Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 14, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2012, 11:25 AM   #1
banshee04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179014
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
'06 WRX
OBP

Default Car will not rev past 7000rpm's

'06 WRX
Built motor
Rotated Kit
Precision 6262
1400cc Inj
Twin Intank pumps
24psi
E85

This problem has been going on for awhile. Before this setup, It was all the same but a FP Red turbo. Im not sure what it is. When my car was on a 20G, it would rev just fine. When I started putting the bigger turbo's on, thats when the problem started occuring.

There are no boost leaks, Plenty of fuel, New plugs (Ive tried stock heat range and 1 step colder), New fuel filter, Logged misfires and 0 show up when it happens, All the grounds hooked up, Etc.

I had a HKS DLI II on the car cause I thought it was a spark issue, but it didnt help up top around the 7000rpm's. The car wont even rev past 7000rpms while in neutral

I also raised the boost limit (fuel cut) and the rev limiter and it didnt do a thing.

Here is the map if anyone wants to take a look: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2Ra...d0dUJFM1U/edit

I did a log to show whats going on. I really cant see anything, but maybe someone see something else? Here is the log: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2Ra...h2SjE5Nzg/edit

11/16/2012 - New Log - Neutral Rev. As you can see, just me being in netural wont even let the car rev more the 7000rpm's
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2Ra...JFRXVqNUU/edit

Hopefully someone can point out something I might be overlooking.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by banshee04; 11-16-2012 at 04:31 PM.
banshee04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 11:36 AM   #2
tunertype
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 335033
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Holyoke, MA
Vehicle:
2009 wrx
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Did you adjust the old map or load a new one? At peak rev the revs can be set by the rev limiter and the requested torque. So look at requested torque for RPM and throttle position. if the requested torque is cut down to like 100 with full throttle position and 6900RPM then your computer is cutting the throttle. WOT I think is something like 340 requested torque.
tunertype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 11:22 PM   #3
tunertype
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 335033
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Holyoke, MA
Vehicle:
2009 wrx
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Here's a pic of the table in AP that I'm talking about. There should be a similar table under drive by wire or throttle control in Rom Raider or ECU flash. At 6900RPM the requested torque is dialed way back.
tunertype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:21 AM   #4
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

As tunertype mentioned, there are two rev limiters on the 32-bit ECUs. The first is the throttle limiter, which dials back the throttle plate open angle significantly as you approach redline. The second is the hard fuel cut, which usually comes 1-200 RPM after the throttle limiter.

Both of these limits must be adjusted if you want to change the car's redline.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 02:58 AM   #5
NSFW
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140444
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
05 Stage Free LGT
ATP 3076, 6MT, AVO FMIC

Default

Google says I don't have permission to download your ROM.
NSFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:46 AM   #6
Leafy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 330625
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Yup like tunertype posted. That last row on the bottom needs to be 300 at wot or more. I would honestly try to find a good throttle map someone else posted I spent a good 20 minutes re-doing mine before I even drove the car on it. It still needs a bit of touch up. Also, not sure if you can in the AP, rescale the RPM headers on the left if you're trying to rev much past 7000. Once you get beyond the final RPM row in the tune in any table the ecu interpolates based on the last two rpm rows.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:11 AM   #7
banshee04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179014
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
'06 WRX
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NSFW View Post
Google says I don't have permission to download your ROM.
Sorry about that guys, I fixed the link. It public now.

Also, the requestd torque at 100% throttle is set at 400. Does it need to be any higher?
It seems the problem only started occuring when I started replacing the turbo with biggers ones.
banshee04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:15 AM   #8
tunertype
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 335033
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Holyoke, MA
Vehicle:
2009 wrx
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leafy View Post
Yup like tunertype posted. That last row on the bottom needs to be 300 at wot or more. I would honestly try to find a good throttle map someone else posted I spent a good 20 minutes re-doing mine before I even drove the car on it. It still needs a bit of touch up. Also, not sure if you can in the AP, rescale the RPM headers on the left if you're trying to rev much past 7000. Once you get beyond the final RPM row in the tune in any table the ecu interpolates based on the last two rpm rows.
You can change the column and row headers in AP race tuner, but I think he's using Open source tuning. I was just showing him my AP race tuner graph as a reference. I could only get 1 rom I downloaded to open right in ECU flash. I couldn't get anything to load in RomRaider.(I did get the latest deffinition files from RomRaider, but maps still won't load in it. Dunno what I'm not doing right, but that's why I went with the AP instead of the Open source. I tried to play with the software before I decided and decided RomRaider was too much trouble. Having to have a reliable laptop in your car, and not quite stable software, not worth the effort for me.)

Also note that when you edit the requested torque drive by wire tables, there are 3 of them a b and c. be sure to edit all of them.
tunertype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 10:08 AM   #9
Leafy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 330625
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

I know you cant adjust the torque heading in the throttle opening % table. I tried that, mostly because I'm used to GM ecus that do a lot more complex math with the requested torque and having the max be 400 vs the 320 that you can put in the throttle opening % table heading would make a difference on other parts of the tune. Doesnt seem to be a big deal with ours, just have to realize that if you just copy a sti request torque vs pedal position map to a wrx that you will be 100% throttle plate opening at 80% pedal. At least for 06.

On that vein, OP, look at your headings for throttle opening % requested torque should be the units on the column headings, any changes I make to open source in those dont stick so you can only really use 320 as the highest value in the requested torque table, anything above that doesnt really do anything. Just realized you have a 06 wrx so I can post my "stage 1" tune like around 10 tonight, and you're free to steal the throttle mapping, and anything else you want. It pulls all the way to my rev limiter at 7k.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:03 PM   #10
banshee04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179014
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
'06 WRX
OBP

Default

Anybody get a chance to take a look at that stuff? Any ideas?
banshee04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:25 PM   #11
Leafy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 330625
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

I finally got a chance to look at the tune. Do you have a log? I dont see anything wrong with the tune. Though, how did you get the column headings on the throttle mapping to stay changed. I couldnt make it stick, it would go away as soon as I would save the rom. I didnt try editing it in ecu flash where I have my more extreme deffs, cool things like fuel pump duty cycle.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 12:18 AM   #12
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

How timely, and current! Op, I'm having the exact same problem as you. Car was perfect on an FP Green, went to a bigger turbo and the exact SAME thing you describe is happening to me. Get this: I got tuned on open source (wouldn't rev past 7250), now I'm tuning the accessport and the accessport doesn't let me rev past 6500! Crazy huh.

I've ruled out plugs, fuel pump, crank sensor. I'm not sure what else to try. The tune looks ok from what I can see, all tables reflect a 7500rpm redline. I'll keep watch on this and anything I find out I'll post.

I did log IDC at one time and noticed it did follow the issue, but I think something is causing that to fluctuate and not the IDC itself. Anyways I'll keep plugging away at a solution
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:22 PM   #13
banshee04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179014
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
'06 WRX
OBP

Default

Did another log. This one was just me neutral revving it. As you can see, it still wont go past 7000rpm's.

Last edited by banshee04; 11-16-2012 at 04:31 PM.
banshee04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 12:44 AM   #14
banshee04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179014
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
'06 WRX
OBP

Default

Still having this problem Anyone?
banshee04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 01:10 AM   #15
Leafy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 330625
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Looked at the log really quick. You made 3 pounds off boost free reving, then it looks like you get a hard fuel cut, and then let off the throttle. Seems like it doesnt get lean until after you hit 3 volts on the maf. That seems super high for free-rev.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:50 PM   #16
banshee04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179014
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
'06 WRX
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leafy View Post
Looked at the log really quick. You made 3 pounds off boost free reving, then it looks like you get a hard fuel cut, and then let off the throttle. Seems like it doesnt get lean until after you hit 3 volts on the maf. That seems super high for free-rev.
Any idea on what might cause that?
banshee04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 06:00 PM   #17
Leafy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 330625
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

No idea.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 06:06 PM   #18
claythrow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 283663
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Root Beer

Default

A silly answer but if you have a throttle cable is it tight? Just throwing that out there. WHen I bought my 04 wrx the guy was only using about half his throttle.
claythrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:26 PM   #19
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by claythrow View Post
A silly answer but if you have a throttle cable is it tight? Just throwing that out there. WHen I bought my 04 wrx the guy was only using about half his throttle.
The only models with a throttle cable are the 02-05 WRX.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:10 PM   #20
banshee04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179014
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
'06 WRX
OBP

Default

Bump. Still cant figure this out. Its really starting to frustrate me.

Anymore ideas?
banshee04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 10:22 PM   #21
Leafy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 330625
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

No idea. I went through your tune again and compared to mine which I have reved over 7k (my limter is set to 7100). The only other trouble shooting steps I can think of require more control over the ecu than I think we have. Can you log the actual crank and cam sensor inputs? Like the waveform they produce? The only thing I've seen do this before is interference in the cam/crank signal that develops at certain rpms either from wiring, insufficient filtering in the ecu, a marginal sensor, sensor being the wrong distance from the ring, or just getting more pulses from the trigger than the ecu can handle/time.

Unless your spark is marginal. I've had other cars that had spark break up in boost and the ecu didnt detect it as a misfire.

Besides that... I dont think I have any more ideas. Maybe a video would spur someone with this.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:09 PM   #22
banshee04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179014
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
'06 WRX
OBP

Default

Here is a video of it doing it. I actually did this last night. I held the pedal down a little longer then i usually do and it went past 7000rpms but still wouldnt do it in gear.

Heres the link:
banshee04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:15 PM   #23
Leafy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 330625
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Thats weird. Its like it just doesnt have the power to push past that. It doesnt sound like valve float, but I've only ever heard that on NA engines, it doesnt sound like its misfiring. This is so bizarre.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:42 PM   #24
banshee04
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179014
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Vehicle:
'06 WRX
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leafy View Post
Thats weird. Its like it just doesnt have the power to push past that. It doesnt sound like valve float, but I've only ever heard that on NA engines, it doesnt sound like its misfiring. This is so bizarre.
Your telling me. Its been messing with my head bad! I think my next step is send it to Tactrix and have them do a hard boot on the ECU and see what happens.
banshee04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 11:44 PM   #25
Leafy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 330625
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Before that I would be tempted to throw an O scope on the cam and crank sensors and on the PWM signal going to the TB.
Leafy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.