Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2013, 09:28 PM   #551
SkeetZ18
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338831
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Saint Louis
Vehicle:
08 Legacy GT LTD
QSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourdanWithaU View Post
Nice. But what works for you might not work for the people this thread was made for. The intake box is not in the same spot from '07 to '08. It moved with the redesign.
^^Very true, if I had purchased the AEM intake I would have had to cut it as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourdanWithaU View Post
Which info? Did you read the whole thread or the outdated first post?
From what i remember, all of it. I read through the thread multiple times, as well as williaty's thread. First I ran into the problem of buying the wrong diameter tubing from silicon intakes(highly recommended for all extra pieces). So, I used brass barb 1/2 to 3/8 to connect the breather lines to the intake, and used 3/8 power steering tubing(all I could find local that I was comfortable using) to make the extension. I wrapped all of the fittings with electrical tape to ensure a snug fit. Now, the only things I found to be incorrect were that the 1/2 barb would not comfortably fit in the oil return line. I would recommend using a 3/4 to 1/2 or 5/8 to 1/2. In my situation, since I did not have access to flexible but sturdy tube, I had to use a 3/4 to 1/2 barb. Then, connect that to a 1/2 to 3/8 via 1" or so of tubing, and extend it to the bottom port near the MAF via 3/8 tube. Also, you will need 9 hose clamps, since you need 3 for each connection. 2 per extension and 1 for the intake connection. Everything on my intake is sealed and air tight, some one we were doing the install day with told me he did not think i needed to reset my ecu, wrong. Pulled out of the neighborhood and got on it just a bit and my car died. So, I pulled over, restarted my car and went back to my friends house. Reset the ecu, get her started and it was feeling like the idle was a little low. So, we raised the idle 100, and I drove home fine no problems. This week we are going to get together and do some logging and check on my MAF scaling and what not. Should have the rest of my parts in a week or so. Then I can log and send out for a Pro E-Tune.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by SkeetZ18; 04-29-2013 at 09:35 PM.
SkeetZ18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 08:59 AM   #552
SkeetZ18
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338831
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Saint Louis
Vehicle:
08 Legacy GT LTD
QSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourdanWithaU View Post

Which info? Did you read the whole thread or the outdated first post?

Just re-read your entire post. Glad you cleared that up, my car also did not start after the reset. Now, do you think it will be an issue that I ran the oil return to the front of the intake? I really don't even think that much oil, if any will even make it up into the intake. If it does it will have to travel all they way down the tube.
SkeetZ18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 11:23 AM   #553
JourdanWithaU
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146287
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: NOR-CAL (South Bay Area)
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza 2.5i 5D
Sunlight Gold Opal

Default

I thought I had made one big post with a bunch of details. But after going back and looking, it looks like I strung it along for a few posts.

But glad you found it... sorta.

The oil blow-by varies. My car blows a lot of oil. You might be fine. I'd check it after putting down some miles just to be sure.
JourdanWithaU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 12:42 PM   #554
KartRacer3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 268328
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Norcal
Vehicle:
2011 2.5i prem pckg
SSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkeetZ18 View Post
So, we raised the idle 100, and I drove home fine no problems.
You just need to keep driving the car after you reset your ecu. After driving for several short intervals ,starting the car up at least ten times; the maf will readjust its self. Trust me, after having my stock battery die on me at least 5 times, I promise you it will get better lol.
I'm interested to see how the e-tune will turn out!
KartRacer3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 01:27 PM   #555
SkeetZ18
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338831
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Saint Louis
Vehicle:
08 Legacy GT LTD
QSM

Default

Me too, I am just trying to figure out the line situation right now. Just seems like the breather lines should be closer to the throttle body. The oil return was the lowest line attached to the throttle body, so I figured the intake inlet on the bottom farthest away from the throttle body would be the best place for it. Instead of on the curve right next to the throttle body. Any insight on this would be much appreciated.

Yea, it is already driving better. Still need to check everything out using opensource. Just because it is not throwing any CEL does not mean it cant mess my engine up. It should be fine but i still need to fine tune it for the time being before the rest of my parts are put on and I send out for an e-tune.
SkeetZ18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 03:51 PM   #556
PrezaDriver2011
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336356
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern California
Vehicle:
2005 Wrx Wagon
White

Default

I'm thinking of getting a Cosmo intake for my 2.5i and was wondering would I have to dyno it after it was installed. I read somewhere that the new impreza have to dyno'ed every time you install a bolt on
PrezaDriver2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 03:55 PM   #557
Steve2.5i
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 293006
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2010 Impreza 2.5i
Newport Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrezaDriver2011 View Post
I'm thinking of getting a Cosmo intake for my 2.5i and was wondering would I have to dyno it after it was installed. I read somewhere that the new impreza have to dyno'ed every time you install a bolt on
Lol what? Where did u "read" this at?
Steve2.5i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 04:36 PM   #558
PrezaDriver2011
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336356
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern California
Vehicle:
2005 Wrx Wagon
White

Default

On some other sites and at some performance shops I think they mean the wrx or sti but I wasn't sure if it applied to the NA impreza
PrezaDriver2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 04:49 PM   #559
JourdanWithaU
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146287
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: NOR-CAL (South Bay Area)
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza 2.5i 5D
Sunlight Gold Opal

Default

Tuning the car is recommended... Dyno ≠ tune. You can tune a car without going on a dyno and you can dyno a car without tuning it.
JourdanWithaU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 04:52 PM   #560
PrezaDriver2011
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336356
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern California
Vehicle:
2005 Wrx Wagon
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourdanWithaU
Tuning the car is recommended... Dyno ≠ tune. You can tune a car without going on a dyno and you can dyno a car without tuning it.
Lol thank you. So It won't cause any problems if I were to get some bolt ons and not tune it. I would just have poor gas mileage?
PrezaDriver2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 05:40 AM   #561
BWX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 236305
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Central.. NY
Vehicle:
2009 2.5i 4dr 5spd
Newport Blue Pearl

Default

Wow.














The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 5 characters.
BWX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 09:17 AM   #562
JourdanWithaU
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146287
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: NOR-CAL (South Bay Area)
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza 2.5i 5D
Sunlight Gold Opal

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrezaDriver2011 View Post
Lol thank you. So It won't cause any problems if I were to get some bolt ons and not tune it. I would just have poor gas mileage?
It won't be ideal and you could potentially damage your engine.
JourdanWithaU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:11 AM   #563
PrezaDriver2011
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 336356
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern California
Vehicle:
2005 Wrx Wagon
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JourdanWithaU

It won't be ideal and you could potentially damage your engine.
Ok thanks
PrezaDriver2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:12 AM   #564
SkeetZ18
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338831
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Saint Louis
Vehicle:
08 Legacy GT LTD
QSM

Default

JourdanWithaU, do you have any insight to my question about running my lines to my intake correctly?
SkeetZ18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 02:24 PM   #565
JourdanWithaU
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146287
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: NOR-CAL (South Bay Area)
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza 2.5i 5D
Sunlight Gold Opal

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkeetZ18 View Post
JourdanWithaU, do you have any insight to my question about running my lines to my intake correctly?
This thing?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkeetZ18 View Post
Me too, I am just trying to figure out the line situation right now. Just seems like the breather lines should be closer to the throttle body. The oil return was the lowest line attached to the throttle body, so I figured the intake inlet on the bottom farthest away from the throttle body would be the best place for it. Instead of on the curve right next to the throttle body. Any insight on this would be much appreciated.
Oil return?

It should be three PCV lines. One for each head and one for the crankcase.

In theory, it shouldn't matter where they are connected to the intake just that they are connected to the intake.

The downside I see if the line being closer to the air box is the possibility of oil blow-by being gravity-fed into the air box instead of going into the throttle body.

If you don't see any oil in your intake, you should be fine. If you do see oil in your intake, you may want to look into getting a catch can.
JourdanWithaU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 12:39 PM   #566
Turnyface
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 330036
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Saint Paul
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Anyone know where I can find the correct tube to create the hybrid intake for an '09 2.5i?
Turnyface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 07:57 AM   #567
SkeetZ18
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338831
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Saint Louis
Vehicle:
08 Legacy GT LTD
QSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turnyface View Post
Anyone know where I can find the correct tube to create the hybrid intake for an '09 2.5i?
All you had to do was look back one page.
SkeetZ18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:52 PM   #568
LethalMonk6
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 294410
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Somerville, MA
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza OBS
Silver

Default

Anyone interesting in selling their hybrid intake? If not, I'll just stop being lazy and make my own.
LethalMonk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 05:20 PM   #569
MoLiu
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 319114
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ontario
Default

I am kind of confused with the hose lines. There should be three hose lines, correct? One by the MAF sensor, then two near the centre of the engine? (one with the white adapter)

I have read the entire thread and I'm still confused
MoLiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 06:03 PM   #570
JourdanWithaU
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146287
Join Date: Apr 2007
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: NOR-CAL (South Bay Area)
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza 2.5i 5D
Sunlight Gold Opal

Default

One on either side of the torque box (heads) and one in the middle with a white adapter (crankcase).

Most pipes have a bung near the MAF so that's where the hose on that side usually gets connected.
JourdanWithaU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 11:59 PM   #571
SCNEot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 344260
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: New Hampshire
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza OBS
Sage Green

Default

Has a hybrid been tested were everything before the torque was replaced with pipe?
SCNEot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 12:04 AM   #572
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

If you truly mean everything, then that's not a hybrid, that's just a normal SRI or CAI.

If you mean everything except the parts that have to be there to make things function properly, then yes, that's a normal hybrid intake.

I'm really not sure where you're trying to do with that.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 12:15 AM   #573
SCNEot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 344260
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: New Hampshire
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza OBS
Sage Green

Default

I thought it was considered hybrid if the torque box was there and i was seeing if the torque box had any play in the maf readings
SCNEot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 12:33 AM   #574
williaty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71092
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Delaware County, Ohio
Vehicle:
2005 2.5RS Wagon
Regal Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCNEot View Post
I thought it was considered hybrid if the torque box was there and i was seeing if the torque box had any play in the maf readings
/me facepalms.


You never actually read the thread about what a hybrid is and why it works, did you? Go read the thread, you'll figure out how messed up you are.

We'll wait patiently.
williaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 10:34 AM   #575
SCNEot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 344260
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: New Hampshire
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza OBS
Sage Green

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by williaty View Post
/me facepalms.


You never actually read the thread about what a hybrid is and why it works, did you? Go read the thread, you'll figure out how messed up you are.

We'll wait patiently.
I have looked at it thank you i did not see anything with this set up
SCNEot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cold Air Intake on 2008 2.5i AlexU Newbies & FAQs 12 04-22-2012 12:48 PM
Hybrid intakes for the 2.5i '08+ Rotten Tomato Normally Aspirated Powertrain 2 03-10-2010 09:57 PM
87 octane ECONO / STG1 maps and agressive throttle mapping for 2008 2.5i. Rallitek.com Normally Aspirated Powertrain 0 09-15-2009 02:47 PM
Floor LED usable for 2008 2.5i???? jbd0419 Interior & Exterior Modification 4 02-22-2009 10:14 PM
Maintenance Interval Question for 2008 2.5i c-four Impreza Forum 5 07-11-2008 09:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.