Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 03:24 PM   #4351
pgrily
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333354
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pgrily View Post
What should battery voltage be at during upper rpms under load during a pull? I'm still getting stuttering in the upper rpms (~5900+). Last log, the battery voltage was getting down as low as 12.16v around 6500 rpm. I've tried switching the coil packs and the spark plugs are all good and gapped at .026. Seems like the stuttering is related to my battery voltage dropping under load.

Any help?
I took a log in my brother's e85'd WRX and his battery voltage only dipped down to 13.2 under load in the upper RPM's. Guess I'll have to try a new/different alternator at this point as I'm running out of possibilities.

Does anyone know exactly what the battery voltage option in Romraider is measuring?

Edit--Both pulls were done with no accessories/lights on.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by pgrily; 10-01-2012 at 03:43 PM.
pgrily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 04:03 PM   #4352
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todeswalzer
How are they off? Are the studs too wide apart?
They seem to Sit about an inch to the right if looking from the front of the car.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:44 PM   #4353
JRsleeper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94791
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North Branford, CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon WRB
Ver 8 EJ207 4.44's

Default

Both of them are 1" to the right?

Push the whole motor to the left then.

You should be able to get under the car (with the car on jack stands) and push up on the exhaust manifold and pull the motor in the correct direction.
JRsleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:48 PM   #4354
Paul
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 56203
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: south nj
Vehicle:
00 RSTI Coupe
Twin Scroll 2.5XTR EJ207

Default

then move the motor to the left by about an inch..

If its a V7/V8/V9 I know for a fact the stock mounts will work fine
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:54 PM   #4355
Torquey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175334
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
JDM v8 EJ207 WRB

Default

^^ Yes, and it really helps if you have a friend helping you (one person under the car, one above). GL
Torquey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:08 PM   #4356
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquey
^^ Yes, and it really helps if you have a friend helping you (one person under the car, one above). GL
It's not that simple for some reason though. I'm not a master tech or anything but if I just needed to move it over I would. When the motor mounts line up to the holes the Tranny and engine sit very far to the passengers side. That's why I'm confused.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:25 PM   #4357
JRsleeper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94791
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North Branford, CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon WRB
Ver 8 EJ207 4.44's

Default

Got any pics of this? I'd like to see the clearances of the valve covers to the frame rails.

All of the motor mounts are the same as the version 8. What tranny are you using. Did you use the correct mounts for your current tranny?

Last edited by JRsleeper; 10-01-2012 at 06:45 PM.
JRsleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 08:15 PM   #4358
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

At work now. Stock USDM 02 5spd w stock mounts. I'll try er out again tonight with a fresh head and see what happens.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:49 AM   #4359
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

that makes it even easier with the 5mt since the bellhousing doesnt have so much meat so you can squeeze the exh housing of the turbo by.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:36 AM   #4360
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteBgeye02
that makes it even easier with the 5mt since the bellhousing doesnt have so much meat so you can squeeze the exh housing of the turbo by.
I just pulled the turbo. Wasn't wanting to squeeze by very nicely.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:55 PM   #4361
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Got it in today. Mounts were fine. Was just too tired to make it work yest I guess.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:59 PM   #4362
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

see you got it! just takes some fanagaling to get it to work!

anyone else need some avcs harness's.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:05 AM   #4363
jhenry1983
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 269361
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Vehicle:
2011 sti
03wrx Rallycar

Default

Im going to need an avcs harness. Putting the ver8 in my GC into the bugeye rally car.
jhenry1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:31 AM   #4364
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

any of you guys have trouble reading the JDM ecu? I have my test plugs connected and the car does not seem to go into test mode. the v8 motor is not in the car yet, as I'm just trying to pull the map off the v8 ECU. The test plug seems to make no difference, and the fuel pump does prime like it does with the usdm ecu. I can swap back the usdm ecu and read/write just fine. Swap back the jdm ecu and i can not access it. Neither with the romraider logger with the ign on and test plugs undone, or with the test plugs connected trying to use ecu flash. I've been flashing my 02 ecu for a few years now, so I'm pretty familiar with how finicky they can be as far as when you turn the ecu on and hit the read button.

I get the same error with the ecu on or off.

[18:55:10.472] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[18:55:11.706] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[18:55:12.940] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[18:55:14.159] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[18:55:15.394] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[18:55:15.831] kernel get version
[18:55:16.159] interface close
[18:55:16.159] interface close

I just feel like the ECU isnt coming on or something. I'm kinda stumped. I've spent a couple hours just trying to read the ecu at this point.

Last edited by simon021; 10-04-2012 at 10:41 AM.
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:58 AM   #4365
WRick
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86107
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: 10% REAL FRUIT JUICE
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon021 View Post
any of you guys have trouble reading the JDM ecu? I have my test plugs connected and the car does not seem to go into test mode. the v8 motor is not in the car yet, as I'm just trying to pull the map off the v8 ECU. The test plug seems to make no difference, and the fuel pump does prime like it does with the usdm ecu. I can swap back the usdm ecu and read/write just fine. Swap back the jdm ecu and i can not access it. Neither with the romraider logger with the ign on and test plugs undone, or with the test plugs connected trying to use ecu flash. I've been flashing my 02 ecu for a few years now, so I'm pretty familiar with how finicky they can be as far as when you turn the ecu on and hit the read button.

I get the same error with the ecu on or off.

[18:55:10.472] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[18:55:11.706] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[18:55:12.940] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[18:55:14.159] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[18:55:15.394] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[18:55:15.831] kernel get version
[18:55:16.159] interface close
[18:55:16.159] interface close

I just feel like the ECU isnt coming on or something. I'm kinda stumped. I've spent a couple hours just trying to read the ecu at this point.

I've also encountered the same issue this week with a collegues ej207 swapped 2002 TS.

I can log fine, read the learning view, have the car in test mode ( pump cycling ) but cannot for the life of me read the ecu.

I've tried ecuedit ( admin mode ) and ecuflash with same results.
WRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:41 AM   #4366
Torquey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175334
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
JDM v8 EJ207 WRB

Default

^^ I had the EXACT same issue when I tried this right before my swap... and even made a whole thread about it :

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2405875

... so lemme ask you as everyone on that thread asked me: "have you connected the jumper blocks, along with the green connectors?"...LOL even though the instructions don't call for it, for 'reading' purposes.

I personally never tried it with the jumper blocks while I still had the old setup, as I got impatient and started with the actual swap. My error was identical on romraider, but the fuel pump would prime just fine. The thought of a 'locked' ECU was bugging me the whole time... but once everything was said and done, we plugged the new one in along with AVCS wires AND the jumper blocks + green connectors ... and it read/ flashed like a champ. Mine is this particular model:

Torquey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:50 AM   #4367
WRick
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86107
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: 10% REAL FRUIT JUICE
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquey View Post
^^ I had the EXACT same issue when I tried this right before my swap... and even made a whole thread about it :

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2405875

... so lemme ask you as everyone on that thread asked me: "have you connected the jumper blocks, along with the green connectors?"...LOL even though the instructions don't call for it, for 'reading' purposes.

I personally never tried it with the jumper blocks while I still had the old setup, as I got impatient and started with the actual swap. My error was identical on romraider, but the fuel pump would prime just fine. The thought of a 'locked' ECU was bugging me the whole time... but once everything was said and done, we plugged the new one in along with AVCS wires AND the jumper blocks + green connectors ... and it read/ flashed like a champ. Mine is this particular model:

yeah I guess the jumper block must not be there. I assumed that if the jumper block wasn't there, it would be giving me a ''voltage too high/low'' error, but that I could at least get the ecu connected.


It's the ****tiest swap I've seen and I can't even find the damn flash connector
WRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:00 PM   #4368
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

What the hell is a jumper block? The thing you put in to reflash?
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:07 PM   #4369
WRick
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86107
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: 10% REAL FRUIT JUICE
Default

I made one like this

Make it as short as possible so you can leave it there



It's a white connector with nothing connected to it. You need THAT and the green connector to flash, but the flash block you can leave there.
WRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:14 PM   #4370
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Even with a tactrix cable? I thought the point of those was that you could just flash through em.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:21 PM   #4371
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

Oh ****. Did the tactrix cable come with one of those that wasnt needed on the USDM 02 wrx? I take it since it's the sti ecu, i need the jumper on the white plug as well. I seem to remember there being a couple jumper plugs with the tactrix cable that I didnt need. I've actually taken my green plugs out and replaced them with a switch, so I know thats not the issue. I seem to remember seeing that plug up under the dash yesterday as well. I'll check it out at lunch if I can. Might be raining and the car is outside atm =/
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:25 PM   #4372
Torquey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175334
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
JDM v8 EJ207 WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHruska View Post
Even with a tactrix cable? I thought the point of those was that you could just flash through em.
Mine is tactrix 1.3... and you do need a flash connector/ jumper block when using it... or make one like WRick did. Tactrix 2.0 maybe different.

And from the list of cars on ECUFlash, I still had to choose 2002-2003 USDM Impreza, for it to work... even though there is an non-USDM option.
Torquey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:29 PM   #4373
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

Oh I see. For 02 you need the blue reflash connector, for 03-05 you need the white one. That would explain it. I'll jump the white connector and see if that gets things going

edit: Still no luck

Last edited by simon021; 10-04-2012 at 02:53 PM.
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:04 PM   #4374
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Right now I have a mystery vaccum hose underway pops up to right under the recirc. No idea what it goes to. Not the I/c hose. Anyone know?
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 02:59 PM   #4375
OppositeLock
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54060
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: N Jersey
Vehicle:
Now: v8 207/v6 5mt
Then: JRTune fastest td04

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHruska View Post
Right now I have a mystery vaccum hose underway pops up to right under the recirc. No idea what it goes to. Not the I/c hose. Anyone know?
Pics?
OppositeLock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ej207 owner wants opinions adbramsay Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 02-26-2011 07:29 PM
Ej207 V6 AndrewFD3 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 10 06-03-2010 04:53 PM
JDM Sti EJ207 V9 crank 75mm or billet crank (K1, Manley) VENDORS ??? L'frise Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 7 06-03-2010 09:24 AM
08 ej207 JDM dual AVCS heads on a built v7 ej207 icev7 Built Motor Discussion 17 02-21-2010 03:21 PM
Ver 8 EJ207 Owners Check In spoolinsuby Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 21 10-17-2005 01:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.