Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2012, 08:01 AM   #51
jkopinga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220799
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Taiwan
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX
WRC Blue

Default

Well I seem to have found a picture I made in the past with the TESTPADS highlighted. I hope it can help you out as I believe the 06 and 07 ECUs are the same.

2006 WRX ECU:



Cheers,

Jasper.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jkopinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:04 AM   #52
jkopinga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220799
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Taiwan
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX
WRC Blue

Default

Regarding the voltage of the Watchdog......

If you only have a Multimeter at your disposal you can try to measure the voltage and you should see roughly 2.5V since the dutycycle is close to 50% which means the signal is LOW and HIGH the same amount of time.

Most Multimeters are RMS meters which means they will show the average which in this case should be roughly half which is 2.5 Volts. It's not a nice approach but at least it gives you a clue of what might be wrong.

Cheers,

Jasper.
jkopinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:06 AM   #53
toxin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51259
Join Date: Dec 2003
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
СGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkopinga View Post
Well I seem to have found a picture I made in the past with the TESTPADS highlighted. I hope it can help you out as I believe the 06 and 07 ECUs are the same.


Cheers,

Jasper.
Jasper,

Thank you,
Yes the testpads are the same in 07 and 06 ECUs.
However, I still not succeeded in the ECU recovery, and trying to figure out where's the catch.

Do I still need to tie the C446 capacitor to the ground wire as shown at your picture?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkopinga View Post
Regarding the voltage of the Watchdog......

If you only have a Multimeter at your disposal you can try to measure the voltage and you should see roughly 2.5V since the dutycycle is close to 50% which means the signal is LOW and HIGH the same amount of time.

Most Multimeters are RMS meters which means they will show the average which in this case should be roughly half which is 2.5 Volts. It's not a nice approach but at least it gives you a clue of what might be wrong.

Cheers,

Jasper.
The multimeter reads roughly +5V at the WDT pin

Thanks,
Anton.
toxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:15 AM   #54
jkopinga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220799
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Taiwan
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX
WRC Blue

Default

If the Multimeter reads +5V that is WRONG!

The signal is 50% Dutycycle changing from +5V to 0V. Any RMS multimeter should show a lower value. If you say the voltage reads 5V I suspect your WDT signal is continuously high. Perhaps some problems with the way you connected the RC circuit to the 555 Timer?

Cheers,

Jasper.
jkopinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 08:52 AM   #55
jkopinga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220799
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Taiwan
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX
WRC Blue

Default

Have you tried using ECUFlash which has the SHBoot recovery function as well? It would be good to give it a try and make sure it's not a software related issue. It works a charm for me and I suspect others that use the Renesas SH7058 MCUs but might not work for the older '04 SH7055 MCUs although I cannot confirm that.

Cheers,

Jasper.
jkopinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 01:20 PM   #56
Noah
Rustle Crow
Moderator
 
Member#: 111510
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago area
Default

If your WDT output is 5 Volts DC, your timer isn't timing at all. Sounds like your output line is tied to your 5 volt supply. If the timer was operating correctly the output voltage will be around 2.2 to 2.5 volts whether you measure it as DC or AC voltage on your multimeter. If you reversed the order of resistors R1 and R2 on the timer circuit, your output frequency will change to around 290Hz instead of 150Hz, but your output voltage should stay close to the same. It seems that your connections to the ECU are correct based on Jasper's picture, so I think something is wrong with your timer circuit.

Noah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 04:03 PM   #57
Dyno503
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 314017
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Beaverton Oregon
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
WRB

Default

I went crosseyed reading all this.
Dyno503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 12:29 PM   #58
toxin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51259
Join Date: Dec 2003
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
СGM

Default

jkopinga, Noah,

Guys, thanks for your input. There was a short circuit on the board. I'll re-do all connections this weekend and tell you what'll happen.

and, BTW, will this SHBootmode work for 16-bit ECU? ('03 WRX)

Thanks,
Anton
toxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 12:31 PM   #59
Noah
Rustle Crow
Moderator
 
Member#: 111510
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago area
Default

The 16-bit ECU uses a different microcontroller made by Motorola, so this method won't work for the 32-bit ECU which uses a Renesas(Hitachi) microcontroller.
Noah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 12:05 PM   #60
toxin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51259
Join Date: Dec 2003
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
СGM

Default

Well guys...
I can't thank you enough...
My ECU got unbricked and I just drove my subie around.

Just a couple of pics of the SHboot mode board:





And, BTW, Ecuflash worked like a charm for me.

Thanks again everyone! Damn, I love Subie community!!!
toxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 01:26 PM   #61
Noah
Rustle Crow
Moderator
 
Member#: 111510
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago area
Default

Glad to see you got it to work finally!
Noah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 08:01 AM   #62
fluke177
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318394
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

Hello everybody

I am try to unbrick my 07 EDM FXT. ECU number was 22611AM240

It took some time but have not succeeded yet.

timer is going 150Hz measure by fluke177

USB dongle is well in WIN XP and WIN7

But FDT shows as below


Could someone can tell me witch step that I am going wrong?

Thank you !


Fluke
fluke177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:05 PM   #63
Noah
Rustle Crow
Moderator
 
Member#: 111510
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago area
Default

That seems pretty strange, as the 7058 chip uses Protocol C or so it says when you set it to flash to a 7058. Since it seems you are having a problem getting the initial connection to the ECU I would try swapping your TX and RX lines and see if that changes anything. first.

Alternately you could try using ECUflash recovery mode.
Noah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 05:50 PM   #64
fluke177
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318394
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noah View Post
That seems pretty strange, as the 7058 chip uses Protocol C or so it says when you set it to flash to a 7058. Since it seems you are having a problem getting the initial connection to the ECU I would try swapping your TX and RX lines and see if that changes anything. first.

Alternately you could try using ECUflash recovery mode.
Hi Noah,

I used ECUflash, But it not work.

How to supply 12V to ECU?

I connect 12V B135 .5,6,19 & B136 .7 &B137. 15

GND B135 .1,3 & B137 .12

Does any pin I missed?




Fluke
fluke177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 06:14 PM   #65
Noah
Rustle Crow
Moderator
 
Member#: 111510
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago area
Default

I don't have the wiring pinouts for your specific ECU.
+12V should go to Control Unit power supply, Backup Unit power supply and Ignition switch.

Ground should go to GND Power supply and I think GND Control systems.
Noah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 06:44 AM   #66
jkopinga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220799
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Taiwan
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX
WRC Blue

Default

Dude,

You got your connections all wrong.

THE BEST advice I will give you and others is the following:

- Do the recovery INSIDE the car. That way you never need to think about which connections you should make, etc. ALL the wiring is there
- Make sure you take the ECU circuit board out of it's case and solder the recovery board to the ECU. Plug everything as it should making sure you blank the board, etc. if necessary with insulating paper, carton, etc. to prevent it touching other stuff.
- Do the recovery and call it a day.

In case you DO want to do it on the bench. Try this:

12V Power Feed:

B135 pin# 19 Ignition Switch
B135 pin# 5 Backup Power Supply
B134 pin# 7 Control Power Supply
B135 pin# 2 Control Power Supply
B135 pin# 12 Main Switch

GND:

B134 pin# 5
B137 pin# 1
B137 pin# 2
B137 pin# 3

Cheers,

Jasper.
jkopinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 04:46 AM   #67
fluke177
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318394
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

Hi Jasper,

I had connect as you said, But it still no work.

Maybe I should try it on car.

Does any setting with USB dongle?

I am suspect it.
fluke177 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 01:10 PM   #68
Bamofo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159743
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Plymouth Ma
Vehicle:
07 STI Limited
TurboMike Tuned 2.35

Default

Worked Great for me got an 04STI ecu back up and running. Just as a point you can use different Resistors and Capacitors just use the calculator at the following web page to get the correct Hz output.

http://freespace.virgin.net/matt.wai...y/pinouts/555/
Bamofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 06:50 PM   #69
Hagen5244
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 284174
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho
Default

Anyone done this on an 08+? I dont see the c446 cap, with only the p4xx pads connected I get a success full flash from recovery in ecu flash, but the car will not start, the dccd and s drive stuff is flashing on the dash and I can not communicate with the ecu using obd2 port. Any help would be great.
Hagen5244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 08:19 PM   #70
izergfx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 308012
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Evil Empire
Vehicle:
C# & Java Devs***
PM me***

Default

Give the Renesas tool a shot, it might throw the error that is occurring.
izergfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:10 PM   #71
Hagen5244
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 284174
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by izergfx View Post
Give the Renesas tool a shot, it might throw the error that is occurring.
Renesas tool wont even start writing, it gives a check sum error, error 16170 if i remember correctly. again any and all help is appreciated thank so much
Hagen5244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 09:35 PM   #72
izergfx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 308012
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Evil Empire
Vehicle:
C# & Java Devs***
PM me***

Default

Post a full log from the renesas tool, and a picture of the wiring.

It also might be worth trying with a bone stock, freshly downloaded rom. It's possible that the one you are flashing is corrupted if it throws a checksum error.
izergfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 10:42 PM   #73
Hagen5244
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 284174
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by izergfx View Post
Post a full log from the renesas tool, and a picture of the wiring.

It also might be worth trying with a bone stock, freshly downloaded rom. It's possible that the one you are flashing is corrupted if it throws a checksum error.
Everything is unhooked and put away now, and I don't have a log from eirlier, but. I have tried 2 stock roms for the 08/09 sti and one tuned rom from an 08/09 rom. All with the same error or in ecuflash the same success, but then when the key is on the car acts like there is no ecu connected, dccd and sdrive amoung other lights flashing. Thanks again
Hagen5244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 06:45 AM   #74
norbs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135787
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Great thread guys.

Just one question.

Is it necessary to earth C446??? If so, does someone have a clear/zoomed picture of how that is done?

Cheers.
norbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 07:32 PM   #75
norbs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135787
Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Anyone?
norbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove an ecu Quackyboy Newbies & FAQs 9 04-22-2010 09:26 AM
How to Make an STI Look Like a Sleeper? FostersAFB General Community 88 10-20-2004 09:29 PM
How bad is it on the tranny to treat an auto like a manual? thrillho Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 8 06-07-2004 08:23 AM
Want to learn how to tune an ECU...and actually do it on a real dyno? 2000vfr800 Engine Management & Tuning 9 03-19-2003 02:20 PM
How long for an ECU to reset w/ no flash? Keith99RS New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 0 08-22-2002 03:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.