Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 08:01 PM   #26
Peacewalker86
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 305790
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
WRB

Default

you can always try the PVC trick...
http://www.scionlife.com/forums/show...pms+inside+pvc
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Peacewalker86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:18 PM   #27
Web Foot STi
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 39086
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
2004 STi
White

Default

Some of you guys are missing the point. The TPMS system is designed to be very, Very, VERY hard to beat. Congressional mandate.

I'm not kidding. Blame Firestone and Ford...

Who can design against a piece of black electrical tape over the dash light though?
Web Foot STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:25 PM   #28
von Wachtstain
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52726
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: CT, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Web Foot STi View Post
Some of you guys are missing the point. The TPMS system is designed to be very, Very, VERY hard to beat. Congressional mandate.

I'm not kidding. Blame Firestone and Ford...

Who can design against a piece of black electrical tape over the dash light though?
You would be surprised. I think in Corvette if tire pressure sensor is on it will limit engine output. At least in Subaru you can ignore it.
von Wachtstain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:30 PM   #29
BigRob74
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 305107
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
360/386 E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghynes440 View Post
How much are these orange tpms?? Where can I get them
kinda want to know this. i will be getting my winter wheels next week and would like not to stare at that stupid light, although i kinda like the electrical tape idea
BigRob74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:31 PM   #30
Web Foot STi
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 39086
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
2004 STi
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by von Wachtstain View Post
You would be surprised. I think in Corvette if tire pressure sensor is on it will limit engine output. At least in Subaru you can ignore it.
Nope, not surprised. Just not into the gory details with all implementations. I said VERY hard...

They could govern the car to a 25 mph limp mode too.
Web Foot STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:07 PM   #31
thebigLB525
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333765
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightdown fox View Post
...or you can just spend $150 once and do it yourself over and over again with an ATEQ Quickset tool, which can be bought from Amazon.com here (ATEQ QuickSet TPMS Reset Tool : Amazon.com : Automotive).


Here's what I did when I ordered a winter tire/wheel set last week for my 2012 WRX (if you decide to just get sensors and get them installed in your tires):

I bought a set of Sparco/Enkei bronze Drifts with Micheline Alpin PA3s from TireRack. Asked them to put in the sensors and let me know the sensor IDs. Then I bought a ATEQ Quickset from Amazon. When the wheels arrived, I couldn't find the sensor IDs, so I had to call TireRack to get them (luckily they had them in the computer).

Plugged the Quickset into my OBD port, got my stock wheel sensor IDs, used the new ATEQ laptop interface which was a breeze (setup my car as a 2011 Impreza just in case), and loaded the new wheel IDs onto the box. (You can set the box up to have winter and summer sensor info). My TPMS light still stayed on.

So I read about the sensors having to be triggered because they're not turned on from TireRack to save battery power... went to Merchants tire and asked if they could go to the car with their 120mhz sensor triggering tool and just try each tire. 2 minutes later, they came in and said the light went off after they checked all four tires.


"TL;DR -- Cool Story Bro" version: If you decide to get the sensors for the light: Ateq Quickset works with the WRX/STi to switch between multiple wheels, new interface is a breeze, new sensors must be turned on once installed in the tires. The end.

Did you have any issues getting the Quickset to download the stock IDs off the On Board computer? I have a 2012 Impreza Sport and am having difficulty just getting the current IDs off my car.
thebigLB525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:10 PM   #32
nightdown fox
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 309636
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2015 STI LE
WRB on Gold!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thebigLB525

Did you have any issues getting the Quickset to download the stock IDs off the On Board computer? I have a 2012 Impreza Sport and am having difficulty just getting the current IDs off my car.
Nope, for my '12 WRX Limited, I upgraded the Quickset to the new firmware... when it told me to go out to the car, I plugged it into the OBD port and pushed the "summer" button... Came back in and plugged it into the laptop and my stock sensor IDs were there...

Looked like this for me (after I added the winter set IDs I got from TireRack):

nightdown fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:20 PM   #33
BigRob74
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 305107
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
360/386 E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightdown fox View Post
Nope, for my '12 WRX Limited, I upgraded the Quickset to the new firmware... when it told me to go out to the car, I plugged it into the OBD port and pushed the "summer" button... Came back in and plugged it into the laptop and my stock sensor IDs were there...

Looked like this for me (after I added the winter set IDs I got from TireRack):

g[/IMG]
so to make this work you need to have an additional set of sensors, but this tool allows you to make the light go off instead of going to the dealer?
BigRob74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:25 PM   #34
89Ford
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318160
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Jersey
Vehicle:
2009 WRX Premium
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRob74

kinda want to know this. i will be getting my winter wheels next week and would like not to stare at that stupid light, although i kinda like the electrical tape idea
$35each on eBay free shipping.
89Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:28 PM   #35
BigRob74
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 305107
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
360/386 E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89Ford View Post
$35each on eBay free shipping.
the ones on ebay say they are not compatible with my car..
BigRob74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:33 PM   #36
nightdown fox
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 309636
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2015 STI LE
WRB on Gold!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRob74

so to make this work you need to have an additional set of sensors, but this tool allows you to make the light go off instead of going to the dealer?
Yep! This tool basically flashes sensor IDs into the ecu.
nightdown fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:38 PM   #37
nightdown fox
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 309636
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
2015 STI LE
WRB on Gold!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRob74

kinda want to know this. i will be getting my winter wheels next week and would like not to stare at that stupid light, although i kinda like the electrical tape idea
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRob74

the ones on ebay say they are not compatible with my car..
Not to keep pimping TireRack, but the ones I had them install on my Winter/tire set was around that price for the sensors...
nightdown fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:01 PM   #38
89Ford
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318160
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Jersey
Vehicle:
2009 WRX Premium
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRob74 View Post
the ones on ebay say they are not compatible with my car..
Part# SCG01A ?

Are the sensors different in 2012 from that of 2011 or 2010?
89Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:04 PM   #39
BigRob74
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 305107
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
360/386 E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89Ford View Post
Part# SCG01A ?

Are the sensors different in 2012 from that of 2011 or 2010?
maybe, when checking amazon or ebay boyth say they dont fit. the ones on tire rack are the same price anyway
BigRob74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:07 AM   #40
89Ford
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318160
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Jersey
Vehicle:
2009 WRX Premium
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightdown fox View Post
Not to keep pimping TireRack, but the ones I had them install on my Winter/tire set was around that price for the sensors...
sure but with that option you need the $150 tool and you have to relearn the car to the sensors every time you change to a different set.

What I offered to the OP and anyone else that doesn't live far, is that they can buy the Orange TPMS and I'll clone them to the factory sensor(since I have the tool for that) and then they never have to mess with anything. Just change your wheels whenever they want. No light. No need to relearn anything.

Most economical and less hassle option.
89Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 07:17 AM   #41
Grusselgrosser
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 286859
Join Date: Jun 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: West Chester, PA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Hatch
Satin White Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peacewalker86
you can always try the PVC trick...
http://www.scionlife.com/forums/show...pms+inside+pvc
I might just do that. Im guessing the sensors are wireless and that's how/why this method works?
Grusselgrosser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 11:57 AM   #42
89Ford
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318160
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Jersey
Vehicle:
2009 WRX Premium
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grusselgrosser

I might just do that. Im guessing the sensors are wireless and that's how/why this method works?
It won't work, the sensors have to be moving
89Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:10 PM   #43
Web Foot STi
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 39086
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
2004 STi
White

Default

Yup, The enegy that that suburu uses to useses to energises the tyre sensors comese from the rotation.

There is also an in ductive thing. Hard to beat.

Back in 1972 Congress mandated MANDITORY seat belt laws. Esay defeated for a 9 for old. I disconnected the sensor for the starter interlock and showed my dad.

Promptly hooked it back up. I like seat belts. I HATE airbags.

He voted., no interlock today.

Last edited by Web Foot STi; 10-23-2012 at 01:15 PM.
Web Foot STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:50 PM   #44
Pakal967
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333750
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Eastern MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
silver

Default

Thanks for the info nightdown fox and 89ford, I'll be looking into these options next time around, appreciated!

- Steve
Pakal967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 02:39 PM   #45
Timinator
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 326460
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, OR
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Limited
Plasma Blue Pearl

Exclamation May need to select "Impreza 2011" for 2012+ WRX

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightdown fox View Post
Nope, for my '12 WRX Limited, I upgraded the Quickset to the new firmware... when it told me to go out to the car, I plugged it into the OBD port and pushed the "summer" button... Came back in and plugged it into the laptop and my stock sensor IDs were there...

Looked like this for me (after I added the winter set IDs I got from TireRack):

I just acquired the ATEQ tool and downloaded the latest software for it. My intent was to capture the TPMS IDs in my stock wheels/sensors before purchasing a new set of wheels/sensors for summer tires. My car is a 2012 WRX Limited. When I first attempted to read the TPMS IDs from the ECU, I had selected "Impreza 2012" as car type. The ATEQ failed to read the IDs. I started over, selecting "Impreza 2011" (the last year the Impreza was really similar to the 2012 WRX), and the ATEQ tool was then able to acquire the TPMS IDs from the OBDII port.
Now when I buy new wheels/sensors for the summer tires, I will have the tire installer activate the new TPMS sensors and re-program the ECU. With the new summer wheels on, I will use the ATEQ tool to capture the summer wheel TPMS sensor IDs from the car ECU/OBDII. Then I will have both sets of TPMS IDs and can change between summer and winter wheels at will, resetting the TPMS IDs appropriately at home.
I would have preferred the alternate method of getting new wheels with the programmable TPMS sensor IDs to clone the set on my stock wheels, but didn't think I would be able to find anyone locally who could do that.
Actually, I would prefer Subaru install a simple button that would read/reset the TPMS IDs automatically... Hopefully in the future.
Timinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.