Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday December 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2008, 07:06 PM   #1
xXLoulegzXx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 172409
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake Pretty, Ootah
Vehicle:
2006 WRX-Sold
06 Foz XT Grocery Getter

Default Reflash Stage 2 Map with AP after intake??

Hokay... so I have a question... that I am sure is obvious but just wanted to be safe.
I am currently running Stage 2 Cobb right now on my car... i'll be putting intake on it soon. After I install the intake, should I reflash the Stage 2, or can I just leave it how it is? Like I said, probably obvious... but just wanted to check. Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
xXLoulegzXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 07:09 PM   #2
Russ45
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 170237
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: OT
Vehicle:
Hey, don't be a
dick, bro..

Default

Leave it how it is. The ECU will adjust the map to the intake.

HOWEVER, the details on the map reiterate like 5 times that you use ONLY THE STOCK AIRBOX. Not saying your motor is going to explode, but your AFRs might be a little screwy and you might throw CELs occasionally. Cobb says that you can use their own SR with the map without issue, though.
Russ45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 07:20 PM   #3
xXLoulegzXx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 172409
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake Pretty, Ootah
Vehicle:
2006 WRX-Sold
06 Foz XT Grocery Getter

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dontcallitarex View Post
Leave it how it is. The ECU will adjust the map to the intake.

HOWEVER, the details on the map reiterate like 5 times that you use ONLY THE STOCK AIRBOX. Not saying your motor is going to explode, but your AFRs might be a little screwy and you might throw CELs occasionally. Cobb says that you can use their own SR with the map without issue, though.
Mmm I am just reading about that right now... I'd hate to put it on and have my car run bad......
xXLoulegzXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 07:23 PM   #4
Russ45
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 170237
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: OT
Vehicle:
Hey, don't be a
dick, bro..

Default

I know a guy named Randall with a wrx that is currently running a FMIC, full atmospheric BOV, CAI, and a vf39 on the Cobb vf39 map, which is tuned for only the vf39 and an STI topmount IC. His car pulls like a MONSTER.

You'll probably be fine, but to be safe I would wait on installing the intake until you can get a protune.
Russ45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 07:29 PM   #5
bjwk89
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175615
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: nepa
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black Stg. 2

Default

bjwk89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 07:30 PM   #6
Spootypuff
NASIOC SUPER Supporter
n00b jesus
 
Member#: 200000
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: the mountains
Vehicle:
2012 Wrangler

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dontcallitarex View Post
Leave it how it is. The ECU will adjust the map to the intake.

HOWEVER, the details on the map reiterate like 5 times that you use ONLY THE STOCK AIRBOX. Not saying your motor is going to explode, but your AFRs might be a little screwy and you might throw CELs occasionally. Cobb says that you can use their own SR with the map without issue, though.
You can also use the Cobb intake. quoted from cobbtuning.com : "The COBB Tuning SF Intake system is compatible with Stage 1 and Stage 2 OTS (off the shelf mapping) provided for our AccessPORT ecu tuning device."
Spootypuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 07:35 PM   #7
xXLoulegzXx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 172409
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake Pretty, Ootah
Vehicle:
2006 WRX-Sold
06 Foz XT Grocery Getter

Default

I have actually already purchased the SPT intake... so if worse comes to worse, I can just re-sell it and get a Cobb.
By looking at that other thread though... it says that the SPT would be okay with Stage 2? I just don't want to hurt the performance or hurt my Subie
xXLoulegzXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 08:16 PM   #8
RexTexWagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 150987
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, Tx
Vehicle:
2013 Ford Focus ST3
White

Default

If you really want to put that intake to use, scrap the acessport and go opensource. Im guessing you have AP v2, should sell for like 550-600 bucks. Find your self a opensource tuner in your area, and go from there. Tune should be ~200$, and the cable for it is maybe 80-90 used off your local forum. Go and search. BTW, youll make profit of return on this...


BTW, if you dont by chance have a tuner in your area, then go check out

http://www.plasmatize.com/xptstore/i...6b928f796a9672

Its a opensource "race" tune. Again, another opensource product. I have the standard stage II map from them, and its great. And only 52 dollars. That race map will cost you 77. BUT if you sell your AP for 600, you can afford the tune, the cable, you have the intake, the boost solinoid, the STI or better top mount, and the fuel pump. It will be loads better than your cobb map. Tuners name is Braden, lives down here in Texas, and is a great guy, and helped me alot when I was having some issues. Turns out it was just crappy Houston weather. But he helped me reguardless with many PMs back and forth.

But, best thing to do is research research research. Figure out what you want for the car. You have several choices, go make the best .
RexTexWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2008, 08:46 PM   #9
smurfwrx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 151928
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Columbia, SC
Vehicle:
09 Triumph S3

Default

wow..... deja vu

<<thread is double post>>
smurfwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 12:07 AM   #10
PS_REX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 109907
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Queens, NY
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Stg2
SGM

Default

^^^ He's right...cross posting is a no-no buddy. I thought this thread looked familiar
PS_REX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 01:07 AM   #11
xXLoulegzXx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 172409
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake Pretty, Ootah
Vehicle:
2006 WRX-Sold
06 Foz XT Grocery Getter

Default

Cross posting
Sorry, did I do something I should not have? I am confused.....
xXLoulegzXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2008, 01:12 AM   #12
xXLoulegzXx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 172409
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Salt Lake Pretty, Ootah
Vehicle:
2006 WRX-Sold
06 Foz XT Grocery Getter

Default

Oh hell, I understand what you are talking about...
My damn work computer posted it twice, haha. I didn't even notice until now... and it's sad because I received more responses on the other, ha.
Total mistake I swear... hah, kind of makes me laugh though
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...P+after+intake
This is the other one... as you can see I have not even posted on it, I didn't even know it existed. Damn POS work computer
xXLoulegzXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reflash Stage 2 Map with AP after intake?? xXLoulegzXx Newbies & FAQs 13 09-29-2008 11:50 PM
Cobb AP 1 - stage 2 map with my mods? Ultimateone AccessPort 3 12-09-2007 02:56 PM
who is running stage 2 map with aftermarket headers? Mr. SUAVE AccessPort 4 06-07-2006 10:59 PM
Can I get away with just the Stage 2 Map with these mods or is a Protune necessary? Red Rexx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 13 11-16-2005 01:11 AM
Cobb stage 2 map with crucial dp EPskate Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 8 08-31-2005 01:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.