Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2012, 08:47 AM   #26
vision.dynamix
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru STI
Black, like my soul.

Default

Doesn't fit sometimes.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
vision.dynamix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 09:09 AM   #27
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

not only that, but the block vibrates a lot.

the constant vibration, along with the mass of the sensor, can cause the joints to fail/leak.

putting the sensor at the end of a flexible hose avoids this.
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 09:12 AM   #28
340Duster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52314
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Following the green weenie
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WRX 16G-XT
'13 500 Abarth

Default

Meh... my mech one is just dandy to me.
340Duster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 11:35 AM   #29
hoffmanEstates
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 122043
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: aurora
Vehicle:
04 wagonier
psm

Default

I would watch out for that hose. its rated high psi but not to handle heat cycles. idk sounds like might work
hoffmanEstates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 11:48 AM   #30
silver03bugeye
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 225570
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minot ND
Vehicle:
03 wrx
79 trans am 462stroker

Default

^thats exactly what I was wondering.
vision.dynamix how well do these hold up after heat cycles and if you are subject to it the cold weather? I know the hoses we run at my work crack the outer plastic but there is a braided line underneath.
silver03bugeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 11:54 AM   #31
vision.dynamix
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru STI
Black, like my soul.

Default

Ive had no issues. Yeah the plastic cracks sometimes, but underneath its no different than a standard SS hose.

Regardless, periodically checking it isnt a bad idea. This goes for pretty much all aftermarket parts you install on your car.
vision.dynamix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 08:10 PM   #32
krish51287
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 268623
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default

hi,how do you connect the wire previously on the stock oil pressure sensor to the new one?
krish51287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 08:13 PM   #33
vision.dynamix
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru STI
Black, like my soul.

Default

You don't. Just just eliminate it
vision.dynamix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 03:59 PM   #34
txl146
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32459
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX VF34
Junior Tuned 301whp

Default

Wire previously on the stock idiot sensor is left unplugged. It is also a good idea to wrap the wire with plastic cover like I did.

Will keep you posted. So far so good.
txl146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 11:16 PM   #35
txl146
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32459
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX VF34
Junior Tuned 301whp

Default

So far so good after a week of driving!

Ended up buying Philips E-treme power bulbs and (100) T-tap connectors on amazon with money saved.
txl146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 08:50 PM   #36
Serkan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 180514
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Windsor
Vehicle:
2004 Sti White

Default

Is there are SKU number for the 1/8" npt female female, I can't find that one. All they have is male-female.
Serkan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 02:17 PM   #37
tomtom84
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 167794
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: o-k-l-a-h-o-m-a
Vehicle:
06 sti wagon lmtd
91 miata. because racecar

Default

great idea guys. I'll try this next week.
tomtom84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 09:29 PM   #38
txl146
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32459
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX VF34
Junior Tuned 301whp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serkan View Post
Is there are SKU number for the 1/8" npt female female, I can't find that one. All they have is male-female.
No idea on SKU #. Home depot has everything you need for install.
txl146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:57 AM   #39
ckswanecamp
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299861
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Hanover, PA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Metallic Silver

Default

I completed this installation yesterday with an Autometer Phantom series Oil Pressure gauge w/ autometer's sender.

The install went good, however the gauge is not receiving a signal from the sender. After reading through install directions sent with gauge, I says to wire the ground from the gauge close to the sender unit (not sure why that is). I grounded my gauge to the 12v source that feeds my A-pillar setup. Also, if a remote kit is used, autometer reccomends to ground the sender from the body of sending unit.

Did OP ground his sending unit? Any thoughts or help is appreciated. My plan is to ground the oil pressure gauge to the battery directly. And solder a lead onto the sender body grounding that to engine compartment wall.
ckswanecamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:12 PM   #40
ckswanecamp
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299861
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Hanover, PA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Metallic Silver

Default

Never mind, got it squared it away. The sender needed to be grounded in order to keep the needle from jumping around all over the place.

As far as not receiving signal, i ran a new wire for the sender. The first attempt, i reused a wire coming through the fire wall that original owner used for audio equipment (i think) but it proved to be damaged / useless.
ckswanecamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2012, 05:18 PM   #41
txl146
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32459
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX VF34
Junior Tuned 301whp

Default

Yes, I grounded the sending unit to the bolt on the driver side fender.
txl146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:09 AM   #42
ciper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15543
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san francisco, ca
Vehicle:
90BJ Legacy LS ABS
AWD 946 Rio Red Jpn built

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ride5000 View Post
the constant vibration, along with the mass of the sensor, can cause the joints to fail/leak.
Or the sensor to eventually show random numbers for pressure.
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 10:24 PM   #43
sol_tegra
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 259406
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: truckee,ca
Vehicle:
02 WRB WRX

Default

from reading the thread, you guys are saying we can get everything from home depot but to make it easier on some of us (newbies.....lol) can we get some part numbers if possible?
to make this a one trip deal would be great!!!

which parts did you get from prosport?
sol_tegra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 09:29 AM   #44
ckswanecamp
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299861
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Hanover, PA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Metallic Silver

Default

Prosport Subaru Oil Galley Plug- p/n PSNUT

http://prosportgauges.com/subaru-oil-galley-plug.aspx
ckswanecamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:51 AM   #45
brutnus
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 257195
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Hixson
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
2.1L 12k miles strong

Default

+1.

Bought the hose from Home Depot.
brutnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 11:20 AM   #46
UK-Wagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232430
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: On the Left side
Vehicle:
555 XTi
1 AW & 1 CGM

Default

Why didnt you use the rear plug??? There is another plug right by the crank case breather/pcv pipe on the top rear part of the engine. The way you did this makes extra steps and longer install time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by krish51287 View Post
hi,how do you connect the wire previously on the stock oil pressure sensor to the new one?
you use the OTHER factory plug on the back of the block. It has the same amount of oil pressure as the front and is just as accurate. Also gives more mounting points for the sender like, to the firewall!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vision.dynamix View Post
You don't. Just just eliminate it
Why? there is no need to do so, and this takes longer to install this way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by txl146 View Post
Wire previously on the stock idiot sensor is left unplugged. It is also a good idea to wrap the wire with plastic cover like I did.
no, you shouldnt do this in the first place

Here, made this for you guys.

Last edited by UK-Wagon; 03-15-2012 at 12:08 PM. Reason: added picture
UK-Wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 01:25 AM   #47
ckswanecamp
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299861
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Hanover, PA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Metallic Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK-Wagon
Why didnt you use the rear plug??? There is another plug right by the crank case breather/pcv pipe on the top rear part of the engine. The way you did this makes extra steps and longer install time.

you use the OTHER factory plug on the back of the block. It has the same amount of oil pressure as the front and is just as accurate. Also gives more mounting points for the sender like, to the firewall!

Why? there is no need to do so, and this takes longer to install this way.

no, you shouldnt do this in the first place

Here, made this for you guys.
A possible answer to your question- would be to use the rear galley plug under the intercooler for an oil temp sensor. I don't think a temp sensor should be mounted remotely since you want the probe elemental in the flow of oil. Theres a lot more space under the intercooler for use of the rear galley plug. The front plug is tight as hell and almost requires the sending unit be mounted remotely.

So IMHO rear galley is for temp; front galley is for pressure.

Great diagram BTW. You can easily identify both galley plugs at the same time. More helpful information in this thread .
ckswanecamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 04:29 PM   #48
UK-Wagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232430
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: On the Left side
Vehicle:
555 XTi
1 AW & 1 CGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckswanecamp View Post
A possible answer to your question- would be to use the rear galley plug under the intercooler for an oil temp sensor. I don't think a temp sensor should be mounted remotely since you want the probe elemental in the flow of oil. Theres a lot more space under the intercooler for use of the rear galley plug. The front plug is tight as hell and almost requires the sending unit be mounted remotely.

So IMHO rear galley is for temp; front galley is for pressure.

Great diagram BTW. You can easily identify both galley plugs at the same time. More helpful information in this thread .
This thread is about oil pressure sender sir. On a side note, Oil temp goes to the oil pan, or at least the OEM subaru oil temp gauge package comes like this with a small adapter and probe that is screwed into the oil pan drain hole. The reason I made the illustration is because i see them removing factory parts for no good reason, it also requires more work, and that front location makes it so the sender has to be shoved under the intake manifold or something like that were false knock could be created if its just left to vibrate under the intake. Put it in the rear location quickly, with less work, and have many options for mounting the sender in a safe secure location.

Last edited by UK-Wagon; 03-17-2012 at 04:35 PM.
UK-Wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:12 PM   #49
txl146
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32459
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX VF34
Junior Tuned 301whp

Default

1 month update - so far everything is working great!
txl146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 03:29 AM   #50
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: somewhere east of CA
Vehicle:
95 L with ej257k
powa, Raven R6

Default

I have my sender mounted in the rear location but since this type is so bulky its wedged between a hose. Mine went bad and I need to change it but it won't be fun. I may go ahead and install the tiny autometer sensor and gauge. I can see the reason for remote mounting a huge sensor to make it easier when it comes time to change though, especially since mine has failed and I really don't feel like poking around under there to swap it out. Nice idea with the hose, btw.
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB : Remote Oil Pressure Sender Installation Kit EROCS04SBRUSTI Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 0 12-23-2011 05:10 PM
WTB : Remote Oil Pressure Sending Kit Dborne Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 0 07-21-2011 02:49 PM
Prosport Premium Gauges 52mm Oil Pressure and Temp Remote Oil Pressure Sender Kit skribblez32 Interior/Dressup/Audio & Security 4 07-01-2009 03:50 PM
FS: Oil pressure sender relocation kit. bisonjr MAIC Private Classifieds 0 03-07-2009 06:04 PM
WRXtra Oil Pressure Sender Installation Kit drees Car Part Reviews 1 06-21-2004 08:09 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.