Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2011, 01:16 AM   #1
Jackie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81608
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Southeast Michigan
Default Computer help: laptop won't boot.

Pardon me for asking here, I just don't feel like finding and signing up for some sort of PC help board; and I know a lot of people here are tech gurus...

About two weeks ago, my Toshiba A305 laptop would not boot after I restarted it (er, attempted to). Power lights came on, fans turned on, CD drive fired up, the "drive" light came on for a few seconds, then back off; then nothing. Nothing displayed on the screen, power light on, fans running. CD drive still works (ie. you open and close it and it will read), but no hard drive activity whatsoever.
I tried taking out the battery and holding down the power button for ~2 minutes and plugging it back into power, with no luck. Also tried holding down various buttons while turning it on.
So after screwing with it I left the laptop plugged in with no battery while I browsed on my desktop, and lo and behold after about 15 minutes the laptop booted up normally on its own .
When Windows loaded it installed a few updates, and I figured it was just some weird glitch. Been functioning perfectly for the last ~2 weeks or so (haven't turned it off since).

Well, I went about cleaning my computer today and went to reboot it, and now it's doing the exact same thing it was before . Hard drive won't boot.

After doing some research, it sounds like symptoms of a bad motherboard; but if that were the case, would it have randomly booted on its own before? And then worked perfectly for 2 weeks?
Wouldn't the motherboard be toasted, or not?
Could it just be a loose internal connection or something?

Any opinions/suggestions/info would be greatly appreciated.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 01:32 AM   #2
Cartmans 03_Wagon
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 222833
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
. Guess who's
back. Back again.

Default

should have got a mac.
Cartmans 03_Wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 01:34 AM   #3
skywaffles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82470
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: directions unclear
Vehicle:
dick got stuck
in vacuum cleaner

Default

I'd make sure the HDD wasn't defective and the cable is properly seated.
skywaffles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 01:36 AM   #4
KidCorporate
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 199947
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default

Then who was computer!?
KidCorporate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 02:57 PM   #5
Jackie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81608
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Southeast Michigan
Default

So, I figured out that if I hold the computer up on the front left side and tap near the mouse buttons a few times, the hard drive will boot



But now, I'm having more issues...
It refused to boot past the loading bar "Microsoft Corporation" screen a few weeks ago; wouldn't even boot in safe mode. I was finally somehow able to get it to boot after running chkdsk, boot CD etc., so I backed up all my files and reinstalled Windows with the Toshiba Recovery Disk.

Worked fine for a week or two, and now it's doing the same damn thing

Everything seems to work fine except the hard drive won't load. I can get into BIOS and mess around and everything.
Would replacing the hard drive be a logical step?
If so, if I already have all my files backed up, do I have to prepare for installing a new hard drive in any way?
Any recommendations for a new hard drive? The current one is a 320gb 5400rpm, MK3252GSX.

(sorry I'm potato with computers)
Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 03:18 PM   #6
kilowhisky
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 134144
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Default

Wait, you've been trying to fix a Toshiba for over a year? suck it up and buy something that works.
kilowhisky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 03:25 PM   #7
Jackie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81608
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Southeast Michigan
Default

No, its been working fine in the interim. Just started having more issues, and if I can have a working laptop by spending $60 on a new HDD rather than several hundred on a new laptop, I'm going to.
Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 03:44 PM   #8
foothill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 292246
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sunshine State
Vehicle:
2001 SwedishMeatball
Graying

Default

Try sticking it in the freezer for an hour or so. Toshibas are known to react well to this trick.
foothill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 04:02 PM   #9
Jack
Add Lightness
Moderator
 
Member#: 13699
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Vehicle:
2007 Lotus Elise
(From General)

Default

Craigslist.

I hear it is the solution to everything.
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 05:43 PM   #10
Jackie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81608
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Southeast Michigan
Default

Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 05:56 PM   #11
87blackstar
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 257057
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Because I'm AWESOME
Vehicle:
1987 Mitsubishi
Starion GSR-VR

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack ffr1846 View Post
http://massachusetts.backpage.com/adult/

I hear it is the solution to everything.
Fixed....
87blackstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:11 PM   #12
LastWS6
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30781
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: germantown md
Vehicle:
2008 TBSS
Red

Default

I had that problem with two computers at home. It was a vista-sleep mode- motherboard conflict. I took the system battery out waited 5 minutes and put it back in. Had to reset the time and disable sleep mode.

Worked for my PCs might give it a try.
LastWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:01 PM   #13
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastWS6 View Post
I had that problem with two computers at home. It was a vista-sleep mode- motherboard conflict. I took the system battery out waited 5 minutes and put it back in. Had to reset the time and disable sleep mode.

Worked for my PCs might give it a try.
try that with a laptop.....

go ahead....we'll wait.............................................. ..............
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:13 PM   #14
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

I would guess it is a hard disk problem. By the sound of you having to "tap near the mousepad" I would guess that it is a connection problem,rather than a failing HDD. A failing HDD typically will cause blue screens and other issues, in addition to boot problems. I would take it apart and make sure the HDD cable connections are sound.
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:41 PM   #15
Jackie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81608
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Southeast Michigan
Default

Got it to boot somehow. Running fine, just very slow. Constant updates since I re-installed Windows

I dunno, I think I'm gonna pick up a new HDD tomorrow. I found a 90gb SSD one for $60. Pretty cheap, seems worth a try.
Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 10:07 PM   #16
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

Sheez! Look at Newegg.com,unless you absolutely have to have it overnight. Have you tried resetting the cables?
bcblues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 01:27 PM   #17
Jackie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81608
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Southeast Michigan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcblues
Sheez! Look at Newegg.com,unless you absolutely have to have it overnight. Have you tried resetting the cables?
Strangely enough, a local place actually has the same price as the cheapest I could find online, and no shipping to deal with... some kind of sorcery.
Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 02:55 PM   #18
LastWS6
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30781
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: germantown md
Vehicle:
2008 TBSS
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty View Post
try that with a laptop.....

go ahead....we'll wait.............................................. ..............
never had a lap top.

I see now. It has a cmos battery but is a permanent battery.
STEP 22

Remove two screws securing the wireless card.
Remove the wireless card if you didn't do it before.

NOTE: The RTC (CMOS) battery is permanently soldered to the motherboard

My bad i apologize.
http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=...%3Disch&itbs=1
LastWS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:10 AM   #19
Jackie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81608
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Southeast Michigan
Default

Well I replaced the HDD with a 90gb SSD and did a clean Vista install.
Computer is FLYING. Took my WEI score from a 1.0 to a 4.0, and everything is SO much faster.
We'll see if the problems return, but damn, what a good way to spend $60. It's like a whole new computer.
Jackie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT computer peeps: Vista won't boot. halp? Gerkins31 Off-Topic 17 10-21-2010 11:00 AM
XP help: Laptop won't boot Reciprocity Off-Topic 14 02-16-2010 11:14 AM
Laptop won't boot up. Help. JEEENKINNNS Off-Topic 12 11-24-2009 10:28 AM
Laptop won't boot! (even in safe mode) imprezive Off-Topic 45 06-10-2009 06:36 PM
Computer help: cant access eBay with certain computer Mr. Fancypants Off-Topic 4 12-04-2004 01:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.