Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday September 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2013, 07:00 PM   #1
elcapitan1110
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324618
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2008 STi
DGM

Default Installed New HU, no radio reception?

Hi All,

Just installed a Pioneer avh-5500bhs into my 2008 sti. Everything else works except for the radio. Tried wiring blue/white wire from HU to blue metra harness wire, and I also tried connecting blue/white wire from HU to red 12v wire, and still nothing. The connection on the antenna plug seems a little loose... but it goes in anyway. Could that be the problem? Could bad grounding cause the issue? Again, all other functions work, minus the radio. Any ideas?

Thanks guys
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
elcapitan1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 07:06 PM   #2
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

dont connect power to the blue/white wire coming from the headunit as that is used to turn on amps. not sure what would happen if you did that.
i cant remember if the sti has a powered antenna but maybe search that.
and the lug to the antenna should be tight. maybe take a pic.
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 07:19 PM   #3
NITROS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41561
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago
Vehicle:
04 GT3076 2.1
Stroker = Broken 3rd

Default

I had this problem once. Turned out the antenna booster needed to be connected.
NITROS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 11:06 AM   #4
elcapitan1110
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324618
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2008 STi
DGM

Default

Ok, so I fiddled around with the wring, I am confident that the wiring was done correctly. I have the blue/white remote antenna wire from my HU connected to the blue wire coming from my Metra harness. I followed the wire back from the aftermarket to the OEM harness, and it appears that everything is wired correctly. I have very little radio reception, I only get one station :-(

What's strange is that the straight plug in the back of the HU that is supposed to connect to the antenna doesn't change the reception whether it is plugged in or not. I will attach pictures... Could that just mean the cable is bad? Or maybe my HU is bad...?
elcapitan1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 11:13 AM   #5
elcapitan1110
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324618
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2008 STi
DGM

Default

Just noticed something else... On the one station that I DO get, when I touch the antenna plug to the metal ring of one of the A/V inputs, the signal increases... Is the plug on the back of the HU broken?
elcapitan1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 06:34 PM   #6
elcapitan1110
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324618
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2008 STi
DGM

Default

Bump... Perhaps I could have a ground loop? Anyone?
elcapitan1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 09:38 PM   #7
gggplaya
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 139444
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: PA
Vehicle:
2008 Impreza
Dark Gray

Default

Do you have your headunit set correctly??? Local should be turned off.
gggplaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 09:48 PM   #8
sizemic1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 270669
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Temecula, CA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Sedan
Stg 2 Phatbotti e-tuned

Default

Make sure you're shoving the antenna in completely. It should be a very tight fit.
sizemic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.