Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2008, 09:17 AM   #26
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Board Dad View Post
I have looked all over and found photos, and part numbers for the remote entry, and security module. I am certain that my car had these to begin with, as there is a logo about factory security. I don't have a keyless entry remote provided with the car when I bought it, and there is a horn under the hood (which has had wires cut to it) I already bought a new remote (hoping that it would just program, and go) Now I don't want to buy anything I don't need, but the symptoms are this: I can only lock/unlock driver door with key, or the tab next to inside door handle. The buttons on driver or pass. side un/lock all 3 other doors though. I am wondering if this sounds like someone has made changes on purpose, or if this car was a victim of a crime sometime way back? I saw the mention that a security module would be found under the armrest, so I will look there in the morning. Any help or guidance would be sweet.
The info in this thread is for the GD (bugeye and later) models and doesn't apply to your '00 which had a different alarm. The module won't be under the armrest so don't bother looking for it there.
Given your description of cut wires, this isn't something we can easily diagnose for you over the Internet. Your best bet is to take the car to a dealer or independent Subaru shop and have it evaluated.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 04:40 AM   #27
Big_M_Slim
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 165491
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Sedona Red

Default

so if one were to hypothetically arm the system and then lose the fob, one could use the valet key to start the car and disarm the system by turning it in the ignition three times? (in theory of course...)
Big_M_Slim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 01:18 PM   #28
RexyGirl
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63616
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mastro Subaru, Sanford FL
Vehicle:
1996 Volvo 850 Turbo
with mods :)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_M_Slim View Post
so if one were to hypothetically arm the system and then lose the fob, one could use the valet key to start the car and disarm the system by turning it in the ignition three times? (in theory of course...)
Yes, either the valet key or master key
RexyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 10:52 PM   #29
Musicalpa
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 196036
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Pennsylvania
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza Outback
Silver (two tone)

Default

I have a 2009 Impreza Outback Sport (love it). On Saturday I had the dealership put in a shock sensor, but I am not convinced it is sensitive enough. A car this morning backed up against my car and then moved forward an inch and parked it there (security camera recording) and it never went off. Later I kicked the front bumper and again nothing happened. Where is the shock sensor located for this vehicle so that I can adjust its sensitivity.

For my vehicle, is the shock sensor number:

H711SAG010
407BB12

If so, I have photos of this sensor and the circuit board, showing where the potentiometer is for adjusting sensitivity. I just can't find the darn thing. I've looked under the passenger and driver seat, and under/behind the glove box and do not see it.

If the part number is different than above, can you give me a part number to look for a photo of the sensor?
Musicalpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 10:52 AM   #30
RexyGirl
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63616
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mastro Subaru, Sanford FL
Vehicle:
1996 Volvo 850 Turbo
with mods :)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Musicalpa View Post
I have a 2009 Impreza Outback Sport (love it). On Saturday I had the dealership put in a shock sensor, but I am not convinced it is sensitive enough. A car this morning backed up against my car and then moved forward an inch and parked it there (security camera recording) and it never went off. Later I kicked the front bumper and again nothing happened. Where is the shock sensor located for this vehicle so that I can adjust its sensitivity.

For my vehicle, is the shock sensor number:

H711SAG010
407BB12

If so, I have photos of this sensor and the circuit board, showing where the potentiometer is for adjusting sensitivity. I just can't find the darn thing. I've looked under the passenger and driver seat, and under/behind the glove box and do not see it.

If the part number is different than above, can you give me a part number to look for a photo of the sensor?

The sensitivity of the alarm needs to be set by the dealer using the computer. Seeing that the dealer just installed it, take it to them and ask them to lower the number on the setting to make it more sensitive. From the factory they are set dead in the middle on number 5. But, be prepared, if you turn it too low, it will become a royal pain in the butt.
RexyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 01:00 PM   #31
Musicalpa
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 196036
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Pennsylvania
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza Outback
Silver (two tone)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RexyGirl View Post
The sensitivity of the alarm needs to be set by the dealer using the computer. Seeing that the dealer just installed it, take it to them and ask them to lower the number on the setting to make it more sensitive. From the factory they are set dead in the middle on number 5. But, be prepared, if you turn it too low, it will become a royal pain in the butt.
I did find the shock sensor today. It is located on the driver side of the dash board. You open the driver door and pop off the side panel of the dash board and it is right there. You are correct that the dealership has to adjust it (unfortunately). It would be much easier if this was more user friendly. It does not have a potentiometer. Instead it has three tiny dip switches and a port for plugging in a device (probably the computer that makes the adjustments to the software for sensativity). There are no other adjustments on the circuit board. I have pictures of the entire locating and disassembly process but don't know how to upload them to you.
Musicalpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 09:37 PM   #32
reddoak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 147628
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Columbia, MD
Vehicle:
2013 Beep beep
it's a Jeep.

Default

For the "Sonic" alarm:
Move the gearshift up, down, left, then right. A chime will sound. Then hold down the "A" button and start.

The JDM version goes Up, down 3 times, then left and right.


Pretty detailed write up, it actually is a lot more clear than the owner's manual.
reddoak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 11:20 PM   #33
RexyGirl
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63616
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mastro Subaru, Sanford FL
Vehicle:
1996 Volvo 850 Turbo
with mods :)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddoak View Post
For the "Sonic" alarm:
Move the gearshift up, down, left, then right. A chime will sound. Then hold down the "A" button and start.

The JDM version goes Up, down 3 times, then left and right.


Pretty detailed write up, it actually is a lot more clear than the owner's manual.
I think you have been playing too many video games!!
RexyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 07:42 PM   #34
hannibal1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 164465
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: wheeling,il
Vehicle:
04 WRX STI
stg2+intake=292whp,350tq

Default

i have the 05 style and the 04.from each i have 2 keyless entry, i recode easch ones of these and and now i unlock/lock both cars with one keyless
why this happend,i thought that i can use 05 style on both cars each and just for extra keyless 04 style,but now all mixed ,unfortunately i guess i will recode again both styles like before
hannibal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 10:53 AM   #35
hannibal1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 164465
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: wheeling,il
Vehicle:
04 WRX STI
stg2+intake=292whp,350tq

Default

hmm i reprogram the controls like original but when my car is next to my sisters imperza i can unlock/lock with one of my keyless entry both cars,the 2nd one is fine-work only on my car,any ideas why this happen about those controls why they have been mixed and unlock/lock both cars with one remote,do i need to get unplug the battery and then plug back after 1min

Last edited by hannibal1; 12-11-2008 at 01:43 PM.
hannibal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 03:57 AM   #36
Evil_Toaster
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 181757
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Utah!
Vehicle:
2005 Forester
Black

Default

I love you! I love NASIOC!
Evil_Toaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 02:11 PM   #37
Mattoichi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 199158
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Northern VA
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza RS 2.5
94H Red Mica

Default 2000 RS - Keyless Entry Flashing without alarm - Help

Hi. Have a 2000 RS 2.5.

I don't have the alarm upgrade, just keyless entry AND (bad news) we lost both of our keyless remotes. I have the flashing lights problem and obviously can't use a remote to disable it. For the time being, I have disconnected the keyless entry control box under the dash just to stop the flashing and relay click.

Is there any other reset means aside from going to a dealer? Since I don't have the alarm upgrade, I don't have the reset switch. I could order a replacement keyless entry remote but I wonder if I would be able to program it while the system is in this flashing re-set mode. Ideas?

Separately, anyone know a good source for turn signal relay switch? It's about $100 at the Advance to order. Junk yard didn't have a Subaru close enough to my model, either.
Mattoichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 02:16 PM   #38
Mattoichi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 199158
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Northern VA
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza RS 2.5
94H Red Mica

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mulder View Post
The info in this thread is for the GD (bugeye and later) models and doesn't apply to your '00 which had a different alarm. The module won't be under the armrest so don't bother looking for it there.
Given your description of cut wires, this isn't something we can easily diagnose for you over the Internet. Your best bet is to take the car to a dealer or independent Subaru shop and have it evaluated.
Hey Mulder.

I have a 2000 RS. I disconnected the wiring harness to my remote keyless entry control box. It's behind the fuse box under the lower dash on the driver's left. I disconnected it myself because I also don't have the keyless entry remote, and without having that, I couldn't reset the flashing lights that happen when you change the battery or do certain other electrical things. Now that I have it disconnected, I also can use the door lock button for all the doors but not the driver's door. Seems maybe yours is disconnected also, and with no keyless remotes, maybe it was done for the same reason. As for the alarm wires, I don't know, but maybe they were cut by an owner with some problem related to this re-set issue. Feel free to contact me if you have a question about the wiring for that box or how I got to mine, etc.
Mattoichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 02:24 PM   #39
RexyGirl
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63616
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mastro Subaru, Sanford FL
Vehicle:
1996 Volvo 850 Turbo
with mods :)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattoichi View Post
Hi. Have a 2000 RS 2.5.

I don't have the alarm upgrade, just keyless entry AND (bad news) we lost both of our keyless remotes. I have the flashing lights problem and obviously can't use a remote to disable it. For the time being, I have disconnected the keyless entry control box under the dash just to stop the flashing and relay click.

Is there any other reset means aside from going to a dealer? Since I don't have the alarm upgrade, I don't have the reset switch. I could order a replacement keyless entry remote but I wonder if I would be able to program it while the system is in this flashing re-set mode. Ideas?

Separately, anyone know a good source for turn signal relay switch? It's about $100 at the Advance to order. Junk yard didn't have a Subaru close enough to my model, either.

If you have the factory alarm upgrade, you have a reset switch. It is located on the drivers side, left of the steering wheel, at the bottom of the dash trim. It looks like a little top hat if it is not in the hole in the trim. In your owners manual, there is a picture of where it is located. You need this button to not only reset the alarm, but to program any remotes you may purchase.

If you have an aftermarket alarm, this button may or may not have been intergrated into the system.
RexyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2009, 02:29 PM   #40
Mattoichi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 199158
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Northern VA
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza RS 2.5
94H Red Mica

Default

Hey Rexy.

Thanks for the quick answer. I had read your earlier quotes about reset/etc. However, as you see, I do not have the alarm upgrade. I only have standard keyless entry and no remote (one stolen with wife's purse, other lost.) Is there any owner reset for my problem?
Mattoichi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 11:30 AM   #41
CarlZap
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 168700
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Alexandria, VA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX Wag
Silver

Default Thank you....

...for sending this info out again.....I remember seeing it a while back but couldn't find it today......thanks gain
CarlZap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 01:21 AM   #42
Jagular1785
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 194452
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa City, IA
Vehicle:
The Mr.
Wizard

Default

I have a 97 Outback sport, and I'm not sure on exactly what security features I have. I have the keyless system and the lights flash but no horn chirp. I have noticed a black box in the engine bay that has a 4 wire connector coming out of it and it has a loop of wire going to two of the the wires coming out of the box. Its mounted on the firewall wall, on the drivers side. There's another 4 wire connector that fits into the box's connector. plug it in, and the starter is disabled. My question is: is this the immobilizer for the alarm system, and if so, how do i get it to work? Right now i have the loop in the connector in, and I use an aftermarket fob for the keyless entry, if that helps (although the factory fob does not make a difference in its working).

Last edited by Jagular1785; 01-19-2009 at 02:29 AM.
Jagular1785 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 07:08 PM   #43
4subbySti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 194141
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 303 colorado
Vehicle:
2004 Sti/Sti
Java Black Pearl/PSM

Default

is there a reset button on a 2004 sti??

i have another question too.
my car when i bought it it didnt come with a remote, so i never used the alarm. a couple weeks ago my car got broken into and they broke my ignition and everything. they didnt take it though. now i bought a new ignition switch from a junkyard and they gave me the factory remote. is there a way to program this on my car??
4subbySti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:16 PM   #44
RexyGirl
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63616
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mastro Subaru, Sanford FL
Vehicle:
1996 Volvo 850 Turbo
with mods :)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4subbySti View Post
is there a reset button on a 2004 sti??

i have another question too.
my car when i bought it it didnt come with a remote, so i never used the alarm. a couple weeks ago my car got broken into and they broke my ignition and everything. they didnt take it though. now i bought a new ignition switch from a junkyard and they gave me the factory remote. is there a way to program this on my car??
Yes, it is described in the first post of this thread, as long as it is a factory remote. You actually have one of the easier remotes to program.

There is no reset button for your car. To reset it, the battery has to be disconnected.
RexyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 10:29 PM   #45
4subbySti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 194141
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: 303 colorado
Vehicle:
2004 Sti/Sti
Java Black Pearl/PSM

Default

thanks alot i really appreciate your help!
4subbySti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 02:05 PM   #46
snorekl
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 78139
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Northern Suburb of Detroit
Vehicle:
2005 Saab 9-2X
Red

Default

One of my remotes stopped working months ago and I lost the other this weekend, so here's my question. Are these people for real in terms of getting a replacement remote?? Are they new or used???



The dealer wants north of $100 for the remote fob. I almost passed out. I found these guys while searching the part number on the back and now I see that these guys are part of the advertisers.
snorekl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 06:23 PM   #47
b0red@werk
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 24773
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI
OBP

Default

Is my car still in valet mode?
When disarmed, it goes blink, pause, blink.
When armed, it goes blink blink, pause, blink blink, pause.

Last edited by b0red@werk; 01-26-2009 at 06:33 PM.
b0red@werk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 10:47 PM   #48
Demon2003
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129983
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MI
Vehicle:
2007 STI
OBP

Default

Ok so i opened the tear drop remote (07 sti) i assume that the letters in the 8 charter code i just translate to hex? mine is xxxBBxxA so this means when entering B into the door i press 11 times and 10 times for A?
Demon2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 11:25 PM   #49
RexyGirl
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63616
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mastro Subaru, Sanford FL
Vehicle:
1996 Volvo 850 Turbo
with mods :)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0red@werk View Post
Is my car still in valet mode?
When disarmed, it goes blink, pause, blink.
When armed, it goes blink blink, pause, blink blink, pause.
Yes, you are in valet mode
RexyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 11:25 PM   #50
RexyGirl
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63616
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mastro Subaru, Sanford FL
Vehicle:
1996 Volvo 850 Turbo
with mods :)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snorekl View Post
One of my remotes stopped working months ago and I lost the other this weekend, so here's my question. Are these people for real in terms of getting a replacement remote?? Are they new or used???



The dealer wants north of $100 for the remote fob. I almost passed out. I found these guys while searching the part number on the back and now I see that these guys are part of the advertisers.
Are you calling a Subaru or Saab dealership?
RexyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Alarm + Keyless entry from 04 FXT Skidd Interior/Dressup/Audio & Security 0 01-22-2009 09:26 PM
Factory alarm/keyless entry install - Anyone want to help?! NickWRX Tri-State Area Forum 3 07-06-2008 10:22 PM
All you need to know about ass hair. WRick Off-Topic 22 01-23-2006 08:22 PM
Factory Alarm / Keyless entry Woody Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 3 04-22-2002 12:51 AM
Factory alarm/keyless entry on MY01 Safir Car Audio, Video & Security 1 02-08-2001 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.