Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2012, 12:41 PM   #26
Bighec
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 250626
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: MiaFL
Vehicle:
2011 STi

Default

Has anyone tried mounting the relay in the fuse box and getting power from somewhere other than + battery terminal?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Bighec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:05 PM   #27
SubyLoverNJ
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 312775
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default

I have mine running to a relay, but the relay isnt in the fuse box
SubyLoverNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:30 PM   #28
FL4TFTW
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 256953
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Vehicle:
2001 AW 2.5RS
2014 DGM WRX Hatch

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SubyLoverNJ View Post
I have mine running to a relay, but the relay isnt in the fuse box
Same.
FL4TFTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 07:23 PM   #29
aerosaaber
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33850
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pittsfield, MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
WRC Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SubyLoverNJ View Post
I have mine running to a relay, but the relay isnt in the fuse box
same here, to put it in the fuse box you'd have to get underneath the panel and rewire the socket (if theres a free one)
aerosaaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 04:25 PM   #30
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

trying to decide to use the relay or not? I am puzzled what that difference really is. Plug existing wireing into horn, ground horns, done. Why use the relay at all?
medamullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:19 PM   #31
Dmochowski
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 306478
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: chattanooga, TN
Vehicle:
2012 WRX limited
305whp/360tq TSM tuned

Default

so why do people require wiring to do this mod? i installed them on my 2012 and just used the factory horn wire and ran a wire splitting to two going to the horns and the ground going to the bolt that held that oem horn in place.
Dmochowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:04 PM   #32
cpc691
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195739
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: nevada
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by medamullet
trying to decide to use the relay or not? I am puzzled what that difference really is. Plug existing wireing into horn, ground horns, done. Why use the relay at all?
I believe it makes them a bit louder than without them
cpc691 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:01 AM   #33
Dmochowski
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 306478
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: chattanooga, TN
Vehicle:
2012 WRX limited
305whp/360tq TSM tuned

Default

mine are loud ass hell now without the relay i dont have any sound measuring devices but i tested them in my garage and they were deafening...
Dmochowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 05:25 PM   #34
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmochowski View Post
mine are loud ass hell now without the relay i dont have any sound measuring devices but i tested them in my garage and they were deafening...
did you tell your GF to stick her head under the hood before you did that?
medamullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:55 PM   #35
401sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 321326
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: ri
Vehicle:
04 sti
silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by medamullet View Post
did you tell your GF to stick her head under the hood before you did that?
^^^classic!

i just installed mine today as well without the relay and they are load! thanks for this little write up helped a ton
401sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 03:32 AM   #36
djtypewhazn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 292747
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
WRB

Default

just installed mine on my 2011 wrx. i now have 2 stock plus my supertones..... im not a violent person, but when i get cut off 2ce in one day i had to get some. ill eventually wire in a switch to just use my stock horns.
djtypewhazn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 08:23 PM   #37
97_Leggy_GT
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 314376
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fairfax Station, VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by djtypewhazn View Post
just installed mine on my 2011 wrx. i now have 2 stock plus my supertones..... im not a violent person, but when i get cut off 2ce in one day i had to get some. ill eventually wire in a switch to just use my stock horns.
That's funny, I bought some for the same reason. I really DON'T want to put the car back into the body shop for a third time this year. For some reason I only had one stock horn, so I could barely hear it inside the car.

Got two Panthers and kept the single stock horn. Now it's LOUD. I will say though, that the "wiring diagram" on the box is a bit vague and hard to decipher, so I'm glad this thread was here...

Pic: Link
97_Leggy_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 12:13 AM   #38
HonduhPowa
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 269076
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2005 Wrx Premium
PSM

Default

Hey guys, i've got a question about the supertones on my car.

I've got a 2004 Wrx that came with two red hella supertones in the front grill, when i hit the horn they do not work, but i do hear a relay (sounds to be in the engine bay) click when the horn is pressed. Any ideas where to start looking? I have no idea how the previous owner wired them. I tried to trace the wires FROM the super tones, and they lead into some wire loom towards the drivers headlight.
HonduhPowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 12:15 AM   #39
FL4TFTW
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 256953
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Vehicle:
2001 AW 2.5RS
2014 DGM WRX Hatch

Default

Well did you look at the wiring? Probably a good place to start. Is a relay being used?
FL4TFTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:53 PM   #40
97_Leggy_GT
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 314376
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fairfax Station, VA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HonduhPowa View Post
Hey guys, i've got a question about the supertones on my car.

I've got a 2004 Wrx that came with two red hella supertones in the front grill, when i hit the horn they do not work, but i do hear a relay (sounds to be in the engine bay) click when the horn is pressed. Any ideas where to start looking? I have no idea how the previous owner wired them. I tried to trace the wires FROM the super tones, and they lead into some wire loom towards the drivers headlight.
You CAN wire them to the stock horn wires, which join a wire bundle shared by the headlamps - at least on my BD Leggy. That's probably what you're seeing. If there's a relay, then there SHOULD be a wire tapping power from the battery's positive lead as well. Might start by trying to find that wire and trace from there.

This is the ideal wiring setup for the horns. If all else fails, you might just rip out the wiring you've got already and start over. Total cost to you should be about $15-20 for wires and a relay at an auto parts store.

97_Leggy_GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 02:30 AM   #41
HonduhPowa
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 269076
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2005 Wrx Premium
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 97_Leggy_GT View Post
You CAN wire them to the stock horn wires, which join a wire bundle shared by the headlamps - at least on my BD Leggy. That's probably what you're seeing. If there's a relay, then there SHOULD be a wire tapping power from the battery's positive lead as well. Might start by trying to find that wire and trace from there.

This is the ideal wiring setup for the horns. If all else fails, you might just rip out the wiring you've got already and start over. Total cost to you should be about $15-20 for wires and a relay at an auto parts store.

Great, thanks for the tip and diagram! If the wires are ran right into the factory horn wires, wouldn't that provide the power? Which means there wouldn't be a wire running to the battery nor' an "aftermarket" horn relay, as its running off the factory relay/wires?

The relay I'm hearing click is the factory one in the under-hood fuse box (or im assuming) but no sound out of the horns. I haven't had time to look at it much, or test the horns for power. I hate electrical -.-
HonduhPowa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 09:27 PM   #42
Joshubaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 313858
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tennessee
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5rs
Blue

Default

If anybody needs some instruction on installation of these on older model impreza, I should be able to help. I installed these on my 2000 2.5rs, so if you need pics let's me know.
Joshubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 09:32 PM   #43
JavaBot
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 156723
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Illadelph
Vehicle:
99rs Slvr City Buggy
'14 swp 5dr sport

Default

need pics of installed... did the oem connections reach the normal mounting areas?
JavaBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:47 PM   #44
Joshubaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 313858
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tennessee
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5rs
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaBot
need pics of installed... did the oem connections reach the normal mounting areas?
I'll try to get the pics within the next couple of days. And repost. Also no the OEM connections did not meet, I had to extend them to my mounting points.
Joshubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:45 AM   #45
MrLebreen
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 344816
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: International
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza 2.0i
Black

Default

can some one link me to where you actually buy the Hellatones from preferably the 118db ones

cheers
MrLebreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:38 AM   #46
CCSubaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 203376
Join Date: Feb 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Hatch
WRB Stg 1 Pro Tune

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLebreen View Post
can some one link me to where you actually buy the Hellatones from preferably the 118db ones

cheers
You can get them from all sorts of places just google search "hella supertones"

Most popular place to buy from is Subimods and they have optional bracket/wiring harness you can get as well
CCSubaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 08:32 AM   #47
vision.dynamix
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru STI
Black, like my soul.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLebreen View Post
can some one link me to where you actually buy the Hellatones from preferably the 118db ones

cheers
If you call them the right name, theres about a bazillion places you can find via Google.
vision.dynamix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 09:04 AM   #48
FL4TFTW
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 256953
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Vehicle:
2001 AW 2.5RS
2014 DGM WRX Hatch

Default

Amazon has them for under $49 shipped for prime members.
FL4TFTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:16 PM   #49
Teedub21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 333099
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Vancouver, WA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX STi
ISM

Default

Just ordered mine last night from Subimods with bracket and harness. Will be my first mod! A little leery about pulling the bumper on my brand new car, but I had the bumper off my 2011 5.0 twice, so it shouldn't be much different.
Teedub21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 02:43 PM   #50
jordan1989
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 341580
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2003 wrx wagon
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpc691 View Post
I believe it makes them a bit louder than without them
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dmochowski View Post
so why do people require wiring to do this mod? i installed them on my 2012 and just used the factory horn wire and ran a wire splitting to two going to the horns and the ground going to the bolt that held that oem horn in place.
It does make them louder. Without a relay, picture the sound of a horn from a older beetle, really high pitched and annoying. The relay tones this down alot and balances each horn (Low/High). If i am correct. This is the basic reason. Also the relay protects the circuit and power from the horns and prevents possible issues if a wire shorts that is not relay protected.


Correct me if i am wrong
jordan1989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hella Supertones with custom (RPF1) machined grilles quadtard Exterior/Styling 9 10-17-2009 12:33 AM
The Official Hella Supertones Thread Ryanpm939 Member's Car Gallery 0 11-14-2008 01:47 AM
* HELP Hella Supertones Rubbing on my STi Grille ultraspdWRX Interior & Exterior Modification 13 10-14-2007 10:14 PM
What is the two red things behind the grill on some subys?? BBBsti LTD Member's Car Gallery 16 12-28-2005 08:34 PM
('93-'01) What the heck is this thing behind the wheels? Andrew Impreza Forum 18 07-08-2001 10:58 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.