with the T3 format now. The limiting factor is the flange. Rework the system to accept the T4 flange and fit it to the 37R and test it. Your going to have trouble getting the T3 format to go over 600whp as you have found. The T4 will allow you to probably reach your goal. However. Why not just install the 4092 and be done at high 7s?


CLark
Thanks for your input, i agree that i will have to go to a T4 flange, so i will setup the 37R with a T4 housing and whatever else is needed. As to where a 4094 is concerned, i don't think it's worth it coming from a 37R, so i want to make the best of what i have now and get my 1/4 mile times down. Whenever i do decide to step up, i will be thinking more along the lines of a 42R. What size T4 rear housing would you recommend for the 37?
bertune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 06:21 PM   #10
STi_Guy04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 69461
Join Date: Aug 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: North Miami Beach
Vehicle:
2004 WRB/Sti
11.41 @ 123mph

Default

Sick car man, good luck on switching to the T4 Flange,

what Engine management are you switching to?
STi_Guy04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 07:11 PM   #11
Junior2JZ
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 64908
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Tuning 8/9sec Subies @ P&L
Vehicle:
10.8 XT+10.0@143 GR+
9.0@170mph GTR

Default

Another kick ass Turbotrix block!
Junior2JZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 08:14 PM   #12
bertune
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 107290
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mia. FL.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SW00P_G View Post
What's your setup???

Is there an intake on your car? I had to remove my intake to get high boost levels with my 35r

bertune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 08:30 PM   #13
bertune
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 107290
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mia. FL.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STi_Guy04 View Post
Sick car man, good luck on switching to the T4 Flange,

what Engine management are you switching to?
Thanks! swithing to an AEM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junior2JZ View Post
Another kick ass Turbotrix block!
My machinist said he could not touch my block for three weeks but Mark said he was good to go, so yeah! Turbo Trix did the sleeving
bertune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 09:57 PM   #14
john 1badSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77470
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: grove city ohio
Vehicle:
04 sti 10.51@138.5
on e85@ 30psi--spinning

Default

you failed to mention what wastegate you are running and do you know what spring is in the wg.Also me and another guy tried the 37r it was so-so on the dyno but even with ffs at the track it sucked because on the datalog you could see how much boost you lose between grs and it took forever for it to recupe.I got better performance out of my 35r/w.82 than i did out of the 37r.Dave Buschur was at the track where i went 10.73 at and i was spinning bad thru the 8th on 29lbs. he even said he thought I had more in it.

Last edited by john 1badSTI; 07-27-2008 at 10:03 PM.
john 1badSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 10:40 PM   #15
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

Also, what FMIC kit are you running and what headers?

Edit: what is the limit of the EMS - what size map sensor does it use?
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 10:57 PM   #16
bertune
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 107290
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mia. FL.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by john 1badSTI View Post
you failed to mention what wastegate you are running and do you know what spring is in the wg.Also me and another guy tried the 37r it was so-so on the dyno but even with ffs at the track it sucked because on the datalog you could see how much boost you lose between grs and it took forever for it to recupe.I got better performance out of my 35r/w.82 than i did out of the 37r.Dave Buschur was at the track where i went 10.73 at and i was spinning bad thru the 8th on 29lbs. he even said he thought I had more in it.
I have a tial 44mm wastegate with a 1 bar spring in it. What do you call so so? Was it similar to my graph? What rpm are u shifting at? I ran 10.68 @ 132.88 mph on the non ball bearing version of the 37R, and that graph sucked compared to the 37R.
bertune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2008, 11:15 PM   #17
bertune
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 107290
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mia. FL.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxsti.l View Post
Also, what FMIC kit are you running and what headers?

Edit: what is the limit of the EMS - what size map sensor does it use?
Front mount is not a kit. Gruppe-s equal length header, i got great gains in the midrange with this header! Limit is 30-31 psi on the hydra but i have never reached there, i can step up the map sensor to a 5 bar if i want. Hey i have a 2002 jdm sti too!
bertune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 01:46 AM   #18
subiefast
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 184150
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Hickory, NC
Vehicle:
wrx 6265 turbo
8000 rpm built EJ257

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertune View Post
I have a tial 44mm wastegate with a 1 bar spring in it. What do you call so so? Was it similar to my graph? What rpm are u shifting at? I ran 10.68 @ 132.88 mph on the non ball bearing version of the 37R, and that graph sucked compared to the 37R.
What are your mods? I have the same turbo, and I was wondering if 10's are reachable with my setup.
subiefast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 02:29 AM   #19
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertune View Post
Limit is 30-31 psi on the hydra but i have never reached there, i can step up the map sensor to a 5 bar if i want.
can you log absolute and atmospheric pressure with the hydra?

if the limit is 30psi and you're at 28.4 corrected you could be very close to 30psi by doing Absolute-Atmosphere.

The atm press can get down to 13.4psi where i'm at.
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:02 AM   #20
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

^^ what I was eluding too
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 09:16 AM   #21
bertune
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 107290
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mia. FL.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phatron View Post
can you log absolute and atmospheric pressure with the hydra?

if the limit is 30psi and you're at 28.4 corrected you could be very close to 30psi by doing Absolute-Atmosphere.


The atm press can get down to 13.4psi where i'm at.
What i would like to see is my boost going in excess of 30psi whether absolute or atmosphere. I see evo guys running 40psi with this same turbo, not to say i want to run 40psi. I would like to make the best of my setup and i do think there is more in it. If i saw the boost going up then i would have gone to the 5 bar sensor, and if i got the boost up and not see much gains, then i would say i have pretty much maxed out the turbo.
bertune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 11:42 AM   #22
Speed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67371
Join Date: Jul 2004
Vehicle:
05 BUILT 2.4L STI

Default

Although you're close to maxing out the turbo... you need a bigger spring in that wastegate (bigger than 1 BAR).
Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 12:01 PM   #23
Phatron
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36033
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Tuning Lab
Vehicle:
CEO PhatBottiTuning
2006 STi GTX3582 + Meth

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertune View Post
What i would like to see is my boost going in excess of 30psi whether absolute or atmosphere. I see evo guys running 40psi with this same turbo, not to say i want to run 40psi. I would like to make the best of my setup and i do think there is more in it. If i saw the boost going up then i would have gone to the 5 bar sensor, and if i got the boost up and not see much gains, then i would say i have pretty much maxed out the turbo.
You arent getting what im saying. Here is a plot to make it easier. My point is that you may be boosting higher than you think and already maxing your MAP sensor. Here is an example of my logs maxing the stock MAP sensor, MRP1. However, if i log absolute pressure and atm pressure and do ABS - ATM = MRP2 i can "read" more boost. So you may not be able to see that you're boosting higher at the moment if you're only looking at MRP (corrected).

If you could log and post boost parameters (boost, wgdc, etc) that would probably be more helpful than dyno plots.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg boost.jpg (27.0 KB, 103 views)
Phatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 12:02 PM   #24
japslapr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 100150
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NC
Vehicle:
02 V9 STi 6spd
HTA Green, Built EJ205

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Although you're close to maxing out the turbo... you need a bigger spring in that wastegate (bigger than 1 BAR).
I was wondering why such a lite spring as well.
japslapr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 01:12 PM   #25
bertune
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 107290
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mia. FL.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Speed View Post
Although you're close to maxing out the turbo... you need a bigger spring in that wastegate (bigger than 1 BAR).
Tried that too. Also the co2 bottle.
bertune is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BPV that holds 27-28psi gotawd Built Motor Discussion 39 12-07-2007 07:05 PM
All Boost 620whp @ 28psi!!! alcrudojr #00 Proven Power Bragging 28 08-02-2007 02:11 PM
can a FP green go up to 28psi? awdguy Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 11-20-2006 10:06 PM
AutoMaster STi - 622whp / 500wtq @ 28psi AutoMaster Proven Power Bragging 86 09-13-2006 04:26 PM
HouSCCA results won't be up anytime soon Orion Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 4 09-03-2002 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.