Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday September 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2012, 05:33 PM   #1251
Fuj1wara
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 249207
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Vehicle:
2010 STi SE
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spec C View Post
I guess it depends what your aims are, mines a 351 there are 451’s about, these are “huge”
Having said that. IMHO the EZ series are not the most robust of engines, main bearings are narrow cylinders are thin.
If you want max hp I would be looking at the EG33, these are heavier and possibly more work to fit (to be everyday reliable). I chose the EZ as I wanted the same or better throttle response as my 380hp specC but (with a real not make believe) 550+bhp with torque to match.
I'm rather torn as to what I want to build... I have an EZ30D sitting in the garage and EG33s are all over for 1k or less... I may just go with an EG for the simple displacement... IDK....
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Fuj1wara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 08:50 AM   #1252
Spec C
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 77737
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent England
Vehicle:
2003 spec C
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuj1wara View Post
I'm rather torn as to what I want to build... I have an EZ30D sitting in the garage and EG33s are all over for 1k or less... I may just go with an EG for the simple displacement... IDK....
The EG has a following over here some pretty impressive numbers are being generated. I guess it depends on what you want it for, the EZ is a lot lighter and has less effect on weight bias, but add the Holset and the weight starts to rise again, and the added weight is high up as well. I really wanted to use a variable geometry turbo, so at the time I was making my mind up, the Holset seemed to be a good route to go. I am now thinking (for the future) about twin GT3063KLV's, been scratching my head trying to work out how to keep them in sync.
Spec C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 09:09 AM   #1253
Fuj1wara
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 249207
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Vehicle:
2010 STi SE
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spec C View Post
The EG has a following over here some pretty impressive numbers are being generated. I guess it depends on what you want it for, the EZ is a lot lighter and has less effect on weight bias, but add the Holset and the weight starts to rise again, and the added weight is high up as well. I really wanted to use a variable geometry turbo, so at the time I was making my mind up, the Holset seemed to be a good route to go. I am now thinking (for the future) about twin GT3063KLV's, been scratching my head trying to work out how to keep them in sync.
Why worry about keeping them in sync? Keep the pid controllers motoring backpressure, outlet PSI, EGTs and shaft speed. Just have them both pump out the same pressure. So long as they are targeting their pressure it shouldnt be an issue. Remember you will have some differences in flow between the two heads as nothing is perfect. Or you could just average the two in your controller and send a single command to both turbos. Either way would work fine. I don't get a lot of the finer points, but I'e gotten away from overthinking all of this stuff.
Fuj1wara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 07:16 AM   #1254
Spec C
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 77737
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent England
Vehicle:
2003 spec C
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuj1wara View Post
Why worry about keeping them in sync? Keep the pid controllers motoring backpressure, outlet PSI, EGTs and shaft speed. Just have them both pump out the same pressure. So long as they are targeting their pressure it shouldnt be an issue. Remember you will have some differences in flow between the two heads as nothing is perfect. Or you could just average the two in your controller and send a single command to both turbos. Either way would work fine. I don't get a lot of the finer points, but I'e gotten away from overthinking all of this stuff.
Imho any differences in flow between one head/port and another will (should) be compensated for in mapping and will remain a “constant”. The issue is that the change in turbo geometry is by definition not a constant, whilst the maf will compensate for changes in airflow, it cannot compensate for changes in VE between the two halves of the engine (at least not the ecu I am using). At present, at start up and shut down, I check that the vane mech position is being reported correctly by cycling through full closed and full open, and referencing to previously stored data. Currently I am thinking that it would be possible to measure the vane movement with a dial gauge (easy on a Holset, not so easy on a Garret) and then ensuring through the software (firmware), that, for a given input, each set of vanes move to the same position throughout their range. I don’t see how it is possible to measure individual turbo pressure, however measuring individual egbp (as you pointed out they will not be identical) and comparing the two could be used as an alarm.
Spec C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 08:07 AM   #1255
Fuj1wara
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 249207
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Vehicle:
2010 STi SE
OBP

Default

Ah, see if I end up keeping the twin holset idea, I'll run two maf.

Right now I'm considering selling off the holset and snagging some oilless turbos because of the low mounting points I want to use.
Fuj1wara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 11:13 AM   #1256
ManualOverAuto
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 304662
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2001 Impreza L coupe
Sedona red Pearl

Default

You guys are blowing my mind!

I like reading this thread even though I don't fully understand everything you say.
ManualOverAuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 03:21 PM   #1257
Fuj1wara
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 249207
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Vehicle:
2010 STi SE
OBP

Default

So, decided I'm going to sell it. It may have a ridiculous amount invested, but I'm ready to move toward something else. Fixed geometry turbos it is for my build. Have some nasty nasty plans for the heads and a holset HE351ve is just going to over complicate the build.
Fuj1wara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:26 PM   #1258
p1prodrive
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 149827
Join Date: May 2007
Location: united kingdom
Vehicle:
2000 600 bhp p1
sonic blue

Default

Anyone know where i can get a SVX (EG33 engine) H6 engine repair manual on pdf ??


Cheers !
p1prodrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:29 PM   #1259
Fuj1wara
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 249207
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Vehicle:
2010 STi SE
OBP

Default

yes, I found it through google. There is a guy with a website for swapping EG33 into airplanes with the manual online
Fuj1wara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:32 PM   #1260
Jessekrs123
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236927
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Oakville CT
Vehicle:
1993 Legacy Sedan
1984 BRAT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by p1prodrive View Post
Anyone know where i can get a SVX (EG33 engine) H6 engine repair manual on pdf ??


Cheers !
You sir, have a PM.
Jessekrs123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 08:41 PM   #1261
p1prodrive
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 149827
Join Date: May 2007
Location: united kingdom
Vehicle:
2000 600 bhp p1
sonic blue

Default

Thank you kindly both of you
p1prodrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 03:51 PM   #1262
2006eg33
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 315603
Join Date: Apr 2012
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza
CGM

Default

i'd also be interested in said service manual
2006eg33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 09:49 PM   #1263
Seraphinwolf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 150922
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Fremont, NH
Vehicle:
97 OBS EZ30R
94SVX LSi Bourduex Pearl

Default

If anyone wants the tech files for the 3.0R and 3.3 email me or PM me your email adress and I'll forward them along.
Seraphinwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 10:05 PM   #1264
Panops145
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 200310
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
1999 2.2l-2.5rs conv
silver-dark grey metallic

Default

Just picked up a '92 SVX to swap into my '99 Impreza L. Any advice people can give me about the swap/who to talk to would be appreciated. Have been doing research for a while and want to get everything prepared before I actually go on to swap considering this is my DD.

Thanks!

Pete
Panops145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:58 PM   #1265
scoobiswrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 148130
Join Date: May 2007
Location: port huron, mi
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STI
BLUE

Default

thimking about doing this swap......
scoobiswrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:31 PM   #1266
Panops145
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 200310
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
1999 2.2l-2.5rs conv
silver-dark grey metallic

Default

took the svx swapped coupe I bought a while back for a spin a couple days ago. the power is awesome. however it dies on me when approaching a stop sign, what should I look at to fix this? anything simple?
Panops145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:33 PM   #1267
eg33GC
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 206851
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
99 V4
EJ20K RS

Default

ecutune chip, your load at idle is much less than what the ecu expects
eg33GC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:35 PM   #1268
Panops145
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 200310
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
1999 2.2l-2.5rs conv
silver-dark grey metallic

Default

you're saying install one? I have a manual just fyi. so pushing the clutch in stalls it after driving
Panops145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 03:42 PM   #1269
dragoontwo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 275500
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Clarksville, TN
Vehicle:
1992 SVX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panops145 View Post
you're saying install one? I have a manual just fyi. so pushing the clutch in stalls it after driving
You need the Ecutune chip for the ECU. This will also give you quite a different engine.
dragoontwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 01:44 AM   #1270
92SVXMAN
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 77834
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Vehicle:
1992 SVX
Claret

Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panops145 View Post
took the svx swapped coupe I bought a while back for a spin a couple days ago. the power is awesome. however it dies on me when approaching a stop sign, what should I look at to fix this? anything simple?
If its had a swap done to it I would say to check the cable's to the throttle are set right to keep the engine running, after its been warmed up. Under the black plastic thing on top of the engine you'll find two cable's (off center, passenger side of the engine you'll see them ), turning then to tighten them 1/4th turn at a time by moving the bolts the cable go through the bolt so more of the bolt move closer to the firewall. Then check the tech to see what the engine speed is, you'll want it about 750 to 900 RMP. Then thighten the two locking nut on each cable and then take it for a spin.
That should help and it don't cost aything.

Good luck
92svxman
Michael

Last edited by 92SVXMAN; 10-01-2012 at 01:51 AM. Reason: missing word
92SVXMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 12:18 PM   #1271
dragoontwo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 275500
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Clarksville, TN
Vehicle:
1992 SVX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92SVXMAN View Post
If its had a swap done to it I would say to check the cable's to the throttle are set right to keep the engine running, after its been warmed up. Under the black plastic thing on top of the engine you'll find two cable's (off center, passenger side of the engine you'll see them ), turning then to tighten them 1/4th turn at a time by moving the bolts the cable go through the bolt so more of the bolt move closer to the firewall. Then check the tech to see what the engine speed is, you'll want it about 750 to 900 RMP. Then thighten the two locking nut on each cable and then take it for a spin.
That should help and it don't cost aything.

Good luck
92svxman
Michael

If I understand what you are saying, you want him to adjust his throttle cable tension so that the engine never goes to its actual idle?

I'm going to guess that he is using a manual instead of an auto, because this happens in the SVX as well when you go manual.

I don't agree with what you are suggesting, but he can do whatever he wants.

I would suggest going with the ECUTune because it works much better with the manual transmissions than the stock computer does, has a more aggressive timing map, revised fuel tables, and an option to hook up a switch if you wish to run regular gas(or E85).
dragoontwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 12:20 PM   #1272
eg33GC
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 206851
Join Date: Mar 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
99 V4
EJ20K RS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92SVXMAN View Post
If its had a swap done to it I would say to check the cable's to the throttle are set right to keep the engine running, after its been warmed up. Under the black plastic thing on top of the engine you'll find two cable's (off center, passenger side of the engine you'll see them ), turning then to tighten them 1/4th turn at a time by moving the bolts the cable go through the bolt so more of the bolt move closer to the firewall. Then check the tech to see what the engine speed is, you'll want it about 750 to 900 RMP. Then thighten the two locking nut on each cable and then take it for a spin.
That should help and it don't cost aything.

Good luck
92svxman
Michael
This has nothing to do with his issue though, and will only piss off the eg ecu, and require a tps recal.

The inherent issue has been documented for years, and is a result as I said of the lack of load from a behemoth auto trans and tc.
eg33GC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:21 AM   #1273
Panops145
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 200310
Join Date: Jan 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
1999 2.2l-2.5rs conv
silver-dark grey metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eg33GC View Post
This has nothing to do with his issue though, and will only piss off the eg ecu, and require a tps recal.

The inherent issue has been documented for years, and is a result as I said of the lack of load from a behemoth auto trans and tc.
Ok so install ecutune stage 1 and you think this will take care of the issue? I already have the chip but I wasn't going to put it in if it wasn't necessary
Panops145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 12:38 PM   #1274
dragoontwo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 275500
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Clarksville, TN
Vehicle:
1992 SVX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Panops145 View Post
Ok so install ecutune stage 1 and you think this will take care of the issue? I already have the chip but I wasn't going to put it in if it wasn't necessary
Yes. I run my SVX with a 6 speed on the ECUTune ecu and have no stalling issues. If you already have the chip it can't hurt to try it out. What version of stage 1 do you have anyways?
dragoontwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 04:09 PM   #1275
2006eg33
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 315603
Join Date: Apr 2012
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza
CGM

Default

my eg33 swap with a 5speed doesnt stall, or even come close for that matter
2006eg33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vag-Com cable resource thread cooleys04 Open Source Reflashes 270 03-31-2014 05:49 PM
The Impreza @$$ Thread - The Beautiful Impreza Backside! PICS! Upscale_Automotive Member's Car Gallery 8 10-03-2007 04:56 AM
The 2008 Impreza Photoshop thread...post them here adizon Member's Car Gallery 307 09-19-2007 11:36 PM
The 2006 Impreza/Impreza WRX/Impreza WRX-STi thread (merged thread) wrxpeed News & Rumors 938 05-16-2005 11:11 PM
Photo - Anders "loving on" the H6 Impreza Fred South East Region Forum 8 02-23-2004 05:04 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.