Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday October 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Other Engine Management

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2010, 03:04 PM   #51
lennybootzz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 190811
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LONG ISLAND NY
Vehicle:
04 gt35r built
wrb sti

Default

Im having the same problem aem with kelford cams ! I rev to 6600 and boom same thing!!!
My car idles and start MINT drive awasome, just the rev to 6600 seem to be my only problem!!

So Me and my tunner filled down just a little tiny bit on bolth cams sensors, as well as the crank sensor last after reading this tread i showed to him.

Car stated up fine last night, i go to start my car this morning it starts then dies, doesnt idle , lots of poping (like its running rich).

so i pulled out all the sensors agian re connected them car ran like mint agian!!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by lennybootzz; 10-08-2010 at 08:28 PM.
lennybootzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 06:18 PM   #52
Razlin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 146635
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Aurora, ON
Vehicle:
06 WRX STI
Satin White Pearl +

Default

^ Hows it running now?
Razlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:21 PM   #53
05_wRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170097
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Vehicle:
2007 WRX STi PTE6266
OBP

Default

Any new info? I have a series 2 box that will randomly sync vvc1b (drivers side avcs) and work properly. Cam sensors are filed down. (Properly this time vs how one of them was from the shop I bought the car from. )

Swapped cam sensors around and both sensors are good.

When vvc1b isn't working, I get hesitation and fluctuation during light to medium throttle between 2000-3100 rpm. Randomly it will kick in and work properly. All ranges are very smooth when its working properly. As soon as the rpm drops below 1800 ish rpm, it cuts out and won't kick back in until it randomly decides to do so.

I am pretty tired of all this. I have spent more time troubleshooting this issue than actually enjoying the car. Probably why the guy I bought it from wanted without of his garage.
05_wRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 08:14 PM   #54
bigmike25rs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83924
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Vehicle:
2005 HTA 86 STi
10.66 @ 136 mph

Default

Wow. I forgot about this.. my car has been gone for 2 seasons now..
your issue sounds a bit different than mine was. It sounds like your AVCS is just cutting in and out. I can tell you that car is stumbling because the AVCS has to stay active to keep timing at 0 advance. It requires oil pressure to do so. You would not be able to just shut it off as the timing would drop to full retard and stay there (causing the issue I believe you're experiencing) maybe you have an issue with one of the solenoids. Try swapping the solenoids side to side and see if your bank changes. Its not hard at all to swap them. Just a 10mm bolt holding them in place. We see them act up all the time at the dealership and 99% of the time its just from dirty engine oil or some type of prior turbo/rod failure that left debris in the oil. I would go that route first.
bigmike25rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 08:46 PM   #55
05_wRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170097
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Vehicle:
2007 WRX STi PTE6266
OBP

Default

Passengers side is a pain. Still haven't gotten it yet. The car has 28k miles on it. As far as I know it hasn't blown up before. The drivers side (side with issues) solenoid looks brand spankin new. No signs of dirt or anything to indicate it's clogged. It moves freely. Would it be internal?

Last edited by 05_wRex; 02-19-2013 at 10:02 PM. Reason: spell check
05_wRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:40 PM   #56
05_wRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170097
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Vehicle:
2007 WRX STi PTE6266
OBP

Default

OK. Got them switched and it didn't change anything. Thanks for the suggestion. Aem called me back and said that the drivers side avcs (vvc1b) is providing values higher than the sensor is supposed to read. Vvc1 start and range are 1.902 and 2.328. Combined that is 4.230. Vvc1b start and range are 1.551 and 2.328. Combined is 3.879. This is the max value the aem unit will accept for the cam sensor. It will error out if it sees a number higher than that. Apparently the vvc1b sensor is providing a higher number than 3.879 most of the time. This causes the aem to error out and it defaults to vvc advance offset (my cal says 60.45*). This only happens to vvc1b. Sometimes it will be OK and everything will be running correct in aem tuner. Meaning both avcs sides are working as they should. If I let the idle drop below 1800 ish it errors out and vvc1b is back to acting up until it decides to come back online. Vvc1 never misses a beat and is always working properly.

Here's the thing. There was no change in behavior after switching cam sensors side to side. And when vvc1b does start working, its perfect, like nothing was ever wrong.

Aem has suggested that it could be a problem with the teeth/tooth/edge on the aftermarket cam itself giving a false reading or making it error out. Why would just one side do it?

Thanks for any help. I can email the log file I sent to aem if anyone wants to take a look.
05_wRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 11:03 AM   #57
0to115in11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140832
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

I have the EXACT same issue with my car (BC 280 cams with Series 2 AEM) and have the same values in my start/range! Did you ever figure out a solution!?
0to115in11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 11:24 AM   #58
0to115in11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140832
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

The only variable between the driver and passenger side is that the passenger side has an oil reducer for the turbo that causes higher oil pressure at idle on the passenger side
0to115in11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 03:06 PM   #59
05_wRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 170097
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Vehicle:
2007 WRX STi PTE6266
OBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0to115in11 View Post
The only variable between the driver and passenger side is that the passenger side has an oil reducer for the turbo that causes higher oil pressure at idle on the passenger side
Pm box full..
05_wRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:17 PM   #60
0to115in11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140832
Join Date: Feb 2007
Default

Cleaned out inbox.....
0to115in11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 01:58 AM   #61
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0to115in11 View Post
I have the EXACT same issue with my car (BC 280 cams with Series 2 AEM) and have the same values in my start/range! Did you ever figure out a solution!?
Last I heard 05_wRex fixed his problem by going to Vipec
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 07:38 PM   #62
06rexwagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 114730
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited Wag
9.9@142

Default

bump because my car just starting having the same issue. Passenger side is losing signal.
06rexwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 08:25 PM   #63
2000subie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 207638
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: kansas
Vehicle:
2004 stage 3 wrx
WRB

Default

I had this issue last year. Ended up taking a file to the sensor housing to bring it closer to the cam gears. It fixed the issue for me.
2000subie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Built motor not starting bad crank/cam signal with AEM EMS and kelford 272s? lester Engine Management & Tuning 10 08-19-2013 12:26 PM
Element Tuning HYDRA EMS 2.5 02-05 WRX w/ LAUNCH CONTROL dan avoN7 Engine/Power/Exhaust 27 06-03-2009 02:17 AM
AEM EMS w/uego 02-05 WRX only SuperClutch Engine/Power/Exhaust 1 06-25-2007 01:01 PM
Tuning AEM EMS on 02 REX ShadowWRX77 Engine Management & Tuning 5 05-09-2007 07:13 PM
aem ems 02-05 wrx (not STI) Silver Ra Exterior/Styling 0 01-11-2007 06:43 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.