Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday September 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2013, 09:33 PM   #1
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default So I got my VAGCOM cable in the mail...

First thing, hooked it up to my computer. It found and installed the drivers via Windows Update whatever... I have downloaded learning view, ECUflash, and Romraider.

I wanna plug it in just to see what kinks I have to work out. My car is still married to my accessport. I'm sure this will give me half my problems if I try ECUflash to pull my data from my ECU as the map is locked. Correct or no? ECUflash doesn't even have the option to pull my data because its all grayed out. For the record my tuner sent me version 1.29 since the vagcom cable only seems to work with that version and earlier.

I just tried to open up learning view just to see if the vagcom cable would connect, nope. I get an error about ecu init request fail. Big surprise! Here's the error status log.

[18:08:12.8899789] Learning View version 1.0 RC3

[18:08:18.8803215] OP 2.0 error: op20pt32.dll not found in C:\Windows\system32
[18:08:18.9023228] COM4 open
[18:08:18.9443252] ECU Init
[18:08:18.9663265] WRITE 6 bytes: 80 10 F0 01 BF 40
[18:08:19.0353304] READ 6 bytes: 80 10 F0 01 BF 40
[18:08:21.3034601] ECU Init request failed: No response
[18:08:21.3244613] COM4 closed

I'm figuring i need that op20pt32.dll installed in my system32 directory. But i can't find it anywehre on the internet.

I think Ive figured out the Romraider definitions (which in the post they put them in, made in way more difficult and not very straight to the point on Romraider forums or i just haven't become familiar with them yet.)


The goal of this post is to get ECUflash workin, so that i know when i pull my dp off and sell my Accessport that I'm not sittin stuck forever cuz i cheaped out and went VAGCOM which is what my tuner recommended. Second I want learning view to work.
Thanks in advanced guys.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by Andrewxxcarlson; 04-01-2013 at 11:36 PM.
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:38 PM   #2
Airboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72829
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Canada
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
EFR6758

Default

As far as I know, the VAGCOM cable can only reflash the 16bit ecu (02-05 wrx). LearningView should still work though.
Airboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:01 PM   #3
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airboy View Post
As far as I know, the VAGCOM cable can only reflash the 16bit ecu (02-05 wrx). LearningView should still work though.
There's no install for learning view so its not like i can uninstall and reinstall but ill try a different download link.

Eric @ TP said I could just go with the vagcom instead of the tactrix and he knew I had an 06 wrx. He gave me the download link for Ecuflash 1.29.
Ill contact him.

Anymore info?
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:16 PM   #4
Airboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72829
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Canada
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
EFR6758

Default

I have not kept track on which non-Tactrix cable works with which ECU so my info could very well be outdated. Personally i would buy the Tactrix cable to support the guy that wrote ecuflash. I will now get off the soap box.
If you already have the AP, why not just stay with that?
Airboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:22 PM   #5
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airboy View Post
I have not kept track on which non-Tactrix cable works with which ECU so my info could very well be outdated. Personally i would buy the Tactrix cable to support the guy that wrote ecuflash. I will now get off the soap box.
If you already have the AP, why not just stay with that?
I would love to get a patented tactrix cable to support the ECUflash guy! Funds aren't there tho.

And seeing Accessport cuz...well fund aren't there and I need tires.
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:28 PM   #6
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Airboy, Eric emailed me back saying,

Actually VAG Com doesn't work on 02-03 at all and 04-05 have to be modified to work. it works just fine on the 06 wrx.
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 11:35 AM   #7
WRXGOBerserk
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 328413
Join Date: Aug 2012
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewxxcarlson View Post
Airboy, Eric emailed me back saying,

Actually VAG Com doesn't work on 02-03 at all and 04-05 have to be modified to work. it works just fine on the 06 wrx.
From what I've read, they need to be modified to work on the 02-03s, and even then they may not work, and that the 04-05s don't need anything done, they're just plug and play.
WRXGOBerserk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:33 PM   #8
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

And what about 06-07
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:48 PM   #9
Bill in Mtl
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 188357
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Quebec
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
Black

Default

I am using my old eBay/vagcom cable on my '07 WRX without issue. Reads and flashes, again, without issue

Good luck,
Bill in Mtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:51 PM   #10
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill in Mtl View Post
I am using my old eBay/vagcom cable on my '07 WRX without issue. Reads and flashes, again, without issue

Good luck,
Do you have the drivers for the cable? My windows update automatically did it but maybe I'm missin somethin. Still workin with romraider logger but my netbook doesn't have a cd reader so can't use the cd provided.
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:14 PM   #11
Bill in Mtl
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 188357
Join Date: Sep 2008
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Quebec
Vehicle:
2007 WRX
Black

Default

I'll have to check when I get home - am answering from my phone right now.
Bill in Mtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:25 PM   #12
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill in Mtl View Post
I'll have to check when I get home - am answering from my phone right now.
Thanks bud
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 11:49 PM   #13
Airboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72829
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Canada
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
EFR6758

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewxxcarlson View Post
Airboy, Eric emailed me back saying,

Actually VAG Com doesn't work on 02-03 at all and 04-05 have to be modified to work. it works just fine on the 06 wrx.
There you go. I bought a VAGCOM cable to lend out to people for logging. Tried to use it to read my 06wrx rom and it didn't work. Didn't pursue it further after that.
Airboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 11:50 PM   #14
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

We're you married to AP?
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 01:00 AM   #15
Airboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72829
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Canada
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
EFR6758

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewxxcarlson View Post
We're you married to AP?
Nope. I know the AP locks the ECU
Airboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 01:29 AM   #16
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airboy View Post

Nope. I know the AP locks the ECU
Ima unmarry it tomorrow and try the vagcom. But I had waiting til my DAM is at 1 every reset. Stupid cobb map. Still need the drivers.
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:40 AM   #17
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewxxcarlson View Post

Do you have the drivers for the cable? My windows update automatically did it but maybe I'm missin somethin. Still workin with romraider logger but my netbook doesn't have a cd reader so can't use the cd provided.
I didn't use the disc that came with my vagcom cable. I let Windows find the drivers for me. It works great in my 07 WRX. Unmodded too. Windows xp machine too.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:20 AM   #18
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Only drawback using the VAGCOM is,as I understand, the newer versions of Ecuflash check the battery voltage before flashing. If the battery level is not within range it won't start the flash process,saving you from a bricked ECU.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:35 AM   #19
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quazimoto View Post
Only drawback using the VAGCOM is,as I understand, the newer versions of Ecuflash check the battery voltage before flashing. If the battery level is not within range it won't start the flash process,saving you from a bricked ECU.
I use 1.42.25xx and have never seen a voltage error.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:57 PM   #20
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
I use 1.42.25xx and have never seen a voltage error.
Well have you tried to flash with a bad battery?
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 02:41 PM   #21
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

So I give up on vagcom cable, followed so many different instructions separately all dating back about 5 years. There's no recent threads and ecuflash versions are very scarce. If anyone has 1.31 that'd be lovely.

But this is us ridiculous that it won't work for me seein as I use to be an IT and I'm relatively good at this kinda stuff.
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 04:20 PM   #22
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Scarce? Really? Why don't you go look through the vagcom resource thread. I put up a link to a library that has EVERY version of ecuflash available for download.

*edit* Here... Just incase you are search impared.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1914025
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 07:42 PM   #23
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black94Snake View Post
Scarce? Really? Why don't you go look through the vagcom resource thread. I put up a link to a library that has EVERY version of ecuflash available for download.

*edit* Here... Just incase you are search impared.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1914025
I searched 5 hours last night. Must have skipped over that link but I'm gonna disregard your semi dank attitude and appreciate your help instead. You may have saved me 100 bucks if another version of ecuflash works.

Should I also after downloading and installing a different version update definitions or use the defs in the 1.31.
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 12:46 AM   #24
Andrewxxcarlson
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 316415
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
WRB

Default

Welp, tried that forum to no avail still. I'm pretty sure it's a driver issue but I can't seem to figure it out. 1.29a and 1.31 say no vehicle interface in bottom right corner. No option to read ecu
Andrewxxcarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 06:11 AM   #25
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

I really wish I could remember what drivers I installed on my machine to get mine to work... I think I have the drivers from openecu installed. tonight maybe when I have extra time, ill mess with my xp machine and try to figure it out.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.