Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2013, 09:38 PM   #26
foolycooly
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260545
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited 4dr
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sketcheroo View Post
The only problem I have with this unit is the slow track changes with the iPod cable and steering wheel controls

Love everything else!
Hmm that's odd--they're quick in BT audio mode.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
foolycooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 03:31 PM   #27
sketcheroo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 339856
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Premium
Satin White Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foolycooly View Post
Hmm that's odd--they're quick in BT audio mode.
Yep agreed - probably has something to do with transferring album art data from the phone to the HU as I've noticed the song can begin playing a second or two before the album art pops up.
sketcheroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 12:11 PM   #28
spins615
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 353947
Join Date: Apr 2013
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Eastern PA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Premium
Black

Default

how is call quality? Im going to be looking for a new HU after i get my car, and thats a big thing for me. I had an aftermarket HU in my last car..and no one on the other end of the phone could hear me that well. I never used it after that. That was a long time ago tho..
spins615 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 12:43 PM   #29
sketcheroo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 339856
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Premium
Satin White Pearl

Default

Haven't had much success with my bluetooth mic on the steering wheel column. People say there is a lot of background noise and the quality of my voice stinks, but other people have had good success with it so /shrug
sketcheroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 01:04 PM   #30
WRXVT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17979
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
335i Blue

Default

nice post op!
WRXVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 01:28 PM   #31
limdoug
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 262767
Join Date: Nov 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Base Hatch
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foolycooly View Post
The only minor annoyance is the seek vs. track thing on the steering controls. I left it on BT audio skip since I use that more frequently. I have to manually change radio presets (but I only do that 2-3 times during my morning commute).
I have a App Radio 2 and I believe I have my ASWC programmed where the up and down do the BT skip and then I manually had the "talk" button go to the next preset. Works this way for me....just a suggestion.
limdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 01:30 PM   #32
spins615
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 353947
Join Date: Apr 2013
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Eastern PA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Premium
Black

Default

Thanks man, you'd think they'd be able to come up with a decent microphone that you could put it. even an aftermarket one that can sense background noise too..

Quote:
Originally Posted by sketcheroo View Post
Haven't had much success with my bluetooth mic on the steering wheel column. People say there is a lot of background noise and the quality of my voice stinks, but other people have had good success with it so /shrug
spins615 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 04:15 PM   #33
foolycooly
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260545
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited 4dr
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by limdoug View Post
I have a App Radio 2 and I believe I have my ASWC programmed where the up and down do the BT skip and then I manually had the "talk" button go to the next preset. Works this way for me....just a suggestion.
I was actually thinking about doing this. I have to figure out if it's worth the effort to pull everything apart and reprogram the ASWC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spins615 View Post
Thanks man, you'd think they'd be able to come up with a decent microphone that you could put it. even an aftermarket one that can sense background noise too..
I've been told I sound very clear with the mic located where I have it. Maybe it's just hit or miss.
foolycooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 11:09 AM   #34
bobbuilder69
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 292494
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Blainville
Vehicle:
2012 STI HB
Rally Blue

Thumbs up

Excellent & informative thread !
Couple of questions: On the pioneer site it seems you can add to your device an app for navi. As anyone tried one of them ?
@FLEX'N WRX, what is you device model ? you also have a pioneer but it looks bigger than the AVH-X5500BHS since you don't seem to have a trim kit.

I have an STI 12, the OEM radio is BT and hand'sfree calling, is the microphone located near the reading lights over the rearview mirror ? there something that looks like a microphone but I am not sure

Thanks, and thumbs-up for the install guide, one of the best !
bobbuilder69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 11:18 AM   #35
evilspoons
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 321311
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Vehicle:
2012 STi 5-door
World Rally Blue

Default

FLEX'N WRX's nav unit is a completely standard double-DIN size, the same as the X5500BHS. He just has this JDM double-DIN radio surround trim piece installed.
evilspoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 11:25 AM   #36
foolycooly
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260545
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited 4dr
WRB

Default

The microphone is in the maplight cluster. You can remove it by popping off the two plastic light covers with a small flathead and removing the two (if i recall) phillips screws underneath. I am not sure how the microphone itself is attached because I never got that far, but it is on the other side of those slots/holes that I believe you are referring to.

And +1 to evilspoons. The OEM units from Subaru are not standard double-din size--they are actually wider. When you install a double-din like the 5500 in the stock trim you are left with gaps on both sides. These can be filled with a cheap dash kit like mine or you can replace the entire trim piece with the JDM equivalent like FLEX'N has done.
foolycooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 11:42 AM   #37
bobbuilder69
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 292494
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Blainville
Vehicle:
2012 STI HB
Rally Blue

Default

thanks for the additional info, but could I keep the OEM mic ? Do I really need to replace it ?
Ok, so for the trim kit, any unit will require a trim kit for the subaru ?
+1 to evilspoons for the clarification.
bobbuilder69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 11:48 AM   #38
foolycooly
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260545
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited 4dr
WRB

Default

You cannot use the OEM mic with an aftermarket unit--you will have to run the aftermarket mic somewhere. I left the stock mic alone so that I could easily re-install the stock head unit if I needed to, but you can try to route the aftermarket mic to the stock location.

Yes, almost every aftermarket unit will require a trim kit if you want to get rid of the gaps on the sides.
foolycooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 01:19 PM   #39
bobbuilder69
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 292494
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Blainville
Vehicle:
2012 STI HB
Rally Blue

Default

I have looked at the JDM that evilspoons pointed out earlier, I think I will go this that rather than a trim kit. Thanks a lot for all the info. it looks OEM, which is what I was look for.
bobbuilder69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 12:14 AM   #40
Not-EWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158043
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx Hatch
SWP

Default

Have you got all your steering wheel controls working I have all mine except: Pick up, hang up and what ever the other one is that's not on the spoke.

Is there a way to program the pioneer to recognize this correctly?
Not-EWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 07:29 AM   #41
1an5anity
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 355385
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Jacksonville NC
Vehicle:
13 STi
Black

Default

hey man i just installed my Pioneer AppRadio2 on my STi 13. i just wanna ask what did u do with the wire that clips on to your e-brake.

i know it attaches to the sensor and you wouldnt be able to watch videos or not do certain things unless your parked, for safety purposes i know.

any ideas on how to over ride that swith on ur handbrake?
1an5anity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 01:20 PM   #42
Not-EWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158043
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx Hatch
SWP

Default

Buy this.
Amazon.com: Absolute RLS125 12-VCD Automotive Relay SPDT 30/40A: ElectronicsAmazon.com: Absolute RLS125 12-VCD Automotive Relay SPDT 30/40A: Electronics

There's instructions on how to wire it. 2 leads to ground, one to Amp On (blue wire coming out of the HU) and one to your hand brake wire (green I think).
Not-EWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 12:56 AM   #43
foolycooly
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260545
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited 4dr
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Not-EWRX View Post
Have you got all your steering wheel controls working I have all mine except: Pick up, hang up and what ever the other one is that's not on the spoke.

Is there a way to program the pioneer to recognize this correctly?
Yeah, see my OP. I got the on hook and off hook buttons to work through manual programming. The PTT button does not work (you can assign it to something else).
foolycooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 01:43 AM   #44
pezcore
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 178045
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
06 WRX
CGM

Default

Nice writeup!

I've got the I've got the X4500 (same as 5500 minus HD Radio and SiriusXM). I bought that whole mess of cables for the appradio stuff for my iPhone 5 only to find out that Pioneer still has not released the firmware updates for these units to allow it to work. I am anxious to get my navigation and stuff to work on screen but am happy with the radio otherwise.

I want to wire up a switch to be able to choose from USB 1 (iPod) and USB 2 (iPhone 5) so I don't have to unplug stuff. Should be as simple as taking/giving power to the USB plugs but I'll have to look into it some more.

pezcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 01:47 AM   #45
Not-EWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158043
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SLC
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx Hatch
SWP

Default

Do you manually program them through the HU or through the module? I can't find any information on this.
Not-EWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 12:20 PM   #46
foolycooly
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260545
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited 4dr
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Not-EWRX View Post
Do you manually program them through the HU or through the module? I can't find any information on this.
You manually program them through the ASWC module. By default, the auto-program on the ASWC assigns the phone buttons to track up/track down/mute all. The manual programming instructions are in the instruction manual for the ASWC and on Axxess' website I believe. You just have to manually program all of the buttons in order (including the actual steering wheel buttons). You need to be able to see the light on the unit while you're doing it.
foolycooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 09:44 AM   #47
evilspoons
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 321311
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Vehicle:
2012 STi 5-door
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1an5anity View Post
hey man i just installed my Pioneer AppRadio2 on my STi 13. i just wanna ask what did u do with the wire that clips on to your e-brake.

i know it attaches to the sensor and you wouldnt be able to watch videos or not do certain things unless your parked, for safety purposes i know.

any ideas on how to over ride that swith on ur handbrake?
Hook it up to your handbrake like they ask you to otherwise it will use the GPS and tell you're "cheating" - there is a different override that involves grounding a pin. Check out AVIC411.com for more information.
evilspoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 04:43 AM   #48
asu0912
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 328795
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Phoenix
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
Satin White Pearl

Default

hey, does anyone know if the aux input in the arm rest still work with this HU, or is it a dud when you replace the stock HU.
asu0912 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:49 AM   #49
foolycooly
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 260545
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Limited 4dr
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asu0912 View Post
hey, does anyone know if the aux input in the arm rest still work with this HU, or is it a dud when you replace the stock HU.
It will no longer work. You would need to modify the stock unit with the usb/aux in the arm rest or completely replace it. Nothing from my installation goes to the center arm rest (I run the USB to the glove box).
foolycooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 09:54 AM   #50
2000gm
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 347333
Join Date: Feb 2013
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: S.E. MA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asu0912 View Post
hey, does anyone know if the aux input in the arm rest still work with this HU, or is it a dud when you replace the stock HU.
It can be done. The third item down here explains the options.
http://ae64.com/aftermarket-HU-insta...Impreza-BT.htm
2000gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.