Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday April 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2013, 10:49 PM   #1
USAMPDUFFY
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 268849
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manhattan, KS
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Aspen White

Default stuck in test mode? and tune question....

Question #1:
I threw a stage 2 base map on my 02 WRX the other day from a new AP(my old one was stolen). I plugged in the test mode harness to sync my AP and then I removed it after the sync, however my car still has a flashing CEL. How do I get the car out of test mode? I don't have any performance related issues other than the eplileptic seisures the CEL gives me at night...lol, jk

Question #2:
How do I go about getting a tune through Cobb for all of my mods? On Cobbs website it states that the stage 2 base maps were for an intake and cbe. I have a Agency Power Header, Inividia Uppipe, Downpipe and CBE. Perrin turbo inlet and the Cobb Shortram so I'm sure theirs room for improvement I just don't want to dyno tune until i have my wlabro, 800cc's and VF39 on. . .So what the question sums down to is, Is it possible to get a more advanced map through Cobb without datalogging?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
USAMPDUFFY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:03 PM   #2
jebjkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73884
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, ITALY
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2006 Evolution MR

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by USAMPDUFFY View Post
Question #1:
I threw a stage 2 base map on my 02 WRX the other day from a new AP(my old one was stolen). I plugged in the test mode harness to sync my AP and then I removed it after the sync, however my car still has a flashing CEL. How do I get the car out of test mode? I don't have any performance related issues other than the eplileptic seisures the CEL gives me at night...lol, jk
Did you disconnect the green plugs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by USAMPDUFFY View Post
Question #2:
How do I go about getting a tune through Cobb for all of my mods? On Cobbs website it states that the stage 2 base maps were for an intake and cbe. I have a Agency Power Header, Inividia Uppipe, Downpipe and CBE. Perrin turbo inlet and the Cobb Shortram so I'm sure theirs room for improvement I just don't want to dyno tune until i have my wlabro, 800cc's and VF39 on. . .So what the question sums down to is, Is it possible to get a more advanced map through Cobb without datalogging?
Stage 2 requires a DP (or TBE), not just a CBE. You are fine running your headers and UP on a stage 2 OTS map until you get the rest of your parts and a protune. Cobb only provides OTS maps for free and they do not e-tune. There are no "more advanced" maps available for download from Cobb, only protunes on a dyno at one of their shops. You can get an e-tune from one of several tuners for a reasonable price if you like and then when you install the rest of your parts hit the dyno for a protune. I am not sure who your are going to get protuned on the dyno with, but they might offer e-tunes also. You could check with them, maybe they can cut you a deal on the pricing for an e-tune now followed by a protune on the dyno later.
jebjkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:05 PM   #3
jebjkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73884
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, ITALY
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2006 Evolution MR

Default

Also, I assume you unmarried your ECU from the stolen AP (with Cobb's help) and married the ECU to the new AP.

If not, I am sure Cobb will chime in, but I would contact them to see what your options are.
jebjkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:08 PM   #4
USAMPDUFFY
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 268849
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manhattan, KS
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Aspen White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebjkey View Post
Did you disconnect the green plugs?



Stage 2 requires a DP (or TBE), not just a CBE. You are fine running your headers and UP on a stage 2 OTS map until you get the rest of your parts and a protune. Cobb only provides OTS maps for free and they do not e-tune. There are no "more advanced" maps available for download from Cobb, only protunes on a dyno at one of their shops. You can get an e-tune from one of several tuners for a reasonable price if you like and then when you install the rest of your parts hit the dyno for a protune. I am not sure who your are going to get protuned on the dyno with, but they might offer e-tunes also. You could check with them, maybe they can cut you a deal on the pricing for an e-tune now followed by a protune on the dyno later.
Yes, I disconnected the green Harness, I'll try to reconnect it and disconnect it in the hopes that it randomly works.

As far as the tune goes, thanks. My tuner runs about $350 or so based on the amount of dyno pulls i take, I wasnt sure if I could get a limp mode tune so I didnt have to pay for installation on top of a tune but its looking that way!

thanks for the help btw!
USAMPDUFFY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:26 PM   #5
USAMPDUFFY
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 268849
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manhattan, KS
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Aspen White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebjkey View Post
Also, I assume you unmarried your ECU from the stolen AP (with Cobb's help) and married the ECU to the new AP.

If not, I am sure Cobb will chime in, but I would contact them to see what your options are.
I did NOT have Cobb's assistance with unmarrying the AP...that may be my issue! guess I'll have to wait until tomorrow for Cobb!
USAMPDUFFY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:16 AM   #6
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by USAMPDUFFY View Post
Question #1:
I threw a stage 2 base map on my 02 WRX the other day from a new AP(my old one was stolen). I plugged in the test mode harness to sync my AP and then I removed it after the sync, however my car still has a flashing CEL. How do I get the car out of test mode? I don't have any performance related issues other than the eplileptic seisures the CEL gives me at night...lol, jk

Question #2:
How do I go about getting a tune through Cobb for all of my mods? On Cobbs website it states that the stage 2 base maps were for an intake and cbe. I have a Agency Power Header, Inividia Uppipe, Downpipe and CBE. Perrin turbo inlet and the Cobb Shortram so I'm sure theirs room for improvement I just don't want to dyno tune until i have my wlabro, 800cc's and VF39 on. . .So what the question sums down to is, Is it possible to get a more advanced map through Cobb without datalogging?
Is this a version 1 (black brick-shaped device) or version 2 (gray with color screen) Accessport? The version 2 Accessport will recognize the old install from the old Accessport and there will not be a problem in installing over it.

Did you run the install process on the Accessport ("sync" as you described it)? Was there any message that the process was complete? I would try to reflash a different map (temporarily - say a lower octane map just as a test) to the car to make sure that the reflashing process completed properly and that the Accessport can still communicate with the ECU. If that all checks out and you are sure you are disconnecting the correct test mode connectors, disconnect the car's battery (neg. terminal) for a few minutes and see if that fixes the problem.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:41 PM   #7
USAMPDUFFY
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 268849
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Manhattan, KS
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Aspen White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post
Is this a version 1 (black brick-shaped device) or version 2 (gray with color screen) Accessport? The version 2 Accessport will recognize the old install from the old Accessport and there will not be a problem in installing over it.

Did you run the install process on the Accessport ("sync" as you described it)? Was there any message that the process was complete? I would try to reflash a different map (temporarily - say a lower octane map just as a test) to the car to make sure that the reflashing process completed properly and that the Accessport can still communicate with the ECU. If that all checks out and you are sure you are disconnecting the correct test mode connectors, disconnect the car's battery (neg. terminal) for a few minutes and see if that fixes the problem.

Bill
Sorry I didn't specify which version I had, I had a V2 and overwrote the V2 with a new one. It allowed me to pull my Stage 2 93 oct tune so I have that on right now, I'll upload the other stage 2 tunes and reflash like you said...thanks Bill.
USAMPDUFFY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.