Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2012, 08:58 AM   #76
jkopinga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220799
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Taiwan
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX
WRC Blue

Default

I have recovered a 2008 STI ECU without issues. However you CANNOT do it with the Renesas Tool as it doesn't support the SH7058S MCU properly. You need the latest BETA ECUFlash to do it. It uses different Clock Type ratios vs. previous SH7058F MCUs.

Just connect to the Testpads as usual which on the 2008 ECU are all inline on a proper location rather than scattered all across the board .

Cheers,

Jasper Kopinga
CS Racing
Taiwan.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jkopinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 09:11 AM   #77
jkopinga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220799
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Taiwan
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX
WRC Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hagen5244 View Post
Everything is unhooked and put away now, and I don't have a log from eirlier, but. I have tried 2 stock roms for the 08/09 sti and one tuned rom from an 08/09 rom. All with the same error or in ecuflash the same success, but then when the key is on the car acts like there is no ecu connected, dccd and sdrive amoung other lights flashing. Thanks again
Maybe a stupid question........
But were you sure you used the correct ROM for your ECU?
EG. EDM, USDM, or other...........

I have seen this problem when flashing (not Recovery) somebody's 09 STI with a tuned ROM I made. After flashing succesfully I had the same phenomena as you mentioned. It seems it only happens on 2009+ cars so far from my experience despite them both running AZ1G202G (EDM) ROMs.

Luckily I had made a backup of THAT ECUs stock ROM. I ended up pasting all my tuning data into the stock ROM from THAT ECU and flashed it. After that there was no problem.

You might have the same problem as such that you MUST have the actual ROM that was on the ECU from the beginning.

Cheers,

Jasper.
jkopinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:35 PM   #78
WrxBogdan
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 281716
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Vancouver Washington
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza Wrx
Platinum Silver Metallic

Default

Would this work for fixing an 05 wrx bricked ecu?
WrxBogdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 09:39 PM   #79
Noah
Rustle Crow
Moderator
 
Member#: 111510
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago area
Vehicle:
05 WRX
03 SV650S

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WrxBogdan View Post
Would this work for fixing an 05 wrx bricked ecu?
No, the 05 WRX uses an ECU with a different microcontroller and requires a different procedure.
Noah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 01:57 AM   #80
WrxBogdan
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 281716
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Vancouver Washington
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza Wrx
Platinum Silver Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noah View Post
No, the 05 WRX uses an ECU with a different microcontroller and requires a different procedure.
What is that procedure? i bricked mine today
WrxBogdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 07:33 AM   #81
toxin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51259
Join Date: Dec 2003
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
СGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by norbs View Post
Great thread guys.

Just one question.

Is it necessary to earth C446??? If so, does someone have a clear/zoomed picture of how that is done?

Cheers.
Yes, it is.
You can tie it to P413, as it shown on page 2 of this thread.
toxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 09:37 AM   #82
hockey3592
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 164924
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

Does anyone have a schematic for a 2011 STi ecu pinout? I am struggling with the ground connection since the caps arent on my board.
hockey3592 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 11:07 AM   #83
JMRS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 374033
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default

mad, awesome help!
JMRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 10:53 PM   #84
Franko
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 193628
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Canada
Vehicle:
2010 STI
SSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey3592 View Post
Does anyone have a schematic for a 2011 STi ecu pinout? I am struggling with the ground connection since the caps arent on my board.
The reason for the connection to the cap is to remove signal noise on the rx and tx connections. It can be seen when using a scope.

Connect it to the ground terminal on the closest cap that looks the same and it will work fine.
Franko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:02 AM   #85
Mar4Chris
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 374001
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default

is willing to help you out to build this thing



Mar4Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 07:46 PM   #86
AlexTRD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135627
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Peoria, AZ
Vehicle:
2005 WRX td06-20g
WRB v8 ej207/C32 AMG

Default

I know this thread has been dead for a while, but I believe I'm having trouble with my timing circuit. Radio shack and my local elec store didn't have the exact resistor values I needed, so I ended up having to use several to get the necessary values. Checked with my meter and the ohms seems to be correct. My watchdog frequency seems a bit high though at 154hz, and when I check the voltage with my meter is comes in at about 1.15v. This should mean my duty cycle is lower than the 50% on/off im shooting for? Any suggestions?
AlexTRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 10:54 PM   #87
AlexTRD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135627
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Peoria, AZ
Vehicle:
2005 WRX td06-20g
WRB v8 ej207/C32 AMG

Default

ok so without the output wire of the timer connected to ecu pin p407 I get 2.2v, but when connected it drops to 1.14v. Does this seem right?
AlexTRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 11:28 PM   #88
AlexTRD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135627
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Peoria, AZ
Vehicle:
2005 WRX td06-20g
WRB v8 ej207/C32 AMG

Default

here's an example of my ecuflash log:

[19:26:01.237] sending bit rate sync bytes...
[19:26:01.247] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:01.772] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:02.302] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:02.832] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:03.878] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:04.408] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:04.938] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:05.469] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:05.999] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:06.530] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:07.060] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:08.090] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:08.620] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:09.150] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:09.696] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:10.227] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:11.256] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:11.787] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:12.317] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:12.863] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:13.394] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:14.423] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:14.954] received bit rate adjust response
sending boot command
[19:26:15.468] no bit rate adjust response
[19:26:15.468] interface close
AlexTRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 11:30 PM   #89
AlexTRD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135627
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Peoria, AZ
Vehicle:
2005 WRX td06-20g
WRB v8 ej207/C32 AMG

Default

and here's my fdt log:

OS: Windows Vista/Server 2008 [Admin]
Clock Frequency (External) = 10.0000MHz, Clock Mode = 0, CKM = 4, and CKP = 2
Connecting to device 'SH/7058F' on 'COM1'
Configuration:
'BOOT Mode' connection - using emulated interface
Opening port 'COM1' ...
Loading Comms DLL
Loaded Comms DLL
Initiating BOOT SCI sequence
Attempting 9600
Received immediate response from device: 0xFD
Attempting 4800
Received immediate response from device: 0xD5
Attempting 2400
Received immediate response from device: 0x00
Attempting 1200
Received immediate response from device: 0x02
Error No 15024: Boot failed
AlexTRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 12:29 AM   #90
AlexTRD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135627
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Peoria, AZ
Vehicle:
2005 WRX td06-20g
WRB v8 ej207/C32 AMG

Default

I've got activity on the Tx and Rx pins of my ft232rl, just seems like the ecu refuses to go into boot mode.
AlexTRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 08:25 AM   #91
andea79
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 373537
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Romania
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza STi EDM

Default

I also had a bricked ECU last week on my 2008 EDM STI and I had the sh bootmode cable made by a friend, this is how it looks like (and also worked with ecuflash):


The first picture is the cable and the second one is the ECU on my car with the grey cable and the connector on the right, the wires from the grey cable are still attached to the ECU so in case it happens again I just conect to that connector without taking the ECU out ....
andea79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 04:13 AM   #92
awadkhan
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 372587
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default ...

Which rom did you use to recover. I did not have the original rom so I tried each and every rom there is for EU 2008-2011 and SADM ROMS. It writes successfully but the ecu is not unbricking. I downloaded roms off internet as well stock one just to be sure that mine arent corrupted. Any input will be highly appreciated.

And for those whose WDT timer is fine and it is not connecting try hitting OK in Ecuflash as soon as you turn the ignition on. I was having connectivity issues as well. When I hit ok as soon as I turned on ignition it connected and wrote right away.
awadkhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2014, 10:57 PM   #93
Marvin54
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317521
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

Hi.

who can make me one SHboot board
Marvin54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 03:42 AM   #94
Marvin54
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317521
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

programming complete, but ecu dont work in car

help

Marvin54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 10:54 PM   #95
robbyredneck
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346999
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: upstate
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
blue

Default

any of you guys who have successfully done this wanna get paid to do mine? 04sti a2zj700j
scratch this. did it myself. just had to eliminate resistor on output of the timer and cap is mislabeled on timer circuit should be .01nf at least thats what worked for me . this works and it saved my bag.

Last edited by robbyredneck; 08-06-2014 at 10:56 PM.
robbyredneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2014, 06:58 AM   #96
fabio.fxt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 408422
Join Date: Dec 2014
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Uberaba/Brazil
Vehicle:
2010 Forester XT
Gray

Default

Hi Guys,

I write the ECU for the Forester XT 2010 Brazilian with the EcuFlash, but the car don't start. Somebody help me?




Last edited by fabio.fxt; 12-18-2014 at 07:10 AM.
fabio.fxt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 09:55 AM   #97
jkopinga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220799
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Taiwan
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza WRX
WRC Blue

Default

Fabio,

Unless you have disconnected wires when making the pictures you are missing wires so I doubt you are able to recover the ECU. You need to have wires connected to:

P405 --> +5V (From USB power, FTDI module)
P407 --> Watchdog Timer signal (Timer circuit)
P409 --> Rx (going to Tx on the FTDI module)
P411 --> Tx (going to Rx on the FTDI module)
P413 --> Ground (USB GND, FTDI module)

Make sure everything is connected properly. Also make sure you are supplying +12V power to BOTH Control-supply pins and Backup supply pins on the 4 Main connectors as well as connecting 1 or 2 GND connections. Have a look at the wiring diagram. If you can't get it sorted I can tell you which pins should be used but it should be easy to find in the FSM.

Cheers,

Jasper.
jkopinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 12:16 PM   #98
fabio.fxt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 408422
Join Date: Dec 2014
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Uberaba/Brazil
Vehicle:
2010 Forester XT
Gray

Default

Hi Jasper,

Sorry, in this photos I don't show all the connections. I make all connections in my ECU and the Ecuflash show the message complete the ROM write, but the ECU don't work in the car. This is the same problem that occur whith Hagen5244 below.

Thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hagen5244 View Post
Anyone done this on an 08+? I dont see the c446 cap, with only the p4xx pads connected I get a success full flash from recovery in ecu flash, but the car will not start, the dccd and s drive stuff is flashing on the dash and I can not communicate with the ecu using obd2 port. Any help would be great.
fabio.fxt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to remove an ecu Quackyboy Newbies & FAQs 9 04-22-2010 10:26 AM
How to Make an STI Look Like a Sleeper? FostersAFB General Community 88 10-20-2004 10:29 PM
How bad is it on the tranny to treat an auto like a manual? thrillho Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 8 06-07-2004 09:23 AM
Want to learn how to tune an ECU...and actually do it on a real dyno? 2000vfr800 Engine Management & Tuning 9 03-19-2003 03:20 PM
How long for an ECU to reset w/ no flash? Keith99RS New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 0 08-22-2002 04:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.