Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday December 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2012, 08:28 AM   #4126
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 561wrx View Post
Hi. I asked this question before about the hubs, but Im trying to understand if I use 5x100 stubs which are on the five speed I don't have to change hubs. But if I keep the stubs that on the six speed I would have to change the hubs? An what size are the stubs on the six speed, or the stubs the same size on the 5 and 6 speed.
You're best off asking this question in the transmission forum. I saw an answer that although the stubs are similar, the one from the WRX, in order to be removed requires the casing to be split, while in the Sti, this does not happen.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 09:01 AM   #4127
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

Correct, I was able to remove my jdm sti stubs out by removing the dials without having to take apart the trans.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 09:53 AM   #4128
i2cou4u2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 246455
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: CA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25rsti
Correct, I was able to remove my jdm sti stubs out by removing the dials without having to take apart the trans.
But if you have an early 2004 WRX or a 02-03 WRX and want to use your stock front axles, the STi stubs work perfect and do not need to be removed.

Tom
i2cou4u2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 01:30 PM   #4129
boombie391
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 201496
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando
Vehicle:
02 Wrx wagon
White

Default

I have a quick question, I just installed a v8 207 and my tuner won't be available for about 2 months. I know that i shouldn't run U.S. gas(93 in my area) but there is a gas station near me that has 100 octane unleaded. will i be safe to run this till my tuner is available? also i stay out of boost at all cost since this is my daily driver.
boombie391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 01:39 PM   #4130
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

What mods are on the car: intake, exhaust, boost control?
Which ECU is running this? V8 JDM?
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 01:52 PM   #4131
boombie391
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 201496
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando
Vehicle:
02 Wrx wagon
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vlad View Post
What mods are on the car: intake, exhaust, boost control?
Which ECU is running this? V8 JDM?
aem intake, 3" inch exhaust, fmic, greddy boost controller, stock v8 ecu.
boombie391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 01:55 PM   #4132
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

Not with the aem intake and fmic. The calibration will be way off.

C
Clark Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:00 PM   #4133
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boombie391 View Post
I have a quick question, I just installed a v8 207 and my tuner won't be available for about 2 months. I know that i shouldn't run U.S. gas(93 in my area) but there is a gas station near me that has 100 octane unleaded. will i be safe to run this till my tuner is available? also i stay out of boost at all cost since this is my daily driver.
If 100 octane doesn't break the bank on fill ups..enjoy!

you'd be fine with 93 for a few months but stay out of boost or better yet, just run wastegate boost till you get a hold of your tuner.


edit: missed the intake and fmic..Clark beat me
fastnoypi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:07 PM   #4134
boombie391
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 201496
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando
Vehicle:
02 Wrx wagon
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi View Post
If 100 octane doesn't break the bank on fill ups..enjoy!

you'd be fine with 93 for a few months but stay out of boost or better yet, just run wastegate boost till you get a hold of your tuner.


edit: missed the intake and fmic..Clark beat me
Well that sucks guess I will need to find a new tuner. so don't drive it till i get tuned?

Last edited by boombie391; 09-14-2012 at 02:11 PM. Reason: adding another question
boombie391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:16 PM   #4135
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

basically. put a line from the compressor nipple to the wg actuator nipple to run for now. maybe put a few gallons of 100 in with 93 every fill up. 2 gallons puts you at 94.3 octance approx so 3 gallons would work good for a 13 gal fill up. stay off the throttle and closed loop fueling trims will take over and add fuel as needed. avoid forcing the car to drive in a gear while cruising up a hill and downshift instead. get an innovate lc-1 wideband installed so you can verify afr's. 14.7 afr is good for cruising.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:18 PM   #4136
iNfEk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 21339
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: Kapolei, HI
Vehicle:
2002 LHD STI V7 6MT
12.9@103MPH EJ205 4EAT

Default

ordered the TCKWP328RB kit for my version 7. should be fun times I think I still might have a oem water pump gasket... I usually order more than one everytime I order gaskets and such. thermostat and seal will be ordered as well. can't wait for all this maintenance stuff to be done
iNfEk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 02:38 PM   #4137
boombie391
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 201496
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando
Vehicle:
02 Wrx wagon
White

Default

thanks guys for all the info.
boombie391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 03:27 PM   #4138
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

Edit: IPhone created weird double post.

Last edited by Vlad; 09-14-2012 at 03:39 PM.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 04:17 PM   #4139
iNfEk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 21339
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: Kapolei, HI
Vehicle:
2002 LHD STI V7 6MT
12.9@103MPH EJ205 4EAT

Default

What are you guys using to hold the gasket onto the valve cover? I've read on iwsti that we need a certain fujibond?
iNfEk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 05:36 PM   #4140
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iNfEk View Post
What are you guys using to hold the gasket onto the valve cover? I've read on iwsti that we need a certain fujibond?
I used a dab of assembly lube to keep the gasket in the grooves to temporarily hold the gasket untill i tightened down all the 10mm bolts. i didnt notice any fujibond being used from the factory when i removed the original gaskets.
fastnoypi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:40 PM   #4141
iNfEk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 21339
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: Kapolei, HI
Vehicle:
2002 LHD STI V7 6MT
12.9@103MPH EJ205 4EAT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi

I used a dab of assembly lube to keep the gasket in the grooves to temporarily hold the gasket untill i tightened down all the 10mm bolts. i didnt notice any fujibond being used from the factory when i removed the original gaskets.
Isn't assembly lube oil based? Oil never evaporates and can cause premature failure?
iNfEk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 07:04 PM   #4142
azscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115297
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Mesa, AZ
Vehicle:
2002 ej207 vf34
WRB

Default

At least on the usdm wrx/sti's the factory service manual specifies fujibond in at least two (maybe three, can't remember) locations. Though I as well dis not notice any of it from the factory.
I used HondaBond that I bought on Amazon, though I've heard the Permatex "Ultra Gray" is close to the same formula.
azscooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 01:16 AM   #4143
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iNfEk View Post
Isn't assembly lube oil based? Oil never evaporates and can cause premature failure?
yes it is, i figured its safe since it is holding back oil anyways. No leaks yet after 6k+ miles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by azscooby View Post
At least on the usdm wrx/sti's the factory service manual specifies fujibond in at least two (maybe three, can't remember) locations. Though I as well dis not notice any of it from the factory.
I used HondaBond that I bought on Amazon, though I've heard the Permatex "Ultra Gray" is close to the same formula.
IIRC the use of fujibond was just sparingly around the cam caps, you might be right but i don't remember the FSM at the moment. Spreading it on the flat side of the gasket "should" be fine but i opted not to for the reason of not seeing any from the factory.
fastnoypi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 02:05 PM   #4144
uberspeed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 87871
Join Date: May 2005
Default

I need a new RH AVCS Cam Sprocket for my V7 EJ207. Where can I purchase one of these? They are different than the USDM AVCS Cam Sprockets.
uberspeed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 05:31 PM   #4145
Torquey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175334
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
JDM v8 EJ207 WRB

Default

Motor is going in tomorrow. Samco inlet, Gates Timing belt kit is in... will be installing a new Exedy OEM clutch kit. Managed to get a JDM length midpipe... so no hacking of the exhaust will be necessary. Planning to replace the vacuum lines, turbo studs/bolts, gaskets etc.

Is pulling the fuel pump relay before the first start, and cranking the engine a few times, good way to lubricate the internals, or if I do a compression test... it'll do the same thing? Any other last minute advice from you guys, to make the reinstall easier? TIA!
Torquey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:11 PM   #4146
K1WRC
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64511
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2003 WRX sedan WRB
VF36 EJ207

Default

I pulled the ign fuse and cranked the motor a few times before I started it up for real. It started up right away with no hesitation. I think it's a good idea to do that for turbo or motor swaps to get the oil system primed
K1WRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:12 PM   #4147
iNfEk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 21339
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: Kapolei, HI
Vehicle:
2002 LHD STI V7 6MT
12.9@103MPH EJ205 4EAT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi
yes it is, i figured its safe since it is holding back oil anyways. No leaks yet after 6k+ miles.

IIRC the use of fujibond was just sparingly around the cam caps, you might be right but i don't remember the FSM at the moment. Spreading it on the flat side of the gasket "should" be fine but i opted not to for the reason of not seeing any from the factory.
Yeah I just want 'something' to hold the gasket in place a little but more than a recessed area you know? I'm not trying to use it for additional seal.
iNfEk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:31 PM   #4148
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

idk if this is dumb but wouldnt something a bit thicker than water like dawn dish soap work?
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:45 PM   #4149
iNfEk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 21339
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: Kapolei, HI
Vehicle:
2002 LHD STI V7 6MT
12.9@103MPH EJ205 4EAT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteBgeye02
idk if this is dumb but wouldnt something a bit thicker than water like dawn dish soap work?
No. Think about your question before I respond

fujibond is similar to RTV and is a sealant.
iNfEk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 11:00 PM   #4150
D-Rodman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110078
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Vehicle:
05 saabaru artc gr
02 wrx wag wrb ej207

Default

My ver 8 is going in tuesday, planing on using the stock downpipe, stock ecu, stock airbox, stock turbo inlet but will be using an aftermarket 3" catback. Will be using 93 octane fuel, will I need the ecu remaped or will it be safe to daily drive ? would using a stock usdm wrx catback be a safer way to go ? Thanks.
Doug
D-Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ej207 owner wants opinions adbramsay Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 02-26-2011 08:29 PM
Ej207 V6 AndrewFD3 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 10 06-03-2010 05:53 PM
JDM Sti EJ207 V9 crank 75mm or billet crank (K1, Manley) VENDORS ??? L'frise Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 7 06-03-2010 10:24 AM
08 ej207 JDM dual AVCS heads on a built v7 ej207 icev7 Built Motor Discussion 17 02-21-2010 04:21 PM
Ver 8 EJ207 Owners Check In spoolinsuby Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 21 10-17-2005 02:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.