Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Interior & Exterior Modification

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2013, 03:18 PM   #526
101101
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 260658
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Raleigh, NC
Vehicle:
2011 STI Sedan
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiatlux View Post
Would it be safe to run a T fitting on the front gallery to run both a pressure and a temp sensor off of? Something like http://www.glowshiftdirect.com/1-8-n...g-adapter.aspx or http://www.summitracing.com/parts/no...5nos/overview/
Since the temp sensor wouldn't be in fluid flow or the fluid reservoir (oil pan) it probably wouldn't be very accurate.

Edit : for $4 more than the summit link you can get a drain plug adapter from killer B and put the sensor in the pan.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
101101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 06:23 PM   #527
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by My27KGame View Post
How did you guys get the wires from the engine bay to inside the fender well?
I went through the firewall. if you take the intercooler off, you can miss them.

but others have went through the fender well (check the OP). *it's an individual preference. if you go through the firewall, use a coat hanger to fish the wires through... a couple few times and they'll appear under the dash.
ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 11:28 AM   #528
My27KGame
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 294927
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Southern NH
Vehicle:
2011 STi
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChesterWRX View Post
I went through the firewall. if you take the intercooler off, you can miss them.

but others have went through the fender well (check the OP). *it's an individual preference. if you go through the firewall, use a coat hanger to fish the wires through... a couple few times and they'll appear under the dash.
Thanks...did you pull the plug all together or cut a hole in it?
My27KGame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:05 PM   #529
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by My27KGame View Post

Thanks...did you pull the plug all together or cut a hole in it?
they are difficult to cut through with conventional means. i.e. knife, scaple and box cutter. i ended up butchering the hell out of it so it was useless. eventually i'll replace it with a new one.

just pad the wires with some electrical tape to give it a buffer.
ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 12:54 AM   #530
stierzy34
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 92113
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Belleville, IL
Vehicle:
2013 Mini Cooper S
"Martha"

Default

Oil pressure gauge is in! Got all of the wires ran and connected as far as the gauges. Just wanted to place it in the car tonight and will be connecting everything tomorrow. Was alittle surprised with how close the gauges sat to the sticks on the column, especially the turn signal/ lights control. However, there doesn't seem to be any contact unless I have my high beams locked on and want to signal that I am making a right
stierzy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:28 AM   #531
Jay C
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318234
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island New York
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stierzy34 View Post
Was alittle surprised with how close the gauges sat to the sticks on the column, especially the turn signal/ lights control. However, there doesn't seem to be any contact unless I have my high beams locked on and want to signal that I am making a right
Just telescope your wheel like 1/4 inch towards the driver seat, it will clear fine, if you ever have that situation arise lol.
Jay C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 09:34 AM   #532
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stierzy34 View Post
Oil pressure gauge is in! Got all of the wires ran and connected as far as the gauges. Just wanted to place it in the car tonight and will be connecting everything tomorrow. Was alittle surprised with how close the gauges sat to the sticks on the column, especially the turn signal/ lights control. However, there doesn't seem to be any contact unless I have my high beams locked on and want to signal that I am making a right
you sure the gauge is all the way in? the pod seated correctly?

i'll have to double check mine... or you have really long arms and legs.
ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 04:57 PM   #533
stierzy34
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 92113
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Belleville, IL
Vehicle:
2013 Mini Cooper S
"Martha"

Default

Well. It is in. I will have to say that I have always lusted over the Defi gauges and finally have been able to get them. I have had Prosport, STRI, etc and while they were nice, none of them really compare to how nice the Defis are. Thanks to OCD for the awesome tutorial, it helped out a lot!



And with the new radio in, too!

stierzy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 05:16 PM   #534
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

HEY! THAT'S MY CAR!

*repost* funny how most of use did the oil pressure gauge on the left and boost gauge on the right.

ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 05:24 PM   #535
vu_tang
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 294693
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCAL
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
SWP

Default

Anyone know if it is safe to use the tap a fuse with 3 gauges. Currently have boost and oil pressure. Thinking about adding a afr gauge. Should I find a different source of power or is it safe to add it to the tap a fuse currently with 2 gauges?
vu_tang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:51 PM   #536
stierzy34
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 92113
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Belleville, IL
Vehicle:
2013 Mini Cooper S
"Martha"

Default

I noticed that as well. I guess I was used to looking at the boost gauge on my right when I had the SPT, thats where I put this one. When driving the gauges never get hit by the stalks, there still seems to be enough room to have clearance. I don't have overly large legs or arms either? Not sure.

Orignally thought that the red needles instead of the white needles was going to drive me nuts but I honestly don't even notice it. Can't wait for the drive home from work to see them at night
stierzy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 12:02 AM   #537
fiatlux
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 340639
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: CA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX STi Sedan
WR Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vu_tang View Post
Anyone know if it is safe to use the tap a fuse with 3 gauges. Currently have boost and oil pressure. Thinking about adding a afr gauge. Should I find a different source of power or is it safe to add it to the tap a fuse currently with 2 gauges?
I tapped one with 4 gauges; boost, oil presssure, oil temp, and coolant temp. The afr I'm using hits a constant power fuse, so I used the accessory fuse for that.
fiatlux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 11:42 PM   #538
fiatlux
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 340639
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: CA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX STi Sedan
WR Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stierzy34 View Post
Well. It is in. I will have to say that I have always lusted over the Defi gauges and finally have been able to get them. I have had Prosport, STRI, etc and while they were nice, none of them really compare to how nice the Defis are. Thanks to OCD for the awesome tutorial, it helped out a lot!



And with the new radio in, too!

What kind of radio is that?
fiatlux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 12:53 AM   #539
Shackletown
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 314629
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Utah
Vehicle:
2012 STi sedan
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vu_tang View Post
Anyone know if it is safe to use the tap a fuse with 3 gauges. Currently have boost and oil pressure. Thinking about adding a afr gauge. Should I find a different source of power or is it safe to add it to the tap a fuse currently with 2 gauges?
I've been running 3 gauges off the same power for a while now, no problems.
Shackletown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 02:57 AM   #540
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiatlux View Post

What kind of radio is that?
It's from a 2011-2012 forester. Whole thread with all the info here. http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2166861

Also that's the same setup I have, really cleans up the interior and makes it a little nicer.
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:16 AM   #541
stierzy34
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 92113
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Belleville, IL
Vehicle:
2013 Mini Cooper S
"Martha"

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchell1309 View Post
It's from a 2011-2012 forester. Whole thread with all the info here. http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2166861

Also that's the same setup I have, really cleans up the interior and makes it a little nicer.
This. It is actually from a Chinese production Forester. They are on eBay and I found it for about $200 shipped. You may be able to look on there and find another one. The radio is awesome. It was completely plug and play. The screen size cleans everything up a lot and navigating through my iPod is much easier. Not to mention the sound quality on this head unit compared to the stock is incredible. The speakers actually sound decent with this one!
stierzy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:24 PM   #542
fiatlux
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 340639
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: CA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX STi Sedan
WR Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stierzy34 View Post
This. It is actually from a Chinese production Forester. They are on eBay and I found it for about $200 shipped. You may be able to look on there and find another one. The radio is awesome. It was completely plug and play. The screen size cleans everything up a lot and navigating through my iPod is much easier. Not to mention the sound quality on this head unit compared to the stock is incredible. The speakers actually sound decent with this one!
Man, that looks great, but I really want HD radio, so I might have to wait and pony out more for a US model .
fiatlux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:27 PM   #543
My27KGame
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 294927
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Southern NH
Vehicle:
2011 STi
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vu_tang View Post
Anyone know if it is safe to use the tap a fuse with 3 gauges. Currently have boost and oil pressure. Thinking about adding a afr gauge. Should I find a different source of power or is it safe to add it to the tap a fuse currently with 2 gauges?
Perfectly safe if installed correctly. the purpose of the is to wire in parallel to the tapped fuse so each circuit is isolated.
My27KGame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 12:53 PM   #544
stierzy34
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 92113
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Belleville, IL
Vehicle:
2013 Mini Cooper S
"Martha"

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fiatlux View Post
Man, that looks great, but I really want HD radio, so I might have to wait and pony out more for a US model .
6 more are available. Clicky Here

No HD tho
stierzy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 08:27 AM   #545
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stierzy34 View Post

6 more are available. Clicky Here

No HD tho
<---- tempted
ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:41 AM   #546
BellyUpFish
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357348
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2010 Limited WRX
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChesterWRX View Post

<---- tempted
Me too..
BellyUpFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:43 AM   #547
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stierzy34 View Post

6 more are available. Clicky Here

No HD tho
I wouldn't trust that number. I bought mine several months ago when there was only 3 "available". I don't see them running out any time soon.

For you guys on the fence, I love mine. Really cleans up the interior and is a great middle step from the junk that came stock and an expensive aftermarket unit.
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 11:59 AM   #548
fiatlux
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 340639
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: CA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX STi Sedan
WR Blue Pearl

Default

Just put in my gauges this weekend. I've got the boost and oil pressure temporarily mounted to the top of the gauge hood using the double sided tape on top of a layer of painters tape to make it easy to remove later. Should be getting the JCS a-pillar tonight, so I can move those over and install the AFR gauge I got.



I figured the gauges would be easier to see in my peripheral vision on the a-pillar rather than the gauge cluster, which is why I'm putting the most important ones there. Ironically the coolant temp gauge I have pretty much covers up the coolant temp portion of the cluster, and the oil temp gauges is to the right of it. I wish that the DEFI gauges came with removable faceplates like the AEM ones so you can specify which gauge is oil temp and which is water temp.
fiatlux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:31 PM   #549
DeadGeneration
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 313753
Join Date: Mar 2012
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

subscribe for later
DeadGeneration is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 12:59 PM   #550
fiatlux
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 340639
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: CA
Vehicle:
2013 WRX STi Sedan
WR Blue Pearl

Default

My a-pillar gauge finally arrived, so I was able to move the two gauges I had sticky-taped to the top of the gauge hood and throw in an AFR gauge too.



Unfortunately, the a-pillar gauges tend to block out the 10 o'clock view a little. If you're only getting two gauges, I'd definitely stick with the SMY setup rather than the a-pillars, but if you've got more than not, not much else you can do.
fiatlux is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NOAH is a tool....and I can proove it (Post here if you want points!) madcatz Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 14 05-02-2011 06:47 PM
Tell us how Subiefest went when you get back tonight & pics if you have them KB'izzle Southern California Impreza Club Forum -- SCIC 361 10-30-2009 07:57 PM
ssr professors, post pics if you have them streko Member's Car Gallery 2 07-22-2004 04:27 PM
Anyone put WRX stock rims on an RS? Pics if you have them... Samirr76 Interior & Exterior Modification 2 07-21-2001 03:15 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.