Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday December 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2013, 09:11 AM   #476
xluben
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 261612
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan
10.9s @ 128mph

Default

Virtual Dyno (or any "road dyno" software") cannot be used on logs from actual dyno pulls. The road dyno calculates power based on acceleration over time, and it relies completely on the correct vehicle weight. During the dyno pull the motor is simply spinning some rollers. It is not actually moving the car forward. So the fact that your dyno numbers are somewhat close only tells you that the dyno probably simulates the car's weight fairly closely, but the logs from the dyno really should not be plotted or reviewed with Virtual Dyno for power comparisons.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
xluben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 11:11 AM   #477
bbarnhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 256281
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City, KS
Vehicle:
2007 Shelby GT 500
Grey

Default

Virtual Dyno also takes into account the HP lost to drag. On the dyno you eliminate these factors and will it will throw the numbers off when running those logs through Virtual Dyno.

Also you are using non-real world conditions ... these will always produce slightly different results in a pristine environment. Virtual Dyno will be close to those numbers but the curve may be slightly different from differing conditions. Virtual Dyno will give you numbers from the real world vs the ideal world.
bbarnhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 02:52 AM   #478
breaksOFTEN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260549
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: HB- Slow 05' STI
Vehicle:
69' Camaro Project,
76' Yamaha Cafe Project

Default

Thanks again for the Software.



This tune was done by my buddy. I just got accesstuner and am in way over my head, but I'll learn slowly overtime.
breaksOFTEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 04:17 PM   #479
bbarnhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 256281
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City, KS
Vehicle:
2007 Shelby GT 500
Grey

Default

No problem breaksOFTEN ... glad its helping the community out and lowering peoples dependence on dynos.
bbarnhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 04:27 PM   #480
Black94Snake
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
1994 5.8T Cobra
565rwhp @ 10psi

Default

I can't wait to get my cobra back on the road, so I can see if this program works with my Binary Editor.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:03 AM   #481
Larimer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 205191
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Detroit, MI
Vehicle:
2006 Saab 9-2X Aero
Black

Default

Can't seem to download it using firefox. I'll try IE and see if that's the issue.
Larimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 03:58 PM   #482
SpongeBobSquarePants
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 296048
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Kenilworth, NJ
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Blurple

Default

link to the software is broken. I would love to try this.
SpongeBobSquarePants is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 05:48 PM   #483
bbarnhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 256281
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City, KS
Vehicle:
2007 Shelby GT 500
Grey

Default

What do you mean the link to the software is broken? Its working for me right now. Im getting to the website just fine and able to install it here at work. Is there a link I dont know about? Go to www.virtualdyno.net


EDIT: The original page is no longer used. Ill try to get it to forward you to the new website for virtual dyno. It has its own domain now. http://www.virtualdyno.net
bbarnhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 10:25 AM   #484
SpongeBobSquarePants
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 296048
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Kenilworth, NJ
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Blurple

Default

Worked now. Thanks!
SpongeBobSquarePants is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 09:02 PM   #485
bbarnhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 256281
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City, KS
Vehicle:
2007 Shelby GT 500
Grey

Default

awesome ... that was my mistake not taking the old page with broken links down Now it just forwards you to the new page. I figured it was time to give VD its own domain (virtualdyno.net).
bbarnhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 06:43 AM   #486
V8 GTFO Lesbic WGN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191212
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Nashboringville
Vehicle:
2007 FXT-5MT E85 20G
TD06SL2 TurboTektuning

Default

Brad, are you considering the capability of averaging runs?
V8 GTFO Lesbic WGN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:26 PM   #487
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

That would be a great feature
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 07:13 PM   #488
bbarnhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 256281
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City, KS
Vehicle:
2007 Shelby GT 500
Grey

Default

Im considering it but Im trying to come up with a way to 1. make it accurate before I get flamed for that and make it usable on the user interface. I may just make a check box to include in averaging and the ones that are checked get included.

Ive really been torn on this subject as to if it would work and not hurt its reputation for being accurate.
bbarnhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:58 PM   #489
bswilmington
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 217563
Join Date: Jul 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Eden NC
Vehicle:
2006 Sti 12.68 @ 108
321WHP 422WTQ dynojet SAE

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbarnhill View Post
Im considering it but Im trying to come up with a way to 1. make it accurate before I get flamed for that and make it usable on the user interface. I may just make a check box to include in averaging and the ones that are checked get included.

Ive really been torn on this subject as to if it would work and not hurt its reputation for being accurate.
Just put it in the options. And once you say yes to average then it can show up like another log file on dyno screen. That was you could even toggle it off/on without having to go back to options. If you think it will make less of the software, put a disclaimer about it.

I think it would be good thing to atleast experiment with and if it doesn't work out to be useful then scrap it later
bswilmington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:12 PM   #490
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

In my humble opinion, with proper usage it will actually INCREASE the accuracy. Take a log up the road then another log back the other direction. The average could potentially be more accurate than either run individually because of many different variables such as small bumps in the road, very slight inclinations, wind, etc.

Of course if you are taking logs on a runway with zero wind this may not apply :-P
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 07:32 AM   #491
sub666
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38052
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Downsouth
Vehicle:
666

Default

I would like to see an option to overlay other parameters, like timing and torque on one graph. Instead of the separate graph option. This way you can easily see where what actual timing had effect, instead of going through the raw data. I hope you find this useful.
sub666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 11:11 AM   #492
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

You can just add the hp and tq numbers to the raw data pop up graph to see it overlayed. There are check boxes for the hp and tq in the raw data window if I remember right
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:25 PM   #493
sub666
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38052
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Downsouth
Vehicle:
666

Default

I mean overlayed with other runs, the same as you overlay the different power runs over each other.
sub666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:39 PM   #494
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

Ahh ok.
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:36 PM   #495
lj8915
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 329252
Join Date: Aug 2012
Vehicle:
2012 Subaru WRX

Default

Any instructions on how to use this? Didn't see anything in the OP.

Also, what are you guys putting for the weight of your car (2012 wrx)?
lj8915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 06:44 PM   #496
lj8915
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 329252
Join Date: Aug 2012
Vehicle:
2012 Subaru WRX

Default

I have a cobb AP by the way.
lj8915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 03:07 AM   #497
bbarnhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 256281
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City, KS
Vehicle:
2007 Shelby GT 500
Grey

Default

seems easy to average runs but its not as easy as it seems when implementing it. Ive tried tackling this before ... maybe trying again will prove successful. Got another project in the works so Im having to split time between the two. Keep the faith my friends.
bbarnhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 02:36 PM   #498
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Brad, I just discovered this software and cannot describe how impressed I am by it. This is the first freeware I have used that I feel deserves a donation. It's just a little but I hope it helps. Thank you for putting all this work in and never having pop ups asking for donations, just a simple button is perfect. Please keep with it as best as you can

Respect from a fellow Kansas City engineer. If I see your Shelby around the city I'll buy you a beer

Justin
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 12:37 PM   #499
bbarnhill
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 256281
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kansas City, KS
Vehicle:
2007 Shelby GT 500
Grey

Default

Justin ... where do you work here in KC as an engineer? Ill meet up with ya for lunch or something sometime to talk shop if you dont care to be seen with a Mustang guy.
bbarnhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 04:08 PM   #500
SubaruWrxNewb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236017
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Thomasville, NC
Vehicle:
2004 AW STi
2.5 w/ GTX35R, 500+ whp

Default

I have no experience with VD and I would really like to use it on my STi. Is there some sort of walk through on how to use it and what I need? I have an AcessPort and a laptop. Which programs, cables, etc... will I need? I'll also need to know how to use those programs.

Thanks.
SubaruWrxNewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Log analyzer - check it out jmc9809 Engine Management & Tuning 42 11-04-2007 10:00 AM
New Log-Analyzer program comming soon! NavyBlueSubaru Engine Management & Tuning 69 03-24-2007 04:17 PM
U-LAME -- UTEC Log Analyzer and Map Editor WolfDrive Engine Management & Tuning 14 12-06-2005 12:01 AM
UTECA (new log analyzer software)... need beta testers WolfDrive Engine Management & Tuning 10 05-31-2005 03:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.