Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2013, 01:04 PM   #1
norazi-j
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 300350
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Everett, WA
Vehicle:
2010 Stage2 VW GTI
CSG

Default Stage 2 Questions

Hey guys so I've been having a little issue since I got my car a couple years ago and am wanting some advice or insight.

Basically I bought the car with a few problems. One of which is low boost. Now, I didn't know it wasn't pushing stock boost until I bought a boost gauge a few months later. I had never driven a STI before so I didn't know it was really only pushing about 7psi!!! Still felt fast to me coming from a 114hp civic haha.

Anyway, when I had the boost gauge installed they noticed the previous owner had left the boost line dangling when they disconnected theirs. So, it had a minor leak. Fixing the leak didn't fix the boost issue though and was still only pushing 7psi at WOT. Finally, we decide to unhook the manual boost controller that was on there from previous owner, and we gained about 3psi. So now I"m pushing 10psi when it should be at 14.6. There are no boost leaks, or vacuum leaks. Everything has been checked and tested.

So I'm wondering now...is it the turbo going out? Or am I just running a car that severely needs a tune because the previous owner didn't revert the ECU back to stock? I only ask this now because I have my downpipe and intake ready to be installed but don't want to install them if it will cause issues without getting tuned first and then tuned again for stage 2.

What should I do? Should I just get the tune for stage 2 and hope for the best?

Also, how safe is it to drive on a freshly installed downpipe and intake? Can I install the parts myself and drive to the dyno? It's about 20 mins away on highway driving. Or am I just paranoid and the car can be driven fine without the tune?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
norazi-j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 01:33 PM   #2
jebjkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73884
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, ITALY
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2006 Evolution MR

Default

Not that I recommend a MBC without being tuned for the boost level it is adjusted to - but did you try and adjust the MBC to see if boost changed?

Do you know if the ECU is stock or tuned? Stock turbo?

When you unhooked the MBC I assume that you installed the stock EBCS in its place. You need to find out if your ECU is stock, or just make it stock. Do you know anyone with a Tactrix cable, they can try and read your ROM and run a comparison to see if it is modified or not. If the ECU is tuned with Cobb (or other aftermarket tuning) the Tactrix cable may not be able to read the ROM. In this case you know it is not stock, you just do not know what is on there.

Buy an AP now and it will install over whatever map is in your ECU. Then you can load a stock map and know exactly which map is installed in your car. [Since you are getting protuned for stage 2, I assumed that you will be buying an AP.]

It is not worth getting protuned before you install the DP and intake. It is worth finding and fixing the boost problem, though. I would do both at the same time. When you say "...I had the boost gauge installed..." I assume that means that you did not install it yourself. If this shop is a good Subaru shop, they should be able to help you straighten out your boost problem. This is your best option. It is best to fix the boost problem and then install the new parts and get protuned.

If you stay out of boost and drive your car gently, it is fine to install the intake / DP and then drive 20 minutes to the tuner. This assumes that the intake you purchased is a reputable one [Cobb and AEM come to mind first but I am sure there are others] and works correctly. Even if you need to tune for the intake, the ECU has the ability to adjust in closed loop and you will be fine for the short drive to the tuner.
jebjkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 04:13 PM   #3
dux10
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 235338
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2002 Faggin Wagon
srp

Default

Its possible that the IAM has dropped and reduced WGDC to limit boost as much as possible...

In any even you would need a Tactrix cable or AP to start working on that end. If I were you, I would have the car pressure tested for a boost leak/post maf leak (there is a difference between the two but it is the same test). If that checks out, reset the ecu and see where you are with boost.

Steve @ Pullz-On Tuning
dux10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 11:52 AM   #4
norazi-j
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 300350
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Everett, WA
Vehicle:
2010 Stage2 VW GTI
CSG

Default

Thanks guys. Yeah, my plan was to purchase an AP first and see if the ECU had been modified. The guys at my shop told me it's either a tune issue or a turbo issue. Hopefully it's the former.

It is a stock turbo. Pretty much stock everything except the catback. I never messed with the MBC because it was from the previous owner and I didn't want to hurt the car. I simply just removed it and went back to stock solenoid. This alone gave me 3 extra pounds of boost but still not to the point of stock levels (only 10psi). So now I will try the AP.

Will update this when I get my AP hopefully this week.
norazi-j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:13 PM   #5
jebjkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 73884
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Naples, ITALY
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2006 Evolution MR

Default

You need to check the boost control hoses to ensure they are setup correctly. Specifically, is the restrictor pill there? This link will help you determine if the boost control system is setup correctly.
jebjkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 12:15 PM   #6
Cathexis
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335445
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Ashland, VA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX - BLK STIG
Stg. 2 - 287whp/317wtq.

Default

Someone may have cranked down on the wastegate arm trying to get more boost and didn't know what they were doing. Just a thought.....
Cathexis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:11 AM   #7
dux10
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 235338
Join Date: Jan 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Georgia
Vehicle:
2002 Faggin Wagon
srp

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathexis View Post
Someone may have cranked down on the wastegate arm trying to get more boost and didn't know what they were doing. Just a thought.....
Wastegate is non-adjustable on the vf39.

Steve @ Pullz-On Tuning
dux10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 04:45 PM   #8
prescottn6ft7
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 268918
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebjkey View Post
You need to check the boost control hoses to ensure they are setup correctly. Specifically, is the restrictor pill there? This link will help you determine if the boost control system is setup correctly.

^ What he said.

As for installing the DP and intake before hand and driving it in for a tune. You'll be fine, just stay out of boost.
prescottn6ft7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 10:45 PM   #9
mikeydrives1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 262117
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2001 Forester
STi II type M

Default

Try pulling the battery cables for a few mins, let the car reset and see if this helps.

As far as DAM cutting boost, wouldnt that reset when the car is off?
mikeydrives1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:32 AM   #10
norazi-j
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 300350
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Everett, WA
Vehicle:
2010 Stage2 VW GTI
CSG

Default

Ok so I got my AP finally. Now, I'm wondering something. The box says the AP will store the current ECU configuration as "stock"...but what if the configuration isn't stock for some reason? Will the AP store the incorrect map and label it as "stock"? Or will it detect that the car isn't stock and offer to restore it?

Basically I don't want to save a bad map as default.

Also, can I just use the AP as a datalogger without installing a new map? Or do I have to flash the ECU no matter what?

And, lastly, should I update my firmware and AP software on my computer before I load maps on my car? Or should it be fine out of the box?

Last edited by norazi-j; 05-09-2013 at 10:55 AM.
norazi-j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:28 AM   #11
rwb88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 348466
Join Date: Feb 2013
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Lindon, Utah
Vehicle:
2013 WRX 5-door
Satin White Pearl

Default

Cobbs website should have a stock map for you to download, so don't worry about what it saves as "your" stock map. I'm unfamiliar with the 2004 ap but I know with mine I can log w/o installing one of their maps so I would think you could do the same. I would flash cobbs stock map and see if that fixes your problem (go to their website and download it). And yes, update your firmware and download cobbs stock map for your car. All the way at the bottom, installed stock mode http://www.cobbtuning.com/Accessport...tock-SF-Intake
rwb88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 07:59 PM   #12
norazi-j
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 300350
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Everett, WA
Vehicle:
2010 Stage2 VW GTI
CSG

Default

Ok so here is a log from today. I made sure it is flashed back to STOCK tuning. I have no mods other than a catback exhaust. Nothing big, just a couple minor pulls in 3rd and 4th gear respectively. Can anyone tell me if anything huge is wrong with my car? I see TD Boost Error and thinking that might be telling me something is wrong? Besides the fact I'm only at 7psi at 4500 RPM?

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...Hc&usp=sharing
norazi-j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 08:57 PM   #13
10wrxBobcat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 355485
Join Date: May 2013
Default

Also the fact that only at 8 psi boost at 90 percent throttle. That does not seem right to me. I am no pro though so maybe someone else can respond with a better answer?
10wrxBobcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 09:36 PM   #14
nmlittlebigman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321409
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arrey, NM
Vehicle:
2015 WRX LTD
WRB

Default

Your fuel trims (AF learning 1) seem kind of whack. For the most part it is showing positive trims which means your ecu is sensing a lean condition and adding fuel . When you married the AP did it save the tune on your car as the "stock" tune? If so that is what you are probably logging. I would flash a LWG Stage 1 OTS map and see how that runs.
nmlittlebigman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:37 AM   #15
norazi-j
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 300350
Join Date: Nov 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Everett, WA
Vehicle:
2010 Stage2 VW GTI
CSG

Default

I had thought I loaded a stock 04' STI tune from Cobb's website...but I did that before I married it to the car so maybe my car overrode the one I downloaded. I will try a stage 1 map today.
norazi-j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:54 AM   #16
nmlittlebigman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321409
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arrey, NM
Vehicle:
2015 WRX LTD
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by norazi-j View Post
I had thought I loaded a stock 04' STI tune from Cobb's website...but I did that before I married it to the car so maybe my car overrode the one I downloaded. I will try a stage 1 map today.
You may have. I was just speculating on why your fuel trims were so far off. I thought maybe the original tune was scaled for some mods not currently on your car.
If you have similar issues with a Stage 1 tune then you have some mechanical problems.
nmlittlebigman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 11:15 PM   #17
RGSTRYKER
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 284867
Join Date: Jun 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: morris county NJ
Vehicle:
2013 STi
BLACK

Default

Just looking for help/feedback for for my 13' STi, Went for stage 2 tune today.
Mods includes;:AEM CAI, Invidia DP and Q300 CBE, Grimmspeed EBCS and DW65c.

I only got 278/303..I thought its a bit short..tuner suspected it might be my catted DP that's holding back..he recommended to get a cat less DP...what you guys think? Any suggestion the safer way to push power pass 300hp without spending a fortune..Thanks for your time!!!

Last edited by RGSTRYKER; 05-18-2013 at 11:32 PM.
RGSTRYKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 05:42 AM   #18
Cathexis
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335445
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Ashland, VA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX - BLK STIG
Stg. 2 - 287whp/317wtq.

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RGSTRYKER View Post
Just looking for help/feedback for for my 13' STi, Went for stage 2 tune today.
Mods includes;:AEM CAI, Invidia DP and Q300 CBE, Grimmspeed EBCS and DW65c.

I only got 278/303..I thought its a bit short..tuner suspected it might be my catted DP that's holding back..he recommended to get a cat less DP...what you guys think? Any suggestion the safer way to push power pass 300hp without spending a fortune..Thanks for your time!!!
Same mods, wrx, cobb ots map, 287/317, and i'm told thats conservative. He must be giving you an extremely safe tune.
Cathexis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.