Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2013, 12:51 PM   #1
Kyle_V
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333638
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: South County
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Blue

Default Dim oil light on startup?

3-4 times I've started my 07 2.5i 98xxx miles cold and the oil light has been on but not fully lit up like if you turned the key to accessory and all the dash lights light up bright. It seemed to go away when the engine is warm. Oil level is spot on and I've started it on colder days throughout New England and haven't had it happen. Temp gauge inside said 32 degrees when it did it last night. I'm not parked on an incline either. Is this a forewarning to something else? Anyone else had this problem?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Kyle_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 02:05 PM   #2
GT11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 128002
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: The moon
Vehicle:
0000 four door sedan
Poop color

Default

Your oil pressure sensor is probably going out.
GT11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 03:39 PM   #3
bangedlegacywagon97
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 215017
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Redmond WA
Vehicle:
97OB 2004 civic
:-)

Default

What weight oil are you using?
bangedlegacywagon97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 06:38 PM   #4
yarrgh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80465
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Aurora, CO
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS
Black Diamond Pearl

Default

sensor could be dying, contacts could be dirty. You can clean the connection to the sensor. It's grounded to the block, so make sure those grounds are clean also.
yarrgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 11:25 PM   #5
Kyle_V
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333638
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: South County
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Blue

Default

Thanks I'll clean the contacts on it, I'd like to hook up a gauge at some point too. I'm running 5w 20 I believe.
Kyle_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:03 PM   #6
GT11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 128002
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: The moon
Vehicle:
0000 four door sedan
Poop color

Default

Why would you run 5w-20?. Even 5w-30 isn't thick enough after it shears down after a couple thousand miles. You're just asking for a spun bearing.
GT11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:10 PM   #7
Rudgers73
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 141433
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza 2.5i
Obsidian Black

Default

Happened to me once. It was very wet out and my car was buried in snow. As soon as it dried out it went away and never came back
Rudgers73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 01:26 PM   #8
Kyle_V
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333638
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: South County
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT11
Why would you run 5w-20?. Even 5w-30 isn't thick enough after it shears down after a couple thousand miles. You're just asking for a spun bearing.
I'm just running the manufacturer recommended, it's been in for 2000 miles and it still looks pretty clean. It might even be 5w30 I'd have to check. I would assume it can't be all that great running anything thicker in the winter.
Kyle_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:19 AM   #9
FLT.4.PWR
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 252007
Join Date: Jul 2010
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Vehicle:
07 Impreza 2.5i
Silver like a bullet :)

Default

I've had this happen a couple times this winter.. Always monitoring oil(Im weird about oil, have had the familiar knock) on cold morning start ups(around -5 to -10) after she warms up the faint light goes out!

Check my sensors and found little oil around each one and have replaced and washer it clean every few days and no light since... And still chilly mornings! That's just my 2c.. Hope it helps!

Vehicle: 07 2.5i 111,xxxkms
FLT.4.PWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:38 AM   #10
scarney1988
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317760
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

If you want piece of mind, connect oil pressure gauge and test it. Do not know the spec off top of my head for idle, but rule of thumb is 1 psi for every 100rpm. So Cold idle at say 900 rpm = 9ish psi.

Good luck man.
scarney1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:08 AM   #11
Kyle_V
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333638
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: South County
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Blue

Default

I did clean the connection on the sensor it looked a little grimey, it hasn't happened since but the weathers been mild. Does the gauge connect electronically to that point? I know some of the old fashion ones need a hose ran into the block.. Idk why there isn't just a stock gauge like most cars.
Kyle_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:51 PM   #12
scarney1988
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317760
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

Well if you want to mount a gauge in your car permanently, than a mechanical gauge would require an oil line to be run into the back of the gauge. However, there are electrical sending units (more exspensive), which goes where your oil pressure switch is right now (will need a splitter block to have both work properly) and only require a wire to be run to a gauge inside the car.

I was refering to a gauge like this which you could just test the oil pump with for peace of mind. Just unscrew your OPSU that is giving you trouble and screw that gauge on. Start it up and observe the pressure readings at idle, 1k, 2k, 3k, hot/cold.

VDO Oil GaugeVDO Oil Gauge

Electrical Sender for GaugeElectrical Sender for Gauge

I hope that helps. LMK if I can help you out.
scarney1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:12 AM   #13
Kyle_V
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333638
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: South County
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Blue

Default

Hmm I might look into that splitter and get an electronic gauge. I'm not sure if I like the idea of an oil line running into the car haha.
Kyle_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:56 AM   #14
scarney1988
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317760
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

Ya. Agreed. Electric is the way to go. FYI most oil pressure lights (switch pressures) are set to illuminate around 5 psi. So, monitoring O.P. is tough cause most manufacturers only warn at extremely low levels.

If you need a diverter block made for you lmk. I have the right kind of equipment to make one and could get it going, although im sure something exists out there for u.

Goodluck.
scarney1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 01:32 AM   #15
Kyle_V
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333638
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: South County
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Blue

Default

I realize this might not be the best quality gauge but if you look at the oil pressure gauge featured here, the threaded piece in the picture is like what you're taking about am I right?
Http://bit.ly/XgwXrI
Kyle_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 01:56 PM   #16
scarney1988
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317760
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

The threaded piece is the sending unit. This is the piece that will produce a signal for the gauge to interpret as a pressure reading. I would imagine one post would get battery voltage to it, and then the other terminal would require a wire going to the gauge. I could be wrong on that, In order to install this (or any guage that will read oil pressure) you will need access to oil pressure. You have a few options.

1. Remove your Oil Pressure switch that is installed (illuminates your oil lamp when low pressure occurs from factory) and insert a custom splitter block (similar to one you would use for cable tv). You would then be able to screw both your gauge sending unit and into this. I tried doing a quick search and could not come up with any of these premade ( just tried a quick google search. You could easily make on though, or I could make one for you maybe out of block aluminum. However, this may not be possible to do. Could you take a pic around Oil Pressure Switch?

2. If space allows you could use a sandwich block. This does not add to much expense and makes for a nice clean install. Plus it gives you another port to access oil temperature.

Not sure if i answered your question, but that guage set and pillar should be a nice start. You then need a way to get to your oil pressure without disrupting your OEM pressure switch functionality. Could you take a picture of your oil filter area? I am hoping the sandwich block is an option for you because makes for a clean and easy install.

Either way, good luck.
scarney1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 04:42 PM   #17
Kyle_V
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333638
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: South County
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Blue

Default

Ahh I see what you're saying now. I'll take some pics tomorrow morning when there's a little more light. Should be enough room for that sandwich block but I'm wondering if the OEM switch would have enough room or if it would be too close to the block, depending on how wide that sandwich is.
Kyle_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:15 PM   #18
Kyle_V
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333638
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: South County
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Blue

Default

Didn't get a pic today, will be under the hood Wednesday
Kyle_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 09:03 AM   #19
scarney1988
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317760
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

You ever move forward with any of this, or just say f it? Just curious how you made out.
scarney1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 07:10 PM   #20
Kyle_V
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333638
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: South County
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Blue

Default

Hey scarney I appologize that I never got back to you about there being space for the splitter, I ran into some other problems and it kind of took a backseat. It also warmed up a bit in rhode island and it kind of slipped my mind. I did my brakes and rotors the other day and my clutch is making a noise so I had completely forgot. It is still on my list of things to do. I've actually reached out in a few other forum sections regarding my other problems and didn't get many opinions so I feel like a dick because you were actively helping me and I kind of forgot about it. Sorry again. I just hit 100k and have timing belt freshly on my mind but i will definitely be putting this back on the list of things to attend to
Kyle_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 09:36 PM   #21
scarney1988
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 317760
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default

Ahh man, dont worry about it. Life is about prioritizing. If you need help with anything else, LMK. I want to install gauges on my EJ22, so I may do this myself. Good luck.
scarney1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:49 AM   #22
Kyle_V
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333638
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: South County
Vehicle:
2007 Impreza
Blue

Default

I had a post about a loud squeal I get around 3500 rpm, it's actually gotten worse. Think I might need a clutch soon
Kyle_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 10:49 AM   #23
Poconos03
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 370544
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default

I have an 03 Wrx and it sat in my driveway for about 2 weeks then I went to start it because it was raining (been sitting because streetbike) and the dash lights came on everything lit then I started it and had a faint oil light oil pressure read normal for warm up but got worried and shut the car off it was alittle low on oil but been lower
Poconos03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.