Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday September 14, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Built Motor Discussion

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 09:54 PM   #1
tyrel.boyce
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 270178
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Bismarck ND
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRB
380HP stock motor HTA68

Default Speed Density

I know recently that cobb just came out with speed density for the wrxs and i am curiouse if anyone has dne this setup yet? i need to know what is all needed to run speed density ther than getting rid of your stock MAF.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
tyrel.boyce is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:30 PM   #2
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

Searching brought up nothing.
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:17 PM   #3
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Nothing extra is needed to run SD on a typical setup. High boost setups will require a MAP sensor that can read up to their target boost, but that's it. You do NOT want to get rid of your MAF sensor either, since SD is heavily dependent on IAT, which is integrated with your MAF. In fact you will want to re-locate your MAF sensor so that it is between the intercooler and the throttle body (if it isn't already) unless you've already installed an aftermarket IAT sensor in the manifold.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:31 PM   #4
rocketperson7
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 283968
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
MBP

Default

why somebody who owns an '02 would want Cobb's SD instead of the Carberry ROM baffles me
rocketperson7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:34 PM   #5
scby rex
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 104878
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: copperas cove
Vehicle:
02 wrxbastardchild
aw, MPS 2.34 breaking in

Default

you can wire the iat sensor into the maf wiring and ditch the maf sensor. Hello 4inch intake.

btw, probably should have this in the tuning section.
scby rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:29 AM   #6
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketperson7 View Post
why somebody who owns an '02 would want Cobb's SD instead of the Carberry ROM baffles me
Live tuning
Supported by many tuners (who tunes using cobb)
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:32 PM   #7
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuke209 View Post
Live tuningSupported by many tuners (who tunes using cobb)
That makes tuning SD a breeze.
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:22 PM   #8
belaud
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224449
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: VIC
Vehicle:
2012 Kit B STI
Midnight ???

Default

Having your IAT as close as possible to your throttle body is the way to go, you'll have very inaccurate temperature readings using the MAF situated right in front of your filter, best way to go if to find a P&P IAT, or re-wire in an IAT with the MAF harness.

You will also want to get a new MAP sensor that is much more capable than your stock one.

From what I understand, Cobb's SD also has a hybrid function where idling uses MAF, while x+ RPM uses SD, might want to contact them on how it works on further detail.
belaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:46 PM   #9
...CHUCKLES...
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 149674
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: at your moms
Vehicle:
2006 LimitLess STI
SGM

Default

You could buy a used V1 AEM standalone for around 500 bucks, map sensor 60 bucks and an AIT kit 60. Then you'll be set to do damn near anything you want. OR find out what your local tuner prefers to use.


But all that is needed to be speed density is : MAP, AIT, and Wideband o2 sensors.

I run nothing, but standalone's so I am bias. (I personally don't like the AP, but that's just me)
...CHUCKLES... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:16 PM   #10
binjoau
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259948
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Regina, Canada
Vehicle:
MPS 510 whp GTX35R
Long Rod Motor

Default

Position your IAT like this ......


binjoau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:57 AM   #11
tyrel.boyce
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 270178
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Bismarck ND
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRB
380HP stock motor HTA68

Default

okay thanx guys
tyrel.boyce is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:46 PM   #12
scby rex
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 104878
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: copperas cove
Vehicle:
02 wrxbastardchild
aw, MPS 2.34 breaking in

Default

My tuner wanted the iat right after the I/c. Might want to contact the tuner you going to use.
scby rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:44 PM   #13
abrumlev
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 197920
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indiana
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
ABP

Default

Binjoau was tuned by MPS. I'd say it's probably there for a reason lol.

Wishing someone would get opensource SD on 32 bit ECU's so I don't have to drop 500 on a AP
abrumlev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 03:48 PM   #14
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abrumlev View Post
Wishing someone would get opensource SD on 32 bit ECU's so I don't have to drop 500 on a AP
You mean like this?
http://romraider.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=37

I've been running it for a while now on my 05 STi, works great. Looks like support for the 05 LGT was added in November 2011.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:10 PM   #15
abrumlev
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 197920
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indiana
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
ABP

Default

*Climbs out from under rock*

Thanks dude ill read into it!!
abrumlev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 06:19 PM   #16
tyrel.boyce
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 270178
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Bismarck ND
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRB
380HP stock motor HTA68

Default

Everything was planned to go SD but now im having some kind of issue with my car going rich now, right when I hit boost my wideband will just peg 10. checked for vacumn leaks and fixed a couple but still hasent changed.
tyrel.boyce is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 11:43 PM   #17
Juice66
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 340526
Join Date: Dec 2012
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
s200sx/93oct

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by binjoau View Post
Position your IAT like this ......
Beautiful piping. Are those meth jets next to IAT?
And is that custom piping for reverse lgt manifold or a mps kit?

Last edited by Juice66; 07-08-2013 at 12:04 AM.
Juice66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 11:54 PM   #18
wrxsubiemod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 165104
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: name where you like it
Vehicle:
E85 SoCalPorting
Phatron tuned

Default

Very nice
wrxsubiemod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 12:02 PM   #19
TheBoz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64397
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Corona, CA USA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX STI
Steel Gray

Default

The hard part with putting your AIT sensor above the engine, is that it will heat soak. So you could see 140* temps on your AIT when your air charge is really only 110*. Pretty soon I am going to get a few new bungs welded into the intercooler pipe and change the location of my AIT sensor and test which one is the best.

I think right after the intercooler will be the best spot, but I don't have any data to support that yet.
TheBoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:53 PM   #20
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

I have mine and all of my customers mounted in the intake behind the throttle body. Heat soak is t anymore than if it was in the pipe. In fact I feel it's more accurate
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 05:08 PM   #21
bebesito21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176128
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I <3 E85
Vehicle:
5862 ...baby boosted

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuke209 View Post
Live tuning
Thank you...i was starting to think i was the only one that saw the huge value in this. The OS crowd poo poos on anything not OS lol

just wish the sample rate was higher on the COBB but i guess it already uses too many resources and the stock ecu cant keep up

my iat is mounted in the intercooler pipe just before the throttle in a nice straight section.
bebesito21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 07:46 PM   #22
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sidewayz View Post
I have mine and all of my customers mounted in the intake behind the throttle body. Heat soak is t anymore than if it was in the pipe. In fact I feel it's more accurate
The intake manifold?

I have mine directly in the mani right here and it heat soaks horribly. I might move it to the IC pipe pre-TB and compare the readings but my IM gets so damn hot that it skews the readings artificially high.

kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:04 PM   #23
05_wRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170097
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Vehicle:
2007 WRX STi PTE6266
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bebesito21 View Post

Thank you...i was starting to think i was the only one that saw the huge value in this. The OS crowd poo poos on anything not OS lol

just wish the sample rate was higher on the COBB but i guess it already uses too many resources and the stock ecu cant keep up

my iat is mounted in the intercooler pipe just before the throttle in a nice straight section.
Lol.

Mine is in the charge pipe about 4-5" upstream from the throttle body. Hot restarts after sitting for a little bit can be a little funky. Some extra start decay took care of it for the higher iat temps.

Btw, vipec is insanely awesome.
05_wRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:55 PM   #24
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellygnsd View Post

The intake manifold?

I have mine directly in the mani right here and it heat soaks horribly. I might move it to the IC pipe pre-TB and compare the readings but my IM gets so damn hot that it skews the readings artificially high.
I have my personal one up higher. Soak isn't a problem with mine. Ill have to post some logs
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 12:48 AM   #25
Tyrial
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 284392
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: North Charleston, SC
Vehicle:
2011 STI Limited
Plasma Blue Pearl

Default

ETS puts the bung about 6" prior to TB as does COBB when installing from scratch and other tuners I have seen do similar. I don't know if that's because on cars with IAT stock, that is the "usual" location or if it's actually the best spot, just something I've noticed over the years.
Tyrial is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.