Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 12:30 PM   #76
qomat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 240069
Join Date: Mar 2010
Vehicle:
2007 STI Limited

Default Just came back from dealership

I had stage 2 for a while than removed it back to default after i got ticket.

In cold winter weather i hit car hard, car choked and than check engine came up. I went to subaru dealer so they can check it out.
They immediately came by after few minutes of diagnostic saying it got to much boost that is why check engine came up and also I'm running different code than it should be on the car so they asked me if i modified something.
I told them i had AP but i went to default after it.

I have a chance still to buy warranty on my 07 (less than 30k) but not sure if i want to spend 2k for warranty that may be void in the future.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
qomat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 08:14 PM   #77
Barnold
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318142
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
SWP

Default

This has been gone over an over, and if you search there is a thread that even states that SSM3 can detect something in the ecu. But there is a trick to beating that. If your stage2+ obviously more work has been done than the tune, stage 1 just reinstall factory tune and unmarry the AP the day or two prior and drive the car (if possible). Don't unmarry it in the parking lot.
Barnold is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:31 AM   #78
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by qomat View Post
I had stage 2 for a while than removed it back to default after i got ticket.

In cold winter weather i hit car hard, car choked and than check engine came up. I went to subaru dealer so they can check it out.
They immediately came by after few minutes of diagnostic saying it got to much boost that is why check engine came up and also I'm running different code than it should be on the car so they asked me if i modified something.
I told them i had AP but i went to default after it.

I have a chance still to buy warranty on my 07 (less than 30k) but not sure if i want to spend 2k for warranty that may be void in the future.
The dealership may have jumped to the conclusion that you were running different "code" because of the overboost. If you selected the "uninstall" function on the AccessPORT and successfully ran through that procedure, then your ECU would have been returned back to the exact tune/image that was present prior to installing the AccessPORT. If, instead, you reflashed the "installed stock mode" map, you would not be running your original factory ECU code (it would be a stock tune with our custom code to recognize the AccessPORT and allow for features like real-time tuning). Regardless, it is not surprising that you overboosted with stage 2 mods running the stock map - the stock map does not have the appropriate boost tune for stage 2.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 01:45 PM   #79
headaike
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 330916
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Apologies, Back from the Dead!

I searched for several hours, but can seem to get a concrete answer.

My question is if the ECU is flashed to Stage 1 or 2 via Cobb AP does it make the ECU dumb? Meaning the ECU will not adjust Timing when it detects knock, it will only read the MAP(stage 1 or stage 2) that is flashed into the ECU no matter what.
Will flashing eliminate "stored learned memory"? as the ECU learns as you drive and adjusts air/fuel, timing, etc based on sensor readings

I'm hoping COBB can chime in this...
sorry if this has been covered on a previous thread

This is my first Subaru Sti
I used to own an Acura RSX type-S supercharged tuned with Hondata Kpro.
Hondata Kpro made the ECU dumb it only follows what ever is on the map.
There are parameters though that you can set like Temperature compensation, Timing retard each gear and fuel cut-off when the AFR is too lean and many more.
headaike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 08:17 PM   #80
Cathexis
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335445
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Ashland, VA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX - BLK STIG
Stg. 2 - 287whp/317wtq.

Default

The ECU will most certainly learn and try to adjust timing based on perceived knock events. It does this through the Dynamic Advance Multiplier (DAM.) If your tune isnt garbage then the ecu will be able to accomplish this. It is still imperative to address those issues as soon as they arise rather than just let the ECU handle it, but the ECU does indeed have some built in measure of self preservation. There are a couple posted logs right here within a few posts of this one that demonstate this.

I am stunned a supercharged honda's ECU would not even be able to compensate for bad gas.....sounds dangerous.
Cathexis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:04 AM   #81
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headaike View Post
Apologies, Back from the Dead!

I searched for several hours, but can seem to get a concrete answer.

My question is if the ECU is flashed to Stage 1 or 2 via Cobb AP does it make the ECU dumb? Meaning the ECU will not adjust Timing when it detects knock, it will only read the MAP(stage 1 or stage 2) that is flashed into the ECU no matter what.
Will flashing eliminate "stored learned memory"? as the ECU learns as you drive and adjusts air/fuel, timing, etc based on sensor readings

I'm hoping COBB can chime in this...
sorry if this has been covered on a previous thread

This is my first Subaru Sti
I used to own an Acura RSX type-S supercharged tuned with Hondata Kpro.
Hondata Kpro made the ECU dumb it only follows what ever is on the map.
There are parameters though that you can set like Temperature compensation, Timing retard each gear and fuel cut-off when the AFR is too lean and many more.
Hi there.

The Accessport retains all the safety features and logic of the factory engine control unit (ECU). This means the knock correction and fuel learning functions (among many others) are retained. What we modify is the calibration data. The ECU has a number of tables which govern boost/fuel/ign. timing/cam. timing/throtle mapping/etc and we modify these for better performance and driveability and to work with specific modifications. Because we are modifying the calibration data (as Subaru would if they were making tuning changes for a car), all of the factory logic is retained. We do make code changes to allow for specific Cobb features like real-time tuning and the addition of launch control, but these do not impact the normal operation of the factory ECU other than allow you to use these features that would otherwise not normally be present.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:37 PM   #82
thegoldensb
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 312310
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Florida
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Hatch
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

Bringing this thread back from the grave! Now that v3 accessport is out any new changes over the v2 for turning the ecu back to stock?
thegoldensb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 10:28 AM   #83
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thegoldensb View Post
Bringing this thread back from the grave! Now that v3 accessport is out any new changes over the v2 for turning the ecu back to stock?
Since the process for reflashing the engine control unit (ECU) is still the same for your car, the process between the v2 and v3 are the same in that regard. When you install a v2 or v3, it will back up the ECU's image and when you uninstall the v2 or v3 (via Uninstall menu option only), it will restore that exact image.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 12:35 AM   #84
superspeed12
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 344534
Join Date: Jan 2013
Vehicle:
2009 Subaru Sti
Blue

Default

I had a warranty claim for a 09 Sti denied because the dealer said that the car had been tuned (AP was uninstalled before the car was taken in). Did not get much for details out of them other than "the SoA claims manager said the ECU shows numbers that can tell them if it has been tuned or not" I never admitted to tuning the car.
superspeed12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:20 AM   #85
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

To completely uninstall the version 2 or version 3 Accessport, you must select the Uninstall menu option on the Accessport (and confirm that the process completes). This will restore the ECU to the image that was backed-up during the install process. If you instead change to the "installed stock mode" map, this is not the same as the uninstall process.

When you reflash a map (when you change maps or install/uninstall the Accessport), the ECU will be reset. This happens regardless of the solution you use to tune the ECU. This is basically the same as if you disconnected the car's battery or reset the ECU via an OBDII scanner. The dealership has the ability to tell essentially when the ECU was last reset. So, depending on how much of a leap they are willing to make, they may infer that you had some kind of tune on there, even though this is not direct evidence. If that is combined with other evidence of hard parts mods (downpipe or intake) or evidence that mods were removed (ex. marks on downpipe bolts/nuts), that may increase the chances of a denial of a claim.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:56 AM   #86
superspeed12
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 344534
Join Date: Jan 2013
Vehicle:
2009 Subaru Sti
Blue

Default

Makes sense.
superspeed12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:46 PM   #87
Jalapeno
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 281743
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Benson, AZ
Vehicle:
2013 STI Sedan
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

This is a great thread with lots of good information. I purchased my 2013 STi in August and have not installed any kind of modifications to date. Of course, as soon as I start becoming interested in "the scene" I hear about all this ringland failure business. Great. That's what I get for not doing my research before a big purchase like this. Anyhow...it seems that the Cobb AccessPort is an excellent way to combat the lean conditions that may lead to ringland failure. Therein lies the catch-22; keep it stock and risk ringland failure (crappy gas here in Arizona) or install the AP and risk warranty denial by SoA.

So, here's a question: what other actions can cause the ECU to reflash/reset? Disconnecting the battery appears to be one. How about those crappy OBDII scanners you can buy at Sears? If you were to plug one of those in just to monitor what is going on with your car, would that reflash/reset the ECU?

I'm just wondering if there is some sort of scenario that could provide an owner with plausible deniability when taking their car in for service. Obviously, if you have a good relationship with your local dealership, honesty is the best practice, but you definitely have to protect yourself, your investment and your warranty. If it is possible for other devices to trip the SSM3 electronic nanny then that would give an owner possible recourse when being accused of modifying their car or "abusing" it.

I just want to install the AP to prevent ringland failure and to have all the nifty gauges to see what is going on inside the beastie.

regards,
Joel
Jalapeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 11:26 PM   #88
Mdsiman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 360019
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nnj
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx

Default

Another ? For cobb. When uninstalling ap to original map does the ecu store how many miles the car had when last time flashed?
Mdsiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 11:14 AM   #89
snoopy8818
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 164942
Join Date: Nov 2007
Vehicle:
2013 WRX STI Limited
2007 WRX STI Limited

Default

It does not store mileage. The only thing it will show when you flash back to stock I believe are the ready codes for emissions.
snoopy8818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 03:12 PM   #90
Mdsiman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 360019
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nnj
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx

Default

Ok was just curious. Ill probably go for stage 1 next year
Mdsiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 05:34 PM   #91
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jalapeno View Post
So, here's a question: what other actions can cause the ECU to reflash/reset? Disconnecting the battery appears to be one. How about those crappy OBDII scanners you can buy at Sears? If you were to plug one of those in just to monitor what is going on with your car, would that reflash/reset the ECU?
Most OBDII scanners that can read codes can also reset the ECU. You would have to select that option though. Just plugging it in to monitor or read codes shouldn't reset the ECU....unless it malfunctioned or something weird. Killing the battery will also reset your ECU. So if you leave your dome light on or something that would do it.

- Chris

Last edited by Cobb Tuning; 02-12-2014 at 03:22 PM. Reason: Incorrect information
Cobb Tuning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 11:35 AM   #92
HUEBIE
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 381373
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

I've always wondered if dealers could
HUEBIE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 04:10 PM   #93
PANNERZ
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 375298
Join Date: Dec 2013
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Central Jersey
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
DGM

Default

if they ever asked why the computer was flashed or reset simply say i unplugged the battery...
PANNERZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 04:30 PM   #94
JimmyBoyWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 371081
Join Date: Oct 2013
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Limited
2006 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PANNERZ View Post
if they ever asked why the computer was flashed or reset simply say i unplugged the battery...
Or act really stupid and say you left the light on and battery died :-)
JimmyBoyWRX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 09:24 AM   #95
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Workn on my LSX swap
Vehicle:
Be in awe
dont hate .)

Default

^^^ORRRRRR


Stop trying to make warranty claims after being stage 4 and tearing your **** up.


When they do cover something under warranty.......its gonna be rushed...pushed to the side...and prolly halfassed anyways cuz the tech working on it isnt gonna make dick because warranty is gonna pay half of what it really takes. I wouldnt dare tear up something like a engine and take it in for "warranty" lol That pos will never be the same again. Now regular wear thats covered like noises and squeaks and ****...yeah thats fine. Im just not a fan of making false claims.
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:20 AM   #96
JimmyBoyWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 371081
Join Date: Oct 2013
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Limited
2006 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paidfor View Post
^^^ORRRRRR

Stop trying to make warranty claims after being stage 4 and tearing your **** up.

When they do cover something under warranty.......its gonna be rushed...pushed to the side...and prolly halfassed anyways cuz the tech working on it isnt gonna make dick because warranty is gonna pay half of what it really takes. I wouldnt dare tear up something like a engine and take it in for "warranty" lol That pos will never be the same again. Now regular wear thats covered like noises and squeaks and ****...yeah thats fine. Im just not a fan of making false claims.
Who said anything about stage 4?


I'm stage 1 and if my engine blows in warranty I'm not paying for it. I regularly log and I am knock free. If something goes wrong it's from a manufacturing defect.

As soon as you go stage 2 and your swapping out DPs your going to leave tool marks and I believe engine warranty is pretty much hit or miss at that point. However going stage 1 to not use the stock tune that stays in closed loop fueling untill almost full boost... No thanks.
JimmyBoyWRX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:30 AM   #97
Mdsiman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 360019
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nnj
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx

Default

^you may have to pay for repairs. Seems like if soa is having a good day or not they will honor it.
Mdsiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:38 AM   #98
JimmyBoyWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 371081
Join Date: Oct 2013
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Limited
2006 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdsiman View Post
^you may have to pay for repairs. Seems like if soa is having a good day or not they will honor it.
I would unmarry the AP and with no tool marks they have no proof I did anything apart from reset the ecu.

I agree that heavily modding then getting warranty work is wrong... And fraudulent... However with a simple Ecu tune and clean safe logs I wouldn't hesitate for a second. They sold me a defective product and they will be paying to fix it.
JimmyBoyWRX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 03:22 PM   #99
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdsiman View Post
Another ? For cobb. When uninstalling ap to original map does the ecu store how many miles the car had when last time flashed?
I made a mistake. I have been informed that there are some OBDII parameters that deal with mileage. One in particular is the distance since the diagnostic trouble codes were last cleared, which happens during a reset/reflash. So I was incorrect. I have deleted my previous post and I apologize for the confusion.

- Chris
Cobb Tuning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 03:27 PM   #100
Mdsiman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 360019
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nnj
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx

Default

yea thats what i figured
Mdsiman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can the dealer tell if you have a tuner els.sti Newbies & FAQs 33 05-02-2008 02:42 PM
Can a Subaru dealer tell if an ECU has been EcuTek flashed? benw Commercial ECU Reflashes 6 01-15-2007 04:16 PM
So how can you tell if your post was deleted? jonny_boy Off-Topic 8 08-07-2003 09:42 AM
Lamo: Can't turn radio on once car is started if it was on when car was off MadManMike Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 1 01-02-2002 04:31 PM
how can you tell if your differential was damaged due to towing? yuzo Service & Maintenance 5 12-30-2001 02:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.