Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2012, 08:09 PM   #1
bondo007man
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 247030
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: The University Of Cincinnati
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Aspen White

Default Check my work

I decided to add an extra 12v plug in inside of my 06 impreza actually came out really cool. I just need to know if i did everything as it should be done. I took power from the fuse box inside the car a fuse that read "rear wiper" I believe I dont know what this really is as I have a sedan but I will check for confirmation. After I found this to be power i checked to make sure it was only live when the key was turned so after I knew it was I added 5 to the fuse so originally it was 10a so I then put in a 15a. For the ground I split a pregrounded wire and fed into this for my ground. So my questions are is my grounding method ok? and is it common practice to go from a 10a to an 15a fuse when adding something to that fuse? and lastly the guy at the parts store said i could just stick the wire in with the fuse and it would be fine? Thanks for your help
-Mike
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
bondo007man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:53 PM   #2
sars101
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280420
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: south side
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 rs
silver ish

Default

I would put the ground anywhere it's hidden. I wouldn't add an extra 5 to it since your car has no rear wiper. I wouldn't add any amps to any fuse.
sars101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:20 PM   #3
bondo007man
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 247030
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: The University Of Cincinnati
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Aspen White

Default

bump after researching I am still unable to determine if it is safe to wire my power cord directly into the fuse without using add a fuse hardware.
bondo007man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:29 PM   #4
sars101
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280420
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: south side
Vehicle:
2005 2.5 rs
silver ish

Default

Alot of people do.

If you connect it to the fuse or splice it in it's the same thing. Unless you get technical
sars101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:30 PM   #5
Psychoreo
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 79643
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cromwell
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
Terminal black pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sars101
Alot of people do.

If you connect it to the fuse or splice it in it's the same thing. Unless you get technical
Alot? Alot? Alot!
Psychoreo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:23 PM   #6
bondo007man
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 247030
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: The University Of Cincinnati
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Aspen White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sars101 View Post
Alot of people do.

If you connect it to the fuse or splice it in it's the same thing. Unless you get technical
Thank you for the help I called a few auto parts stores and verified it is ok to do it.
bondo007man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:34 PM   #7
ProdriveDreams
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146819
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston / Ipswich, MA
Vehicle:
'02 WRB VF-39'd WRX
W/06 STi Drivetrain swap

Default

Your fuse should be matched for the wire, and the accessory outlet, you wired in. Whichever is lower amperage.

And yes that method is fine, just quick and dirty. Parts stores actually sell a thing called an "Add-a-Fuse" that does the exact same thing but retains the original fuse, and looks a little less haggard FYI.
ProdriveDreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:49 PM   #8
bondo007man
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 247030
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: The University Of Cincinnati
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Aspen White

Default

I rechecked my fuse chart and it is a fuse for a "rear wiper" I am not sure why I have this as I have a sedan any help would be great. It is on my fuse panel inside the car and is rated 10a. Thanks
bondo007man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 09:08 AM   #9
vision.dynamix
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru STI
Black, like my soul.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psychoreo View Post
Alot? Alot? Alot!
I lol'd
vision.dynamix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 08:23 PM   #10
aerosaaber
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33850
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pittsfield, MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
WRC Blue

Default

I spliced my 2nd cig outlet into the existing one. They only charge my phone/run my gps so power draw is minimal. I've done it this way in my last 3 cars/10 years of driving without issue.

I wouldn't EVER take a 10 amp fuse and replace it with a 15amp fuse. It's a 10amp fuse for a reason.

I have also used "add-a-circuits" to the fuse panel on like 8 cars to add power for stuff. I'd go that route if I didn't splice in like I did.
aerosaaber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:24 AM   #11
Web Foot STi
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 39086
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
2004 STi
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bondo007man View Post
I rechecked my fuse chart and it is a fuse for a "rear wiper" I am not sure why I have this as I have a sedan any help would be great. It is on my fuse panel inside the car and is rated 10a. Thanks
The fuse block for sedans and wagons is the same for your vintage car. Even if you don't have heated seats I bet you have a fuse position.

If you are using any of the stock wiring after the fuse do not bump up the amp rating. That wiring would only be sized for 10A.
Web Foot STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.