Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday November 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Subaru Models > Impreza Forum

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2012, 02:51 PM   #26
Chicago77
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214488
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western Mass
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

I read all this but, I am still slightly confused. I have a 2013 wrx and older rex rims that I am trying to put snows on. So my questions:

1) Are there senors that will match the factory freq. that dont require buying the expensive programer - do they work with '13? Or do they only need to be programed once by subaru/orther.

2) Has anyone figured out a nifty way to kill that light? I ask because there is a sequence on my dads civic to kill the maintenance required light.

Ill probably just send up solving the problem with a little bit of black electrical tape #PoorCollegeStudent. It's annoying they have to put all these useless gagets on. I really want to meet the person that thought sticking wireless, battery powered, pressure sensors - that have to be reprogramed - on the outside of a car was a good idea.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Chicago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 02:53 PM   #27
Zeeper
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 299286
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Upstate NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRX CVT
White

Default

I used dark smoke window tint, the light is still visible, at night, but much less annoying and is virtually invisible during the day.

You can buy a small sheet on ebay for $2, and it is repositionable and removable.

I am wondering when some bright person will create a little device that sends a false TPMS signal to fool the car into thinking the sensors are present and working. It can't be long before someone cashes in, if they haven't already...
Zeeper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 03:06 PM   #28
aeoporta
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 334126
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New York
Vehicle:
2013 5mt Sp Premium
Venetian Red & Dark Gray

Default

1: you can get sensors that you can program to match the factory sensors however you have to buy those sensors and the pad that works with them to program up the sensor id. the ez sensors and ez sensor pads are what would be needed

The only reason you would go to the dealership is if you got regular tpms sensors and wanted those programmed into your car.

The 3rd option is the ateq quickset device. You would purchase regular tpms sensors with your wheels and program the computer in your car yourself therefore you would not need to go to the dealership. The catch is the ateq software is tempermental and you should get the latest version from ateq site. I used this option on my last car a 2009 accord whenever I switched tires for summer and winter.

2: ignore it or do what zeeper said.

Hey zeeper If I pass you on 87 send a shout out, heading to schenectady in a bit
aeoporta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 04:05 PM   #29
Chicago77
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214488
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western Mass
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeeper View Post
I used dark smoke window tint, the light is still visible, at night, but much less annoying and is virtually invisible during the day.

You can buy a small sheet on ebay for $2, and it is repositionable and removable.

I am wondering when some bright person will create a little device that sends a false TPMS signal to fool the car into thinking the sensors are present and working. It can't be long before someone cashes in, if they haven't already...
Device to fool it. About half way through there is a diagram, but not sure it will work/be in the same place for newer years.

Has anyone tired ateq on 12 and 13... according to another forum post we have newer sensors that require a subaru master someting (dont remember the exact name) but any way most shops dont have them hence why you need to go to a dealer to reprogram cars computer. I cant speak on the quality of this info. Can anyone confirm?

Last edited by Chicago77; 12-21-2012 at 04:11 PM.
Chicago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 07:26 PM   #30
Rememo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 340728
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza 5-spd

Default

I stumbled across these guys while reading through an Outback forum:

http://www.orange-electronic.com/en/...e_sensor_.html

They are programmable. You use their tool to read your current sensors, and then program the new sensors to match.

When the guy bought a set for his Outback in 2011 he paid $120 for the sensors, but I didn't find any information on how much he paid for the tool.

If you want to read what he had to say about them (note that his links are all dead, since Orange changed their URL):

http://www.subaruoutback.org/forums/368736-post1.html

Looks like the programmable sensor part number for the Impreza is SP101, but there is no information on their website regarding simple sensors.

Unfortunately, they don't offer web based ordering. I might give them a call to find out what's available.
Rememo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:35 PM   #31
Chicago77
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214488
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Western Mass
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Thanks for all the info. I think Im going to call around to some local garages and see if they have a programer for OPSS's, maybe Ill get lucky.
Chicago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:58 PM   #32
Guzzi 1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338666
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Northeast Ohio
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Limited
SWP/Blk Leather CVT

Default

Posted this question in another thread also, but if I understand correctly, the 2013's not only detect pressure but register motion. My question is if they are delete on a set of winter wheels and tires, are other systems adversly affected, such as the traction control and/or stability control?

(I have a set of '03 rims with winter rubber on the car as of yesterday w/o sensors.)

John

edit: I realize there are warning lights for those other systems. I can't help but wonder how they integrate together, or if they even do.

Last edited by Guzzi 1; 01-20-2013 at 06:17 PM.
Guzzi 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:52 PM   #33
aeoporta
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 334126
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New York
Vehicle:
2013 5mt Sp Premium
Venetian Red & Dark Gray

Default

Lack of tpms sensors has no effect on traction control unlike other cars in which you can't disable traction control if tpms sensors are not programmed
aeoporta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:51 PM   #34
Guzzi 1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338666
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Northeast Ohio
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Limited
SWP/Blk Leather CVT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeoporta View Post
Lack of tpms sensors has no effect on traction control unlike other cars in which you can't disable traction control if tpms sensors are not programmed
Thanks.

John
Guzzi 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:34 PM   #35
Guzzi 1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338666
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Northeast Ohio
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Limited
SWP/Blk Leather CVT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeoporta View Post
Lack of tpms sensors has no effect on traction control unlike other cars in which you can't disable traction control if tpms sensors are not programmed
Had the day off so I went to the dealer for the first oil change. Just an FYI, the above statement from aeoporta is correct for anybody wondering. I asked the service manager and he verified that lack of TPMS sensors do not interfear with anything else. I did inquire with the parts manager as to the cost of the sensors. (I do not know if 2013 and 2012 are the same or not.) He said the sensors are $77.xx each for anybody wanting to know. They cannot be cloned either, so you would have to get them synced each time you change the wheels. Note that these would be the factory sensors. Soooooooo, if you really cannot stand the light on the dash, now you know.

John
Guzzi 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:44 PM   #36
myrt1987
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 323103
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: toms river, nj
Vehicle:
2012 Limited 2.0i
Dreamy Gray Mistress

Default

That sucks. Is it cheap to get synced? can you do it yourself? what are people with 2 sets of wheels doing? bearing the light 6 months of the year or resyncing every time?

i may be getting a new set of wheels soon.
myrt1987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:55 PM   #37
Guzzi 1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338666
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Northeast Ohio
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Limited
SWP/Blk Leather CVT

Default

I didn't bother asking what they charge. I don't have 300 bucks right now to add to the stuff I just bought. For now I, like many others here, are living with the light on the dash, or putting a piece of black tape in the line of sight.

Maybe if I get something back from Uncle Sam at tax time, I'll pull the trigger on sensors. My buddy has one light up on his car last year and warned him of a low tire. It was a good thing at the time as we were 90 miles from home, so I do appreciate having it on the dash. Just not 300 bucks worth right now. The service manager also added that many of their customers simply live with the light for the duration or running the winter setup.

John
Guzzi 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:46 PM   #38
Zeeper
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 299286
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Upstate NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRX CVT
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgoldste01 View Post
Apparently, NYS does not fail an inspection due to the TPMS light:

http://www.audizine.com/forum/showth...estion-on-TPMS

And I read in another thread that PA is the same way.
The local tire dealer where I bought my rims said in NY State they don't require the TPMS light to be off to pass inspection this year, but probably will next year.

I swapped my tires and moved my inspection one month earlier (due in Dec, done in Nov) so next year I get my inspection then mount my snows (without TPMS).
Zeeper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:14 PM   #39
Mgeorge8
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342878
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myrt1987 View Post
That sucks. Is it cheap to get synced? can you do it yourself? what are people with 2 sets of wheels doing? bearing the light 6 months of the year or resyncing every time?

i may be getting a new set of wheels soon.
I got winter tires put on with tpms and tirerack said they MUST be programmed by dealer. I learned this the hard way by spending a few hours at STS while they tried to figure it out. The Subaru dealer wants $50 to program all four tires.
Mgeorge8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:24 PM   #40
sgoldste01
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322264
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Webster, NY
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Sp 5sp
Obs Blk Prl/Drk Gray Mtl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgeorge8 View Post
The Subaru dealer wants $50 to program all four tires.
This is precisely why I don't intend to ever put TPMS sensors in my winter wheels. I'll be damned if I'm going to pay $100/year + time/gas/inconvenience to have the dealer program my sensors. Subaru's system is stupid, so my solution is to live with the light 4.5 months/year.

When I was researching this issue, I think I found a TPMS system that allows you to clone a 2nd set of sensors to match the 1st set. But this system seemed complex and expensive, so I didn't bother with it.

As much as I complain about my previous Golf TDI, this is one thing that VW did very well. The VW system can recognize both sets of sensors automatically. So when I bought snow tires/wheels for the TDI, I was willing to put sensors in them to keep the dashboard light turned off. I simply switched wheels 2x/year, and I never saw the TPMS light. No trip to the VW dealership required. At least not for the TPMS sensors. Of course, that car gave me many other reasons to visit the dealership. But the TPMS system was rock solid.
sgoldste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:37 PM   #41
sgoldste01
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322264
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Webster, NY
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Sp 5sp
Obs Blk Prl/Drk Gray Mtl

Default

Here's the cloning TPMS sensor info I mentioned in my previous post:

http://www.subaruoutback.org/forums/...s-sensors.html
sgoldste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 05:19 PM   #42
Rememo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 340728
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza 5-spd

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgoldste01 View Post
Here's the cloning TPMS sensor info I mentioned in my previous post:

http://www.subaruoutback.org/forums/...s-sensors.html

See post #30 for info. on Orange-electronic.com
Rememo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:29 PM   #43
subaru604
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 219225
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New York City
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

What's TPMS ?
subaru604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 06:46 PM   #44
dhlee528
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 337395
Join Date: Nov 2012
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza SP Ltd
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subaru604 View Post
What's TPMS ?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tire-pr...itoring_system
dhlee528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:38 PM   #45
BayAreaSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342924
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Oaktown
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza Sp Lim
Satin white pearl

Default

I've done quite a bit of research on this issue recently since I just put on new wheels and tires on my 2013.

So the only ones that can initialize new TPMS sensors in a Subaru dealership or service center. I ordered my new wheels and tires with new TPMS sensor installed through Tirerack and had them drop shipped to Wheelworks hoping that they could put them on and initialize the TPMS sensors, but they couldn't get them to register.

If you have a service center near you as opposed to a dealership they'll probably be much cheaper that the dealership. I called a bunch of dealerships in my area when I was looking and all of them wanted between $140-$150 to do it! I finally called a service center located in SF and they did if for $65.

Luckily I don't need to swap to winter tires every year so I was ok with paying that, but damn if I had to do it every year!

Apparently Subaru and Toyota have a proprietary system that only their dealerships and service centers can initialize TPMS sensors. They definitely need to get rid of that bs.

Last edited by BayAreaSubie; 01-23-2013 at 07:39 PM. Reason: typos
BayAreaSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:48 PM   #46
Zeeper
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 299286
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Upstate NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRX CVT
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BayAreaSubie View Post
I've done quite a bit of research on this issue recently since I just put on new wheels and tires on my 2013.

So the only ones that can initialize new TPMS sensors in a Subaru dealership or service center. I ordered my new wheels and tires with new TPMS sensor installed through Tirerack and had them drop shipped to Wheelworks hoping that they could put them on and initialize the TPMS sensors, but they couldn't get them to register.

If you have a service center near you as opposed to a dealership they'll probably be much cheaper that the dealership. I called a bunch of dealerships in my area when I was looking and all of them wanted between $140-$150 to do it! I finally called a service center located in SF and they did if for $65.

Luckily I don't need to swap to winter tires every year so I was ok with paying that, but damn if I had to do it every year!

Apparently Subaru and Toyota have a proprietary system that only their dealerships and service centers can initialize TPMS sensors. They definitely need to get rid of that bs.
Well if this is all true (and I have no reason to doubt it) I am doubly glad that I did my inspection one month early so I can get my annual inspection before I install my TPMSless snow tires.

I only go to the dealer for recalls at this point, no way I would pay them twice a year just to deal with the TPMS sensors.

I'm assuming, and hope I am right, that when I take my OEM tires and rims and remount them in a few months the OEM TPMS sensors and car will reconnect without any issue and the light will go away.
Zeeper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:53 PM   #47
sgoldste01
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322264
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Webster, NY
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Sp 5sp
Obs Blk Prl/Drk Gray Mtl

Default

In NY, a TPMS light does not fail an inspection. So don't worry about getting your car inspected with your winter tires installed in the future.
sgoldste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:56 PM   #48
Zeeper
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 299286
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Upstate NY
Vehicle:
2015 WRX CVT
White

Default

Not now, but I would not be so sure about the future. This is both a prediction based upon how NY State likes to stiffen vehicle inspection criteria, and also because the tire shop that mounted my snows told me that it is likely that the TPMS light will cause inspection issues next year -- by the way, they were not trying to upsell the TPMS valves, they agreed with me that not installing them was what they do for their own winter wheels.

Irrelevant for me. I inspected it in Nov, though it was due in Dec, so now my annual inspection will occur before my snows get mounted.

Last edited by Zeeper; 01-24-2013 at 03:08 PM.
Zeeper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:58 PM   #49
Mgeorge8
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342878
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BayAreaSubie View Post
I've done quite a bit of research on this issue recently since I just put on new wheels and tires on my 2013.

So the only ones that can initialize new TPMS sensors in a Subaru dealership or service center. I ordered my new wheels and tires with new TPMS sensor installed through Tirerack and had them drop shipped to Wheelworks hoping that they could put them on and initialize the TPMS sensors, but they couldn't get them to register.

If you have a service center near you as opposed to a dealership they'll probably be much cheaper that the dealership. I called a bunch of dealerships in my area when I was looking and all of them wanted between $140-$150 to do it! I finally called a service center located in SF and they did if for $65.

Luckily I don't need to swap to winter tires every year so I was ok with paying that, but damn if I had to do it every year!

Apparently Subaru and Toyota have a proprietary system that only their dealerships and service centers can initialize TPMS sensors. They definitely need to get rid of that bs.

Is that every time you swap out your tires or once the new ones are programmed once, they're good for the life of the tire?
Mgeorge8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:20 PM   #50
tsigeoff
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 314721
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Jersey
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Limited
SWP

Default

I just got new wheels from tirerack with new tpms installed for my 12 wrx. I just went to my local Monroe brakes and they did it for free. Took about 5 mins to get the codes into their handheld machine then programmed into the ecu. Easy as pie
tsigeoff is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.