Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2013, 09:00 PM   #7226
skywaffles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82470
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: directions unclear
Vehicle:
dick got stuck
in vacuum cleaner

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Dayman View Post
Especially for what was supposed to be their "flagship device" at the time.
Keyword being "at the time." HTC doesn't want to update software. They'd rather have you buy the next generation which is exactly the same except they added even more bloatware.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
skywaffles is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 09:01 PM   #7227
soslow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95027
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
'13 BRZed
dynamically slower

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skywaffles View Post
The Razr MAXX was really neat, but their software is SO bad and the qHD screen is hideous.

If the Goog can force them to make a phone with Nexus 4 specs (or better) in a fancy kevlar enclosure with a MAXX sized battery it would be the perfect phone. I would buy a Nexus MAXX in a heartbeat.
MAXX HD has 720p if I remember correctly. Motorola was doing qHD while everyone else was stuck on 480 x whatever, the problem was is that they were slow to jump on 720p.

Motorola was been in the radio transmission game before HTC was a **** stain was in the founder's fathers underwear. I will gladly buy a phone from an American company again.

Last edited by soslow; 03-23-2013 at 09:16 PM.
soslow is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 09:05 PM   #7228
skywaffles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82470
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: directions unclear
Vehicle:
dick got stuck
in vacuum cleaner

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soslow View Post
MAXX HD has 720p if I remember correctly. Motorola was doing qHD while everyone else was stuck on 480 x whatever, the problem was is that they were slow to jump on 720p.

Motorola was been in the radio transmission game before HTC was a **** stain was in the founder's fathers underwear. I will gladly buy a phone from an American again.
Plus the One is launching with 4.1 which is nearly a year old now. Not launching your flagship phone with the latest version of Android doesn't bode well with those who don't trust HTC with updating their software.
skywaffles is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 09:56 PM   #7229
nhat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ77 View Post

TW is on at least 4.1.1 on the s3, I think some carriers have 4.1.2.
VZW S3 is on 4.1.2.

Quote:
Originally Posted by soslow View Post

MAXX HD has 720p if I remember correctly. Motorola was doing qHD while everyone else was stuck on 480 x whatever, the problem was is that they were slow to jump on 720p.
Razr HD has basically the same screen as the S3. Screen was great if you like AMOLEDs but the camera sucks balls.

Razr HD - http://nhizzat.imgur.com/razr_hd
Note 2 - http://nhizzat.imgur.com/note_2
nhat is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 12:19 AM   #7230
soslow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95027
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
'13 BRZed
dynamically slower

Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhat View Post
VZW S3 is on 4.1.2.



Razr HD has basically the same screen as the S3. Screen was great if you like AMOLEDs but the camera sucks balls.

Razr HD - http://nhizzat.imgur.com/razr_hd
Note 2 - http://nhizzat.imgur.com/note_2
If it weren't fr the shabby camera ams lack of development I'd jump on a Maxx HD now. But that being as it is I'll wait and see what this fall brings.
soslow is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 11:47 AM   #7231
ptirmal
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 82243
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly
Vehicle:
07' Acura TL-S
11' Ducati Monster 796

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKscooby View Post
God damn ATT.

I'm paying the early termination fee of $235 and getting the hell away from these bastards. My wifes phone has been off contract since June last year but apparently isnt eligible for upgrade until October. She hasnt upgraded a phone in almost 4 years, I thought I'd renewed the contract back in June last year when I upgraded my phone and started another 2 year contract with 2 lines. At least thats what my monthly bill tells me.

So that being said, we are now going month by month with no contract. I need a new phone anyway and she does since our kid dropped it off the table and smashed the glass the other night. If anyone has a GSM SGS3 and something a bit smaller for sale, let me know.
Empty your inbox dude.
ptirmal is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 12:59 PM   #7232
Matt A
NASIOC Vendor Manager

 
Member#: 15382
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cambridge, MA
Vehicle:
. 2005 OBXT LTD

Default

ok, I don't know what to do...

I have a Droid 4, Jelly Bean was finally pushed, so I downloaded and started the install.

I have rooted, frozen some apps... but, forgot that I deleted (IIRC) some bloatware stuff.

research is telling me that this causes the update to fail

clearly this is the case because it is stuck in the startup animation.

halp. plz halp
Matt A is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 01:32 PM   #7233
Rattles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16486
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Somewhere in New England..
Vehicle:
2006 Jeep

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt A View Post
ok, I don't know what to do...

I have a Droid 4, Jelly Bean was finally pushed, so I downloaded and started the install.

I have rooted, frozen some apps... but, forgot that I deleted (IIRC) some bloatware stuff.

research is telling me that this causes the update to fail

clearly this is the case because it is stuck in the startup animation.

halp. plz halp
you should be able to find a stock image of the new version and simply install it from recovery or from the bootloader instead of doing an update.
Rattles is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 01:51 PM   #7234
07Wagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 152718
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Vehicle:
2005 CTS-V

Default


Sprint needs to turn on the LTE towers in Sacramento, dammit.
07Wagon is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 02:02 PM   #7235
Matt A
NASIOC Vendor Manager

 
Member#: 15382
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cambridge, MA
Vehicle:
. 2005 OBXT LTD

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rattles View Post
you should be able to find a stock image of the new version and simply install it from recovery or from the bootloader instead of doing an update.
I suppose I shall try.

no need to flash to stock? I guess I'll give the external update a whirl and then if that doesn't work, go from there.
Matt A is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:06 PM   #7236
Rattles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16486
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Somewhere in New England..
Vehicle:
2006 Jeep

Default

So before I post my N7 on craigslist and start dealing with all the mouth breathers, I figured I would post it here again. It is a Nexus 7 with 16gb and it comes with the following items:

Screen protector that was on since day 1
2 cases, one slim portfolio and one thicker leather
OTG cable
Everything else that came with it including the box

The device looks brand new. It is rooted and currently had the root box ROM on it but I can either leave it as is or return it to full factory state.

Price is $180 shipped.
Rattles is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:59 PM   #7237
nhat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt A View Post
ok, I don't know what to do...

I have a Droid 4, Jelly Bean was finally pushed, so I downloaded and started the install.

I have rooted, frozen some apps... but, forgot that I deleted (IIRC) some bloatware stuff.

research is telling me that this causes the update to fail

clearly this is the case because it is stuck in the startup animation.

halp. plz halp
If it's any consolation, the Q&A thread for the Droid 4 is full of threads about "bricked" devices from the JB update

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2200472
Phone Bricked after JB update

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2202828
[Q] ICS to JB update failed
nhat is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 04:10 PM   #7238
Rattles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16486
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Somewhere in New England..
Vehicle:
2006 Jeep

Default

btw, Groupon just posted a deal on the Asus tf700 with dock for $400 or so if anybody is interested.
Rattles is online now  
Old 03-24-2013, 06:46 PM   #7239
nhat
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140163
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing
Vehicle:
03 STi
hellaflunctional

Default

That's a pretty good deal right there. Too bad I'm set on a N10.
nhat is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 02:16 AM   #7240
WRXdonkey
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105437
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SEIC
Vehicle:
20xx STI
OBP/ICM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asinine View Post
But HTC made the thunderbolt. Ergoz they suck. Ass. Suck ass.
The Thunderbolt is the second POS I've owned from HTC and the last.

Quote:
Originally Posted by soslow View Post
No doubt, Motorola had 1 great phone, 1, but their build quality and radios (which is more than HTC or Samsung can say) are top notch so I'm really looking forward to the newest product.
I had the original Motorola Droid. It was the best Android hardware I've owned yet. Totally awesome.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asinine View Post
It was the abandonment that really soured me.
*11ty, and it's a consistent trend. **** HTC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iownaspec View Post
dont forget the rezound...this is a replacement for my thunderbolt and holy crap this phone is terrible.
See a previous post of mine if you still have your Thunderbolt hardware - the ROM I posted made it useful (no thanks to HTC).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rattles View Post
btw, Groupon just posted a deal on the Asus tf700 with dock for $400 or so if anybody is interested.
That's a hell of a deal... I love that device with the exception of the bull**** proprietary power port. BOO @ Asus. Asus also voids warranties if you root or change ROMs. Asus is also a company I've had horrible luck with in terms of hardware. Had an AMD based motherboard processor socket's retention clip break the plastic mount off... more of an AMD design issue, but WOW... last AMD mobo/proc I ever bought.

Also had an Asus laptop that the keyboard/mouse never did work properly on. It was a known issue and Asus refused to acknowledge it. Same laptop experienced a failure on the power port and had a fan die in it. The thing didn't last 14 months and I babied it.

...so yeah, HTC and ASUS are two companied I ain't interested in giving another penny to... I bought the Nexus 7 because it was too damned good of a deal to pass up but I might swap up to a Nexus 10 because I read a lot of technical manuals and the damned diagrams don't fit on a single page of the nexus.
WRXdonkey is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 03:34 AM   #7241
042
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 332955
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WA
Vehicle:
95 Legacy

Default

So...I have come to the conclusion that I'm sick and tired of buying a $60-$100 phone every 6 months and I would rather just pay a large amount up front and have it last since these VM prepaid phones are by and large pieces of ****.

So...this brings us to the Galaxy S2...the newest/fastest/shiniest Android phone available on VM...is it somewhat comparable to the S3 which (almost) everyone loves?

The options I have:

Galaxy S2 - $280
Galaxy Reverb - $150
Galaxy Victory - $250
HTC EVO V - $180 (I've read about how ****ty the battery life is and now all the HTC bashing in this thread, so this one is probably out)
iPhone 4 8GB - $350

Basically, I'm coming from a phone with a 3.2" screen, ****ty camera, and laggy touchscreen that broke in about a month...the previous phone I had was the same deal but it lasted about 6 months. I'm willing to sacrifice some cool snazzy features in exchange for longevity. Unfortunately the selection on VM is very small and they don't have sim cards so I can't use an unlocked phone. My plan is too cheap to let go of though, so I am 100% decided on staying with them as a carrier.

C/N: 042 needs a new phone on Virgin Mobile and would like to spend a larger amount one time instead of buying a cheap POS that breaks in a few months.
042 is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 04:16 AM   #7242
2010SubieFoz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342130
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: East Tennessee
Vehicle:
2010 Forester
Camelia Red Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 042 View Post
So...I have come to the conclusion that I'm sick and tired of buying a $60-$100 phone every 6 months and I would rather just pay a large amount up front and have it last since these VM prepaid phones are by and large pieces of ****.

So...this brings us to the Galaxy S2...the newest/fastest/shiniest Android phone available on VM...is it somewhat comparable to the S3 which (almost) everyone loves?

The options I have:

Galaxy S2 - $280
Galaxy Reverb - $150
Galaxy Victory - $250
HTC EVO V - $180 (I've read about how ****ty the battery life is and now all the HTC bashing in this thread, so this one is probably out)
iPhone 4 8GB - $350

Basically, I'm coming from a phone with a 3.2" screen, ****ty camera, and laggy touchscreen that broke in about a month...the previous phone I had was the same deal but it lasted about 6 months. I'm willing to sacrifice some cool snazzy features in exchange for longevity. Unfortunately the selection on VM is very small and they don't have sim cards so I can't use an unlocked phone. My plan is too cheap to let go of though, so I am 100% decided on staying with them as a carrier.

C/N: 042 needs a new phone on Virgin Mobile and would like to spend a larger amount one time instead of buying a cheap POS that breaks in a few months.
I think id go with the galaxy s2.
2010SubieFoz is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 07:19 AM   #7243
Rattles
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16486
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Somewhere in New England..
Vehicle:
2006 Jeep

Default

The S2 is a great phone and I still miss mine a lot. Its not as powerful as the s3 of course but with the right ROM, its a great decide that does everything very good.
Rattles is online now  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:11 AM   #7244
UKscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33287
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: 2013 Focus ST, Yella
Vehicle:
RIP Nik
I will always miss you

Default

Beware of power port issues with the S2. Find a tight fitting usb cable.
UKscooby is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:26 AM   #7245
pete_falcone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123330
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Apalit
Vehicle:
13 Villena, 02 CVC
747 Philippine Airlines

Default

I would even consider adding the Nexus 4 into your list of options if you're going to stick with a no contract provider.
pete_falcone is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:37 AM   #7246
soslow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95027
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Vehicle:
'13 BRZed
dynamically slower

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete_falcone View Post
I would even consider adding the Nexus 4 into your list of options if you're going to stick with a no contract provider.
He can't use a N4, It's Virgin mobile w/ no SIM, i.e. CDMA.
soslow is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:39 AM   #7247
SQ3.0dotJP
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 136330
Join Date: Jan 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Nippon, Yeay
Vehicle:
# OCCUPY

Default

Just picked up a 3g N7 to replace my slider(**** ROM support,, all former ROMs made the keyboard nonfunctional.. No biggie but not worth the extra weight if I can't use it. Got a 100bucks for it plus 100nucks in store credit and 10% off my whole purchase. Haven't had much time to fiddle with it yet though. A almost got a padfone but Rare already had his antenna stop working.had it maybe amonth


Any way to get the phone working via root/ROM?
SQ3.0dotJP is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:43 AM   #7248
Stickee
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 530
Join Date: Nov 1999
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: I wonder how long you could ma
Vehicle:
2005 9-2x Aero
FastAr Red

Default

I think S2 also - probably has the best developer support if you're interested in other ROMs.
Stickee is online now  
Old 03-25-2013, 10:47 AM   #7249
RobE
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 114550
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

042, if you're not married to Virgin Mobile, consider buying a Nexus 4 from Google and switching to Straight Talk. Or if you're a heavy data user switch to T-Mobile.
RobE is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 11:45 AM   #7250
markman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 93623
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: sometimes I poop too much
Vehicle:
then I get tired

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobE View Post
042, if you're not married to Virgin Mobile, consider buying a Nexus 4 from Google and switching to Straight Talk. Or if you're a heavy data user switch to T-Mobile.
This.

BTW, VM is soft capped somewhere around 2GB. My dad and wife both use VM.

If you are in an area with good T-mobile coverage and need lots of call time, you can switch to the Straighttalk or Net10 T-Mobile SIM plan, which is unlimited everything (i'm sure there is a soft cap but it is well over 2gb). If you don't need unlimited talk then the cheap T-Mobile plan is the ticket.

If you don't get good T-Mobile service, then stick with a GS2 on VM or switch to an ATT mvno SIM on ST, Net10 or other. holy **** that's a lot of acronyms.
markman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.