Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday May 25, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2013, 04:05 PM   #1
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default Car acting weird, Any input

Recently switched ecus since mine crashed. Running stage 2 with stock intake.

With this ecu my car idles at 900... used to sit at 500 with not problems on old ecu.

If i accelerate quickly entering a superior gear, it lags, until i let off and slowly accelerate. If i slowly accelerate and then floor it at high rpm then it will pull like normal. If i step on it at low rpms it lags!!

Recently went stage 2, could I have forgettin to plug a hose or accidently pulled a hose off or something when I installed the turbo back?

Also when idling the oem boost gauge keeps moving from -.7 to -.05

Any input please?
Did check engine light is on, i will get it checked asap and post it up
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-01-2013, 04:15 PM   #2
jayman4312
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 228784
Join Date: Nov 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2004 wrx
black, stage 2+

Default

the issue is probably whatever the CEL is on for, my guess is some sort of vacuum/boost leak.

Did this start happening right after you switched intakes? Or right after you got tuned for stage 2?
jayman4312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 04:16 PM   #3
Loyale93
Newbie Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 91347
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Vehicle:
'13 XV Crosstrek,
1050 Triumph Speed Triple

Default

On Turbo Dodge cars like yours, this is all pretty standard. (Read, we have no idea what car you're driving. Please fill in your profile the rest of the way.)

What ECU are you using, a factory one? What Stage 2 map are you using? Stock intake... Full TBE, which one?

Idle on my old turbo'd car used to sit between 500-900, depending on engine and outside temperature. so that sounds normal to me.

Stepping on the throttle at low rpms and lagging is the definition of a turbo'd car. It's what they do.

Boost moving from -0.7 to -0.05, I'm assuming this is in Bar? so that's -10 to ~-1 psi at idle. If memory serves, your boost will be idle when under vacuum (idle), though probably shouldn't be fluctuating that much. Unless you meant -0.5, in which case, I wouldn't worry about it.

You shouldn't have touched any hoses when doing a TBE.
Find out what the CEL is.
Loyale93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 04:16 PM   #4
findurpath
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 277487
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bozeman, MT and Lakewood, WA
Vehicle:
2006 CGM WRX Limited
6sp, 18G, Phatron tuned

Default

Can you post a datalog?
findurpath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 05:35 PM   #5
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

sorry guys its a 03 wrx with cobb stage 2 map.
catless turboback/uppipe on stock intake

I also have noticed that if i start it more then once in a day it wont start... just keeps turning over and over and over. I can start it once it the am, but if i turn it off and try again it wont start.. unless i let it sit for like 5-6 hours then it may start again. This is really weird, i have let it sit all day so i can drive it to auto parts and have the check engine light checked. I will be back with an update as to why the check engine light is on.
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 05:36 PM   #6
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayman4312 View Post
the issue is probably whatever the CEL is on for, my guess is some sort of vacuum/boost leak.

Did this start happening right after you switched intakes? Or right after you got tuned for stage 2?
I never switched intakes. My old ecu blew so i bought one off another user here, he said it had stage 2 map on it. Car ran good for like 2 weeks then this happened.
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 10:41 PM   #7
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

so it was the hose that runs from the inlet hose to a sensor. Its the thinnest one, looks like the previous owner ripped it and taped it together lol. I must have it hit and caused it to split again. I retaped it for now, is there a adapter or something I could buy to reattach it somehow ? Does anyone know the size this hose is?

Or is it best to replace the whole hose itself, it will be a pita trying to get the hose off the adapters.
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:59 AM   #8
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

any input?
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 11:03 AM   #9
07VTRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 179023
Join Date: May 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia
Vehicle:
07 CGM WRX TR
Dom 1.5xtr + PPG's

Default

i would not run any hose of any kind with tape on it to fix a leak or tear. i would replace the hose with a full functional (no leaks) one ASAP.
07VTRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 05:30 PM   #10
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

well i replaced the hose with a new one.. I'm still having the same issues. Car not starting, rpm jumps up and down if it does start. Recently it hasnt started it all since last time i drove it. SOmeone PLEASE HELP
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:37 PM   #11
DZXN
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 306186
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Ashland
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRX
PSM

Default

So you bought an ecu with a map on it, dude who sold it says there is a stage 2 cobb map on it? Where did he live, what fuel was it tuned for (91, 93 oct, or???), what year ecu, and what intake was mapped? If stuff started changing after swapping ecu's, best bet would be in the map.

Buy an AP, or get it tuned for your stuff. With out knowing what that particular ecu has mapped on it you are driving a crap shoot. If it was a buddy that sold you something, that's one thing, some dude on the Internet is a whole different ball game.
DZXN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 10:41 PM   #12
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DZXN View Post
So you bought an ecu with a map on it, dude who sold it says there is a stage 2 cobb map on it? Where did he live, what fuel was it tuned for (91, 93 oct, or???), what year ecu, and what intake was mapped? If stuff started changing after swapping ecu's, best bet would be in the map.

Buy an AP, or get it tuned for your stuff. With out knowing what that particular ecu has mapped on it you are driving a crap shoot. If it was a buddy that sold you something, that's one thing, some dude on the Internet is a whole different ball game.
Goood ****
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 10:48 PM   #13
jebjkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73884
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, ITALY
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2006 Evolution MR

Default

Wow. Is the "new" ECU even for an 03 WRX?

Stop driving your car.

Get an AP and load a stage 2 map for the fuel that you use. If you still have problems then take your car to a professional.

Curiousity is killing me. How did the original ECU crash?
jebjkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 11:11 PM   #14
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebjkey View Post
Wow. Is the "new" ECU even for an 03 WRX?

Stop driving your car.

Get an AP and load a stage 2 map for the fuel that you use. If you still have problems then take your car to a professional.

Curiousity is killing me. How did the original ECU crash?

Yes the new ecu is off a 02. Original ecu crashed when i was reverting it to stock. I walk away for the first time while its flashing and it says low voltage when I came back. Car didn't respond after that when I tried to start it.
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 11:15 PM   #15
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DZXN View Post
So you bought an ecu with a map on it, dude who sold it says there is a stage 2 cobb map on it? Where did he live, what fuel was it tuned for (91, 93 oct, or???), what year ecu, and what intake was mapped? If stuff started changing after swapping ecu's, best bet would be in the map.

Buy an AP, or get it tuned for your stuff. With out knowing what that particular ecu has mapped on it you are driving a crap shoot. If it was a buddy that sold you something, that's one thing, some dude on the Internet is a whole different ball game.
Yes he said its a cobb stage 2 map, on a 02 ecu. He said he only had turbo back.
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 11:51 PM   #16
jebjkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73884
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, ITALY
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2006 Evolution MR

Default

I do not know if 02 and 03 ECU's are compatable. You should have sent your ECU to Cobb to see if they could fix it. If you still have it, maybe Cobb can help you get it back working.

Did you flash your 03 WRX stage 2 map to the ECU or not?

If not, do not drive your car until you flash an 03 WRX stage 2 map to the ECU. If you have a v2 AP (has the color screen) then you do not need to do anything different to flash over whatever map is already in the ECU. If you have a v1 AP (non-color screen big black brick) then you will need Cobb's help.
jebjkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 11:53 PM   #17
jebjkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73884
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, ITALY
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2006 Evolution MR

Default

Reading your posts and letting curiosity take over again.

What did you do after you returned to the car and saw low voltage?
jebjkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 07:20 AM   #18
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

I retried the "Revert to stock" flash & let it complete but no good results in the end.

Well after looking around alot online I came to the conclusion that 02 03 ecu's are the same for bugeyes and can be used on each model.

The new ecu i got already had a stage 2 map on it
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 08:28 AM   #19
vision.dynamix
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru STI
Stage e

Default

The ECU you got has what you are told has a Stage 2 map on it. You dont know for sure though, do you.
vision.dynamix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 08:39 AM   #20
jebjkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73884
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, ITALY
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2006 Evolution MR

Default

Dude, just flash your stage 2 map to the ECU and see what happens. It certainly cannot be any worse.
jebjkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 12:19 PM   #21
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

I ordered a stock ecu, won't drive car until it arrives
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 03:19 PM   #22
Scanyland
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 282593
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Vermont
Vehicle:
1996 Subaru Legacy
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Helpmyrex View Post
I ordered a stock ecu, won't drive car until it arrives
why are you ordering a stock ECU now. Have you tried to tune the current ECU to your car?
Scanyland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 09:34 PM   #23
jebjkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73884
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, ITALY
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2006 Evolution MR

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scanyland View Post
why are you ordering a stock ECU now. Have you tried to tune the current ECU to your car?
THIS.
jebjkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:18 PM   #24
Jack
Add Lightness
Moderator
 
Member#: 13699
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Vehicle:
2007 Lotus Elise
(From General)

Default

So when you brought your car to a local tuner to have the tune checked, he said what?

For one to just check doesn't cost much and they'll be able to give you a good idea if you'll be ok or not.
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 08:03 AM   #25
Helpmyrex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 346614
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: MD
Vehicle:
03 wrx

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebjkey View Post
THIS.
Sorry for the late reply, but the 2nd ecu I purchased came with a v1 accessport married to it. Unfortunately no matter what I tried the AP just kept saying cannot communicate with ECU. I purchased it off here and the seller claimed the ecu had stage 2 on it alraedy.. It ran for a week until the car stopped starting. Last night I noticed when I turn the car to "ON" the fuel pump WONT STOP priming.. So this ecu is bricked too right?

Anyways, i purchased yet ANOTHER ecu of a user on here who claims his is STOCK. Can anyone tell me correct procedure to change ecu? Should I disconnect the battery? I don't wanna mess this up. If this ecu fails I will surely be sending my original to COBB.
Helpmyrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.