Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
South West Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > South West Impreza Club Forum -- SWIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2011, 04:59 PM   #1
bluecloud
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 258852
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
2002 "BugEye"Impreza
blue

Default

Hi cody here still the noob around here. I don't know what to do I've got quite a few upgrades and want a temporary safe tune. Should I get anything else before doing stage 2 ?! And who should I turn to for a tune ?

Some my installed stuff include
Big top mount intercooler
K&N typhoon intake
hard turbo inlet
Warbol 255 fuel pump
Double core radiator
Tvg delete
Turbo xs BPV


Coming soon
Pink injectors ( hopefully getting by end of week)
Up pipe ( have but not installed)
Headers ( looking for it )

One question ..
Should I get a new fuel rail system before getting a tune , I've read some stuff about the 3rd cylinder running lean cause of stock rails .

Edit : 2002 subaru wrx
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by bluecloud; 06-22-2011 at 05:24 PM.
bluecloud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:53 AM   #2
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Where do you live?

Camtuning.com
wgr73 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 03:58 PM   #3
ilovescooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 99993
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Chandler, AZ
Default

Injectors are necessary, at least 860cc. For stage 2 you are going to want to get a gt30 rotated kit also and fuel rails will help. Go to Rich at Dynocomp for the tune, he is the cheapest.
ilovescooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 04:08 PM   #4
Evil Imports
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 14732
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Global
Vehicle:
+ 13 B8

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovescooby View Post
Injectors are necessary, at least 860cc. For stage 2 you are going to want to get a gt30 rotated kit also and fuel rails will help. Go to Rich at Dynocomp for the tune, he is the cheapest.
Evil Imports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 04:20 PM   #5
NAZSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164516
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Northern AZ STI hence username
Vehicle:
2004 STI
PSM

Default

NAZSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 04:29 PM   #6
mc06STI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 244681
Join Date: Apr 2010
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZIC-PHX
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza wrx STI
SGM

Default

GOODSPEED or Mark
mc06STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 04:37 PM   #7
NO PULSE
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110733
Join Date: Mar 2006
Default

Geeze this is all SWIC has come to now?
NO PULSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:09 PM   #8
Scksubby88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 209726
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: East mesa
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
wrb

Default

Mark tuned mine and couldn't be happier with it
Scksubby88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:11 PM   #9
brocksdad
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 107352
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
Not Respectable

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovescooby View Post
Injectors are necessary, at least 860cc. For stage 2 you are going to want to get a gt30 rotated kit also and fuel rails will help. Go to Rich at Dynocomp for the tune, he is the cheapest.
What does this even mean??



OP - If you want a locked ECU go to Dynocomp, if you have an Access Port go to Goodspeed, if you want an open source tune PM me.

EDIT: Update your info with car make/model and location.
brocksdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:20 PM   #10
bluecloud
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 258852
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
2002 "BugEye"Impreza
blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scksubby88
Mark tuned mine and couldn't be happier with it
Cool cool whats marks username ? I've heard of his name but haven't meet him personally
bluecloud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:24 PM   #11
Erik
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 168774
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: phoenix, az
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluecloud View Post
Cool cool whats marks username ? I've heard of his name but haven't meet him personally
The post right above yours is mark.
Erik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 07:11 PM   #12
claytonmc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 200654
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2008 STI
aspen white

Impreza WRX STi tne

I've got an 08 STI, white and the subaru dealer I bought my car from recommended Goodspeed to me and I have not let anyone but Goodspeed work on my car, these guys have turned my car into nothing but incredible!! They are very conscious of costs and as I've had the cash I get upgrades done, everyone has been flawless, brakes are next.
claytonmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 07:19 PM   #13
aaguirre
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 155741
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: El Paso,TX
Vehicle:
07 Clark Turner
& Goodpeed tuned WRX

Default

Just go with the best Goodspeed Performance Lab!
aaguirre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 08:32 PM   #14
NAZSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164516
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Northern AZ STI hence username
Vehicle:
2004 STI
PSM

Default

NAZSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 08:53 PM   #15
yman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 199051
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: mesa, az
Vehicle:
04 sti
psm

Default

Basically, what mark said (brocksdad).

I went to goodspeed and I recommend them as well.
yman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:29 PM   #16
superblkwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 129395
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Peoria, AZ
Vehicle:
2006 OBPWRX VF39 E85
342WHP 375WTQ 17PSI SRP

Default

Its cylinder 4 near the turbo that runs lean. This probably won't be an issue at all with the mods you have.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluecloud View Post
Hi cody here still the noob around here. I don't know what to do I've got quite a few upgrades and want a temporary safe tune. Should I get anything else before doing stage 2 ?! And who should I turn to for a tune ?

Some my installed stuff include
Big top mount intercooler
K&N typhoon intake
hard turbo inlet
Warbol 255 fuel pump
Double core radiator
Tvg delete
Turbo xs BPV


Coming soon
Pink injectors ( hopefully getting by end of week)
Up pipe ( have but not installed)
Headers ( looking for it )

One question ..
Should I get a new fuel rail system before getting a tune , I've read some stuff about the 3rd cylinder running lean cause of stock rails .

Edit : 2002 subaru wrx
superblkwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 10:11 PM   #17
Evil Imports
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 14732
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Global
Vehicle:
+ 13 B8

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brocksdad View Post
What does this even mean??



OP - If you want a locked ECU go to Dynocomp, if you have an Access Port go to Goodspeed, if you want an open source tune PM me.


EDIT: Update your info with car make/model and location.
This....
Evil Imports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 02:14 AM   #18
bluecloud
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 258852
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
2002 "BugEye"Impreza
blue

Default

Thanks for all the great advice ! I'm going to go with mark for now then get access-port later . See you guys tomorrow!
bluecloud is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 11:35 AM   #19
02blkwagn19
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146496
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Tempe, AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX Wagon 2.1L
Built not bought. #0003

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovescooby View Post
Injectors are necessary, at least 860cc. For stage 2 you are going to want to get a gt30 rotated kit also and fuel rails will help. Go to Rich at Dynocomp for the tune, he is the cheapest.


No way this dude is serious...

Mark is a great guy and great tuner
02blkwagn19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 12:22 PM   #20
NAZSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164516
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Northern AZ STI hence username
Vehicle:
2004 STI
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brocksdad View Post
What does this even mean??



OP - If you want a locked ECU go to Dynocomp, if you have an Access Port go to Goodspeed, if you want an open source tune PM me.

EDIT: Update your info with car make/model and location.
FYI…Dyno-Comp DOES NOT lock your ECU, It is locked per license agreement with Ecutek. Dyno-Comp DOES tune Cobb Access Port, and Rich will e-mail you maps if needed. I just wanted to give the right info out there so people are not confused.


Cheers
NAZSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 01:06 PM   #21
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAZSTI View Post
FYI…Dyno-Comp DOES NOT lock your ECU, It is locked per license agreement with Ecutek.
technicalities... btw are you a lawyer or aspiring one?

btw the OP's ecu WILL lock and won't revert back if flashed by Ecutek. its 16bit.


http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...5&postcount=20
fastnoypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 01:39 PM   #22
brocksdad
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 107352
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
Not Respectable

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAZSTI

FYI…Dyno-Comp DOES NOT lock your ECU, It is locked per license agreement with Ecutek. Dyno-Comp DOES tune Cobb Access Port, and Rich will e-mail you maps if needed. I just wanted to give the right info out there so people are not confused.


Cheers
You're right, Richard doesn't lock the ecu. He just puts the software on the ecu that does. Sorry for confusing anybody. lol
brocksdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 05:12 PM   #23
ilovescooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 99993
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Chandler, AZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 02blkwagn19 View Post


No way this dude is serious...

Mark is a great guy and great tuner
I was def. kidding. A search really isn't that hard to answer his questions.
ilovescooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 06:55 PM   #24
yman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 199051
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: mesa, az
Vehicle:
04 sti
psm

Default

Not everybody is as tech savvy as the next guy, no need to be doucher. There's a reason people hate nasioc
yman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 07:06 PM   #25
NAZSTI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164516
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Northern AZ STI hence username
Vehicle:
2004 STI
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi View Post
technicalities... btw are you a lawyer or aspiring one?

btw the OP's ecu WILL lock and won't revert back if flashed by Ecutek. its 16bit.


http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...5&postcount=20
A lawyer Iam not, I just like to get all the facts straight ...speaking of facts, Goodspeed can unlock a 16 bit Ecu that has a Ecutek flash...a simple phone call would have given you this info.
NAZSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XEDE Tuning...need help palmerx141 Tri-State Area Forum 3 03-03-2005 10:34 PM
New Tune Needed W/ Stronger Wastegate Spring?? sandiegowrx General Community 4 03-03-2005 05:06 PM
Cheap laptop for your tuning needs! rossscarbro Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 10 10-19-2004 06:47 PM
Uppipe leak and my SAFC tune? Need advice. atf78 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 10 10-29-2002 08:46 PM
S-AFC tuning need help ac_gohan Normally Aspirated Powertrain 6 01-16-2001 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.