Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2011, 12:53 AM   #76
bdj238
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 207561
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Oak Ridge, TN
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX WAGON
PPG Trans

Default

Why 2 switches?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
bdj238 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 06:38 AM   #77
lykemeyet
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 283890
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: allentown
Vehicle:
2002 impreza
silver

Default

I wasnt sure what the green connectors and the blue plug do individual for other applications other than than using the ap. So just incase I need to u just one I still can. All I do is flip both switches and I'm in test mode. It's a lot easier
lykemeyet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 03:26 PM   #78
tyscat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 196438
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy, Utah
Vehicle:
2006 STI
Crystal Gray Metallic

Default

I have a similar setup w/ a switch:







Works pretty good.
tyscat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 06:43 AM   #79
Johnnywalker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 267501
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Qc
Vehicle:
2011 WRX hatch
Dark grey metallic

Default

I was wondering, you guys all seems to have a standard usb plug to connect your accessport to OBDII...

I only have that sort of 8-9 pins rectangular plug on mine, AP-SUB-003...I dont get it!
Johnnywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 10:06 AM   #80
Sheltonmega
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 265204
Join Date: Nov 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Fairfax, VA
Vehicle:
2009 WRXCobbProtuned
CattedAEMCAIPerrinTMIC93

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnywalker View Post
I was wondering, you guys all seems to have a standard usb plug to connect your accessport to OBDII...

I only have that sort of 8-9 pins rectangular plug on mine, AP-SUB-003...I dont get it!
I have the same. The usb is for the computer. 8 pin plug is for OBD. You look normal to me.
Sheltonmega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:29 AM   #81
Johnnywalker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 267501
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Qc
Vehicle:
2011 WRX hatch
Dark grey metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheltonmega View Post
I have the same. The usb is for the computer. 8 pin plug is for OBD. You look normal to me.
Humm yeah, but still dont get why all AP pictures posted in this thread are plugged with a standard USB cable?
Johnnywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:35 AM   #82
Sheriff_Austin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287212
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX 5dr Stage 1
DGM

Default

The version 2 and less used an adapter in the OBD port that the usb cable plugged into. You and I have the version 2b, which is a direct connect.

My guess is its cheaper to manufacture just the one cable than have an adapter in between.
Sheriff_Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 11:38 AM   #83
tyscat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 196438
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy, Utah
Vehicle:
2006 STI
Crystal Gray Metallic

Default

I don't know about the AP-SUB-003, but on the -002, it is a standard USB to 5-pin cable:

Amazon.com: Belkin F3U138-06 Pro Series USB 5-Pin Mini-B Cable (6-Feet): ElectronicsAmazon.com: Belkin F3U138-06 Pro Series USB 5-Pin Mini-B Cable (6-Feet): Electronics

When hooking your AP up to your computer, you plug the 5-pin into the AP and the USB end into the computer. When hooking the AP up to your car, you plug the 5-pin into the OBDII and the USB into the AP.

Like I said, I don't know what's up with the -003, but that is why you are seeing so many USB to 5-pin cables in this thread. That it how it is supposed to work.
tyscat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 01:17 PM   #84
mudferret
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 240688
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Vehicle:
06 WRX

Default

I found myself using my AP more and more since the latest firmware update. Was picky about the type of mount, and location. Ultimately I wanted it within the gauge cluster area, but I settled upon this location once I found a mount that I actually liked. I didn't want to drill holes, use velcro, have the Canadarm on my windshield, mount something to my vents, etc... and wanted the AP easily visible to me while looking down at the gauges. It's also a versatile mount and came with various device adapters and can be swapped back/forth from dash to windshield. It stays stuck to the dash or glass very well, and since the arm is short it doesn't bounce around.

It's an IQ solutions ZR mount.







mudferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 07:23 PM   #85
Bloodbath
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 281248
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Vehicle:
2011 STI sedan
WRB

Default

Thanks for the ideas! Until now, when my AP is hooked up, it just sits in the cup holder
Bloodbath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 01:07 AM   #86
young_skywalker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 290707
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: NW Arkansas
Vehicle:
2008 WRX Hatch
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodbath View Post
Thanks for the ideas! Until now, when my AP is hooked up, it just sits in the cup holder
I'm with you at this point, though I did get a OBDII 5' extension and route my cable through the console. The rubber tray just north of the shifter seemed to work well during during the test drive.
young_skywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 05:06 PM   #87
Trustkevin13
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259184
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Subaru WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olazy View Post


using

Looks great, more pics and links of products you use?
Doin for my 2008 WRX now too.
Trustkevin13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 05:07 PM   #88
Trustkevin13
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259184
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Subaru WRX
Silver

Default

......pics of the wiring...........and a link to the thingy..... sorry, big noob, got my wrx a year ago and i'm still learning. still pretty fly for a 19yr old guy.
Trustkevin13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 05:22 PM   #89
promted
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 282888
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC, Utah
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Rally Blue

Default

I've wanted to post this for a while now because I think it's perfect! I had this little sample thing from some outdoor retail show and never used it but then when I got the access port I remembered it and sure enough it was a perfect fit! It's super easy to use, and does not change your access port in any way, in fact I just put a little twisty tie on my vent and hooked this thing up. Another thing that I love is I can detach it while leaving the twisty tie on. Hope this helps some of you guys...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/For-iPhone-4...ht_3742wt_1170







promted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 01:54 PM   #90
olazy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 263322
Join Date: Nov 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston MA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited
WRBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trustkevin13 View Post
......pics of the wiring...........and a link to the thingy..... sorry, big noob, got my wrx a year ago and i'm still learning. still pretty fly for a 19yr old guy.
here's some more pics. the AP is now blocked by the boost gauge but i only use it for datalogging anyways. if i tilt it like pic#4 i can still see the high/low readings.

1

2

3

4

5
olazy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 11:07 AM   #91
2.5 turbo hyped
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158810
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland Or
Vehicle:
2005 STI and Baja
White

Default

Recently I taught myself to tune. I was absolutely appalled by the dyno tune I got. Knock counts everywhere, afr's off the chart. Good thing I rarely drive my sti otherwise I might be replacing the motor.

This is my new "accessport" mount.

Scrap aluminum+1 hour of my labor welding=free

2.5 turbo hyped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 05:29 PM   #92
sc00ter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 117767
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2011 STI Sedan
DGM

Default

I just got the Proto Tuning Tool Mount from RallySport Direct.

It fits the Accessport perfectly and provides a permanent mounting solution as well as a vent clip mount. The vent mount will work until I find the best place to use the permanent mount provided in the packaging.



sc00ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 01:19 AM   #93
949
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 58906
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default

i have this for sale. 20 bucks.
its plug and play.
no drilling or cutting. just mount it and place the ap on it. or even a cell phone.







here i put a cell phone holder on it.
the accessport can be installed instead.
949 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 10:13 AM   #94
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

there is another thread on this, but this is a GoPro Hero2 windshield mount, i put one of the backings on my AP for use when data logging only. otherwise, NOT in use, on my kitchen counter.



ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:35 PM   #95
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChesterWRX View Post
there is another thread on this, but this is a GoPro Hero2 windshield mount, i put one of the backings on my AP for use when data logging only. otherwise, NOT in use, on my kitchen counter.


I like that! Nice work
wgr73 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 03:25 PM   #96
Daddy_Digital
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274205
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Mesa, AZ
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sport Wagon
World Rally Blue

Default

If you want one of these, here is the website. I bought this one from 949 and I like it a lot. Ill post pics later.

http://www.panaviseonline.com/Panavi...751-34-202.htm


Daddy_Digital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:05 AM   #97
WilR
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 343078
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Hatchback
SWP

Default

Finally got around to trying this out. Not sure if I like the hole but it will do until I can figure something out to fill it.

WilR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:18 PM   #98
fushnica2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 248151
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Raleigh, NC
Vehicle:
2013 STI
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

Not the greatest picture, but this is using the Proto Tuning Tool holder from Rally Sport Direct.

It has a couple of different mounting methods, the one I'm using here "grasps" a vent fin. It holds it firmly, but it moves easily. It's decent, but not great. The other mounting method it comes with is a adhesive backed base with a ball on it that the tool connects to, so you can mount it anywhere.

I just had the cable wrapped with velcro and a couple small pieces of velcro on the dash below the steering wheel to keep the cable "tucked."

fushnica2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:58 PM   #99
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fushnica2 View Post
Not the greatest picture, but this is using the Proto Tuning Tool holder from Rally Sport Direct.

It has a couple of different mounting methods, the one I'm using here "grasps" a vent fin. It holds it firmly, but it moves easily. It's decent, but not great. The other mounting method it comes with is a adhesive backed base with a ball on it that the tool connects to, so you can mount it anywhere.

I just had the cable wrapped with velcro and a couple small pieces of velcro on the dash below the steering wheel to keep the cable "tucked."
I take it that you will do a myk cluster pod? Cuz the location of that AP won't allow a pillar pod
wgr73 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 01:46 PM   #100
fushnica2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 248151
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Raleigh, NC
Vehicle:
2013 STI
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wgr73 View Post
I take it that you will do a myk cluster pod? Cuz the location of that AP won't allow a pillar pod
I also now have an A-pillar cluster and although I don't normally keep my AP mounted anymore, I have placed it there for datalogging. It fits fine. It all looks a bit crowded, but I can throw it up there and snap a picture if you want to see how it looks.
fushnica2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post your LOCATION please... Longitude Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 16 03-17-2006 03:39 PM
Picture Request. Your Ps2 mounting Location Crump Member's Car Gallery 19 04-13-2005 06:47 PM
Can you sellers please post your location in the subject line pha qed Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 14 06-02-2004 03:39 AM
New antenna location pic, post your pics too IA Performance Interior & Exterior Modification 0 08-22-2003 11:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.