Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 06:56 PM   #1
vision.dynamix
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru STI
Black, like my soul.

Default Pioneer AppRadio2?

Anyone have one? How do you like it?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
vision.dynamix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 12:47 AM   #2
XERO287
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 253541
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Vehicle:
2011 WRX 5DR Premium
OBP

Default

Amen sister.
XERO287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 08:43 AM   #3
savvy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 127208
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: NH
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Black

Default

The gf just bought one off Crutchfield for $159. Not installed yet so i have no feedback other than awesome price.
savvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:27 AM   #4
vision.dynamix
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru STI
Black, like my soul.

Default

I hear you cant use Pandora and a Maps app at the same time. That would be epic fail if that is correct.
vision.dynamix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:05 PM   #5
Misanthrope789
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174595
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: The Kumite
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Frank Dux Edition

Default

I've had mine in my car since August, I'm pretty happy with it so far.
Misanthrope789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 08:57 PM   #6
BrDb
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333203
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Southern California
Vehicle:
2012 Sport Premium
MBP 5 SPD

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vision.dynamix View Post
I hear you cant use Pandora and a Maps app at the same time. That would be epic fail if that is correct.
I don't use Pandora, but I can listen to my music and use MyGPS USA (basically running two apps at once with the media player running in the background), so I would think it would be possible to run Pandora and the Maps app at the same time.
BrDb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 04:18 AM   #7
jackster325
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 310799
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Covina
Default

If you have an android phone, you should check out ARLiberator. It mirrors the entire phone on the screen.
jackster325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:07 PM   #8
pmellick85
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319418
Join Date: May 2012
Location: louisville ky
Vehicle:
2005 sti
wrb

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackster325 View Post
If you have an android phone, you should check out ARLiberator. It mirrors the entire phone on the screen.
yea but you have to have root access to do this. not too hard to do though.

i have had my appradio2 in my 05 sti for probably 8 months now. at first i was skeptical because it was real glitchy. i was using it with an ipod and a g2x(lg) phone. then i got the galaxys3 and it works SO much better with the s3 than my other phone. like jackster said im going to root my phone and go the arliberator route. seems to unlock all the potential from this radio
pmellick85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:41 PM   #9
floods
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 337069
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
SWP

Default

Just installed mine today. Running a Razr Maxx on Eclipse ROM + ARLiberator, getting full functionality of my phone through the HU so far. Sounds great too... Still learning the ins and outs of the unit, but if you're just looking for a media station to run your phone through it's pretty awesome and much less expensive than a nav unit. There's a TON of potential with ARLiberator on a rooted phone.
floods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:15 PM   #10
doubleurx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64024
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: truckee, ca
Vehicle:
03 996 TT, 964 C4
salt and pepper

Default

Now pioneer is running app mode in most of their DVD receiver line. I'm getting a 5500bhs installed next week.
doubleurx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:52 PM   #11
Nakor
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 266061
Join Date: Dec 2010
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
DGM

Default

Just installed mine yesterday and am waiting on my parking brake override chip to get here. Not happy that none of the apps work with the iPhone 5, and have to shell out $60+ in march when their iphone 5 cable comes out.

But other than that it looks great and is probably the most responsive HU ive used.
Nakor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 04:49 PM   #12
Drink15
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 343761
Join Date: Jan 2013
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nakor View Post
Just installed mine yesterday and am waiting on my parking brake override chip to get here. Not happy that none of the apps work with the iPhone 5, and have to shell out $60+ in march when their iphone 5 cable comes out.

But other than that it looks great and is probably the most responsive HU ive used.
I'm thinking of getting this radio also, what chip did you order for this radio?


This goes to anyone.....hows the sound quality?
Drink15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 05:17 PM   #13
taco15
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 297764
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Florida
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

nevermind....

Last edited by taco15; 01-22-2013 at 05:19 PM. Reason: reading >me
taco15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:40 PM   #14
cainer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 247294
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Terrell Hills, TX
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
Silver

Default

You can pick up the parking brake bypass from Amazon. I have only had it installed for a week, it sounds great. It much clearer then stock.

Last edited by cainer; 01-22-2013 at 06:41 PM. Reason: spacing
cainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:06 PM   #15
pmellick85
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319418
Join Date: May 2012
Location: louisville ky
Vehicle:
2005 sti
wrb

Default

You can always do the toggle switch solution for the ebrake bypass. Thats what I have now. Eventually will get the bypass off ebay. The toggle switch works for now
pmellick85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 01:57 AM   #16
zra
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 311115
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: So Cal
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
Dark Grey

Default App Radio1

I know it's slightly off topic. I put an App Radio 1 in my wife's CRV. It works well, but there are a lot of things that it won't do. I highly recommend that you check one out at a dealer first so you won't be surprised.

The following may be specific to the App Radio 1.

One weird thing is that you can't turn off the radio after you turn it on. You have to just lower the volume all the way.

The App radio only does radio and bluetooth phone functions until the phone is plugged in.

Only App radio aware apps will show on the screen and only full App radio supported apps will actually respond to touch screen commands. You have to run the App radio app for the app radio aware apps to function. If you need to switch to another app for something and then switch back it can require a little bit of work to get it back displaying correctly.

The iPhone charger supplied with the App Radio is the fastest iPhone charger I've ever seen.

Also, the relay for the parking brake bypass doesn't work on these radios, you have to do the toggle switch thing, that works fine on our unit.
zra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:59 AM   #17
Reverend_
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 315019
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Omaha, NE
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza 5-Door
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

I installed mine a few weeks ago. Like it, but I have trouble with Apps crashing/GPS not working quite like I would like it to. I'm gonna continue to fidget around with it. Mine also has a long start-up time whereas my buddy who has one boots up pretty quickly/skips past the intro stuff.
Reverend_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:17 AM   #18
pmellick85
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319418
Join Date: May 2012
Location: louisville ky
Vehicle:
2005 sti
wrb

Default

Have you all updated the head unit itself?
pmellick85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 12:17 AM   #19
mf07sti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145210
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Grafton, MA
Vehicle:
2012 STI
WRB

Default

Okay I know this thread hasn't been bumped in a bit but it fits my needs best. I'm looking for a new head unit in my car. I had an f90bt but sadly it is caught in the reboot loop and can't find what I need to fix it on avic forums. None of the files they actually link to go anywhere. So I was debating getting the app radio or x950 . All I really do is listen to pandora and some radio. Just want to hook up my ai enclosure and enjoy some music again. Thoughts?
mf07sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 01:22 AM   #20
teiva-boy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22825
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mf07sti View Post
Okay I know this thread hasn't been bumped in a bit but it fits my needs best. I'm looking for a new head unit in my car. I had an f90bt but sadly it is caught in the reboot loop and can't find what I need to fix it on avic forums. None of the files they actually link to go anywhere. So I was debating getting the app radio or x950 . All I really do is listen to pandora and some radio. Just want to hook up my ai enclosure and enjoy some music again. Thoughts?
I may have the files you need.
teiva-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 04:57 AM   #21
p951951951t
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 276541
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: North Georgia
Vehicle:
1972 Alfa Romeo GTV
Alfa Rosso

Default

The OS on the appradio is a huge steaming pile of crap, making the entire head unit also a huge steaming pile of crap. Bought one not too long ago and returned it within a week.

It's barely functional and clunky as hell. Unless you are getting it for about $150 don't waste your time.
p951951951t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 01:57 AM   #22
jackster325
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 310799
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Covina
Default

Actually I have a different opinion on it. I am using one and running ARLiberator on it. It completely mirrors my android phone with all the touchscreen functionality! Best head unit by far. It amazes everyone that comes into my car.

That is the ONLY reason why you should get it, the stock interface is not the best.
jackster325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:50 AM   #23
pmellick85
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319418
Join Date: May 2012
Location: louisville ky
Vehicle:
2005 sti
wrb

Default

What kind of android are you using. You had to root it correct?
pmellick85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 10:24 AM   #24
pezcore
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 178045
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
06 WRX
CGM

Default

pezcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 06:11 PM   #25
vancouverSTI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 348523
Join Date: Feb 2013
Default

The app crashes allot
vancouverSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.