Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 16, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2013, 07:30 PM   #1
rleh22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 262051
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hood River, Oregon
Vehicle:
08 STI
red

Default help, STI wont rev over 3,000 rpm

I have an 08 Red STI that I bought with roughly 60,000 miles on it at the end of september. I found it at a dealer in Bend, OR, of course they didn't know any thing about the car. To make a long story short......The car is most definitely not stock. I don't think the dealer even knew that. From visual inspection and driving it, without pulling the car apart, I can see that it has an AEM intake, Turbo-back exhaust, no cat, and a racing clutch. Check engine light keeps coming on for emission code, obvious reason. So I bought an accessPort for obvious reason as well, and supposedly, per COBBtuning, I have the correct map for the car and I cant get the engine to rev over 3000 RPM's. All 4 cylinder misfire code are coming up. Before I got the accessPort the car was running great. They say its a mechanical error, so we cleaned the intake, and we are replacing the spark plugs, but I think theres more to this.........maybe the fuel injectors are not stock, or well, it could be anything. The car doesn't run right on any of the maps that are loaded on to the accessPort. I was thinking that a custom map was installed on the ECU, but I don't know...... Does any one have an idea of what to do, or has ran into this issue? The car was first bought in Washington state in the Poulsbo/Bremerton area, then was serviced at Briggsauto.com in manhattan, KS, then back to washington......sounds like a millitary guy.....I just need to know who tuned this car so we can keep troubleshooting. This might be a long shot to find out here on NASIOC but i figured it wouldn't hurt. The body is all stock so its a 08 red STI wagon and has tinted windows.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
rleh22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 08:27 PM   #2
moonrider_99
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 258628
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2009 WRX stg2-SOLD
2012 MS3

Default

All I have to say is under NO CIRCUMSTANCES you should have bought this car. It was severely abused and has probably developed some serious mechanical issues and was traded in because of those. Also, if the car was already flashed when you bought it, you would not have been able to install your AP on it. Ecutek locks the ECU and so does the AP (if the previous owner had one).

I won't even ask why you bought it because it will make no sense. Very bad decision.
moonrider_99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 08:33 PM   #3
pauli133
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 233261
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Herndon, VA, USA
Vehicle:
2005 Outback XT
Silver

Default

I'm surprised the dealer sold it, missing emissions equipment.
pauli133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:24 PM   #4
Leafy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 330625
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

It could have been open source tuned. Compression test it, if its ok, pay someone to tune it or learn to tune yourself. If you can get a stock intake that'll make everything much easier.
Leafy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 09:58 PM   #5
flores412
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 337037
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: CA
Vehicle:
03 wrx
black

Default

im no expert but id try and find a tuner around you and see if you can get a trailer, trailer it there and have'em look at it.
flores412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:11 PM   #6
Fir3Fighter
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316780
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Parkersburg, WV
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pauli133 View Post
I'm surprised the dealer sold it, missing emissions equipment.
In some states/cases it is illegal for a dealer to sell a vehicle without proper function equipment for emissions standards. <this equals a huge fine from the Govt.
As far as your car, I am sorry, but compression test and take it the nearest shop near you to get it looked at and get a tune if things aren't already shot, pray your not sol. Good Luck and hope it works out okay.
Fir3Fighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:15 PM   #7
rleh22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 262051
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hood River, Oregon
Vehicle:
08 STI
red

Default

I have not done a compression test yet, I'll try that, thanks for the advice Leafy.

Im sure it will come down to me getting it professional tuned, but just trying to figure out the problem my self.
rleh22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:20 PM   #8
flores412
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 337037
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: CA
Vehicle:
03 wrx
black

Default

kinda sounds like its in some sort of safety mode, you never know. the guy before you could of had it tuned and the tuner could have changed a setting that shouldnt have been touched and now its doing what your experiencing.
flores412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:29 PM   #9
nmlittlebigman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321409
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arrey, NM
Vehicle:
2011 WRX STi Sedan
WRB Stage II T.P. tuned

Default

Sounds like a limp mode. Was it giving a c.e.l before you installed the AP? If not When you married your AP it should have saved the tune that was on the ecu at the time. Could you reflash to that tune or unmarry the AP to put it back on there?
nmlittlebigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:30 AM   #10
Eric.s
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 281982
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Beaverton, Oregon
Vehicle:
2006 CGM Wrx-Sold
2013 SWP STi Sedan

Default

Do 08s have a valet key and is it possible that you are using one? Although the misfires are troubling, valet keys don't let the car rev higher than 3000rpm I believe.
Eric.s is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:55 AM   #11
Grimoire
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 181331
Join Date: Jun 2008
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Langley, BC
Vehicle:
2012 STI
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric.s View Post
Do 08s have a valet key and is it possible that you are using one? Although the misfires are troubling, valet keys don't let the car rev higher than 3000rpm I believe.
Not true. Valet keys only prevent access to the glove box. Using the valet key in the ignition will not affect performance at all.
Grimoire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:58 AM   #12
bmx045
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 262684
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wakefield, MA
Vehicle:
2011 MCS

Default

it probably had a custom map on before you switched to the AP. furthermore you neglected to read the clearly stated instructions for the AP maps- STOCK INTAKE REQUIRED. unmarry it and see if the misses go away. compression test never hurts. since it's all 4 cyl misfire its probably air or fuel related
bmx045 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:14 PM   #13
rleh22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 262051
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hood River, Oregon
Vehicle:
08 STI
red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx045 View Post
it probably had a custom map on before you switched to the AP. furthermore you neglected to read the clearly stated instructions for the AP maps- STOCK INTAKE REQUIRED. unmarry it and see if the misses go away. compression test never hurts. since it's all 4 cyl misfire its probably air or fuel related
i dont have a stock intake map on then AP, i understand the directions very clearly, when i switched it back to "stock" i was refering to non stage 1 91 and stage 2 91. so the "stock" AEM intake, fuel economy, map. i understand clearly that a stock intake, takes a different map.
rleh22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:31 PM   #14
bmx045
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 262684
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wakefield, MA
Vehicle:
2011 MCS

Default

I should've said, OTS maps are stick intake. either way, revert to old map and see if misses go away
bmx045 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 03:59 PM   #15
SeeeeeYa
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 129681
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: WV
Vehicle:
2014 FXT Touring
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx045 View Post
I should've said, OTS maps are stick intake. either way, revert to old map and see if misses go away
Cobb has had OTS maps for the AEM CAI since MY '08.

OP, you have verified that the rev limiter isn't involved?

Also that the MAF sensor isn't in "backwards?" Happens.

Does it idle OK?

You're right about suspecting the injectors. When replacing your plugs they will give a clue. Lots of cars from that area of the US use E85, thus big injectors. If it ran OK when you got it someone had put an OS tune on it and no Cobb OTS map will work. If the plugs are black that would be a clue. Is there any indication the injectors have been replaced? Like missing brackets, etc?

IF they are big injectors you can still use Cobb maps... you'll just have to set up the injectors with ATR. Logs would be good.
SeeeeeYa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:00 PM   #16
NoGraffix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 276209
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Windy City
Vehicle:
I am Rub
Function>Form

Default

You need to get an tune for the parts you have on there. Since you already know your car is littered with aftermarket parts (to what extent you don't even know), why would you even waste your time with some OTS map when it's pretty likely you aren't meeting those map parameters for which modifications are acceptable?
NoGraffix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 01:04 PM   #17
chitownej
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 267793
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St Charles IL
Vehicle:
2007 WRX 320HP/320TQ
CGM

Default

It probably doesn't rev over 3k because previous owner built it and raced a lot and its from a rev limiter or launch control of some sort. Still shocked a dealer sold you that kinda car! Good luck bud
chitownej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:57 PM   #18
rleh22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 262051
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Hood River, Oregon
Vehicle:
08 STI
red

Default

It was the fuel injectors.........
rleh22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.