Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2012, 12:06 PM   #26
gberryhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 222308
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

I finally saved up enough and sent my ECU off last week.. I tried to save a little money by sending it to Tactrix, but with all the shipping it costs about the same. I explained my issues to Tactrix support and he said because my laptop is 64 bit i should be using the beta version of ECU flash. This time i am going to try using the beta version and copy the files to the original rom like you said. Fingers crossed, wish me luck.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
gberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:14 PM   #27
mechatricity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 290592
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
04 WRX Wagon,
15 WRX 6MT CWP

Default

Any updates OP?
mechatricity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:31 PM   #28
gberryhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 222308
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Not yet unfortunately. Tactrix still has my ECU. I got an email from them last week saying that they had received it. I'm hoping to have it back in the next day or so.
gberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:41 AM   #29
gberryhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 222308
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Well now I am back to square one. Tactrix sent my ecu back and said they couldn't fix it. They said the bootloader was not responding. Not sure why they couldn't fix it because it was doing the same thing the first time and Cobb fixed it. I'm so frustrated at this point. I'm out another 50 bucks in shipping costs and it's been months with my car just sitting gathering dust. My tuner won't respond so I gave up looking for help there. After dropping over 7k in a motor build this year it's really aggravating. So do I try and send my ecu back to Cobb again or do I say screw it and find another ecu. Any suggestions?
gberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:11 AM   #30
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

Find another ECU, and buy a accessport... Open source is clearly not for you.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 11:40 AM   #31
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

I would be afraid there is some underlying problem at work here. Changing ECUs or using an AP isnt going to change that if thats the case. Can you do some continuity testing on the ECU and obdii port? Maybe there is a bad connection somewhere causing the issue.

I still dont understand why it would report a successful flash. Next time you need to save the log from the flash so we can take a look at it. It should be flashing, then confirming that the new image on the ecu is the same. I would think if anything was ending up corrupted on the ECU after the flash, that this verification process would catch it and spit out an error.

IF (and a big IF) this is exactly whats happening (which we cant verify without a log, or a copy and paste of the output), it's scary to think that ecu flash can report A-OK and have the ecu end up bricked.

Does ECU flash pop up a warning if you try to flash an incompatible image to the ecu or does it just flash away? I dont think I want to test it :P
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:22 PM   #32
gberryhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 222308
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon021 View Post
Next time you need to save the log from the flash so we can take a look at it.
Simon, here is a copy of the log
https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B7j...zZsem83LWh1MEk

I feel like I am capable of using open source. I don't intend on changing maps often. Even though i don't tune the car myself, I feel like its unnecessary to spend over 1k on an access port and a new tune just to get my car running.
gberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:27 PM   #33
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

I agree. It's not that hard. There is something going on here that we aren't catching. I have flashed my car hundreds and hundreds of times with no problem and supposedly the 02 is "picky" about flashing.

Edit: NM it's in html. Changed the extension to html and it is much easier to read.
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:31 PM   #34
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

Wow. I wonder wtf is going on? It sure looks like it's completing the flash and comparing the tables.

I wish I could offer more input or help.
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 12:46 PM   #35
renosubby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152576
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2006 STI 10.8@ 129
www.Mayhemtuning.com

Default

ok the map you are using is corrupt. Its going to suck using this ECU from now on. Tactrix should be able to fix it.

From now on what you have to do is read the ECU make changes then flash without ever turning the car off.
you have to do this each time or it will brick the ecu again!
you can never use the same map to make changes on.

Happened to me while tuning 2 cars. pulled their maps made changes, but when I tried just making changes without reading ECU it just killed the ecu even though it said it flashed correct!

Cory

Mayhem Tuning
renosubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:28 PM   #36
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

So you are saying he would need to

1) connect connectors and read the ecu and leave the key on
2) take this newly read file, make the changes in romraider
3) take this saved file from RR, flash it to the ECU
4) turn key off, disconnect connectors

Seriously? How on earth did you figure this out?
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:50 PM   #37
SharpTuning
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333363
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cutting Edge, Delaware Valley
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gberryhill View Post
Well now I am back to square one. Tactrix sent my ecu back and said they couldn't fix it. They said the bootloader was not responding. Not sure why they couldn't fix it because it was doing the same thing the first time and Cobb fixed it. I'm so frustrated at this point. I'm out another 50 bucks in shipping costs and it's been months with my car just sitting gathering dust. My tuner won't respond so I gave up looking for help there. After dropping over 7k in a motor build this year it's really aggravating. So do I try and send my ecu back to Cobb again or do I say screw it and find another ecu. Any suggestions?
Sorry to hear that man, that's awful!

I'll offer to try to SHboot it for you, gratis. If I can't boot it I'll forward it to Cobb. I would still recommend picking up a spare one to get your car running and to hedge against a hardware issue in the ecu (seems likely). It's also a nice thing to have just in case your car/laptop battery dies during a flash, or some other accident.

Check car-part.com for spares near you, and send me an email if you want me to check it out.
SharpTuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:17 PM   #38
renosubby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152576
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2006 STI 10.8@ 129
www.Mayhemtuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon021 View Post
So you are saying he would need to

1) connect connectors and read the ecu and leave the key on
2) take this newly read file, make the changes in romraider
3) take this saved file from RR, flash it to the ECU
4) turn key off, disconnect connectors

Seriously? How on earth did you figure this out?
Trial and error LOL!
had an 06 wrx that did it twice.
This was the only way I was able to flash the car.
Steps:
1. Connect connectors read ecu leave key on
2. make changes to the read file
3. flash changes
4. unconnect connectors
5. repeat everytime you need to flash!
renosubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:21 AM   #39
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by renosubby View Post
Trial and error LOL!
had an 06 wrx that did it twice.
This was the only way I was able to flash the car.
Steps:
1. Connect connectors read ecu leave key on
2. make changes to the read file
3. flash changes
4. unconnect connectors
5. repeat everytime you need to flash!
So where is the issue? Inside the ECU itself? Would replacing the ECU fix the issue?
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:27 PM   #40
renosubby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 152576
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Reno, NV
Vehicle:
2006 STI 10.8@ 129
www.Mayhemtuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon021 View Post
So where is the issue? Inside the ECU itself? Would replacing the ECU fix the issue?
Yes, that's what needs to be done.
renosubby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 04:14 PM   #41
gberryhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 222308
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Well there's nothing on car-part.com. I checked the classifieds here and there are a few but appear to be sold. I will keep looking around and maybe i can find one for a decent price. Seems like quite a few people go stand alone and sell their stocker. Thanks for the help guys, hopefully i can get it back on the road soon. I will keep the post updated
gberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 04:36 PM   #42
Bamofo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159743
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Plymouth Ma
Vehicle:
07 STI Limited
TurboMike Tuned 2.35

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gberryhill View Post
Well there's nothing on car-part.com. I checked the classifieds here and there are a few but appear to be sold. I will keep looking around and maybe i can find one for a decent price. Seems like quite a few people go stand alone and sell their stocker. Thanks for the help guys, hopefully i can get it back on the road soon. I will keep the post updated

Why not send it to Sharptuning... he knows what he is doing.. or I can help you out with it. Normally a little soilder action and the right program and poof its fixed.
Bamofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 08:25 PM   #43
gberryhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 222308
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamofo View Post
Why not send it to Sharptuning... he knows what he is doing.. or I can help you out with it. Normally a little soilder action and the right program and poof its fixed.
Thanks, pm sent to sharptuning. I also posted a WTB in classifieds and already had a couple of hits.
gberryhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 11:15 AM   #44
Bamofo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159743
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Plymouth Ma
Vehicle:
07 STI Limited
TurboMike Tuned 2.35

Default

so you need an 04STI ECU? i "might" have one...
Bamofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:33 PM   #45
Dirtrace95
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231315
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Vehicle:
06 WRX Wgn
Black

Default

OK, now I have an ecm flash screw up. The car wont start. I was not paying good enough
attention and loaded the wrong map from my LGT into my 06WRX. Now I cant load the the right map in to it. It just keeps saying error check logs.

Any help out there ??? Im using Rom Raider with a vag com cable which has always worked good for me.
Dirtrace95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:51 PM   #46
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Try a hard reset by disconnecting the negative battery cable, hold down the brake pedal for 15-30 seconds, then reconnect the battery cable and try to reflash. If that doesn't work you are gonna have to send the ECU out to get unbricked
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:01 PM   #47
Dirtrace95
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231315
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Vehicle:
06 WRX Wgn
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quazimoto View Post
Try a hard reset by disconnecting the negative battery cable, hold down the brake pedal for 15-30 seconds, then reconnect the battery cable and try to reflash. If that doesn't work you are gonna have to send the ECU out to get unbricked
Going to try that right now thanks
Dirtrace95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 11:45 PM   #48
Dirtrace95
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231315
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Vehicle:
06 WRX Wgn
Black

Default

Well that didnt work. I guess i'll have to send the ecm somewhere. Im so mad at myself ...... I never do stupid stuff like that .... Going to delet
that super simular named map so that does not happen again ..... dam .......
Dirtrace95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:18 AM   #49
RacnJsn95
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 125576
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Medford, OR
Vehicle:
2010 Chevy Camaro SS
Red Jewel Tintcoat

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtrace95 View Post
Well that didnt work. I guess i'll have to send the ecm somewhere. Im so mad at myself ...... I never do stupid stuff like that .... Going to delet
that super simular named map so that does not happen again ..... dam .......
You're a funny guy... Maybe S O Autocare can fix it?
RacnJsn95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:23 AM   #50
Dirtrace95
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231315
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Vehicle:
06 WRX Wgn
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RacnJsn95 View Post
You're a funny guy... Maybe S O Autocare can fix it?
Yeah but I dought it, don't think they will be able to get in either..
Dirtrace95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.