Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 12:08 PM   #76
O.C.D.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19640
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorful CO
Vehicle:
2005 RBP LGT 5T WAG
Cryotuned Stage 1

Default

Thanks for posting Sparky. Like I said, this may be the cure-all we have been looking for.

I will be rewiring tonight and trying. Will post up results.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
O.C.D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 12:22 PM   #77
xluben
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 261612
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2012 Forester 2.5X
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

Looking forward to hearing your results! Does anyone know if the WRX and STI have the same fuse box?
xluben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 12:27 PM   #78
CTSparky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 282204
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Northeast CT
Vehicle:
2011 5 Door STi
Plasma Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xluben View Post
Looking forward to hearing your results! Does anyone know if the WRX and STI have the same fuse box?
I can always take a picture of the fuse box and the wiring..
CTSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 12:29 PM   #79
xluben
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 261612
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2012 Forester 2.5X
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

That would be nice to see. And the back of the fuse box cover (the label that shows what all the fuses are).
xluben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 12:42 PM   #80
CTSparky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 282204
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Northeast CT
Vehicle:
2011 5 Door STi
Plasma Blue Pearl

Default ask and ye shall receive

Quote:
Originally Posted by xluben View Post
That would be nice to see. And the back of the fuse box cover (the label that shows what all the fuses are).
http://www.flickr.com/photos/63612291@N07/6009145024/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/63612291@N07/6008596437/

Now let me try to insert the image.. Stupid stuff ggrr aarrgghh

sti fuse box 002 by CTSparky, on Flickr


sti fuse box 001 by CTSparky, on Flickr

Last edited by CTSparky; 08-04-2011 at 12:43 PM. Reason: photo's
CTSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 01:13 PM   #81
b1aze
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 284003
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Marlborough, MA
Vehicle:
2010 Alpine 135i

Default

I am going to be tapping my Prosport Premium's off of the Meter IG #5 and LampIG #18.
The fuse taps i bought from Ebay require both fuses though apparently, so 2 10a fuses in each tap and i should be good to go. I just have to extend my ground lead and ground it out.
b1aze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:09 PM   #82
xluben
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 261612
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2012 Forester 2.5X
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTSparky View Post
I think I've wired the defi boost gauge so that it does not do the double sweep during the ignition cycle.

To be totally honest it was by accident when I was fiddling with the illumination wire.
for reference:
2011 STi
Orange # 4
Red #24
White #14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTSparky View Post
I just went out and tried this setup. It does not work. It does the exact same thing that it always does.
xluben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:13 PM   #83
Untamed_WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 289604
Join Date: Jul 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Central, IL
Vehicle:
2008 WRX Premium
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

I have the same set up except my gauges are autometer ultra lite pro comps. Nice setup
Untamed_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:14 PM   #84
Celery GT-5
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 98210
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Upstate NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Premium 6MT
WRB

Default

are you supposed to be able to dim the gauge?

when i first installed it i accidentally plugged into slot 32 and I was like why aren't my windows working..lol
Celery GT-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:26 PM   #85
xluben
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 261612
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2012 Forester 2.5X
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celery GT-5 View Post
are you supposed to be able to dim the gauge?

when i first installed it i accidentally plugged into slot 32 and I was like why aren't my windows working..lol
If wired correctly, the gauge will automatically dim when you turn on your headlights.
xluben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:27 PM   #86
Celery GT-5
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 98210
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Upstate NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Premium 6MT
WRB

Default

yeah it does.

my question is about the dimmer switch, there is no way to adjust the brightness?
Celery GT-5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:30 PM   #87
CTSparky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 282204
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Northeast CT
Vehicle:
2011 5 Door STi
Plasma Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xluben View Post
I just went out and tried this setup. It does not work. It does the exact same thing that it always does.
CTSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 03:58 PM   #88
xluben
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 261612
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2012 Forester 2.5X
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Celery GT-5 View Post
yeah it does.

my question is about the dimmer switch, there is no way to adjust the brightness?
No, you cannot further adjust the Defi gauges.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTSparky View Post
Maybe it's a difference between the STI and WRX wiring?
xluben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:18 AM   #89
midwestmonster
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 54390
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Illinois
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
Satin White Pearl

Default

This stinks. We were so close. The white whale escapes again!
midwestmonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 09:25 AM   #90
CTSparky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 282204
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Northeast CT
Vehicle:
2011 5 Door STi
Plasma Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by midwestmonster View Post
This stinks. We were so close. The white whale escapes again!
for what it is worth it still is not doing a double sweep for me.
CTSparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 09:40 AM   #91
O.C.D.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19640
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorful CO
Vehicle:
2005 RBP LGT 5T WAG
Cryotuned Stage 1

Default

Crap XLuben, crap, lol.

I didn't get to try changing mine but it seems like it would not matter now?

I cannot imagine them using a different fuse block but there are some differences in the models.
O.C.D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 09:49 AM   #92
Bradrcr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 276382
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, Wa
Vehicle:
2005 SaaBeeru
OBP

Default

I'm completely new to gauge installation on my WRX, I'm ordering my clustermaker soon and hadn't heard anyone mention an oil temp/pressure solution like this:

http://prosportgauges.com/oil-filter-adaptor-plate.aspx

Just wondering if there was any reason to not use this adapter, figured it would keep my stock warning light working and a little extra layer of warranty BS avoidance from the dealer.
Bradrcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 10:41 AM   #93
O.C.D.
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19640
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorful CO
Vehicle:
2005 RBP LGT 5T WAG
Cryotuned Stage 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradrcr View Post
I'm completely new to gauge installation on my WRX, I'm ordering my clustermaker soon and hadn't heard anyone mention an oil temp/pressure solution like this:

http://prosportgauges.com/oil-filter-adaptor-plate.aspx

Just wondering if there was any reason to not use this adapter, figured it would keep my stock warning light working and a little extra layer of warranty BS avoidance from the dealer.
As I installed Defi gauges I cannot attest to the "sandwich" adapters. I have read many times that they can be prone to leaking but again I am not personally experienced.

Had I not had the Defi gauge with the correct fitting I still would have purchased a galley plug and ran it that way. I would not want to add the ability for a sandwich to fail when you can get a direct reading off of the block.

my $.02

I am sure there are thousands out on the roads.
O.C.D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:14 PM   #94
2point0
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 150248
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego-ish
Vehicle:
'13 BRZ Ltd WRB
'67 Mustang

Default

^The downsides are extra connections (more points of possible failure/leakage) and the slight lowering of the oil filter, which may or may not be a concern.

Personally, I like using the galley plugs on the block and there's no reason to keep the oil pressure dummy light sensor, but it's an easy spot to get to for an aftermarket sender.

I found that the rear galley plug is a royal PITA to get to on the newer cars. My 05 wrx was pretty easy, but I had to remove the throttle body on my STi just to get enough room to take more crap out of the way. The only reason I got it done was sheer force of will, but I nearly gave up a few times and twisted the crap out of my allen wrench.

Then there's the whole debate on where it's best to read oil temps: through the galley plugs, the pan or the filter adapter...
2point0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:35 PM   #95
b1aze
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 284003
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Marlborough, MA
Vehicle:
2010 Alpine 135i

Default

I am having a bitch of a time with the rear galley plug. I had to end up buying a 3/8 drive 10mm ratchet socket with some extensions up to a 1/2in drive. Will be trying to crack that open this weekend.

On another note, with my Prosports, in order to stop the beeping during the opening ceremony, i had to tap the red power off of the Door Lock #3 and kept the amber in IG #18. It now remembers that i turned the beep off as the door lock has constant power.
b1aze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 12:55 PM   #96
2point0
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 150248
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego-ish
Vehicle:
'13 BRZ Ltd WRB
'67 Mustang

Default

^I think it's an 8mm hex. I had to use vice grips on mine to get some leverage, but I also sprayed some PB blaster on there. That might help you out as well.

After pulling the throttle body off, I disconnected the water line that connects next to that plug to get more room. Be warned, it will drip and if you touch any water hose it will squirt, but it's SOOO much easier to get in there once that's out of the way.
2point0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 01:19 PM   #97
b1aze
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 284003
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Marlborough, MA
Vehicle:
2010 Alpine 135i

Default

Its def a 10mm. I was able to get a 10mm ball end allen into there but just couldnt get the leverage. ****er is tight as hell.
b1aze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 02:59 AM   #98
anin23
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 279733
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sayreville NJ
Vehicle:
08 STI

Default

very useful thread, is the fuse diagram same on 08 sti?
anin23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:58 AM   #99
turboman38
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119306
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Erie, PA
Vehicle:
2011 SWP WRX

Default

I installed my prosport gauges last night. Couple things I ran into.

My oil pressure gauge was too big (too deep) to fit into either side. I actually cut a portion of the gauge off with a hack saw in the back. If you look at how the pods are shaped, the rear of the pod is cut at an angle. This did not allow my gauge to be pushed the hole way in.

I also had a sandwich adapter for the oil pressure gauge. This does not work on a 2011 WRX. The sending unit ProSport sent with the kit was too large in diameter and hit the block when I tried to install it.

When I wired the Prosport gauges I put the constant 12 volt wires (red wires on gauges) in IG2. Maybe I had it wired wrong but when I put them in the Door Lock fuse port the lights in the gauges were always on. I also put the orange illumination wires in fuse port ILM. I was not worried about the sweep. One thing I did notice was my gauges got brighter when you turned the lights on which is the way it's supposed to work but when you turn the lights off they did not go back to the dimmer setting.

Anybody else had these issues with the ProSport gauges?

Last edited by turboman38; 08-10-2011 at 10:00 AM. Reason: spelling
turboman38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 11:04 PM   #100
wrxphantom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 128643
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Brooklyn
Vehicle:
2013 STI Sedan
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turboman38
I installed my prosport gauges last night. Couple things I ran into.

My oil pressure gauge was too big (too deep) to fit into either side. I actually cut a portion of the gauge off with a hack saw in the back. If you look at how the pods are shaped, the rear of the pod is cut at an angle. This did not allow my gauge to be pushed the hole way in.

I also had a sandwich adapter for the oil pressure gauge. This does not work on a 2011 WRX. The sending unit ProSport sent with the kit was too large in diameter and hit the block when I tried to install it.

When I wired the Prosport gauges I put the constant 12 volt wires (red wires on gauges) in IG2. Maybe I had it wired wrong but when I put them in the Door Lock fuse port the lights in the gauges were always on. I also put the orange illumination wires in fuse port ILM. I was not worried about the sweep. One thing I did notice was my gauges got brighter when you turned the lights on which is the way it's supposed to work but when you turn the lights off they did not go back to the dimmer setting.

Anybody else had these issues with the ProSport gauges?
Which Prosport oil pressure gauge do you have that doesn't fit? I know the new white needle gauges fit with plenty of room as well as the Halo and premium gauges.

If I have to guess it is the performance gauge series which has the old stepper motors making the Gauges longer then 2". Please clarify.
wrxphantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NOAH is a tool....and I can proove it (Post here if you want points!) madcatz Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 14 05-02-2011 06:47 PM
Tell us how Subiefest went when you get back tonight & pics if you have them KB'izzle Southern California Impreza Club Forum -- SCIC 361 10-30-2009 07:57 PM
ssr professors, post pics if you have them streko Member's Car Gallery 2 07-22-2004 04:27 PM
Anyone put WRX stock rims on an RS? Pics if you have them... Samirr76 Interior & Exterior Modification 2 07-21-2001 03:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.