Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 12:05 AM   #1
cooleys04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145027
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: phoenix
Vehicle:
2004 WRX FP Green
MFactory/2Tone/built 205

Default Vag-Com cable resource thread

I recently discovered the vag-com cable and decided to try it out. I got the cable on ebay for about $20. Got it from a US seller and recieved it in a couple days. Trying to get it to work has been a looooonnnnngg and painstaking process. It took a LOT of research between here and the lgt forums to get an idea of how to do it. Then it took a LOT of trial and error to get it to work. I'm starting this thread to try and consolidate all of the resources needed to use the vag-com in one place. I'm going to try to keep this short and to the point so here goes.


Things you will need:

Vag-com cable: I recommend ebay seller Alpha-bid

FTDI drivers for your vag-com cable available here.
http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/D2XX.htm

Edit: vista users need to run software as an administrator and manually load drivers!

Complete list of ecuflash releases:
http://evoecu.logic.net/mirror/ecuflash/releases/

Here's a link to ecuflash 1.28
http://project802.net/hosted/ecuflash_setup128.rar

ecuflash 1.29
http://www.mediafire.com/?pmbuuk2pph3rn7l

ecuflash 1.32
http://www.mediafire.com/?266b5ht6xzgumfb

OR

Ecuexplorer available here: (I had to use this)
http://code.google.com/p/ecuexplorer/downloads/list

Romraider ecu editor and logger available here
http://www.romraider.com

Tactrix flash connector available here (for 02/03-05 wrx 16 bit ecu's)
http://www.tactrix.com/index.php?cPath=22

THREADS OF NOTE INCLUDING INSTRUCTIONS

Xluben's thread HERE

pbomer's write up HERE

subi-bartimioli02's thread HERE

qikslvr's thread HERE



Feel free to post what has worked for you and try to keep the OT to a minimum. If you have something useful to add, I'll be happy to put it in the first post. Hope this helps someone.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by cooleys04; 03-22-2012 at 10:55 PM.
cooleys04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 12:05 AM   #2
cooleys04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145027
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: phoenix
Vehicle:
2004 WRX FP Green
MFactory/2Tone/built 205

Default

Here's what it took for me to be able to log and flash with the vag-com. Car is 04 wrx, 16 bit ecu.

FTDI drivers, some people have luck with tactrix 1.3 drivers, but not me.

Ecuexplorer, trying to get ecuflash 1.29 to work took forever and it still didn't work. Ecuexplorer worked first try.

I also had to supply 12v to the flash connector as described in subi-bart's thread (listed above).

After that it worked great. I primarily use UTEC for tuning so the vag-com was perfect for me. I only needed to get rid of some choice dtc's and raise my idle for 280* cams. Paying $150 for the tactrix just for that seemed a bit pointless.

Last edited by cooleys04; 01-13-2010 at 12:19 AM.
cooleys04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 03:17 PM   #3
SUBIESKI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 203783
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Vehicle:
2005 Forester X
RIP 04 WRX Wagon

Default

Thank you soo such for putting it down neatly!!!

Quick question where did you connect to, to get the 12v to the flash connector?
SUBIESKI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 04:27 PM   #4
cooleys04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145027
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: phoenix
Vehicle:
2004 WRX FP Green
MFactory/2Tone/built 205

Default

I ran a jumper wire from the battery to the flash block. I'll take a pic of where to connect it. Be back in a bit.

Edit:
Ok, heres a pic. (sorry about the quality, the lock tab is facing upward) I used a lighter and melted the insulation off the wire so I could clip a jumper wire on it with an alligator clip, then ran it to the b+ terminal. I didn't have any problems flashing after that. Some people have said that they had to turn on accessories like the lights or blower motor to avoid a voltage too high error.


Last edited by cooleys04; 01-13-2010 at 04:36 PM.
cooleys04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 11:33 PM   #5
ZACKARU
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 117119
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Reno, Nevada
Vehicle:
2006 Limited WRX
Black on Black

Default

I thought this was just as easy to get up and running as the old version Tactrix cable.
ZACKARU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 11:36 PM   #6
ZACKARU
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 117119
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Reno, Nevada
Vehicle:
2006 Limited WRX
Black on Black

Default

Maybe something to add, the ebay seller alpha-bid, $23 shipped, fast shipping instead of the cheaper ones shipping from Hong Kong.
ZACKARU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2010, 11:58 PM   #7
cooleys04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145027
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: phoenix
Vehicle:
2004 WRX FP Green
MFactory/2Tone/built 205

Default

Iirc, your car is dbw, which would make a difference. It was a serious PITA trying to get ecuflash to read my cable. You got lucky, from what I've read, it can be easy or a nightmare just depending on your car/cable/computer etc. I got my cable from alpha-bid and recieved it on the 3rd day, I would recommend them.
cooleys04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 01:12 PM   #8
RacnJsn95
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125576
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Medford, OR
Vehicle:
2010 Chevy Camaro SS
Red Jewel Tintcoat

Default

Anyone have any luck using this cable on an 07 (STi) yet?... From what I've read they have an oddball computer; pre-canbus, but higher resolution than the previous model years... I bought an alpha-bid cable, and keep fighting it on my STi. Using version 1.29a, and the FTDi drivers It seems to have a connection, but shuts down when it does the "kernal read" thing (if that makes sense?)... Figured, "What the hell," and tried it on my Dad's 05 Sti, and his 05 LGT, and it worked great first try... I guess worst case scenario, he gets a working cable out of the deal...

So in short... 05 Sti, using ECU Flash 1.29a, the FTDi drivers, and the Alpha-bid cable, worked for me first try.
RacnJsn95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 04:19 PM   #9
chitownrida
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 190856
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: 630
Vehicle:
05 STi
Silver

Default

just wanted to add my info

05 sti
ebay vag com cable
ecu flash v1.42

no problems to date
chitownrida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 02:29 PM   #10
MAtwal
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125053
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2004 Wrx Sedan
WRB

Default link

can someone post a link to a vag-com cable good for my 2004 wrx usdm. Ive searched on ebay but alot of things pop up and I dont want to order the wrong item.

and how do we know if our subaru is a can bus ecu system

Last edited by MAtwal; 01-16-2010 at 02:53 PM.
MAtwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 12:10 AM   #11
cooleys04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145027
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: phoenix
Vehicle:
2004 WRX FP Green
MFactory/2Tone/built 205

Default

Get a cable from seller alpha-bid on eBay. Your 04 Wrx isn't can bus.
cooleys04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 01:53 PM   #12
SUBIESKI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 203783
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Vehicle:
2005 Forester X
RIP 04 WRX Wagon

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cooleys04 View Post
I ran a jumper wire from the battery to the flash block. I'll take a pic of where to connect it. Be back in a bit.

Edit:
Ok, heres a pic. (sorry about the quality, the lock tab is facing upward) I used a lighter and melted the insulation off the wire so I could clip a jumper wire on it with an alligator clip, then ran it to the b+ terminal. I didn't have any problems flashing after that. Some people have said that they had to turn on accessories like the lights or blower motor to avoid a voltage too high error.
Cool, thank you! I'm looking to buy the cable in the next day or so. Hopefully it works well for me
SUBIESKI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 02:02 AM   #13
MAtwal
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125053
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2004 Wrx Sedan
WRB

Default

Man crazy fast shipping. I got my cable in two days after my order shipped to Canada.
MAtwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:35 PM   #14
jlogic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 158630
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Londonderry, NH
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
WRB

Default

Anyone have luck with an 06-07 wrx? I've tried both the 1.29A and latest 1.42, still cant read the ECU. Logging via romraider is fine. It shuts down right after the kernel read. This is using Win7 (admin rigths & XP compat. mode).
jlogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 04:53 PM   #15
cooleys04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145027
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: phoenix
Vehicle:
2004 WRX FP Green
MFactory/2Tone/built 205

Default

I had to use ecuexplorer
cooleys04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2010, 09:00 AM   #16
turbo2001rt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 189532
Join Date: Sep 2008
Default

02 wrx
ebay cable for $25 shipped
Romraider tested and working.
ECUflash test coming soon.
turbo2001rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 11:59 PM   #17
Rescuer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 176692
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

hmm i've been looking for adding OBD-II to my carputer via USB for some time now.
i think i'll have to check this out.
Rescuer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2010, 11:21 AM   #18
WRteXan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 223894
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Sugaru Land
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chitownrida View Post
just wanted to add my info

05 sti
ebay vag com cable
ecu flash v1.42

no problems to date
How did you get a vag com cable to work with 1.42? 1.29 was the last version that didn't check cable authenticity.
WRteXan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 11:51 AM   #19
jarencibia
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 187021
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Sedan
PSM

Default

I just ordered a vag-com cable from alpha bid for logging since my openport 2.0 mini usb header broke again. I still have to fix the openport but I figure I can use the vag-com for everyday logging. I saw another seller in china that was selling the vag-com for 1.99 plus 7.99 for shipping from china. It claims it's the 409.1 version, the same as the alpha bid vag-com cable. Has anyone used that cable?
jarencibia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 05:10 PM   #20
Rescuer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 176692
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

Hello.
which cable is it? I'm looking at user Alpha-Bid on ebay, but there is nothing that says "Subaru"
http://stores.ebay.com/alpha-bid/Aut...nterfaces.html

Can you please tell me exactly which thing it is?

I just need the Vag-Com USB cable for my 07 Impreza so i can plug it into my carputer to read OBDII.

Thanks
Rescuer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 10:00 PM   #21
JCByrd24
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 250098
Join Date: Jun 2010
Default

Hey guys, I have a Rosstech VAGCOM usb cable for my wife's Audi. AFAIK this is more than just a cable, as the rights are hardware controlled, anyone can download their software. Any idea if this cable, in conjunction with software above, will work on my new Sube, or do I need a more generic cable.
JCByrd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 10:33 PM   #22
cooleys04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145027
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: phoenix
Vehicle:
2004 WRX FP Green
MFactory/2Tone/built 205

Default

It should work, you may have driver issues though. Rosstech software is only good for vw stuff.
cooleys04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 12:54 PM   #23
Rescuer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 176692
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

Hoping for the answer to my question above.

thanks all
Rescuer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 02:04 PM   #24
cooleys04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145027
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: phoenix
Vehicle:
2004 WRX FP Green
MFactory/2Tone/built 205

Default

It won't say Subaru because that's not what they're made for. If it says vagcom it's the right one. They're made for vw/Audi, you can make it work for your Subaru.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rescuer View Post
Hello.
which cable is it? I'm looking at user Alpha-Bid on ebay, but there is nothing that says "Subaru"
http://stores.ebay.com/alpha-bid/Aut...nterfaces.html

Can you please tell me exactly which thing it is?

I just need the Vag-Com USB cable for my 07 Impreza so i can plug it into my carputer to read OBDII.

Thanks
cooleys04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 02:46 PM   #25
Rescuer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 176692
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

that's what i thought, just wanted the reassurance! thanks!
gonna order one and try it on my carputer. just hope it'll still work since i'll have to use a 6" USB extension cable to get it to the trunk.
Rescuer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Got VAG-COM cable and I need help!!!!! subi-bartimioli02 Open Source Reflashes 147 06-23-2011 12:45 AM
WTB Service: Get my Vag Com cable to work el dude MAIC Private Classifieds 3 10-04-2009 08:25 PM
Anyone in Phila. willing to share their Tactrix or vag-com cable? eek1 Tri-State Area Forum 4 09-12-2009 04:32 PM
Cant get Vag-com cable to flash my 04 FXT andy87t2 Open Source Reflashes 6 06-13-2009 12:35 AM
VAG-COM cable btlegacy Open Source Reflashes 4 05-31-2009 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.