Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > General Community

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2012, 06:26 AM   #1
Aaron'z 2.5RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1026
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hickigan
Vehicle:
'00 RS/WRX Stg5
'98 RS Stock

Default Why THIS site?? Computer guys, please a moment..

So I've got this odd problem... It ONLY happens with THIS site...

Whenever I am here, scrolling is screwed up... I scroll down a page and it pasuses, then scrolls, but when it DOES, it's like it picks up 50 copies of the toolbar across the bottom of the screen... (but only sometimes)

I'll roll my scroll wheel on my mouse and it's like it's out of control, it'll scroll, pause, scroll, pause, scroll(all the time)... all the while covering everything with "toolbars" I can run my cursor over the bars and SOME go away, some don't..

After a few seconds (sometimes MUCH longer) it rights itself/finishes loading the page or whatever is going on...

WTH is goin on...

I'm getting so fed up with this, been going on for MONTHS...


HALP
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Aaron'z 2.5RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 06:35 AM   #2
Aaron'z 2.5RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1026
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hickigan
Vehicle:
'00 RS/WRX Stg5
'98 RS Stock

Default

Ok, not just this site, but it's the worst here for sure...

I can help with suspension and transmission, but when it comes to the computer, I know enough to get myself in trouble...lol..

Thank you for any suggestion
Aaron'z 2.5RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:09 AM   #3
KJEcho88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 326324
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Westfield, Ma
Vehicle:
09 Wrx
DGM

Default

How old is your computer? It sounds like a low memory issue.
KJEcho88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:54 AM   #4
m1r4g3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 220476
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Racine
Vehicle:
2--> 06 STI & 12 Leg
WRB & SWP

Default

You need moar ram
m1r4g3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 07:58 AM   #5
mrkyle3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 272675
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Hershey, PA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
2004 Miata

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron'z 2.5RS
So I've got this odd problem... It ONLY happens with THIS site...

Whenever I am here, scrolling is screwed up... I scroll down a page and it pasuses, then scrolls, but when it DOES, it's like it picks up 50 copies of the toolbar across the bottom of the screen... (but only sometimes)

I'll roll my scroll wheel on my mouse and it's like it's out of control, it'll scroll, pause, scroll, pause, scroll(all the time)... all the while covering everything with "toolbars" I can run my cursor over the bars and SOME go away, some don't..

After a few seconds (sometimes MUCH longer) it rights itself/finishes loading the page or whatever is going on...

WTH is goin on...

I'm getting so fed up with this, been going on for MONTHS...

HALP
List computer specs.

What version of windows?

What browser?
mrkyle3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:07 AM   #6
fancyfootwork15
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 262503
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5i

Default

Delete your cookies and cache. Then if you haven't already switch to a fresh version of Firefox or Chrome.
fancyfootwork15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:54 AM   #7
equiraptor
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 300017
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Limited
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fancyfootwork15 View Post
Delete your cookies and cache. Then if you haven't already switch to a fresh version of Firefox or Chrome.
This.

Make sure Flash, etc. are updated. Some of the ads here (and elsewhere) use Flash. If it's a poorly written ad, bugs in the ad can cause issues with the browser window. Newer versions of Flash help with this, but of course, new bugs are constantly being introduced, too, so it's a never-ending update race.

If it keeps happening after all of this, check for updates to things like your graphics drivers. I know that sounds odd, but I'm currently stuck on a buggy graphics driver version on my Windows box at work. The graphics driver will cause various issues, from browser windows (particularly in Chrome) not scrolling correctly, to a full-on graphics driver crash, where all screens will go blank for a couple of seconds, and then reset themselves (thankfully, Windows can at least restart the graphics driver these days. In older versions of Windows, that would have required a reboot to correct).
equiraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:04 AM   #8
zachc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 323954
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Knoxville, TN
Vehicle:
2012 WRX sedan
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

Happens to me too only with internet explorer. I use Firefox now and it doesn't happen.
zachc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:13 AM   #9
Decipher
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 262760
Join Date: Nov 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Lake in the Hills, ILLnoise
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Hatch Limtd
Satin White Pearl

Default

Thanks for the solid advice. I guess I've been neglecting my computer a little bit. Will give all this a go and see if it helps. I've been encountering the exact same issues.
Decipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:33 AM   #10
Aaron'z 2.5RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1026
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hickigan
Vehicle:
'00 RS/WRX Stg5
'98 RS Stock

Default

Thanks for the suggestions guys... I'll go through and check things..

The computers a few years old Dell laptop
Vista home premimum 64bit (needed a reformat all a friend had)
intel core duo T7250 2Ghz
3g RAM
I usually run IE for browsing..


Lemme give the cache and cookies a shot first...

Last edited by Aaron'z 2.5RS; 12-30-2012 at 10:47 AM.
Aaron'z 2.5RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:42 AM   #11
Aaron'z 2.5RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1026
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hickigan
Vehicle:
'00 RS/WRX Stg5
'98 RS Stock

Default

Cleared cache/history/temp all that...

It's still happening... this is what I see...

Aaron'z 2.5RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:45 AM   #12
fancyfootwork15
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 262503
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5i

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron'z 2.5RS View Post
Cleared cache/history/temp all that...

It's still happening... this is what I see...
Still running IE? Firefox or Chrome are the way to go. I personally prefer Chrome, but then again i'm also on a mac.
fancyfootwork15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:51 AM   #13
Aaron'z 2.5RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1026
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hickigan
Vehicle:
'00 RS/WRX Stg5
'98 RS Stock

Default

I'm not a fan of firefox, I used to be, but maybe I'm just slow, it bothers me though... stupid things like not being able to sort my favorties right and whatnot... I'm sure that's more opperator error though...

I hate to say it, but I think I'm getting............. old
Aaron'z 2.5RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:53 AM   #14
fancyfootwork15
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 262503
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5i

Default

Is your IE fully updated?
fancyfootwork15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:56 AM   #15
findurpath
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 277487
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bozeman, MT and Lakewood, WA
Vehicle:
2006 CGM WRX Limited
6sp, 18G, Phatron tuned

Default

It would be worth checking your video drivers too to make sure they are updated.
findurpath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:58 AM   #16
fancyfootwork15
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 262503
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza 2.5i

Default

My best guess is that you have some sort of malware affecting IE. Considering IE royally sucks this is why I suggested a fresh install of Firefox or Chrome. Then once you switch over, set IE to block all incoming cookies and auto delete all files after closing.

Are you having any other computer issues?
fancyfootwork15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 10:58 AM   #17
Djent
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 335681
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Default

Have you tried turning your computer off and on again?
Djent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 11:06 AM   #18
Aaron'z 2.5RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1026
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Hickigan
Vehicle:
'00 RS/WRX Stg5
'98 RS Stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fancyfootwork15 View Post
Is your IE fully updated?
Not 100% on that...

Quote:
Originally Posted by findurpath View Post
It would be worth checking your video drivers too to make sure they are updated.
Not 100% how to do that..

Quote:
Originally Posted by fancyfootwork15 View Post
My best guess is that you have some sort of malware affecting IE. Considering IE royally sucks this is why I suggested a fresh install of Firefox or Chrome. Then once you switch over, set IE to block all incoming cookies and auto delete all files after closing.

Are you having any other computer issues?
I would have to agree with you there... I know IE sucks, but it seemed easier for what I was doing at the time, looks like a switch is in order...

It shuts down on it's own from time to time... I usually leave it running.. and it hibernates..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djent View Post
Have you tried turning your computer off and on again?
This morning.. That's the "age old" windows fix...lol... shut it down and start over.. but thank you..



Well, it looks like it's just more me than anything... I'm REALLY good with some things, this isn't one of them... I know enough to get myself in trouble...


Thank you fellas (ladies if any)
Aaron'z 2.5RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 11:23 AM   #19
mrkyle3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 272675
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Hershey, PA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
2004 Miata

Default

Don't use IE. Widely considered the worst browser. If you don't like firefox then download google chrome.
mrkyle3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 11:27 AM   #20
dribbler
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 310371
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Vehicle:
007 Subanger

Default

before you go and do any crazy ****. look at the bottom of the page. do you have the tab for the chatrooms? close that **** out. had the same problem until i figured out it was the chatroom bar at the bottom

edit: looking at your pics you can see its the chatroom bar scattered up and down the screen. far right on the bar there is an arrow to close it. there will still be the chat bubble there that will still lag but it isnt nearly as bad as the entire bar.
dribbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 11:54 AM   #21
StackSmasher
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316928
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: TX
Vehicle:
2012 STI limited

Default

Its not malware or a setting problem its the way IE renders this site. Switch browsers OP . You may also try switching to compatibility mode in IE for this site.
StackSmasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 12:53 PM   #22
equiraptor
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 300017
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Limited
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron'z 2.5RS View Post
Not 100% on that...



Not 100% how to do that..
Updating both IE and your video card drivers (or graphics drivers) can be done through the standard Windows/Microsoft update. You should be able to find it under the Start menu, or go to update.microsoft.com (that should redirect you as needed - I'm in OS X, so can't tell you exactly). Software not from Microsoft will be updated in various other ways. Generally, check the menus and configuration (settings) screens for the piece of software and look for "updating" related options. Dig around with it and you'll find it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron'z 2.5RS View Post
Well, it looks like it's just more me than anything... I'm REALLY good with some things, this isn't one of them... I know enough to get myself in trouble...
The secret to being good with computers is trying things (and reading documentation from time to time). Be cautious about deleting things, but don't hesitate to look through menus and configurations. Explore, and if you find words you either don't recognize or that don't make sense in that context, look them up with Google. You can do a lot of looking around and learning without actually changing or hurting anything. Once you start to understand the words in the context they're used, making changes becomes a lot less intimidating, as you start to understand what's going on.
equiraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 01:47 PM   #23
bigdog826
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 314841
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS
Black

Default

this happened to me ALL THE TIME with IE, rather than try to fix the problem, its much simpler to just switch to chrome, ive never had a problem since i went chrome
bigdog826 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:37 PM   #24
m1r4g3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 220476
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Racine
Vehicle:
2--> 06 STI & 12 Leg
WRB & SWP

Default

stop watching porn?
m1r4g3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:46 PM   #25
Notyab
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56028
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St Louis
Vehicle:
2013 Veloster Turbo
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1r4g3 View Post
stop watching porn?
what the hell is wrong with you.
Notyab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.