Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2011, 06:00 PM   #51
stikboy9
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85019
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Podunk
Vehicle:
MY02 & MY04 Turbo'd
Money Pits

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bushman95
I got mine out but it was difficult. I took off the alternator and pulled at it with pliers. Eventually I felt a pop and I had a pile of wires on the end of my pliers. The end of the sensor ripped out of the casing. So I took a fine screwdriver and folded in the edges of the casing slowly. Eventually I worked the whole casing down enough where it was loose and I pulled it out with pliers. Cleaned up the hole, slid the new sensor in and was on my way. Stressful but noting too complicated to get out.
This pretty much sums up my experience today.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
stikboy9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 07:56 PM   #52
2005wrxowner1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 291158
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: raleigh nc
Vehicle:
2005 wrx
wrb

Default

under the alternator
2005wrxowner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 09:28 PM   #53
stikboy9
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 85019
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Podunk
Vehicle:
MY02 & MY04 Turbo'd
Money Pits

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2005wrxowner1
under the alternator
Uh huh.....

<rests chin on hands>

...tell me more.
stikboy9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 12:49 AM   #54
txl146
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32459
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX VF34
Junior Tuned 301whp

Default

Has anyone found an easier way to pull it out?
txl146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 11:41 AM   #55
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

If its not damaged it slides out by hand. If its damaged you get it out by any means necessary.
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 02:13 AM   #56
n2xlr8n
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18960
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Bama
Vehicle:
02 WRX MBP
It lives! ; )

Default Odd issue

Hmmmm.

Wondering if this could be my phantom issue.

When transitioning part throttle from CL to OL, the car bucks and misses. I logged it today, and during this small frame of time, my ign timing went from 36* to 11*...and my AFR was leeeean.

The only code I've ever thrown is a p0390...cam sensor. My AVCS is functioning perfectly.

Crank Sensor?

Thanks for the help!

S.
n2xlr8n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 07:20 PM   #57
J_Jay_B
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 252231
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n2xlr8n View Post
Hmmmm.

Wondering if this could be my phantom issue.

When transitioning part throttle from CL to OL, the car bucks and misses. I logged it today, and during this small frame of time, my ign timing went from 36* to 11*...and my AFR was leeeean.

The only code I've ever thrown is a p0390...cam sensor. My AVCS is functioning perfectly.

Crank Sensor?

Thanks for the help!

S.
Geebus! i would say its worth a shot, especially for less than 30 bucks!
J_Jay_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 10:15 PM   #58
frederik
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64405
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: St-Georges, QC, Canada
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Sedan
WRB - Cobb Stg 2

Default

Or 0$ if like mine it slips right out. Bolt was easy to remove, sensor was very easy to pull, cleaned and put back in. Car has over 150 k of Canadian weather. But mine was not damaged.


I forgot to test the black deposit to see if it was magnetic, anybody tried?

Last edited by frederik; 06-27-2012 at 10:29 PM.
frederik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 11:56 AM   #59
adirunnerpmc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 216617
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Clarksville, TN
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Default

I would suggest doing this in routine intervals. Do not wait forever to do it. I did mine this morning on my 200k engine and the sensor housing had welded itself to the sensor slot. 5 minute job turned into an hour experience.
adirunnerpmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 07:51 PM   #60
WRXSD
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 136539
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2005 WRX Wagon
CGM Stg. 2

Default

If you are having trouble getting it out, you could push up on it from this view but it would require removing a bit more than the alternator. Or you could just wipe it off.



WRXSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 12:54 PM   #61
tomacGTi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 297396
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default

Did this yesterday without removing the alternator, used a 1/4" drive ratchet with a short 10mm socket fished between the belts. Removed the belt cover and set it aside to gain a little more room. Thankfully, the bolt broke free very easily and the CPS came out with little to no effort at all.

Having smaller hands helps as you have to two-hand (finger) the securing fastener and then pop it out of the holder. I left the wiring connected and wiped off the end of the sensor, it too was covered in a black dust of sorts.

Fired the car up and it caught sooner than normal. It also used to have a bit of a stutter in the revs and it's smoothed that out as well. All in all, 30 minutes from hood up to hood down. My car has 110k on it and has been a west coast car all it's life (till now) so that may have alot to do with it.

Kudos to the OP, a worthwhile thing to do.
tomacGTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 03:12 PM   #62
txl146
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32459
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX VF34
Junior Tuned 301whp

Default

Thanks... glad you were able to do it without removing the alternator.
txl146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:03 PM   #63
txl146
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32459
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX VF34
Junior Tuned 301whp

Default

Bump to make everyone aware of potential issue of dirty sensor.
txl146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 11:22 PM   #64
claythrow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 283663
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Root Beer

Default

So there is this and one on each camshaft? I heard someone mention the camshaft one.

I'm glad I read this thread, I had never even heard of this part.
claythrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 01:20 PM   #65
2gnt2wrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123625
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Waukesha, WI
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
wrb stg2

Default

Is it ok to use an aftermarket crank sensor in place of the oem? Wondering because I checked mine today and it had a little crack on the metal casing.

This thread got me thinking about my weird rough idle only on startup that lasts for 3 seconds.
2gnt2wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:38 PM   #66
txl146
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32459
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX VF34
Junior Tuned 301whp

Default

Yes, aftermarket crank sensor should work fine. In fact, I replaced mine with Autozone one.
txl146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 11:05 PM   #67
TurboWRex05
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 216164
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: New Port Richey, Florida
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX
CGM

Default

I cleaned my crank position sensor a few weeks ago and I noticed on start ups that the car starts better. Instead of a sputtering start like it use to, it starts smooth, with a slight bit of stutter. I dont know if everyone else has the same problem, but low RPM from about 2300-3000 RPM, the car falls flat on its face it seems. I havent cleaned my camshaft sensor though. If one of the guru's could help explain the sensor system between the cam/crank sensors and how they effect timing, or even hesitation issues, I think we would all appreciate to know the benefits of keeping them clean. My WRX has 93K miles, so i figure its about time to do this.
TurboWRex05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 10:58 AM   #68
shamrock 05
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 120057
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: *outskirts of motor city*
Vehicle:
2004 "Bugeye" WRX
WRB

Default

Awesome info....going to do this one night this week.
shamrock 05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:38 AM   #69
1 Lucky Texan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46320
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Outoftheblue&intotheblack
Vehicle:
06 WRX Sportwagon
Aspen White

Default

my 06 has begun intermittently making a 'chk' sound and a slight jerk. No cel. none pending. I pulled the mah connector to frce a CEL so I could look at freezeframe data. fuel trims looked OK.

I only have 45K miles but changed the (original) plugs anyway (they looked good)

still have the problem.

I think I will inspect the CA sensor as suggested here. If I see any debris, I'll take pictures.
1 Lucky Texan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 09:10 AM   #70
1 Lucky Texan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46320
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Outoftheblue&intotheblack
Vehicle:
06 WRX Sportwagon
Aspen White

Default

this is a little preliminary but, after cleaning the CA sensor yesterday, I detected no missing driving to work this morning. I'll feel better if there's no missing by Tuesday/Wednesday next week but, there were metallic particles stuck to the sensor.

if it prove out that the car is fixed, I will try to post some pics I took.
1 Lucky Texan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:53 PM   #71
1 Lucky Texan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46320
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Outoftheblue&intotheblack
Vehicle:
06 WRX Sportwagon
Aspen White

Default

very odd, but, while friday's trip to and from work seemed trouble free and I was about to claim the problem solved by cleaning the CA sensor, the issue was back today.

If I were going to replace the CA sensor, what brand would you guys recommend? Or is there a preference? or a brand I should avoid?
1 Lucky Texan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:57 AM   #72
1 Lucky Texan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46320
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Outoftheblue&intotheblack
Vehicle:
06 WRX Sportwagon
Aspen White

Default

based on the (proven) ferrous debris on my crank sensor, I'd like to clean the cam sensor(s) before buying a crank sensor to swap in.

any pics/guides on removing them? are there 2?
1 Lucky Texan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 08:36 AM   #73
1 Lucky Texan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46320
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Outoftheblue&intotheblack
Vehicle:
06 WRX Sportwagon
Aspen White

Default

replaced CP sensor with Beck-Arnley part ($26, thanx rockauto)

pretty sure the problem is still there after this morning's drive.

took the oil filler cap off, no smoke or vapor at idle(but it pulses air ?), when I get a helper to rev the engine, I'll try that test again.

still no CEL.

kinda wondering if the dealer has a way to test the coils and injectors and how much they charge to check valve lash.

sigh
1 Lucky Texan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 11:47 AM   #74
1 Lucky Texan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46320
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Outoftheblue&intotheblack
Vehicle:
06 WRX Sportwagon
Aspen White

Default

OK, if the car passed a compression test, would you still check valve lash?
1 Lucky Texan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 04:19 PM   #75
corvallisbattery
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333030
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Corvallis, OR
Vehicle:
'05 WRX
PSM

Default

If the car passes a compression check the next move is a leak down test.
corvallisbattery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crankshaft Position Sensor, Air Intake Temp Sensor CODES!! please Help!! GT40R Engine Management & Tuning 2 07-05-2006 10:50 AM
Crankshaft Position Sensor Air Intake Temp Sensor CODES!! please Help!! GT40R Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 12 07-02-2006 05:07 PM
Crankshaft Position Sensor, Air Intake Temp Sensor CODES!! please Help!! GT40R Southern California Impreza Club Forum -- SCIC 2 07-01-2006 06:03 PM
Crankshaft position Sensor Malfunction Rossi Service & Maintenance 1 01-26-2004 01:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.