Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 16, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2012, 05:27 PM   #1
Qbanz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120048
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami
Vehicle:
2008 STI
WRB

Default Problem reading ECU of 08 USDM STI

Hello all,

I recently purchased my08 STI and i am trying to at least read the ecu from it. i plan on doing some light bolt-ons so i need the access.. I used to have a my02 bug which i was able to read and write to ecu with my old 1.3 cable.. now i have purchased the OP 2.0 from tac trix and i am having a hell of a time trying to connect. always get the same error.

[13:10:46.296] EcuFlash Version 1.43.3150
[13:10:46.296] OS Version Windows XP
[13:10:46.296] Qt Version 4.6.2
[13:10:46.312] 62 memory models read.
[13:10:46.312] scanning for metadata models in C:/Program Files/OpenECU/EcuFlash/rommetadata
[13:10:46.656] 354 ROM metadata models scanned.
[13:10:46.656] checksum module "subarudbw" loaded.
[13:10:46.656] checksum module "mitsucan" loaded.
[13:10:46.656] checksum module "mitsuh8" loaded.
[13:10:46.656] patch module "Subaru CAN Enhanced RAM Parameter Logging" loaded.
[13:10:46.656] patch module "Mitsu CAN RAM Parameter Logging" loaded.
[13:10:46.656] flashing tool "wrx02" loaded.
[13:10:46.656] flashing tool "wrx04" loaded.
[13:10:46.656] flashing tool "sti04" loaded.
[13:10:46.656] flashing tool "sti05" loaded.
[13:10:46.656] flashing tool "mitsukernel" loaded.
[13:10:46.656] flashing tool "mitsukernelocp" loaded.
[13:10:46.671] flashing tool "mitsubootloader" loaded.
[13:10:46.671] flashing tool "shbootmode" loaded.
[13:10:46.671] flashing tool "shaudmode" loaded.
[13:10:46.671] flashing tool "subarucan" loaded.
[13:10:46.671] flashing tool "mitsucan" loaded.
[13:10:53.500] J2534 API Version: 04.04
[13:10:53.500] J2534 DLL Version: 1.00.3147 Sep 3 2010 00:11:07
[13:10:53.500] Device Firmware Version: 1.11.3209
[13:10:53.500] Device Serial Number: TAzk6LOh
[13:11:02.000] kernel get version
[13:11:02.218] VIN : JF1GR89638L825492
[13:11:02.218] CVN : 369893B7
[13:11:02.218] SSM2 init
[13:11:02.265] SSM2 ECU ID is 5A12784107
[13:11:02.265] Requesting Seed...
[13:11:02.265] Sending Key...
[13:11:02.265] interface close
[13:11:02.281] interface close

I have updated the drivers to the Tactrix open port.. i have uninstalled and reinstalled both ecuflash and the drivers to the tactrix 2.0 dongle.. with the older drivers i can reset the ecu with romraider but still cannot read ecu.. I have tried searching thru all the forums but to no avail was not able to help.. I hope someone can assist me ..

thank you in advance and for your time
Rolando
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Qbanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 09:21 PM   #2
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Make sure you have the latest Ecuflash and latest definitions. 99% of the time it's user error. Manually tell Windows where the driver is. If you are using Vista or 7 run as admin.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 10:26 PM   #3
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

if this keeps happening, you may have a locked ecu, most likely a cobb ap
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 08:37 AM   #4
Qbanz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120048
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami
Vehicle:
2008 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quazimoto View Post
Make sure you have the latest Ecuflash and latest definitions. 99% of the time it's user error. Manually tell Windows where the driver is. If you are using Vista or 7 run as admin.
I am running this on Windows XP.. i will do the complete uninstall and reinstall again when i get home..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuke209 View Post
if this keeps happening, you may have a locked ecu, most likely a cobb ap
This is what i hope is not the case... if I do have a locked ECU.. what would be my solutions.. purchase ECU ?? Is there a way to tell what locked the ecu either a Cobb which is most likely or a ECUtek ??
Qbanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 09:12 AM   #5
Black94Snake
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Does the car have any mods? (ones that were installed when you bought it)
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 10:29 AM   #6
Qbanz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120048
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami
Vehicle:
2008 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
Does the car have any mods? (ones that were installed when you bought it)
Yes there were... Invidia downpipe and a K&N Typhoon Intake....

its throwing me a P0420 cel due to the Catless downpipe... so my logic is if the ECu is locked with a Cobb or a ECUtek i wouldnt be getting the CEL right ??
Qbanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 10:48 AM   #7
Black94Snake
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

sounds like you have software and cable issues. I would suggest trying to downgrade your version of ECUflash to 1.42 and trying again.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 10:55 AM   #8
Qbanz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120048
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami
Vehicle:
2008 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
sounds like you have software and cable issues. I would suggest trying to downgrade your version of ECUflash to 1.42 and trying again.
Thats what i am hoping it is... I dont know if its my timing but I have racked my brain and sweated my Arse off in the hot humid Miami weather.. LOL. but i will try again with a clean install
Qbanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 11:09 AM   #9
Black94Snake
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

I do strongly suggest you get off the beta software though. Ive used 1.42.2595 on both XP and windows 7.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 11:48 AM   #10
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
I do strongly suggest you get off the beta software though. Ive used 1.42.2595 on both XP and windows 7.
that shouldn't be the case
i'm using beta version and have no issues.

if you have op2.0 and ecuflash, it should read. if it doesn't and locks you out, well, you're locked.
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 11:55 AM   #11
Qbanz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120048
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami
Vehicle:
2008 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuke209 View Post
that shouldn't be the case
i'm using beta version and have no issues.

if you have op2.0 and ecuflash, it should read. if it doesn't and locks you out, well, you're locked.
if the ECU is locked... is there any way to know who or what locked it ???
Qbanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 12:15 PM   #12
Black94Snake
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuke209 View Post
that shouldn't be the case
i'm using beta version and have no issues.

if you have op2.0 and ecuflash, it should read. if it doesn't and locks you out, well, you're locked.
I'd rather switch my software back to an older and known good version, than go through the hassle of trying to figure out why my ECU is locked, and then potentially have to mail it out... etc etc etc.


troubleshooting... have you ever done it?
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 01:08 PM   #13
Qbanz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120048
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami
Vehicle:
2008 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
I'd rather switch my software back to an older and known good version, than go through the hassle of trying to figure out why my ECU is locked, and then potentially have to mail it out... etc etc etc.


troubleshooting... have you ever done it?
thanks for your assistance gentlemen... i will continue to troubleshoot when i get home.... and post the update afterwards
Qbanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 06:35 PM   #14
Qbanz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120048
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami
Vehicle:
2008 STI
WRB

Default

well and update..

i uninstalled and reinstalled 3 different versions of ecuexplorer and they all had the same results... I am believeing now that the ecu is locked...

now the mystery is who is it locked by... Cobb ??? or ECUTek... If it is locked by ECUTek can a ECUTek tuner remove the lock with my request ?? I read there was a way with the Cobb AP .. But i dont know anyone localy here in Miami that would help.. I guess i will post in the South East region and ask arouund...

thanks for all your help
Qbanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 09:04 PM   #15
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

I've been using beta version for over a year without any issues. if it's not letting you in, it's not letting you in lol.

you can sell the op and get an accessport and tune with that.
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 07:18 AM   #16
Qbanz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120048
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami
Vehicle:
2008 STI
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuke209 View Post
I've been using beta version for over a year without any issues. if it's not letting you in, it's not letting you in lol.

you can sell the op and get an accessport and tune with that.
Thats probably what i will do.. sucks cuz i already paid for a etune for the damm thing..
Qbanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 02:31 PM   #17
CarverHouseRally
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 315692
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi
WRB

Default

What did you end up doing Qbanz? Mine is doing the same thing.
CarverHouseRally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 04:03 PM   #18
freddy121389
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 294644
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Washington DC
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Agile Auto
DGM 301whp 335wtq

Default

i had this problem when i was using a laptop with vista, vista for some reason doesnt want to work with the newest update, once i switched to windows 7 it worked perfect
freddy121389 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 09:52 AM   #19
CarverHouseRally
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 315692
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STi
WRB

Default

I'm using windows 7 I will try another computer just in case.
CarverHouseRally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 02:48 PM   #20
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuned

Default

There's issues with Java too. Uninstall that and reinstall. Could be that
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:16 PM   #21
michael_cano
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 227643
Join Date: Oct 2009
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Las Cruces, NM to Ft. Hood, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Stock as Hell
:( STi

Default

my car wouldn't hook up with the tactrix either. i heard it's because 08+ are canbus??? i don't know what that means but i heard that's the issue
michael_cano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 08:54 AM   #22
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

The 2.0 Tactrix cable supports CAN-BUS cars. I highly suggest reading ALL OF THE FAQ'S on Romraider's site.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem reading ECU with ECUFLASH Subyroo2.5 Open Source Reflashes 3 02-10-2008 10:02 AM
Photos of 2007 USDM STi Intake Ports compared to v7 JDM STi Intake Ports... wow Wrinkleboi Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 29 09-11-2007 12:09 PM
How would you describe the difference in handling of the USDM STi and the BMW 330i? Zoso General Community 4 01-04-2004 07:01 PM
In defense of the USDM STi. Siper2 New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 23 08-23-2003 08:49 PM
Anyone know the price and p/n of the USDM STi seat pittkid333 Interior & Exterior Modification 16 05-23-2003 10:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.