Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday September 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2008, 02:30 PM   #1
Buffalo Run
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 184639
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Duke City
Vehicle:
2006 Imbreza WRX STI
Steel Gray Metallic

Default Mounting a Cobb Accessport

Alright so I just ordered a version 2.0 AccessPort for my 2006 WRX right? Needless to say I'm very excited. Anyway, I've seen a few pictures online of AccessPorts mounted in guy's cabs and so far I'm under the impression that cell phone holders are pretty much the way to go. My question is how to run the USB cable and conceal it as best possible so after I get the pig nose re-flashed I can have a clean set up and run live data while I drive. Thank you in advance for any suggestions. Instructions and/or pictures would be great.

-Bailey
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Buffalo Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 03:41 PM   #2
Gjrizz0
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 182744
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default

My friend just picked up one of those adjustable cell phone holders he picked up at napa auto parts and uses that to display his accessport. Looks good and works fine
Gjrizz0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 03:42 PM   #3
Gjrizz0
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 182744
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default

sorry I didnt read your full post before replying. He just leaves the accessport pluged in all the time and runs the cords underneath the steering wheel. Sorry if I didnt help out much
Gjrizz0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 03:48 PM   #4
Buffalo Run
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 184639
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Duke City
Vehicle:
2006 Imbreza WRX STI
Steel Gray Metallic

Default

Yeah no biggie man. That's probably what I'll wind up doing at first but I'm gonna try to figure something else out in the long run. It'd be nice if I could find a way to run the cable under the dash or something and then maybe unhook the port and hide it somewhere, only if I can do so securely though. I'll play around with it.
Buffalo Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 04:36 PM   #5
whateverwrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 99653
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NNJ
Vehicle:
05 WRX
silver

Default

What is the purpose of mounting an AP? You will risk damaging the OBD plug or the AP connector. Plus it'll be annoying...
whateverwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 04:44 PM   #6
Buffalo Run
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 184639
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Duke City
Vehicle:
2006 Imbreza WRX STI
Steel Gray Metallic

Default

Yeah that's why I'm looking to find a way to hide the cable and maybe unclip the ODB port, so as to get it out of the way. I'd like to mount it so I can take full advantage of the live data features man.
Buffalo Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 04:49 PM   #7
xxscaxx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 86459
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Campbell Hall, NY
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
SWP

Default

i believe there is a thread with a bunch of people who have already done this. you can pop out the obd port, and ziptie it out of the way underneath. as for the wire, just run it behind the dash somewhere, and use a clip of some sort maybe on the vent. something of that sort.
xxscaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 04:55 PM   #8
whateverwrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 99653
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NNJ
Vehicle:
05 WRX
silver

Default

whateverwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 05:33 PM   #9
wrxgeneration
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170790
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sacramento
Vehicle:
2006 wrx cobb stg. 2
cgm

Default

Dude you don't need to be all complicated and use all that cellphone crap that makes your accessport stick out and look ugly. I mounted it with velcro, so that way you can take it off easily and hide it when ever you go somewhere. You're probably thinking that velcro isn't strong enough, but it is.
wrxgeneration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 05:34 PM   #10
Buffalo Run
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 184639
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Duke City
Vehicle:
2006 Imbreza WRX STI
Steel Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whateverwrx View Post
Thanks man that is exactly what I was looking for. The V1.0 is still a good piece of equipment...I just ordered the 2.0 yesterday so you've still got one up on me.
Buffalo Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 05:38 PM   #11
Buffalo Run
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 184639
Join Date: Jul 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Duke City
Vehicle:
2006 Imbreza WRX STI
Steel Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxgeneration View Post
Dude you don't need to be all complicated and use all that cellphone crap that makes your accessport stick out and look ugly. I mounted it with velcro, so that way you can take it off easily and hide it when ever you go somewhere. You're probably thinking that velcro isn't strong enough, but it is.
Yeah man I'm more worried about the USB cable and ODB port getting in my way while driving than the actual mount. Did you move your's? If so where and if not, does it bother your leg?
Buffalo Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 08:22 PM   #12
wrxgeneration
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170790
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Sacramento
Vehicle:
2006 wrx cobb stg. 2
cgm

Default

I did this http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...1167789&page=3
Look on post #73. You should definitely relocate your OBD connector because it really gets in the way with the accessport plugged in. I let a friend repark my car and he ended up breaking the obd 2 connector. Luckely Cobb replaced it for free.

My whole wire is hidden under the plastics except for the little part where it actually plugs into the accessport.
wrxgeneration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 08:35 PM   #13
DUB03REX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 164939
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tahoe, CA
Vehicle:
02 Tacoma TRD
SV650 XR250 R6 Tiger 800

Default

Here is how I have mine.



Cable disappears into the dash never to be seen again.



I also ran the usb cable through a switch so I could turn the AP on and off without unplugging things.

DUB03REX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 09:52 PM   #14
JDiMpreza
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18707
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Platinum Silver Metallic

Default

If you pull the bottom half of the drivers side dash it's pretty damn easy to run the wire up and around and have it come out of an inconspicuous location. I am in the process of hardwiring my Accessport USB cable with a switch in one of the blanks next to the fogs/cruise switches. I've also relocated the OBD-II port so I could stop smacking my shins on the dongle. Being tall has it's downsides. Haha.
JDiMpreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 01:58 PM   #15
zzzaxxx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 161682
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
psm

Default

how did you wire up the switch? i have heard of/read about splicing the red? wire in the usb cable, and there is some company that makes a switched usb cable, just wondering how you did it??? thanks
zzzaxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 01:08 AM   #16
DUB03REX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 164939
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tahoe, CA
Vehicle:
02 Tacoma TRD
SV650 XR250 R6 Tiger 800

Default

^^

That's it. Just open up the USB cable and run the red wire through a switch. I think there are switched USB cable, but you would be foolish to buy when you could just make it for way cheaper AND use any switch you like.
DUB03REX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 10:25 PM   #17
ornge04gt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 158779
Join Date: Sep 2007
Vehicle:
2008 WRX Stg2Protune
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DUB03REX View Post
^^

That's it. Just open up the USB cable and run the red wire through a switch. I think there are switched USB cable, but you would be foolish to buy when you could just make it for way cheaper AND use any switch you like.
What about a fuse? What if a short occurs? what blows? your accessport?
ornge04gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:34 PM   #18
lacdaddy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 229617
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX, 1998 OBS
Black

Default

bumpin an old thread. i want to do this with my ap but the obdII connector runs a wire to the ap directly (non usb basically) what wire would i have to put a switch on in order for it to go off. i was prob going to use a relay and just have it turn on with the car but im unsure of which wire i should splice into

this is my connector
http://www.cobbtuning.com/products/?id=5653
lacdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 10:43 PM   #19
skidplatez
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1575
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Atlanta GA, USA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Premium
Blackest Black

Default

I don't get these threads. I thought you don't need the AP plugged in at all once you reflash?
skidplatez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:00 PM   #20
lacdaddy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 229617
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX, 1998 OBS
Black

Default

its nice to use the features
lacdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 11:07 PM   #21
cmiller219
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 187179
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: Honolulu, HI
Vehicle:
14 STi
@cmoney219

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skidplatez View Post
I don't get these threads. I thought you don't need the AP plugged in at all once you reflash?
you don't and i think its dumb to have it out in the open. Buy a damn boost gauge. I mean im sure 98% of you are using for that reason. You are not data logging every day and it also just gives someone a reason to steal it so u can post a thread " OMG some one stole my AP thats married to my car what do i do help please"
cmiller219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 07:21 AM   #22
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

Go pro mount ftw!

If you have a gopro, get the vehicle mount kit and work some magic. . Use your imagination.

Any quality GPS mount will work, but this is solid.







ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:01 PM   #23
brett192
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274252
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Vancouver Island, BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan PSM
Stage 2 w/ 6 speed

Default

Just get one of these:
http://www.rallysportdirect.com/Prot...er-Mount-Black

I got one back in July and love it. No more messing around with crappy cell phone holders, this one is made for the accessport v2.
brett192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:01 PM   #24
my06wrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336376
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Richmond Va
Vehicle:
2006 WRX CGM
TP Tuned @18psi

Default

i searched this thread for a min., but didn't see where i can get a mount for my ap. help
my06wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:37 AM   #25
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by my06wrx View Post
i searched this thread for a min., but didn't see where i can get a mount for my ap. help
There is no "official" mount per se. Cell phone and gps mounts work ok,

I took my gopro hero2 vehicle kit and added a mount to the back of my AP to make it work with the mount.

Some people are happy with velcro, others with cell phone holders, universal vent clips ect.
ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : Brand New Cobb Accessport AP-SUB-002 -$500 twinturbozs Engine/Power/Exhaust 3 06-08-2010 08:04 PM
Delete haro15 Tri-State Area Private Classifieds 5 06-06-2010 10:36 PM
FS/FT NY: APS Top Mount Intercool TMIC, Greddy BOV, Cobb Accessport v2 cjelley Engine/Power/Exhaust 13 09-17-2009 10:00 PM
Cobb Tuning Accessport Version I Cobb Accessport WRX0520 Engine/Power/Exhaust 0 07-18-2007 03:02 AM
FS: Cobb turboback, ssac tmic, cobb accessport, and cobb springs wrx/zzr Engine/Power/Exhaust 15 09-13-2006 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.