Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2012, 05:58 PM   #1
Dude313
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299352
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
Silver

Default Data logging with Prosport wide band

I could not find a definitive answer on this yet so I figured I would just ask and see if anyone could help. I was looking into purchasing a Prosport Premium series white needle wide band kit. I read that you cannot data log using this gauge. I called Prosport and they said you can data log. You need to connect a wire to the stock ecu by tapping into the wire from the stock O2 censor. I also read this online but did not see anyone saying it is definitely possible. Prosport then said that they have not had anyone confirm that it is possible yet and they are waiting on someone to confirm it for them. Has anyone done this? Is it worth it?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Dude313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 08:07 PM   #2
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

the prosport gauge is a pile of crap. not exactly known for its accuracy. Take a look at the AEM UEGO or the Innovate LC-1
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 09:36 PM   #3
Dude313
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299352
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
Silver

Default

I was willing to sacrifice the inaccurate gauge as long as I could accurately log. I am looking into the innovative WB without the gauge because their gauge doesnt match any other gauges.
Dude313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:08 PM   #4
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

i dont think you quite understood what I was saying... the entire prosport device is inaccurate.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:09 PM   #5
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Just buy wideband that actually has datalogging capabilities. It's as simple as that.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 10:21 PM   #6
Dude313
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299352
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
Silver

Default

Oh haha, you're right I didnt realize you meant that but either way I am not getting the prosport. Can anyone recommend what to get? Something, accurate, compatible with RomRaiders Ecu logger, and no gauge needed.

http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/products/lc1.php ?????
Dude313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 11:29 PM   #7
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

didnt I already suggest the LC-1?
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 11:50 PM   #8
Dude313
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299352
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
didnt I already suggest the LC-1?
If you cant post anything nice then dont post anything at all. Thats 2 annoying posts in a row. I was hoping to get more than one persons opinion or some reasons why this or that. Sorry if trying to ask others for help annoys you. Maybe just unsubscribe next time. Does anyone want to be an adult and help me out?
Dude313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 11:58 PM   #9
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

maybe you could do some research for yourself and read the endless threads around here that show how to datalog with a wideband, instead of relying on someone else to do the work for you.


or am I still being annoying? Tell ya what, why not report my posts and have a moderator come review the thread!

You're gonna need tougher skin if you expect to learn anything on this forum.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:14 AM   #10
Dude313
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299352
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
Silver

Default

The entire reason for this site is to share information. No one should need tough skin to to ask questions. Please look at all of your posts. They are the same. You attack people for asking questions and call them stupid. You are the reason sites like this one get bad reputations. We have all seen the move and we know O'doyle's rule. Now move on to someone else's post. I am sure someone new has already posted a question that makes you mad. How dare someone asks a question while the black94snake is online! Go get em!
Dude313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:25 AM   #11
sorrowfulkiller
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170439
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Vehicle:
I <3 Lamp

Default

aem makes a gaugeless wideband now too. one plus side vsthe lc-1 is you don't need to free air calibrate the aem.
sorrowfulkiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:32 AM   #12
Dude313
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299352
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sorrowfulkiller View Post
aem makes a gaugeless wideband now too. one plus side vsthe lc-1 is you don't need to free air calibrate the aem.
I think i did see that one online too. It was a lot cheaper than the innovative. It was for sale on jscspeed for $135 but out of stock. Is that the same kit you are talking about?
Dude313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:39 AM   #13
ProfessWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 323379
Join Date: Jun 2012
Vehicle:
06 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude313 View Post
I could not find a definitive answer on this yet so I figured I would just ask and see if anyone could help. I was looking into purchasing a Prosport Premium series white needle wide band kit. I read that you cannot data log using this gauge. I called Prosport and they said you can data log. You need to connect a wire to the stock ecu by tapping into the wire from the stock O2 censor. I also read this online but did not see anyone saying it is definitely possible. Prosport then said that they have not had anyone confirm that it is possible yet and they are waiting on someone to confirm it for them. Has anyone done this? Is it worth it?
I personally will always avoid splicing into the wiring harness to the ECM/PCM.
I don't know the cost of the wideband you're looking at, but I got an LC-1 for $175 with a gage (throwaway gauge for me). That's cheap as far as I'm know.
ProfessWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:47 AM   #14
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude313 View Post
The entire reason for this site is to share information. No one should need tough skin to to ask questions. Please look at all of your posts. They are the same. You attack people for asking questions and call them stupid. You are the reason sites like this one get bad reputations. We have all seen the move and we know O'doyle's rule. Now move on to someone else's post. I am sure someone new has already posted a question that makes you mad. How dare someone asks a question while the black94snake is online! Go get em!
The thing that most newbies don't understand is you don't always have to ask a question to get information,especially when the information has already been shared over,and over,and over,and over. Kinda like the "what's the best intake/BOV?" questions. Ideally search first and then if the info is not found or inconclusive then start a thread. The info is covered in Romraider's FAQ's on which wideband works. Amazing right?
http://www.romraider.com/Documentati...aiderFAQ#toc62 There is a difference between asking an intelligent and "educated" question and just being plain lazy and wanting to be spoonfed every single piece of information while doing no work yourself. NASIOC helps those who help themselves...........

Anyways a quick Google search shows a basic LC-1s going for around $115 new. You will also need a serial to USB adapter. Runs about $15.

Last edited by quazimoto; 12-19-2012 at 08:54 AM.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 10:41 AM   #15
Dude313
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299352
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
Silver

Default

Thanks for the input. I am glad you were able to get some bits of info out at the end there. Thats what I was looking for. I did do research and did read the romraider posts. My original posts says that I could not find a definitive answer. Which according to your advice, if inconclusive then start a thread. Some of the threads I read people said it was possible and some said it was not. Also a lot of the posts were outdated. I thought maybe in the last couple years someone may have developed a way to make it work. I respect the knowledge that most people have on this site. I spend hours each day reading post on this site and others. That doesnt mean I'm going to know the answer to everything. Which is why I asked for help. I am sure that if we go back into the history of everyones posts we will find a similar threads that you started asking for help.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=682910

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=791076

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=688603

Can we move past the "newbie" bashing yet? Is anyone else having a bad day and needs to scold me?
Dude313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:01 PM   #16
Dude313
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 299352
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
Silver

Default

Dude313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 08:53 AM   #17
ericdet
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 327563
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Vehicle:
2005 LGT SDN & WGN
OBP & ABP

Default

After a full month of hassle. I sold the pro sport for an aem. Had it logging correctly within an hour. Prosport gauges are nice but I'd steer clear of their wideband.
ericdet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 10:15 PM   #18
spinningcain
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176490
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Vegas
Vehicle:
2005 STI
WRB

Default

Na there all crap
spinningcain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 06:00 PM   #19
WRXmeinMD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 354904
Join Date: Apr 2013
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Dundalk MD
Vehicle:
03 Wrx
MBP

Default

To bring this back from the dead, how is the gauge inacurate? Doesnt the gauge display the values from a heated o2 sensor just like the factory one to the ecu or a Innovate Lc1? Perhaps im wrong or theres something im missing.... If anyone can answer this please chime in.
WRXmeinMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 07:15 PM   #20
JonnyV2889
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 197384
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MWV NH
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Ltd
OBP

Default

Cheap components = inferior results.

As for a lc-1, etc a voltage range can be applied/changed via software for a specific gauge.
JonnyV2889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 10:51 PM   #21
WRXmeinMD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 354904
Join Date: Apr 2013
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Dundalk MD
Vehicle:
03 Wrx
MBP

Default

@ Jonny, so youre saying that Prosports Gauge not the sensor itself us equipped with shotty components? I used to have a Innovate LM1 so I know about the ability to change voltage its just that the Prosport came with the car and Innovate charges $250ish for theirs.
WRXmeinMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 11:12 PM   #22
freddy121389
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 294644
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Washington DC
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Agile Auto
DGM 480whp 468wtq

Default

freddy121389 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 12:02 AM   #23
JonnyV2889
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 197384
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MWV NH
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Ltd
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXmeinMD View Post
@ Jonny, so youre saying that Prosports Gauge not the sensor itself us equipped with shotty components? I used to have a Innovate LM1 so I know about the ability to change voltage its just that the Prosport came with the car and Innovate charges $250ish for theirs.
I honestly have never had a prosport in my hands or seen one in person. I was just going off a few posts ahead of yours that said the gauges are junk.

Just a general statement, electronic components can very greatly in quality, speed, reliability, etc.

I personally am running a LC-1 which I tie into romraider logs for tuning. I believe it was ~180 two years ago w/ the cheaper gauge, not the XD. Plus the usb-serial.
JonnyV2889 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 05:24 PM   #24
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericdet View Post
Prosport gauges are nice but I'd steer clear of their wideband.
No they're not, Prosport everything is crap

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXmeinMD View Post
To bring this back from the dead, how is the gauge inacurate? Doesnt the gauge display the values from a heated o2 sensor just like the factory one to the ecu or a Innovate Lc1?
Yes, and the sensor, heater controller, current meter, and all other parts of the Prosport wideband system are crap.

Prosport is like the K-mart of gauge manufacturers. Sure it might kind of work, somewhat, for a little while, but it's not going to be either accurate or reliable in the long term.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:17 PM   #25
WRXmeinMD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 354904
Join Date: Apr 2013
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Dundalk MD
Vehicle:
03 Wrx
MBP

Default

I hear ya so I guess Ill be looking into getting a LC1....
WRXmeinMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.