Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2010, 12:37 PM   #51
sti robot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110932
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
DGM

Default

Just bought an alpha-bid one and will try it (04 sti) soon.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
sti robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 02:39 PM   #52
bign
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107740
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
05 STI - WRB
01 GSX-R 750

Default

Bought one for my 05 sti from alpha-bid and it works. Just had to find ecuflash 1.29a. Couldn't get it to work with 1.42
bign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 11:39 AM   #53
WRX_936
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 188003
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tennessee
Vehicle:
2007 Sti
SWP

Default

Anyone had success with a vagcom being able to read/write to an 06 wrx ecu? If so, how? I can data log just fine with romraider, but when trying to read the ecu with 1.29a, i get a kernel blah blah error but not enough info to see what went wrong, 1.42 will not even remotely try to connect.
WRX_936 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 06:07 PM   #54
sti robot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110932
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
DGM

Default

Just got my alpha bid vag com. Interestingly enough my winxp netbook (dell mini 10v) recognized it an installed it with the ftdi drivers automatically. I'm thinking it's because I have already installed some FTDI usb/serial drivers for my arduino stuff.

I'll try and log after dinner and update this thread.

EDIT: I ended up updating the ftdi driver from 2.0 to the 2.8.x from the link on the OP.

Last edited by sti robot; 08-16-2010 at 06:12 PM.
sti robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 09:59 PM   #55
sti robot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110932
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
DGM

Default

Works well for logging. I won't check ECU flash until I unmarry my accessport.

See here: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2036991
sti robot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 09:46 PM   #56
wrx07ltd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 255954
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Hi!

I have a WRX 2007 USDM and using the VAG-COM cable, i'm able to datalog with RomRaider....and Learning View is working well too...

But i'm unable to use EcuFlash..
I connect the 2 green connectors and when I try to read the Ecu, it writes this is the log window:

ssm2_init
ssm2_init
ssm2_init
ssm2_init
ssm2_init
ssm2_init
ssm2_init
ssm2_init
ssm2_init
ssm2_init
kernel get version
validating denso kernel ram area addr: FFFF0000 len: 0008

and then pop this error: An error occured. See the log for details.

In the .xml of my ecu in the rommetadata (A8DK100X.xml), the flash method is sti05.....so I choose 2005-2006 Subaru DBW models WRX/STI/FXT/LGT/Baja
Anyone know what i'm doing wrong??
btw I tried EcuFlash 1.29a and the latest version too...

thanks!!
wrx07ltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 10:46 PM   #57
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

i've been trying to flash my 03 jdm ecu with this cable. i downloaded ecuflash 1.29a and it what happens is that no matter how quickly i turn the key and click the "ok" button, the radiator fan cycles. i've tried this at least 300 times and can't do it fast enough. this is not an issue with the openport 2.0 though, so i'm not sure what else is going on.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 12:39 PM   #58
wrx07ltd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 255954
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

nevermind

I installed ecuflash version 1.31 and now its working!!
thanks!!
wrx07ltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 03:16 PM   #59
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrx07ltd View Post
nevermind

I installed ecuflash version 1.31 and now its working!!
thanks!!
do you have a link to where you downloaded the software for 1.31?
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 03:35 PM   #60
wrx07ltd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 255954
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

http://www.mediafire.com/?onmrje22zei

here you are, ecuflash version 1.31

don't forget to get the newest ecu definitions for ecuflash:
http://www.romraider.com/forum/topic3808.html
wrx07ltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 10:39 PM   #61
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

^^^ downloaded....will trying flashing tomorrow.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 09:29 AM   #62
4x4skuns
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 185228
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Will this cable work with an 04 FXT with ECU flash/romraider? I was about to buy a tactrix, but this is quite a bit cheaper.
4x4skuns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 03:43 PM   #63
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobystas View Post
^^^ downloaded....will trying flashing tomorrow.


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

well i'm still not able to flash. i can log, i can open learning view. Can't flash. Notice it says test mode not detected...well that was because i clicked ok too fast. The next time i tried it said "ecu in test mode" but the fans still cycle, it doesn't let me compare the roms or flash.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:51 PM   #64
wrx07ltd
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 255954
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default

Did you set the baud rate of the cable to 4800 in the device manager??

If it's for a WRX older than 06-07, you need the reflash connector from this page: http://www.tactrix.com/index.php?pag...hk=1&Itemid=53
wrx07ltd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 05:41 PM   #65
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

yes i did set the baud rate to 4800. I used to have a tactrix openport 2.0 that tactrix is currently fixing for me, the mini usb design is weak and the soldering fails.

anyway, i only got this cable as a "quick fix" while i'm without my openport. Yes i have the reflash connector connected, i'm a seasoned flasher, lol, but i can't flash with this vag-com cable
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 11:54 AM   #66
Drunkinchef
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145324
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Boondocks, Deelawar
Vehicle:
2007 Honda FIT
Storm Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobystas View Post
yes i did set the baud rate to 4800. I used to have a tactrix openport 2.0 that tactrix is currently fixing for me, the mini usb design is weak and the soldering fails.

anyway, i only got this cable as a "quick fix" while i'm without my openport. Yes i have the reflash connector connected, i'm a seasoned flasher, lol, but i can't flash with this vag-com cable
I'm having the same issue that you are having. But with my02. Baud rate is correct, blue flash plug installed. As soon as I go to test write it will disconnect my obd2 and I have to restart the program to get it to start reading the ecu again. I get the same exact screen (kernal bla bla). Does anyone have a clue?
Drunkinchef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 05:41 PM   #67
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Your fans instantly cycle? What do you mean it disconnects your obd2? Does your message say "ecu in test mode"?
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2010, 07:53 PM   #68
Drunkinchef
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145324
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Boondocks, Deelawar
Vehicle:
2007 Honda FIT
Storm Silver

Default

It will say "ecu in test mode" then "bootloader" a few times. But as soon as it starts running bootloader I noticed that it loses the ecu. Ive used ecuflash and ecuexplorer. I have the same error code. But with ecuexplorer you can actually see in the left box it will say ecu disconnected after it recognizes it in test mode.
I'm able to read realtime data from ecuflash and explorer. Also able to adjust idle speeds. God forbid I try to test write~! lol

Last edited by Drunkinchef; 08-31-2010 at 08:02 PM.
Drunkinchef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 03:03 PM   #69
Drunkinchef
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145324
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Boondocks, Deelawar
Vehicle:
2007 Honda FIT
Storm Silver

Default

Any updates?
Drunkinchef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 03:43 PM   #70
Drunkinchef
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145324
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Boondocks, Deelawar
Vehicle:
2007 Honda FIT
Storm Silver

Default

Hey guys. I found this from rosstech. The original manufacturer of the cable.
Here is the install guide
http://www.ross-tech.net/VCDS/downlo...0-6-manual.pdf
and here is the new software
http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds/download/current.html

I'll give it a try later. But it's worth a try.
Drunkinchef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 03:46 PM   #71
SoobZero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 157226
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Moorpark, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STI
PSM

Default

Just successfully flashed to a stock map using the VAG-COM on my 2004 STI. No problems whatsoever after I soldered a piggyback wire inside the vag-com unit for the needed voltage.
SoobZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 03:53 PM   #72
scoobystas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26568
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brighton, Mass
Vehicle:
2003 Yellow Bugeye
Version 8-Vf37

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drunkinchef View Post
Hey guys. I found this from rosstech. The original manufacturer of the cable.
Here is the install guide
http://www.ross-tech.net/VCDS/downlo...0-6-manual.pdf
and here is the new software
http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds/download/current.html

I'll give it a try later. But it's worth a try.
let us know. I just got my openport 2.0 back but will still love to know if its possible to flash the 03 ecu with the vag-com cable. I will probably do 100% of my logging with this vag-com cable as its much beefier and resembles the tactrix 1.3 cable which doesn't have the weak mini usb connection.
scoobystas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 07:14 PM   #73
Drunkinchef
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145324
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Boondocks, Deelawar
Vehicle:
2007 Honda FIT
Storm Silver

Default

It's a no go. The drivers basically disabled the com. No good. I need to get the new rom image on my ecu to pass inspection damnit! Why won't this work?!?!?!!!!!!!
Drunkinchef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 01:31 PM   #74
choleaoum
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 255484
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Long Beach, CA
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
'03 G35 Sedan / '06 R6S

Default

Any news for the bug eyes? Can anyone confirm if it's working and how?
choleaoum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 09:36 PM   #75
S10Crazzy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 255507
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza
So Dirty I dont Know

Default 09 2.5i

Hey Guys Goes anyone know if the VAG-COM cable will work for a 09 2.5i?

Stupid question how do I find out if I have a 16bit ECU or 32bit?


Thanks
S10Crazzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Got VAG-COM cable and I need help!!!!! subi-bartimioli02 Open Source Reflashes 147 06-23-2011 12:45 AM
WTB Service: Get my Vag Com cable to work el dude MAIC Private Classifieds 3 10-04-2009 08:25 PM
Anyone in Phila. willing to share their Tactrix or vag-com cable? eek1 Tri-State Area Forum 4 09-12-2009 04:32 PM
Cant get Vag-com cable to flash my 04 FXT andy87t2 Open Source Reflashes 6 06-13-2009 12:35 AM
VAG-COM cable btlegacy Open Source Reflashes 4 05-31-2009 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.