Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday October 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2012, 07:28 PM   #1
I--RIDE--BIKES
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 279176
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Vehicle:
2006 Sti
SGM

Default Defi advance BF issue.

Well i just finished installing my new Defi advance control unit V2, BF advance boost, oil pressure and egt gauges.

The blue light on the control box lights up a constant blue which shows that the power wire is wired correctly. The gauges all light up fine and work with the controllers features. (none of the peak or warning lights are flashing to indicate a wiring issue with the gauges).

The issue is that my gauges aren't reading accurately at all. The egt gauge doesn't even move until I have been driving for a while, the boost gauge needle dances around and reads .5-1 bar at idle (and never shows the correct boost), and the oil pressure gauge has a mind of its own.

I put all the sensors in just the same way I did with my previous Defi red racers so im confident that the sensors are good, as well as all the wiring.

Im thinking its a control box malfunction. warranty possibly.

Has anyone else had a similar issue? Thoughts?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
I--RIDE--BIKES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:39 AM   #2
I--RIDE--BIKES
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 279176
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Vehicle:
2006 Sti
SGM

Default

Anyone have an idea?
I--RIDE--BIKES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 10:18 AM   #3
tuzzio
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 292532
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Southwick, Ma
Vehicle:
05 STI
PSM

Default

I honestly have no idea. However, I have two controllers sitting here. One bnib and one used, I'm no help, but if they won't warranty your controller, PM me and I'll give you a deal
tuzzio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 11:20 PM   #4
TwinscrollGT35R
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 256810
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Default

You have the sensors plugged into the right ports on the controller?
TwinscrollGT35R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 05:38 PM   #5
IlovemyRex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 99933
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fort Walton Beach, Fl
Vehicle:
05 OBXT
99 2.5 RS

Default

Here is a link for the manual. I would recommend downloading and troubleshooting your wiring. Also check the little sliders on the side of the controller to make sure they are in the correct position.

http://www.defi-shop.com/installation/manual/
IlovemyRex is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 02:19 AM   #6
MG rex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 341359
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Hatch
DGM

Default

Off topic but related. How were you able to power the control unit?
Im trying to correctly connect the wires but not working atm. Used fuse taps and attached them to the fuse box so no cutting any wires.
Help or suggestions appreciated
MG rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:17 AM   #7
tuzzio
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 292532
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Southwick, Ma
Vehicle:
05 STI
PSM

Default

Personally I would do as I have done and use the harness for the clock. Everyone seems to have wire tap issues lately
tuzzio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 01:27 PM   #8
TwinscrollGT35R
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 256810
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: International
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuzzio View Post
Personally I would do as I have done and use the harness for the clock. Everyone seems to have wire tap issues lately
Damn solar flares
TwinscrollGT35R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:00 PM   #9
I--RIDE--BIKES
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 279176
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Vehicle:
2006 Sti
SGM

Default

I ended up using the decks harness as well as the harness for the hazard switch. Now everything is working just fine.
I--RIDE--BIKES is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.